Update the Civic Finally Fix, Thanks to SKY and all tuners

Re: So I can't get a distributor to buy nowhere (BRAIN BOX F

Postby rollingstock » July 6th, 2011, 3:10 pm

Radix wrote:Didn't read yuh post OP. All I saw was BOX and distributor in d title. Just PM Pandora. She distributing box like that !!

You'se ah poonkooloonks ent :?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 6th, 2011, 3:13 pm

Sky wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:check the first post. I edited it.

Problem has been identified the brain box blew up seriously.

Right now go by the place next to Rama's with your ecu and get another. They have a mountain of ecu's.
And please stop calling it a brain box. God I hate that term. And I hate having to say it when I know someone won't know what an ecu is.

Where is Ramas exactly?

Any contact number for this place by chance?

This mechanic made me waste $800 on a frecking distributor coil. To add up the cost I spend on this car to fix everything since I have it I am afraid to face the reality of how much it really is.

I rather not think about it.

Well I am done with this mechanic now. Atleast I know what the problem is now though.
Anyone knows what could have caused this to fry up?

Radix

Postby Radix » July 6th, 2011, 3:13 pm

Radix wrote:Didn't read yuh post OP. All I saw was BOX and distributor in d title. Just PM Pandora. She distributing box like that !!

How'd you know ?

Postby Hook » July 6th, 2011, 3:15 pm

nope...this :!:

Radix

Re: So I can't get a distributor to buy nowhere (ECU FRY)

Postby Radix » July 6th, 2011, 3:18 pm

Those grapes look quite reachable. Seems like the fox just................... doesn't even wanna touch it!!! If so, you're right. That's the case here :| :| :|

Postby rollingstock » July 6th, 2011, 3:25 pm

Radix wrote:Those grapes look quite reachable. Seems like the fox just................... doesn't even wanna touch it!!! If so, you're right. That's the case here :| :| :|

Yeah right :roll: Stop...........

Irasthmus B. Black

Postby Irasthmus B. Black » July 6th, 2011, 3:32 pm

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 6th, 2011, 3:55 pm

Breds, you need to find a new mechanic... How the firetruck it better to change the whole engine & tranny because the ECU blew up? That mechanic trying to rake up ah big bill because to change the ECU is only 30mins compared to ah 3 day engine job... Yuh have ah electrical problem. Take it to ah Electrician, not ah mechanic..

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 6th, 2011, 4:04 pm

^ Yes now I know. I fire that mechanic. Man make me waste $800 frecking dollars to fix a good working distributor.

Ow well I learn the hard way.

He was telling me that he frighten to put in a new ECU because whatever caused the first ECU to fry could very well cause the second ECU to fry and also he believes that all the sensors probably fry also. So thats why he recommended I buy a new Engine and transmission.

Well One last try.

Gonna get a ECU for this and a Electrician.

But hear this, how does a ECU actually fry up so bad to start with?
This car only gave problems when the AC was turned on. Hmm could the AC somehow could have caused this?

Anyone here ever had their ECU fry up on them?

Postby cinco » July 6th, 2011, 4:06 pm

more than likely its a ground fault that blew the dizzy
GET AN ELECTRICIAN

Postby Sky » July 6th, 2011, 4:09 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Sky wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:check the first post. I edited it.

Problem has been identified the brain box blew up seriously.

Right now go by the place next to Rama's with your ecu and get another. They have a mountain of ecu's.
And please stop calling it a brain box. God I hate that term. And I hate having to say it when I know someone won't know what an ecu is.

Where is Ramas exactly?

Any contact number for this place by chance?

This mechanic made me waste $800 on a frecking distributor coil. To add up the cost I spend on this car to fix everything since I have it I am afraid to face the reality of how much it really is.

I rather not think about it.

Well I am done with this mechanic now. Atleast I know what the problem is now though.
Anyone knows what could have caused this to fry up?

You make the left right after the savannah. They're on the right, just before Rama's (Rama's have a big sign)

It'll run you 3-400 for the ecu. Make sure and carry yours so you will know if you need a P08, P91 etc. Hope it's not a P08 because that's the one tuners run down. If it IS a P08, drop a WTB post in the WTB ched in the Honda forum. Or ask Kes if he have one.

If those people don't have, continue on that same road until the end, then make a right to reach by Seenath's. Now they bring in a lot of Honda stuff and they know what we Honda people want, so accordingly, they rape us with price, so watch out.

If both fail, check Paul from Chagaunas. He always know someone with something to sell. I got my car with the wrong ecu and I check him. He knew someone with the P08 to sell. 733-5217. Another option is Jason from El Socorro side. He also knows a bunch of people with stuff to sell. 728-5644. And from now on, check one of these two as you're in the east. From exp, either one will have your civic in order.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 6th, 2011, 4:24 pm

Thanks Sky

I take out the ECU and here is what it has written on it. I think it is a P08 yeah?

37820-P08-902

461-303587

AWB

denshigiken

rism

Postby rism » July 6th, 2011, 5:12 pm

Don't change the engine and transmission hoss, that mech eh know he ass from he elbow it look like. you should try to source the brain and check one of the recommended mechs above. u shud do sum research on this. i think there are some brains that can be interchanged with others, i'm not sure so tuners dont kill me if i'm wrong... it mite help you out if you getting trouble to find the po8 brain.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 6th, 2011, 5:18 pm

my car was behaving erractic also...after changing sensors and doing all kinda work on the car I eventually realised the ECU was fried...I had used a battery on the car to start it and apparently it was a dead battery so somehow it f up my ECU.....

anyways got an ECU with the same number on it (one bold letter and number on the top of it)......was hard getting it though....

