The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

mojosodope

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby mojosodope » June 13th, 2011, 7:10 pm

some rumors going around that apple will start selling unlocked handsets wednesday, maybe AT&T's way of trying to persuade people to support T-Mobile U.S.A acquisition? hmm

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » June 13th, 2011, 7:14 pm

mojosodope wrote:some rumors going around that apple will start selling unlocked handsets wednesday, maybe AT&T's way of trying to persuade people to support T-Mobile U.S.A acquisition? hmm

saw geohot and clarified stating it's official so we will see , but I doh see the sense cus 16gb starting @ $600 and every other one is more $$ so fleck that

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 13th, 2011, 7:17 pm

I really don't care that if you buy one it's going to be unlocked now, well at least iphone 4's, but it's possible that they let you unlock your current one, maybe with a small fee but I really don't care bout a fee if AT&T officially unlocks it.

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » June 13th, 2011, 7:22 pm

I real want to see them launch this thing on EDGE!!!! LOL

They can't be serious... or force people to walk around with that damn hotspot "IYP"

Neither do I see an entire 3G network pop up overnight... they would've announced that long time ago....

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 13th, 2011, 7:31 pm

I have a buddy working in cell tower business saying they have been updating some antennas with 3g boxes etc for a while now.. but he and all cant get into too much info

I am sure there will be limited 3g coverage around town, pos, chaguanas, south etc, not in remote areas.. but thats ok for me..

as far as apple unlocking existing phones, NOPE, they have special part numbers ;)
http://twitter.com/#!/chronicwire

Postby teems1 » June 13th, 2011, 7:38 pm

sigh, all this cloak and dagger business...

seriously tstt, the phone has been launched more than a year now...

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 13th, 2011, 7:39 pm

^^ I know the have special part numbers, still hoping AT&T will lighten up tho, remember the main reason they didn't unlock iphones in the past was that people would buy unlocked phones and use it on tmobile, now that they're buying tmobile which is their only main gsm based competiton in the states, that reason is gone, just speculation but it is possible that they will start unlocking current iphones, at least for the accounts that are in good standing. and @jsm1985, obviously it won't pop up entirely overnight, it's going to be a scheduled rollout, area by area... as stated above and how it works everywhere else in the world.

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » June 13th, 2011, 7:52 pm

You know over a month ago I got a notification on iphone 4 that it was using 3g, St Clair Area. Then it just went off. I still wonder to this day if I was seeing things.

Postby M_2NR » June 13th, 2011, 7:55 pm

Bezman wrote:I have a buddy working in cell tower business saying they have been updating some antennas with 3g boxes etc for a while now.. but he and all cant get into too much info

I am sure there will be limited 3g coverage around town, pos, chaguanas, south etc, not in remote areas.. but thats ok for me..

as far as apple unlocking existing phones, NOPE, they have special part numbers ;)
http://twitter.com/#!/chronicwire

if they do launch it, i dont care the areas, once it launch and Digicel gets on it and the plan im on get it (ok im too hopeful i know) i will be uber happy!

WRT to unlocks... direct from factory units, yes. But you can also use the services some carriers like in canada offer. Like yuh forgot this.
But look at the terms
Have an account in good standing
Have paid the un-subsidized / no term cost for the device at least 30 days prior OR have finished their Commitment Period (contract)
Unlock a device which is listed in their equipment history (no grey market devices)
Pay a $50 unlocking fee plus applicable taxes (note: prepaid customers must have a $50 plus the applicable taxes, balance on their account)

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:would have been cool if all that DNS worries with blink and bmobile today was a result of a switchover to 3G - guess not.

i think it was more IPv6 no?

But yea im waiting for them to launch this on EDGE!

Postby Damien » June 13th, 2011, 8:11 pm

it have anyway to lock the ipad when its playing videos?

Dennis61

Postby Dennis61 » June 13th, 2011, 8:13 pm

Parvin wrote:http://gevey-3g.com/?attachment_id=115

Would that gevey sim work if i update an iphone4 to 4.3.3 ?

Present baseband is 02.10.04 and it on iOS 4.1

Yes it would. I updated yesterday to 4.3.3(fw 03.10.01) and it works with no probs with the gevey sim

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 13th, 2011, 8:20 pm

Tried it on 4.3.3 with the preserved 02.10.04 baseband but kept getting 1 signal bar no matter what.

As pointed out, the Gevey pro was released to fix that. I went back to 4.2.1.

Waiting to see what bmobile offering.

