SRASC wrote:SRASC wrote:So what's the general consensus about the iPhone 4 on bmobile launch? I'm curious if the phones are locked to bmobile & if so, if the Caller ID fix would be necessary or not.
Well judging from the posts the consensus seems to be-itis
they had to give the hotspot because they don't have 3G ready as yet - and AFAIK you can't be a carrier for the iPhone 3G, 3GS or 4 without having 3G on your network.teems1 wrote:also who on earth gives a hotspot with a phone! sigh, tstt really dropped the ball on this one
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I cannot confirm that all EDGE subscribers will automatically get 3G speeds once 3G is activated. Perhaps they may have separate billing and pricing, perhaps it will be ONLY as a package deal or with bandwidth caps (not unlimited like EDGE is now at $150 per month).
I am not sure what they will do.
Parvin wrote:How you get it to work?
I keep getting the 'Waiting for activation' message when i enable it.
And yes I connected to wifi
Quote Originally Posted by Netcruzer View Post
Hey. I was in the same boat, I have a Telus locked iPhone, unlocked with Gevey, trying to use on Rogers. I could do everything but activate facetime, well after 4 days trying (mitime didn't work for me), I figured out a way to get facetime working for FREE.
First, get to your desired firmware (I'm running 4.3.3), jailbreak it (may not be necessary, but I jailbroke mine), and ensure it's properly activated and that push is working. Either use a legit sim, or SAM to activate.
Then, use the program DISK AID, connect to the root of your iPhone.
Navigate to System > Library > Carrier bundles > iPhone > Unknown.bundle
Save out the carrier.plist that is in unknown.bundle. Save it to your desktop somewhere you can find it later.
Then, navigate to your intended carrier bundle, for example, mine was Rogers, so I went into the Rogers_ca.bundle, copy the carrier.pist from here into the unknown.bundle folder.
You have just overwritten the stock unknown carrier plist with the Rogers carrier plist.
The reason for this is so that you can use the correct number registration used for facetime activations.
Reboot your iPhone. Do the gevey process again. If you can't see the option to edit your "Cellular Data Network" in Settings > General > Network, then it worked. To clarify, it should be missing.
So, now you have verified that you are using the Rogers carrier.plist. Go to Settings > Phone > and Turn ON facetime.
It will send a text message to the proper Rogers auth number (49988) instead of the UK number the unknown carrier tried to use.
You will be authorized! FaceTime works. Congrats.
Now.. you could leave it as is, but you might not have wifi tethering support.
To enable tethering, reconnect your phone to DISK AID and restore the saved unknown.bundle carrier.plist into the uknown.carrier folder.
Reboot.
Do Gevey process again.
Go to Settings > General > Network > Cellular Data Network, and reset settings.
It should clear all APNs
Manually re-enter your carrier settings for APN, MMS and Tether.
Exit
Everything should now be working, Push, Facetime, Cell Data, WiFi Tether.
You're welcome!
NOTES: This process of swapping the carrier.plist file into the unknown bundle folder should work to enable facetime with any OFFICIAL carrier.
You must copy the plists around because editing them is not possible, the plists on iOS 4.x are signed and cannot be changed, but you CAN move them around.
pioneer wrote:src1983 wrote:Aaron 2NR wrote:spoke to a director at Digicel over the weekend. They have no plans to sell in iphone in the near future. They said business people prefer blackberry for their business plans and it's working for them.
What about 3G, do they have plans of upgrading??
Look at digicel's history, since launch what new tech. have they really brought to us?
Nothing to write home about, they fool people with cheap rates which work half the time.
Digicel is the network choice of pipers/tradesmen etc. Almost every mason/carpenter/taxi driver i know prefer to use digicel for some reason
Parvin wrote:By chance, does anyone have FaceTime working?
996vtwin wrote:Parvin wrote:By chance, does anyone have FaceTime working?