Took 10 mins or less to swap and car is back to normal...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 6th, 2011, 5:31 pm

rism wrote:Don't change the engine and transmission hoss, that mech eh know he ass from he elbow it look like. you should try to source the brain and check one of the recommended mechs above. u shud do sum research on this. i think there are some brains that can be interchanged with others, i'm not sure so tuners dont kill me if i'm wrong... it mite help you out if you getting trouble to find the po8 brain.

I get rid of that mechanic hoss LOL

Hiring this man was my biggest mistake yes. Car was great until I carried it by him to fix a oil leak. After that everything screw up so I done with he.

I will hire a electrician to check and see what caused the ECU to burn out in the first place.
Will need to do that before I put in the new one.

Thankfully I don't have to buy a new Engine and Transmission. When he told me that I get frighten seriously.

He was also suggesting to put in a B14 Engine.

Postby Hook » July 6th, 2011, 5:50 pm

Postby rollingstock » July 6th, 2011, 6:01 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:He was also suggesting to put in a B14 Engine.

That man deserve a friggin reward, only sensible thing to do :lol:

Postby Sky » July 6th, 2011, 7:23 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Thanks Sky

I take out the ECU and here is what it has written on it. I think it is a P08 yeah?

37820-P08-902

461-303587

AWB

denshigiken

Right, it's a P08 ecu.
Begin your quest.
and lol @ b14 engine.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 9th, 2011, 12:02 pm

Ok so I check every inch of bamboo. Nowhere has this lol

I will have to try some mechanic garage or something and hope I get lucky.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 9th, 2011, 12:14 pm

Where exactly in El Socorro is Jason?

He not answering his phone.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 9th, 2011, 7:38 pm

ok update I got a P08 ECU to buy. This was by some miracle that someone saw the wtb thread on tuner the guy didn't charge me as yet because the car still isn't starting.

He is willing to let me borrow it for a week to get a electrician to check out what else might be wrong.

I might have to call paul but don't know if he is willing to come home to check this.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 9th, 2011, 8:52 pm

did you check the distributor module?

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 9th, 2011, 8:52 pm

Fella, my guess is the ignition module inside the dizzy is firetrucked up hence the reason for it not starting after the ECU swap.. Borrow a dizzy from someone, maybe it might start... Hondas dizzys are famous for going bad without warning, they can even take out the ECU so be careful yuh eh fry the borrowed ECU..

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 10th, 2011, 2:00 am

well I gave my dad the distributor to carry by someone to swap the coil.

He give me the old one, the old one came with the module attacked to it. So I am assuming the $800 the guy charged for the coil also included a module for it.

You all think it could be a Engine Fuse or something like that?

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 10th, 2011, 9:29 am

The Dist Ign module was about 600 alone in the bamboo(a few years ago when I had the same problem), chances are he put back your old one since he totally misdiagnosed the issue.

Postby r3iXmann » July 10th, 2011, 9:37 am

karma is a beyotch eh? :wink:

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 10th, 2011, 1:18 pm

r3iXmann wrote:karma is a beyotch eh? :wink:

Brrr?

Hammy Bolo

Postby Hammy Bolo » July 10th, 2011, 2:35 pm

653 2817 Victor Whibby (located by Hallmark card factory just off Rushworth Street San Fernando) should be able to repair the ECU for you if you cannot get a replacement one- the guy is highly qualified and Canadian Trained in his field

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 10th, 2011, 2:37 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:well I gave my dad the distributor to carry by someone to swap the coil.

He give me the old one, the old one came with the module attacked to it. So I am assuming the $800 the guy charged for the coil also included a module for it.

You all think it could be a Engine Fuse or something like that?

Breds, why don't you take it to someone who fixes this kinda stuff for a living, rather than guess what's wrong... You'll save yourself a lot of headache by spending a little money.

When diagnosing a problem, you start at the end of the line then work your way back.. After verifying that you have no spark (screwdriver shock test :lol: ) first thing to check is the FUSES then the ignition wires, cap, rotor, coil, module etc.. All those thing are checked one by one as you work your way forward through the ignition system... If you now looking to check fuse after changing a coil, then you looking for lix...

BTW, how the fark you change the coil without first verifying it's indeed faulty? Testing the coil is VERY EASY. It can be done with a simple Ohmmeter. Chances are, your old coil will be recycled into another man's car because nothing was wrong with it in the first place.. Apart from your mech who misdiagnosed the problem, the man who "fix" you coil should also be firetrucked up because he robbed you. He should of verified that your old coil was bad before changing it, but then again, the man just looking to make ah lil money like everyone else so he probably just went with the flow :lol:

TAKE IT TO A PROFESSIONAL!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 10th, 2011, 4:56 pm

LOL yes that an who change the coil clearly robbed me. As I am sure nothing was wrong with it.

My fault for hiring this mechanic who knows absolutely nothing. Funny thing is I see a Benz park up to fix in his yard and he say he fixing any benz so I assume the man good. Is only after a while I realize he don't really know anything. Could have been he family benz for all we know. Maybe someone came to visit and he claim he fixing that benz. You never know.

Well I know for sure the old ECU fry. The coil was clearly good. So with new coil and new module and new ECU and car not starting.

I have decided to hire a good Auto electrician. This should be sorted out next week.

This car have a million fuse and if its not that then I go be more frustrated so I decide to have a professional take care of this. Thats the best thing yes I should have done that all along.

I honestly never believed that a old 1994 car like this could be so computerized.