Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

Shooter_boy_J

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby Shooter_boy_J » July 4th, 2011, 4:29 pm

What do you think about the system?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 4th, 2011, 4:45 pm

^^ sounds like a good system. I honestly don't know much about American Audio and RCF but you just can't beat dbx, after all, it is harman and the numark dual cd player is really good for what you get and the quality you get while being affordable.

Postby gt4tified » July 4th, 2011, 7:59 pm

DJ Q wrote:
mojosodope wrote:
DJ Q wrote:
Kasey wrote:^^there is an 'Assign' button for each end of the Crossfader (CF). tHE MIXER HAS 8 INPUTS, BUT The crossfade can mix two at a time, which is determined by the position of the assignment switches.

So It's possible to run an acapella on an instrumental in two separate channels both assigned to A then mix in another tune?

I just upgraded to the dn x500 from my numark c1, still waiting on some cords and my driverack px to complete the setup but by friday everything would be complete and running. I know what you're saying but I think you'll only be able to mix the two separate channels and you can switch between the input or cross fader assign accordingly.

Hmmm... I'm thinking of something like the Denon HS5500 where it's two decks in one. So you can have the first machine going to channels one and two (Assigned to A) and the second machine go on channels 3 and 4 (Assigned to B). So basically rather than mixing two channels you can actually be mixing and remixing on the fly with up to four different channels.

Not familiar with the HS5500 but if it has the Alpha Track feature similar to the DN-S5000 then you can. The Alpha Track feature is great...its like having 4 decks when you really have 2. I practice using it when I get time at home but for some reason I always forget how when I’m playing outside...just can’t commit that to long-term memory. I’m using my gig savings to buy a proper Denon Mixer.....I was thinking maybe the DJ-X1100.

996vtwin, I not even going to take notice of that chain-up attempt man.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 4th, 2011, 10:13 pm

mojosodope wrote:
Shooter_boy_J wrote: We have a DBX PA for processing (which i need help to program if anybody willing to do it for a price)

save your money

your system will most likely be using custom presets but it's not that hard, you can find the manual and supporting documents online if you don't already have them and if you have a magicjack or skype calling etc, just call dbx support and they'll help you for free.

Good advice. Save ur money. Its actuallt very easy when u really get into it.

If u need help I can do it free, but only after u try it urself and tell me what u did.

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » July 5th, 2011, 8:20 am

the dbx works great since we also use the dbx 260, tuning it was a task, so i used the laptop to do, still not great at it manually. we are using eaw system, home built, so trying to get all the parametric setting right was difficult. but we use it for live sound not DJ, for DJ we use the rane xover, which works great.

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » July 5th, 2011, 9:31 am

so fellaz we all know we have music but who cud mix? Lets so a trinituner mix off competition all the next person will post the five songs that they would like to hear mixed and you will have to mix it and upload it to soundcloud and share the link! What you think?

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 5th, 2011, 10:18 am

^ I up fuh dat, all I have is VDJ doh and I er spin in a while

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » July 5th, 2011, 10:41 am

Yeah you cud use anything you want!

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 5th, 2011, 11:08 am

guys,

I looking for a small case that can hold an rmx2450, eq and crossover. something small and light, and selling in trinidad. I saw some plastic (ABS) cases but i don't know if they can take the weight.

any suggestions?

oh btw, amp is a 2U rack space, eq and crossover are 1U each so looking for 4-5U rack space

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » July 5th, 2011, 2:32 pm

anybody have behringer ultradrive dcx2496 setups or know how to set it up?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 5th, 2011, 5:01 pm

I have a DCX2496. It is super easy to set man. Take a crack at it, u'll be suprised.

Postby gt4tified » July 5th, 2011, 5:37 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:guys,

I looking for a small case that can hold an rmx2450, eq and crossover. something small and light, and selling in trinidad. I saw some plastic (ABS) cases but i don't know if they can take the weight.

any suggestions?

oh btw, amp is a 2U rack space, eq and crossover are 1U each so looking for 4-5U rack space

I would humbly advise to get at minimum a 6U high unit, and leave sufficient room between the amp and XOver/EQ. Also you'll want to consider leaving room for additional eqpt u may buy in the future e.g. A compressor/limiter etc.