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » June 13th, 2011, 8:28 pm

mojosodope wrote:^^ I know the have special part numbers, still hoping AT&T will lighten up tho, remember the main reason they didn't unlock iphones in the past was that people would buy unlocked phones and use it on tmobile, now that they're buying tmobile which is their only main gsm based competiton in the states, that reason is gone, just speculation but it is possible that they will start unlocking current iphones, at least for the accounts that are in good standing. and @jsm1985, obviously it won't pop up entirely overnight, it's going to be a scheduled rollout, area by area... as stated above and how it works everywhere else in the world.

I understand that it will be a phased roll out, but it's just that nothing has ever been announced about 3G in this country so it will be a surprise. For example in other C&W (lime) markets around the Caribbean, HSPA+ has been announced and will be rolling out across most islands over the next 18 months...

This post and the one above about the "friend working on 3G towers" are the first time I've heard anything close to rumblings about 3G coming to Trinidad. I'm really surprised that it's been kept under wraps if it is true.

On that note, I look forward to the bmobile website tomorrow morning and i'll be switching my phone to dual mode 3G/GSM tonight LOL

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 13th, 2011, 8:52 pm

jsm1985 wrote:
mojosodope wrote:^^ I know the have special part numbers, still hoping AT&T will lighten up tho, remember the main reason they didn't unlock iphones in the past was that people would buy unlocked phones and use it on tmobile, now that they're buying tmobile which is their only main gsm based competiton in the states, that reason is gone, just speculation but it is possible that they will start unlocking current iphones, at least for the accounts that are in good standing. and @jsm1985, obviously it won't pop up entirely overnight, it's going to be a scheduled rollout, area by area... as stated above and how it works everywhere else in the world.

I understand that it will be a phased roll out, but it's just that nothing has ever been announced about 3G in this country so it will be a surprise. For example in other C&W (lime) markets around the Caribbean, HSPA+ has been announced and will be rolling out across most islands over the next 18 months...

This post and the one above about the "friend working on 3G towers" are the first time I've heard anything close to rumblings about 3G coming to Trinidad. I'm really surprised that it's been kept under wraps if it is true.

On that note, I look forward to the bmobile website tomorrow morning and i'll be switching my phone to dual mode 3G/GSM tonight LOL

i would be really surprised if they actually update it.
Look how long the iPhone 'Register Now' button ent workin...

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 13th, 2011, 9:07 pm

^ I had a little laugh when I saw the Register now button seeing as tho it was just an archived screenshot

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 13th, 2011, 9:22 pm

ohhh i forgot to mention i actually coaxed a rep into a lil info and i know that they have the new micro sims in place..... heheheeheheh .....i really hoping they dont pair this with the dump iyp device

Postby S_2NR » June 13th, 2011, 9:24 pm

i guess ill be puttin on my 3g tonight and hope for the best.. /:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 13th, 2011, 9:39 pm

Seems that bmobile has a new iPhone 4 page with an interesting URL... (still no price).

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » June 13th, 2011, 10:29 pm

http://www.tatt.org.tt/LinkClick.aspx?f ... &tabid=253

wow it was right under our noses all the time...they got awarded a 3g mobile license since december 30th 2010

phreak

Postby phreak » June 13th, 2011, 11:55 pm

wigman_1 wrote:hey dude i'm having problems with my iphone 2g tried all unlocking methods sn0wbreeze, blackra1n tinyumbrella but nothing can't get it to work getting the no service any ideas , i'd appreciate it

dude, if by chance you ain't get through yet.. cause for the 2g with 3.1.2 or 3.1.3 you can't use blackra1n or sn0wbreeze.. you need to either use limera1n or redsn0w.. if you using 3.1.2 you need to use redsn0w 0.9.2 ver or for 3.1.3 use 0.9.4 ver.. i know that 3.1.3 is the latest but i've seen some issues with wifi and stuff so i use 3.1.2 on 2g's..

hope this helps..

later..

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 14th, 2011, 12:07 am

Seems that someone from bmobile's webpage team has a Star Wars fascination.

