The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Ted_v2 » June 21st, 2011, 9:54 pm

M_2NR wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:Sooo hear nah how can i put a mp3 ringtone on my iphone?(first gen )

http://modblog101.wordpress.com/2010/05 ... ou-iphone/

my phone isnt unlocked i tink :? :?

Postby M_2NR » June 21st, 2011, 11:36 pm

you mean jailbroken? well use the iclarified tutorial :|

Dennis61

Postby Dennis61 » June 22nd, 2011, 12:54 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I just want them to fix the T&T caller ID and give us back the personal hotspot!!!!!!

WRT the caller ID issue i downloaded an app called Contacts Tool which allows you to bulk modify all the contacts on your iPhone 4 adding the 1(868) prefix in front all your numbers. This solved the issue for me.

With the Personal Hotspot issue, try using your Cellular Data APN as the Internet Tethering APN. Personal Hotspot ON/OFF should appear and work.

Quick ques.. what's the bmobile mms settings for d iphone?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 22nd, 2011, 1:02 am

Dennis61 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I just want them to fix the T&T caller ID and give us back the personal hotspot!!!!!!

WRT the caller ID issue i downloaded an app called Contacts Tool which allows you to bulk modify all the contacts on your iPhone 4 adding the 1(868) prefix in front all your numbers. This solved the issue for me.

With the Personal Hotspot issue, try using your Cellular Data APN as the Internet Tethering APN. Personal Hotspot ON/OFF should appear and work.

Quick ques.. what's the bmobile mms settings for d iphone?
will try the app

WRT the tethering: since the bmobile update there is no Internet Tethering APN section anymore

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 22nd, 2011, 1:09 am

APN: mms
MMSC: http://192.168.210.104/mmrelay.com
MMS Proxy: 192.168.210.104:8080
MMS Max Message Size: 307200

Postby Ted_v2 » June 22nd, 2011, 6:02 am

M_2NR wrote:you mean jailbroken? well use the iclarified tutorial :|

well it gots cydia and version 3.1.3 so i'm guessing its jailbroken?

Postby Ted_v2 » June 22nd, 2011, 6:18 am

Soo here is where my problem lies i already made my ringtones and stuff ,i transfered it to my iphone but only one is showing :S check it here Image
there is more than 1 ^
only 1 showing :S
Last edited by Ted_v2 on June 22nd, 2011, 11:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 22nd, 2011, 6:25 am

is there any workaround to syncing a iphone to multiple pc's? like just to add more music from another pc while keeping the current list of songs on your iphone?? i tried some app from cydia(cant remember) but it didnt work....it just messed up my phone to cause me to restore...any help??

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 22nd, 2011, 11:13 am

Tried the Manually Manage Music & Videos option?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 22nd, 2011, 11:18 am

shaq090 wrote:is there any workaround to syncing a iphone to multiple pc's? like just to add more music from another pc while keeping the current list of songs on your iphone?? i tried some app from cydia(cant remember) but it didnt work....it just messed up my phone to cause me to restore...any help??
Apple wll make this very difficult as it will cause people to pirate more music rather than buying it from itunes

idlemind

Postby idlemind » June 22nd, 2011, 11:18 am

I use CopyTransManager to manage my music on all my Apple devices.
Beats back using iTunes anyday.

Any word on Comex's iPad2 jb???
I getting restless...thing jus sitting down doing nothing.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 22nd, 2011, 11:34 am

Now that June is winding to a close and the disappointment over no new iPhone fades into impatient waiting, it’s open season on rumors as to when the next handset will arrive. September has been widely pegged as the next likely candidate, but there could be more to that story.

Bloomberg is reporting that Apple will release the next iPhone in September, having pushed back the fifth model “to coincide with the release of the new iOS 5” which was just previewed at WWDC 2011 earlier this month. According to two people familiar with Apple’s plans, a beefier processor and 8MP camera are a lock for the new model, which is said to “closely resemble” the existing iPhone 4.

“The device will include the A5 processor, the more powerful chip that Apple added to the iPad 2 earlier this year, along with an 8-megapixel camera, up from the 5-megapixel model in the iPhone 4, said the people, who asked not to be identified because the details aren’t public,” Bloomberg revealed. “Apple is also testing a new version of the iPad that has a higher resolution screen, similar to the one now used in the iPhone 4, one of the people said.”