Check IEG Electronics or DJ Natty for Gator cases.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » July 5th, 2011, 6:22 pm

anybody ever buy anything from rent-a-amp, in the market for 4 prx625

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 5th, 2011, 8:57 pm

gt4tified wrote:
SmokeyGTi wrote:guys,

any suggestions?

I would humbly advise to get at minimum a 6U high unit, and leave sufficient room between the amp and XOver/EQ. Also you'll want to consider leaving room for additional eqpt u may buy in the future e.g. A compressor/limiter etc.

Check IEG Electronics or DJ Natty for Gator cases.

I disaggree.
On one hand, buy what u need and have the convenience of a small case to carry around by urself and fit in ur front seat or in ur trunk with ease.
On the other hand, if u know ur gonna expand, then and only then, u might consider buying a larger capacity case, but it will be cumbersome even if it is only 2u spaces bigger. I speak from my humble experience.

Postby gt4tified » July 5th, 2011, 9:46 pm

SmokeyGTi, me ent know 'bout nobody else eh dawg, but I'd rather suffer the "inconvenience" of something 2U larger, knowing that my AMPLIFIER stored within it has sufficient room for cooling. If you wanted to use it to store ONLY signal processing equipment, that would be a different story altogether. But again....thaz just plain old ignorant me.

I borrowed these specs from Sweetwater for the 6U Gator case: 13 1/2" x 22" x 17 1/2" (H x W x D), 13lbs. So unless you have the front seat of a Shelby Cobra, or the trunk of a VW Beetle, I see that fitting perfectly fine in your ride, be it front seat, back seat, trunk or even strapped to the roof. :lol:

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 6th, 2011, 7:36 am

^^ thanks for the advice.. once it fitting in the front seat and it not too heavy i good.
my major concern is that it would also take the weight of the amp without falling apart..

I had a standing rack but that was just to cumbersome to move around...not to mention that the rack itself was heavy.

yeah i do plan to get a compressor/limiter at some point.

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » July 6th, 2011, 8:18 am

Kasey wrote:I have a DCX2496. It is super easy to set man. Take a crack at it, u'll be suprised.

what do u set ur sub freq on if u using eaws?

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 6th, 2011, 3:32 pm

anybody have a number for Natty?
feel free to pm.
thanks!

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » July 6th, 2011, 7:34 pm

aight fellers need some help, got 3 amps and a crossover what size road ready case do
i need ?, would it cost cheaper to buy one locally or bring one down through amazon ? tanks
these are the stuff
b.jpg
BEHRINGER_EP2500.jpeg
BEHRINGER_EP2500.jpeg (15 KiB) Viewed 2975 times
peavy.jpg
peavy.jpg (9.24 KiB) Viewed 2975 times
yamaha-p2500s.jpeg
yamaha-p2500s.jpeg (13.22 KiB) Viewed 2975 times

Postby gastly369 » July 6th, 2011, 7:42 pm

whats a good price to rent out a PA system for small system that is(peavey escort 3000)
friend got one and some ppl asking to rent in for 5hrs so whats a good hourly avg price to call?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » July 6th, 2011, 7:43 pm

an 8 or 10 unit odyssey flight zone case should do you good

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 6th, 2011, 10:55 pm

get a 10U...i think kasey have one for sale

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 7th, 2011, 12:21 am

what is the size of 1U?

Postby gt4tified » July 7th, 2011, 7:03 am

1U or 10U? 1U = 1.75" iirc

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 7th, 2011, 7:45 am

Guys you can check out this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=381558&p=5464326#p5464326

Postby pugboy » July 7th, 2011, 7:55 am

I hear Natty get real pressure with the NSC
RCF clones
SmokeyGTi wrote:anybody have a number for Natty?
feel free to pm.
thanks!

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 7th, 2011, 7:57 am

^^ ya did it man!

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » July 7th, 2011, 8:29 am

anyone knows whats the going price for new RCF 18" P300 right now? Also heard that Bobby Jahoor is no longer the dealer for RCF trinidad, can anyone confirm or know who the new dealer may be?

D.S.S

Postby D.S.S » July 7th, 2011, 8:34 am

I think its around $1900 and thing..

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 7th, 2011, 12:00 pm

$1900 for an 18" thats okay
$1900 for a RCF 18" that's freakin awesome