------

iOS 5 Changelog

Updated Lockscreen
    New Welcome Screen when you start using the phone for first time.
    PC Free Activation.
    Notifications Center
    Quick Camera launch from Lockscreen
    Stocks and weather built into Notifications Center
    iPod app is renamed to Music with new icon.
    New Videos.app
    iMessage
    SMS bubbles are green in color and iMessage appears baby blue.
    Newsstand for Magazines and Newspapers
    Ability to Create and Delete Photo albums.
    System wide Twitter Integration.
    New Twitter keyboard with # and @ buttons.
    Ability to edit photos
    Grid System in Camera
    New rounded buttons
    Notification Center has ability to sort notifications by “Manually” or By Time.
    You can choose what applications to be included in Notifications Center
    Ability to rename your device within the settings.
    Over the Air Delta Software updates
    The Usage screen now shows how much of the memory is consumed by each app.
    Wireless iTunes Sync
    You can enable or disable Voice Dial while the phone is locked in Security Settings
    Ability to add keyboard shortcuts. Default one included “omw” which expands to “On my way!” when you type it anywhere.
    New Speak Selection option in Accessibility Settings
    Ability to add custom vibrations
    New Assistive Touch Settings
    LED Flash for Alerts
    Ability to Set Left or Right for Mono Audio
    New iCloud options in Settings app
    You can create additional @me.com email address within the Mail settings
    Ability to Increase Quote Level in Mail Settings
    Twitter integration on contacts
    You can edit your number in Settings.
    New Facetime option in Settings window. You can also set your facetime caller ID to be your email or your phone number
    New Private Browsing option in Safari
    Ability to remove custom Website Data
    Ability to toggle iMessage ON or OFF in settings.
    Ability to enable Read Receipts
    iMessage sent as SMS when iMessage is unavailable
    You can now set how much time a message alert has to be shown again if you don’t respond to the phone when it notifies of a new message.
    Separate settings for Music and Videos
    Photo Stream
    You can set the default account for notes to be synced to in Notes options
    Toggle ON or OFF for Automatic Downloads.
    Setting to use Automatic Downloads only when the device is connected to WiFi
    Alternate Routes in Maps
    Purchase History in App Store.
    Individually delete entries from the call history.
    iCloud Backups
    Take pictures using Volume button
    If you tap and hold on a song name in Music.app, a popup shows all the details.
    Ability to drag email address’ between fields while sending a mail in Mail.app
    Mail notifies you before sending a mail if you’ve forgotten to put a subject line.
    New and updated tiny icons on Mail for Windows Live Mail, Gmail, Exchange etc.
    Rich Text Editing in mail
    System Wide Dictionary
    Printing Support in Maps
    Ability to Hide Traffic in Maps
    You can set custom vibration tones for each contact, so when it vibrates in a specific pattern you know who’s calling.
    The notes.app shows the number of notes made on the header
    New Learn More Links across the settings app for further help
    Photos in Game Center
    Ability to make your Profile public and private on Game Center
    Points in Game Center, shows you how many points you have on the home screen of Game center
    Sort and View friends on the basis of Points.
    Friend Recommendations in Game Center
    New Games are now downloaded through Game Center
    Game Recommendations in Game Center
    New Friend requests screen
    Voice Memos app rotates in all direction, including upside down.
    Set custom text tone for each contact.
    Local Weather in Weather app
    Hourly weather updates
    Reading list in Safari
    Tabbed browsing in Safari on iPad
    Reader view which removes all clutter from web pages on iPad
    Split Keyboard on iPad
    AirPlay Mirroring
    You can use your phone while its being synced with iTunes.
    Emoji Support
    Tweet photos and links from iOS
    When you landscape your phone in iCal, it gives you a week view. (Thanks @Scott)
    New Music App in iPad
    iCloud Document Sync and Backup
    Slight fadeout on the right of the Safari Address Bar.
    Reading list support on Safari
    Location Based Reminders
    Calendar now lets you navigate from day to day by swiping. (Thanks @Garner)
    When you’re in camera mode, swipe left to reveal most recent photo. Swipe right to go back to the camera.
    Watermark in text entry box says “iMessage” or “Text Message” accordingly
    ‘Unsecured Calls’ warning lets users know if they are talking on unencrypted networks
    Group Messaging in iMessage.
    Send photos, videos using iMessage.
    Ability to use multiple Apple IDs for different purposes. (This has been one of the widely asked questions)
    When a notification is on the lockscreen, swipe it to open the specific app.
    Swipe on the weather to the left or right on the Notification Center drop down to view five day forecast.
    Multitasking Gestures in iPad. Use four or five fingers, swipe up to reveal the multitasking bar, pinch to return to the Home screen, and swipe left or right to switch between apps.