Say what? Yes, apparently Apple is hard at work on an iPad 3 -- as if we didn’t already know this. But there’s more: “The screen resolution on Apple’s new iPad would be about one-third higher than that of the iPad 2 and will boast a more responsive touchscreen, one of the people said.”

Bloomberg also dishes that Apple is “working to finish a cheaper version of the iPhone aimed at attracting customers in developing countries,” which would “use chips and displays of similar quality to today’s iPhone 4,” according to the same sources.

Nothing we haven’t heard before, but it’s newsworthy when a trusted source like Bloomberg throws their hat into the ring with such information. In any event, it’s likely to be a long summer as we wait for the next iPhone…

------

Quick Note: Angry Birds Seasons: Summer Pignic available now in the App Store

Postby Ted_v2 » June 22nd, 2011, 11:58 am

sound boy 64 wrote:Soo here is where my problem lies i already made my ringtones and stuff ,i transfered it to my iphone but only one is showing :S check it here Image
there is more than 1 ^
only 1 showing :S

Postby M_2NR » June 22nd, 2011, 12:51 pm

shaq090 wrote:is there any workaround to syncing a iphone to multiple pc's? like just to add more music from another pc while keeping the current list of songs on your iphone?? i tried some app from cydia(cant remember) but it didnt work....it just messed up my phone to cause me to restore...any help??

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=2137

sound boy 64, did you even read my post on modblog101?

try copying it to the folder in Library/Ringtones/ on your iPhone.

Good one dennis! wrt to the Contacts Tool :)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 22nd, 2011, 1:10 pm

idlemind wrote:I use CopyTransManager to manage my music on all my Apple devices.
Beats back using iTunes anyday.

Any word on Comex's iPad2 jb???
I getting restless...thing jus sitting down doing nothing.
I'm curious as to why you not using the iPad 2 cause it's not jailbroken

Postby M_2NR » June 22nd, 2011, 1:30 pm

i want it :oops:

but nah ill wait for the retina one

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 22nd, 2011, 2:51 pm

And the best-selling smartphone at AT&T and Verizon stores is…

…the iPhone. BTIG analyst Walter Piecyk on Wednesday published the findings of a study in which BTIG researchers contacted 250 AT&T and Verizon Wireless retail stores to determine which smartphone model finds its way to consumers’ pockets the most. The study, which took place over the past three weeks, found that Apple’s iPhone was the best-selling smartphone at 58% of the stores polled. An Android model took top billing at 21% of the stores, and sales were neck and neck at 20% of retail shops. Breaking BTIG’s findings out by carrier, 65% of AT&T stores polled said the iPhone was their best-selling smartphone versus 31% that said an Android model was No. 1, and the iPhone was the top smartphone at 51% of Verizon shops polled. Also of note, when Verizon stores were asked about their best-selling 4G LTE smartphone model, 90% said it was the Samsung DROID Charge and just 10% said it was HTC’s ThunderBolt. The LG Revolution wasn’t included in the firm’s study.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 22nd, 2011, 2:52 pm

M_2NR wrote:

already did dat but only one ringtone showing up in the phone

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » June 22nd, 2011, 3:37 pm

Score one for Cupertino.

As computer maker Apple battles several patent-related lawsuits with Nokia, Samsung and other competitors related to the wireless functionality of its popular iPhone, iPod and iPad products, the company was awarded a patent on Tuesday involving how a user interacts with a mobile device’s touchscreen display.

http://www.zdnet.com/blog/btl/in-wirele ... ag=nl.e550

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » June 22nd, 2011, 6:54 pm

Wah going on with the jailbreak and unlock for d ipad2...ne updates?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 22nd, 2011, 6:59 pm

Anyone here using OSX Lion??
I am and I wanna know how's your experience been....

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 22nd, 2011, 7:14 pm

Have a friend using it & I think M_2NR using it as well. Says no problems, runs great. I would run it myself, but since the release not too far off, I would wait for the final release.

As far as the iPad 2 jailbreak, nothing that I know of has changed since the last note of it.