I have used facetime since a while now, tt - us. I have a factory unlocked but I think the foreign charges were high.
pioneer wrote:bmobile said they cannot help you if you have an unlocked iphone not purchased from them...
9z4dma wrote:the iPhone 4 16GB is C&W LIME/Bmobile locked model MC603ZQ/A - Jamaica
Bmobile is cutting the regular SIM with a SIM cutter as they have no microSIM as yet.
and the correct iPhone Plan Packages are now reflected on the website
http://bmobile.co.tt/iphone-4-16gb/
Parvin wrote:996vtwin wrote:Parvin wrote:By chance, does anyone have FaceTime working?
I have used facetime since a while now, tt - us. I have a factory unlocked but I think the foreign charges were high.
Doesn't FaceTime use wifi ... making it free for both parties?
9z4dma wrote:the iPhone 4 16GB is C&W LIME/Bmobile locked model MC603ZQ/A - Jamaica
Bmobile is cutting the regular SIM with a SIM cutter as they have no microSIM as yet.
and the correct iPhone Plan Packages are now reflected on the website
http://bmobile.co.tt/iphone-4-16gb/
Code: Select all
Settings\General\About\Model
GTcruzer wrote:I'm not sure if i have valid points at all but i was wondering;
If Apple originally made it's iPhone 2g, 3g & 3gs for AT&T & then the iPhone 4 for AT&T and Verizon..... how can bmobile sell it? These iPhones from bmobile would still need to be jailbroken right? & wasn't jailbreaking necessary to allow the device to work on another network besides AT&T orignally?
These were just a few things that i'm not certain of & would like clarification.... thanks
mojosodope wrote:Parvin wrote:996vtwin wrote:Parvin wrote:By chance, does anyone have FaceTime working?
Doesn't FaceTime use wifi ... making it free for both parties?
Yeah it does, facetime works perfectly for me and it is free but for the intiall activation requries facetime to send an sms which may incur additional fees, its a one time thing just for the activation but I never had any additional fee.
when I was on 4.0 and 4.0.1 , when I first got my iPhone 4, I paid $5 and used MiTime to unlock it on my jailbroken phone.
Ever since 4.2.1 came out tho facetime always activated on its own, just play around with the on/off repeatedly, it should eventually activate.
Parvin wrote:By chance, does anyone have FaceTime working?
shaq090 wrote:No people...
U pay the initial deposit 6000 then u pay 500 a month for the first year...then tecnically u pay 500 a month afterwards but its taken from ur deposit which will run u for the last 12 months of ur service
Bezman wrote:shaq090 wrote:No people...
U pay the initial deposit 6000 then u pay 500 a month for the first year...then tecnically u pay 500 a month afterwards but its taken from ur deposit which will run u for the last 12 months of ur service
my partner who bought one said nothing about that... he said he not getting back anything, is level 500 in ya tail for 2 years, god knows how much more after that
pioneer wrote:Look at digicel's history, since launch what new tech. have they really brought to us?
Nothing to write home about, they fool people with cheap rates which work half the time.
Digicel is the network choice of pipers/tradesmen etc. Almost every mason/carpenter/taxi driver i know prefer to use digicel for some reason
Parvin wrote:Does the SAM utility make a difference on the iphone 4?
I know it helped with the battery drain issue and push notifications on the 3GS, but does the iphone 4 really need it or has a better result using it?
shaq090 wrote:Bezman wrote:shaq090 wrote:No people...
my partner who bought one said nothing about that... he said he not getting back anything, is level 500 in ya tail for 2 years, god knows how much more after that
u doh get it back physically or back in ur bank account...think of it u give them 6000 to hold for u...u pay for the first year of ur 2 year contract and the 6nd year they pay the bill with ur 6000 u gave them at the start...and i know how u feeling now...they does confuse the customer...they does keep telling u that u have to pay a certain amount every month...but they kinda correct...its ur $$$ but they just giving u it back in monthly bill payments..hope this helped u understand their con man strategy