    S/MIME Support in Mail.app
    Facetime works without having a SIM card on your phone. Works with your email alone.
    When you receive a non-contacts phone call, the main display also shows the city name (or area/county if identifiable), not just the phone number. (Thanks @Alan)
    Camera, tap and hold to lock/unlock AE/AF (Thanks @Alan)
    Camera, use two-finger spread/pinch gesture to zoom in/out accordingly (Thanks @Alan)
    In Calendar month view, besides tapping on the ‘+’ button to add an event, you can also tap and hold on any day. (Thanks @Alan)
    When receiving a call from a number not in your phonebook, the phone will display the location of the phone area code under the number… i.e. + 1 (514) 321 2345 will display Quebec, Canada in a smaller font under the number and not just in the call history. (Thanks @Kubus)
    Use current location in Weather.app. (Thanks @Andy)
    Flagging Support in Mails. app
    In settings you can switch what option you get when you tap and hold on links in Safari: either open in background or in a new page. (Thanks @Andy)
    Swipe left and right to change months in calendar on iPad (Thanks @Shaun)
    Swipe to delete songs (Thanks @Derek)
    Buy More Storage option for iCloud
    Ability to set custom sound for alerts (New Message, New Voicemail, News Mail, Sent Mail etc.)
    Define your own words in Offline Dictionary
    Apps fades to homescreen when crashes, rather than flicking off.
    Ability to Enable/Disable Badges on Apps
    When you download an app on the iTunes on your PC, the app is automatically pushed to your iDevice and installed.
    Streaming Song details such as Track and Artist info to Bluetooth audio devices. (Thanks @Roy)
    When your alarm goes off you can snooze it from lockscreen or slide to turn off. (Note: This is an updated style, you slide on the notifications area, just below the clock, rather than the previous “Slide to Unlock” location. ) (Thanks @Terry)
    You can add multiple twitter accounts and choose what account to send a tweet from.
    Delete each app’s data
    iTunes Tune Store
    Real-time stock quotes
    VoiceOver item chooser
    Option to speak text selection
    When your phone is locked and you switch to Ringing from Silent, the Ringing indicator also shows the volume level bar.
    You can choose multiple Emails and mark them as read
    Download more than one app simultaneously. No waiting for the previous app to be completed
    You can choose if to display Weather and Stock Widges on Notification Center.
    New Voice in Voice Control
    You can re arrange the preference of apps in Notification Center. (Eg: You can set the Weather widget to be always on top, Messages next etc..)
    Ability to set maximum messages downloaded through email to 1000 instead of 250
    Sponsored links in Google Maps
    Double-tap the home button while watching a YouTube video to display who uploaded the video
    Scrolling titles for YouTube videos
    Time mid-call invitation alerts
    Set up Airport / Time Capsule on your iOS device
    Invitation alerts to FaceTime while taking a call
    Arabic Language Support in VoiceOver
    Links can be opened in the background
    Integrate Twitter user pictures to Contacts. Sync them
    Native 1080p video playback in iPad 2
    Japanese or Buddhist calendars support
    Year View in iPad cal
    Native Support for turn based games in Game Center
    Search Within the contents of an email
    Indentation Control in Mails.app
    Individual Site Data can be deleted from Safari
    iOS 5 address book has a field for Twitter, Facebook, Flickr, LinkedIn and Myspace. (iOS 5 to integrate more social networks?
    Specific ‘search on page’ area integrated in the ipad keyboard (hit google when in safari) (Thanks @Michael)
    Have one app updating while others say “waiting…,” then you pause the app updating. You then immediately put the iDevice on sleep. Next, when you wake up your iDevice, all of them will be paused. You can tap more than one app to have more than one downloading. (thanks @Michael)
    Personal Hotspot settings are now found under ‘Network’ settings.
    GIFs are animated when sent through iMessages. It’s not animated in Photos.app. (Thanks @Sam)
    New and Updated VoiceOver voices for some regions. (Thanks @Peter)
    Double tap to add an event in day view in Calendar.app (Thanks @Collinz)
    Tap and drag to move an event (different day or different time) in Calendar app (Thanks @Collinz)
    Tap and hold in “all-day events” to create a new all-day event in Calender app (Thanks @Collinz)
    Twitter installs directly from the settings page if it’s not installed directly, you aren’t even taken to the App Store. (Thanks @Yiannis)
    Hotmail integration in the mail app. (Thanks @Erik)
    iPod touches have never been able to automatically set time. This is now possible in iOS 5. (thanks @Gordon)
    If you tap hand hold the back button in safari (ipad) you get a list of all you previous sites. (Thanks @Cenny)
    Turning on private browsing changes Safari’s color from blue to black. (Thanks @eric)
    Auto-correct can be turned off independently of spell check (Thanks @sam)
    Add “Related People” to a contact (mother, father, brother, sister, child…) (Thanks @Srikanth)