Postby M_2NR » June 22nd, 2011, 9:59 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

already did dat but only one ringtone showing up in the phone

that is odd. the other method i posted works for me and i dont need to sync. Unless something your doing is wrong.

christopherwilliams2 wrote:Anyone here using OSX Lion??
I am and I wanna know how's your experience been....

I'm using DP5 via a VMware build i posted in prev. pages. It running rel nice! i never used OSX as this before and its running on top of windows sort of so my experience wont be that great but I must say, stuff that on iOS are in OSX and i loving it!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 23rd, 2011, 10:33 am

Weeks after iOS 5 beta was first released, a user has noticed a fun addition to operating system’s legal disclaimers (found under Preferences > General > About > Legal). A new section makes references to several mapping companies, such as TomTom, which could mean that Apple might be developing its own mapping service instead of using Google Maps, like it has since the iPhone’s inception.

When the iPhone, and therefore iOS, were first introduced, many of the operating system’s online services relied on Google, such as the built-in Maps App, which almost literally pulled data from Google Maps. Since then, Google and Apple have parted ways, when the former began developing its Android operating system, which now happens to be iOS’ main competitor. This caused Eric Schmidt, CEO of Google at the time, to be forced to step down from Apple’s board of directors back in 2009.

According to the new legal wording, Apple has partnered with several companies to develop its new Maps system, such as CoreLogic, Increment P Corp and Urban Mapping. That last one is known to go way beyond what one would expect from traditional mapping services, such as in-depth local data such as crime rates and even school performance.

This changeover is backed up by several job postings made over the last few years. One in made in December of last year, for example, called for someone with “Experience developing navigation software” and “Deep knowledge of Computational Geometry or Graph Theory”. That can be summed up by only one world: maps!

This changeover should have little impact on the user experience of the Maps application, since the change will only impact the back end, at least initially. It’s unclear why Apple has chosen to move away from Google, which is an extremely credible provider of online maps, but the Cupertino company might be trying to innovate in this field. How the Maps experience will change down the road is not yet known, but Apple definitely has something up its sleeve.

------

HP has put out a firmware update for 8 models of LaserJet printers, adding support for iOS’s AirPrint feature for iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad.

The newly empowered models are:
    HP LaserJet P1102w Printer :D
    HP LaserJet P1606dn Printer
    HP LaserJet Pro CP1025nw Color Printer
    HP LaserJet Pro M1212nf MFP
    HP LaserJet Pro M1213nf MFP
    HP LaserJet Pro M1214nfh MFP
    HP LaserJet Pro M1216nfh MFP
    HP LaserJet Pro M1217nfw MFP

Previously supported models:
    HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fn Color MFP
    HP LaserJet Pro CM1415fnw Color MFP
    HP LaserJet Pro CP1525n Color Printer
    HP LaserJet Pro CP1525nw Color Printer
    HP Color LaserJet Pro M1536dnf MFP

If you have one of those models, get on over to HP’s support site and download your update. If you’re considering a new, AirPrint supported printer, you can add those above to the 5 previously supported models, for a grand total of 13 to choose from.

------

A new speculative report out of the Far East claims Apple is likely to add dual-LED flash to the next-generation iPhone.

DigiTimes said Thursday that "recent market rumors" indicate Apple's iPhone 5 will likely come with a dual-LED flash. Taiwan-based LED packaging firms Everlight Electronics, Edison Opto and Lite-On Technology are named as potential suppliers. Although the publication has well-placed sources within the Asian supply chain, the accuracy of its Apple predictions varies significantly.

"Everlight and Lite-On have strengthened their deployments in the smartphone market for a while, with their products already being shipped to the supply chains of brand-name handset vendors," the reported noted industry sources as saying. Meanwhile, sources said that Edison specializes in high-power LEDs and has reportedly started shipping LED flash products to branded handset vendors, giving it a "high chance" of attracting dual-LED flash orders from Apple.

AppleInsider was first to report last week that Apple has "greatly reduced" orders for Philips LED flash components in recent months and may go with another company for the iPhone 5, according to a person familiar with the matter. At the time, the source indicated that "highly unconfirmed" rumors pointed to a Taiwan-based firm as the new LED flash supplier.

Apple first began using LED flash in last year's iPhone 4. Six months prior to the device's unveiling, AppleInsider reported that the iPhone maker was shopping for LED camera flash parts, with Philip's Lumileds Lighting sector as the likely supplier.

