Update the Civic Finally Fix, Thanks to SKY and all tuners

Re: So I can't get a distributor to buy nowhere in Trinidad.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 5th, 2011, 4:50 pm

^ Yeah it is supposed to block the coolant from cooling the engine so the car can warm up quick.

Since its removed the coolant flowing free so it takes a while to die down. And there isn't any screw where you can adjust the idle from what I know. Its a sensor controlled business.

So because the water flowing freely it taking long to warm up so the engine idle high for quite some time

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 5th, 2011, 6:01 pm

sell that shyt n buy a nisssan..

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 5th, 2011, 6:03 pm

sell that shyt n buy a nisssan..

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 5th, 2011, 6:04 pm

I feel I have to get rid of this car. Will the nightmare ever end?

Hear this I get a mechanic to come and hook up the distributor. Surprise Surprise the car still not starting lol

It not getting any spark still. What in gods name is this?

The battery gone dead it was kinda weak also so I put it to charge and he say he will come in the morning to try it back again. The mechanic say it could just be that the battery don't have enough juice to start it.

I am still wondering what was the burning smell coming from the ac vents when this happened a month ago. Could it have been something inside the car all along and I waste money changing the coil?

Well when the battery charge back tomorrow we will know.

Postby Hook » July 5th, 2011, 6:13 pm

doh hut yuh head up on what yuh bad spend breds...just get it fixed

disappointing that you registered on an AUTOMOTIVE WEBSITE and doh know about your own car tho

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 5th, 2011, 6:29 pm

well the battery charging good thing I have a home charger for it.

Fingers crossed that it starts in the morning.

rism

Postby rism » July 5th, 2011, 6:46 pm

sometimes the module in the distributor goes bad, that had happened with mine. i got a f.used distributor to buy in bamboo, nd i fixed my old one nd hav it as a spare, if u still looking for one, u can check mohammed's nex to bicks. They located in bamboo, running parallel to the south bound lane on the highway. ur mech shud also check to see if he getting power to the distributor. my 0.02c

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 5th, 2011, 7:22 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Be careful with dem Honda dissy... A lot of time it's the pickup & igniter that goes bad. It would suck arse if the coil wasn't the problem :lol:

I think you right.

Cause I just start it with some good juice from the battery. Strong tumble and it still not starting and the distributor connect properly and everything.

Anything else besides the distributor can be the problem?

What about an Engine fuse or something? cause it getting gas. The mechanic had test for gas so its not the fuel pump.

And I had put in new spark plugs 3 months ago when I did a full tune up.

Postby Stephon. » July 5th, 2011, 7:26 pm

Sounds like frustration after frustration, time to give away

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 5th, 2011, 7:31 pm

Boy I eh know what to do now. $800 to replace the coil in this and now its not the facking coil? REALLY???

Holy sheit!!! But the electrician say the coil was bad. But then again he could ah just been saying that to get a sale and make a quick $800 plenty dishonest people out there.

The problem is, there is no spark coming from the spark plugs even after spending that $800

Mechanic coming back in the morning I will have him check the Engine fuses.

Postby nervewrecker » July 5th, 2011, 8:02 pm

I mea, I dont know much about cars eh, but dude....you take the cake yes. sell that car & get a nissan plz.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » July 5th, 2011, 8:15 pm

where u from?

Postby nervewrecker » July 5th, 2011, 8:22 pm

me, south. wbu?

a/s/l

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 5th, 2011, 8:29 pm

lol I think he was asking me?

I from Piarco area dan.
I watching this website here

http://www.familycar.com/Classroom/ignition.htm

a lecture on how ignition systems work. It don't look like the spark plug not getting spark has anything to do with a fuse. Hmmmm. It could perhaps be the actual wire from inside the car going to the distributor burned out.

Which could explain the burning smell from inside the car when this issue first started. I had a thread about should I hire a mechanic or an electrician.

Seems I found out the answer to my question now. Mechanic will come back to have one last look tomorrow and if I lucky he might be skilled enough to open the cover below the steering and check the ignition switch.

I will update allyuh but i think this was the problem from the start.

R-H-D

Postby R-H-D » July 5th, 2011, 8:31 pm

uh should be looking for another mechanic
sounds like you are dealing with ah shittong

Postby nervewrecker » July 5th, 2011, 8:42 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:lol I think he was asking me?

well tell me still, im a sexi south female looking for a north shotta.

rism

Postby rism » July 5th, 2011, 9:30 pm

Check your inbox, sent you a pm. Also forget them fellas who say sell your car and buy a Nissan. Your problem is your mech. get a good qualified mechanic, and you'll be ok. Also,seeing the prices you paying to get simple things done, i think you should also start learning about your car, invest in sum tools, and start learning to troubleshoot problems for yourself, and even fix the simple stuff yourself, cuz sum of them 'mechanics ' out there don't know anything more than you or me, they jus want $.

Postby nervewrecker » July 5th, 2011, 9:31 pm

buy ah alpine...