Last month, photos of a few purported next-generation iPhone cases and parts components emerged, showing a shift in the location of the device's camera flash. An alleged case leak showed up on a Chinese international trade site, followed by photos of a supposed fifth-generation iPhone rear camera part without attached flash. Finally, a photo of a back panel allegedly for the so-called iPhone surfaced in late May.

Reports on the next-generation iPhone have picked up steam as of late. Bloomberg claimed earlier this week that an A5-equipped iPhone with an 8-megapixel camera is coming in September. The report also alleged that Apple is working on an iPad 3 with "one-third higher" resolution than the iPad 2.

------

The Apple patent win for the original iPhone interface has generated a lot of buzz, also causing quite a turmoil among industry watchers for fears that the California-based gadget maker would sue rivals that dare implement capacitive multitouch interfaces. That patent, however, also holds interesting clues hidden from plain sight that point to third-party widgets for the iOS 5 Notification Center. RazorianFly explains:

As seen above, Apple specifically mentions “User-Created Widget(s)” as well as something called the“Widget Creator Module”. Apple’s market-blowing patent describes the possible user-creation of such widgets, which could, (theoretically), run on devices such as the iPhone, and iPad.

With patent clues and iOS 5 hooks in place, all Apple needs to do is enable some public APIs to allow for the creation and installation of third-party widgets in the iOS 5 Notification Center…

As 9to5Mac reported, some developers have managed to prove that pulling this off is technically feasible, creating proof of concept widgets. In addition, the agile jailbreak community has jumped on the opportunity to adapt tons of existing system tweaks and user interface themes for the iOS 5 Notification Center. Considering Apple actually borrowed some of the best jailbreak tweaks for iOS 5, including the new Notification Center feature, we think there’s a reasonable chance that they will open up iOS 5 Notification Center to widgets from third-parties and distribute them via a dedicated App Store section.

------

Wouldn’t it be nice if you could pull a widget during your favorite TV show to read the latest show-related news or cast and crew information, watch special features, access social networking components and interact in other relevant ways with your TV content? The latest patent application from Apple seeks to tackle this burning issue and is noteworthy for making a specific connection to a big screen TV, which is interesting in the light of a DailyTech story calling for an iOS-powered, Apple-branded television set this Fall. From Apple’s patent application:

Recently, a few consumer electronics companies have extended the widget paradigm to television. For example, while watching TV programming on a widget-enabled TV set, the viewer can manipulate the TV remote control to interact, for example, with a “chat” widget displayed on the TV screen to send text messages back and forth with others connected to a common chat network.

Television widgets could change visibility, functionality, appearance and position based on your input or responding to media content at hand. There would be an online repository where you’d go to download widgets and you’d be able to specify your geographical location and a timeline region in order to “synchronize one or more of the complementary resources with corresponding portions of the item of primary media content”. Contrary to today’s simple widgets which are unaware of the currently viewed television program, Apple’s solution would take your television experience to the next level by providing complementary or otherwise relevant information to the currently presented television program. The patent application was credited to an Apple engineer Daniel Davis and filed under the United States Patent & Trademark Office patent number 20110154200

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 23rd, 2011, 8:00 pm

Hi guys I need some help, I have a jail broken 3G, problem is wifi isn't working can someone provide me a step by step approach to fix this

I will be using windows xp

And I new to this jail breaking thing

Thanks

Postby M_2NR » June 23rd, 2011, 8:53 pm

^ good luck bro. Wifi has been a beyotch in most iPhones that give any issue wrt to it.

search the thread about the freezer trick or the oven trick. I used the freezer trick before and it sort of worked.

There is a search bar on each page :)

src1983

Postby src1983 » June 23rd, 2011, 10:47 pm

Cool thanks

Postby M_2NR » June 24th, 2011, 12:34 am

SRASC wrote:APN: mms

boy... i now seeing this... some guys on the blog i have getting issues.. you sure thats a .com there?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 24th, 2011, 6:45 am

M_2NR wrote:

boy... i now seeing this... some guys on the blog i have getting issues.. you sure thats a .com there?

i most likely believe u need to take off the .com

xtech

Postby xtech » June 24th, 2011, 8:36 am

shaq090 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

i most likely believe u need to take off the .com

should it be .app