Postby Ted_v2 » July 5th, 2011, 9:41 pm

nervewrecker wrote:buy ah alpine...

i took ur advice and buy ah alpine and yunno what It Rawkz :mrgreen:

Postby nervewrecker » July 5th, 2011, 9:51 pm

haush yuh cokey eared cyat, I said cho whe de alpine not buy one. :lol:

Postby Sky » July 5th, 2011, 10:07 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:lol I think he was asking me?

I from Piarco area dan.
I watching this website here

http://www.familycar.com/Classroom/ignition.htm

a lecture on how ignition systems work. It don't look like the spark plug not getting spark has anything to do with a fuse. Hmmmm. It could perhaps be the actual wire from inside the car going to the distributor burned out.

Which could explain the burning smell from inside the car when this issue first started. I had a thread about should I hire a mechanic or an electrician.

Seems I found out the answer to my question now. Mechanic will come back to have one last look tomorrow and if I lucky he might be skilled enough to open the cover below the steering and check the ignition switch.

I will update allyuh but i think this was the problem from the start.

*sigh*

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=178621

Go here. The 1st 3 mechs are the best in the country imo. Dunno about the 4th. Call any one of them and you'll have your civic fixed.

Postby rollingstock » July 5th, 2011, 10:11 pm

nervewrecker wrote:me, south. wbu?

a/s/l

Eh heh :twisted:

ADAH 303
Location: SESL Compound, Churchill-Roosevelt Highway, Spring Village, Valsayn 381-1757

Postby ADAH 303 » July 5th, 2011, 11:10 pm

How I have checked Honda distributors:-
No spark, first check coil.
If the coil is OK, check module.

Checking the module is very difficult to check.
The module normally has four terminals
Postive (an Input): Must read 12 Volts.
Negative (an Input): Metal body of the module which must be firmly grounded to body of the distributor. And distributor must be properly grounded to engine.
Input (an Input): Is the output signal from the ECU. I don't know how to measure.
Coil (an Output): Is the output from the module to coil. This will be a negative signal as the other side of the two terminals on the coil is a positive from the battery. I don't know how to measure negative signal.
Tach Out (an Output): Tachometer output for ECU and/or RPM gauge.
If the battery voltage is ok on the module and still no spark, replace with a known good module. (Used modules are hard to find and new modules are expensive.)

If coil and module are ok, the only things left are the three sensors in the distributor:-
Top Dead Center sensor
CYlinder Position sensor
CranKshaft Position sensor
A defective sensor should generate a check light. This is the most difficult fix because new individual sensors are not sold by Honda. (These sensors and their purpose may vary based on what model vehicle.)

See diagrams below for general reference only, not specific to your vehicle.

The three mechanics referred to by "Sky" can identify and fix the problem.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » July 5th, 2011, 11:53 pm

rollingstock wrote:Should ah buy a b14, not too late to stick a ga15 in that beyotch ;)

Or you could buy my car. Dependable always.

viewtopic.php?f=55&t=381080

Lemme know.

Postby SR » July 6th, 2011, 9:57 am

http://www.haynes.com/repairmanuals/honda/civic

fix it yourself

i have a haynes manual for honda civic to sell

$100

Postby r3iXmann » July 6th, 2011, 10:49 am

SR wrote:http://www.haynes.com/repairmanuals/honda/civic

fix it yourself

i have a haynes manual for honda civic to sell

$100

the OP can't even use a phone book, you want him use a Haynes manual? :|

Postby cinco » July 6th, 2011, 11:03 am

yeh he go use the haynes manual to hit the dizzy

Postby Hook » July 6th, 2011, 11:26 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Boy I eh know what to do now. $800 to replace the coil in this and now its not the facking coil? REALLY???

Holy sheit!!! But the electrician say the coil was bad. But then again he could ah just been saying that to get a sale and make a quick $800 plenty dishonest people out there.

The problem is, there is no spark coming from the spark plugs even after spending that $800

Mechanic coming back in the morning I will have him check the Engine fuses.

Really dude? Really? u haz da cataracts or sumting?
Men posting valuable tech info and offering service manuals and u can't check fuses? Lemme come check your fuses for a lil' $500 an ting nuh?

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 6th, 2011, 11:27 am

Breds, it was easier to change the whole dizzy for a new unit.. How the firetruck the electrician change the coil and he didn't test it first?? I'm assuming you and your pops diagnosed the problem and assumed it was a bad coil, then told the electrician "yea fadda, change da coil fun meh nah" :lol:

With the Accord I was fixing, it was the module that went bad and apparently it sent a signal to the ECU and it farked that up also... After changing 2 NEW distributors in 1 day, and testing every system in my AllData troubleshooting guide, I gave up and took it to an electrician.. He probed around and changed the ECU.. That sheit drove me crazy. I even had Crispeed on the phone trying to help me figure it out. It's not like I'm a noob when it comes to these kinda things, but this Accord was stubborn like the owner

That was a lesson learn for me... No more fixing people's car, no matter how good that arse look

Here you go, you firetruckin perverts - Pic

Postby Sky » July 6th, 2011, 11:56 am

^^ I wasn't even changing oil for her :P