------

------

Apple is rumored to begin selling unlocked versions of the iPhone 4 in the U.S. starting at $649 on Wednesday, while iOS 5 beta users have discovered that iCloud.com is mirroring some of MobileMe's web services.

Unlocked iPhone 4

Hints that Apple would release a factory unlocked iPhone 4 in the U.S. this week emerged over the weekend, though there was some initial confusion with the source. MacRumors is now reporting that unlocked iPhones have "shipped to Apple Stores this week" and will be priced at $649 and $749 for 16GB and 32GB models, respectively.

Though unlocked iPhone 4s have been available internationally, this would be the first time that Apple sold an unlocked iPhone in the U.S. With an unlocked iPhone 4, users could switch between AT&T and T-Mobile for calling, but 3G data would not work on T-Mobile. The unlocked iPhones are expected to be the GSM model, with the Verizon iPhone 4 remaining unchanged.

Apple has seen unprecedented success with the iPhone 4. In the March quarter, iPhone sales grew 113 percent year over year, reaching an all-time quarterly record of 18.65 million units. According to Chief Operating Officer Tim Cook, iPhone sales were "off the charts in the U.S" with 155 percent year over year growth.

------

Designers have already starting improving the look of the new Notification Center in iOS 5.

Jay Moon has created a simple and clean design that really makes the notifications and widgets pop.

Jeff Broderick has a light design inspired by Lion Launchpad.

Gildedsplinter has a design that improves the overall look of the current one.

Thankfully jailbreakers will be able to customize the look and feel of their Notifications center with new themes and widgets. Hopefully, Apple realizes a bit more work on the look of Notification Center might be good idea before release.

& for the sake of comparison here's what it is set to look like as of now

------

Before WWDC, Apple's market cap exceeded that of Microsoft and Intel combined. This week another report compares Apple to Microsoft, Dell and HP.

After a slight dip in its stock last week, Apple is now valued at US$301 billion, which is slightly less than the $302 billion of Microsoft ($200 billion), HP ($72.8 billion) and Dell ($29.3 billion) combined. Apple's position is even more impressive when you compare it to other tech and mobile leaders.

------

A previously accurate Apple source has told 9to5Mac some interesting information regarding what 2011 holds for the iPhone and Apple’s popular FaceTime video chat service.

The next generation iPhone has reached the final testing stage (aka “AP” stage [Thanks, Chronic!]) and is now being carried around by high level Apple and carrier executives.
Although this has been assumed since the no-iPhone-at-WWDC-rumors broke, the current plan is for a September launch for the next-generation iPhone.
Apple and Verizon have yet to strike a deal regarding FaceTime over 3G for the Verizon network. Keep in mind that 3G and 4G aren’t the same thing. < Don’t read into that too much. Or maybe do.
Apple and Verizon are still working out kinks regarding support for iOS 5′s over-the-air updates, which we broke the news about, so carrier support may or may not be delayed past fall 2011.
While snooping around the iOS 5.0 SDK we located references to “N94″ and “N93.” These are internal code names for two unreleased iPhone models. As we have already told you, the N94 is an iPhone 4 with an A5 dual-core processor and it is likely the device that a small group of elite iOS app developers got their hands on in late April. The N93 is likely a carrier variation of the N94.

We aren’t too sure what this variation could be, as the only time a model number varied based on a carrier in iPhone history was with the iPhone 4: GSM is N90 and CDMA is N92. Verizon already leaked that the next iPhone features a GSM+CDMA chip, so perhaps the N93 or N94 is the Sprint model we told you about – or T-Mobile.

Oh, and one final thing… according to the iOS SDK, and the same snooping we used to break the news that the iPad 2 will feature the same cameras as the fourth-generation iPod touch, it looks like the next-generation iPhone will keep the 5 megapixel sensor found on the iPhone 4. Many of us were expected a boost to 8 megapixels after Seth broke the news about Sony CEO’s comments on Sony making cameras for Apple. Perhaps Apple never updated the SDK files, though, or maybe the N94 and N93 are scrapped devices all together. Maybe Apple took the extra three months to whip up something totally new: not just an iPhone 4 with an A5 to boot.

phreak

Postby phreak » June 14th, 2011, 12:19 am

fellas.. saw these three icons pop up today.. then after about 5 mins it disappeared.. anyone ever saw them before??

just found it to be interesting..

Postby M_2NR » June 14th, 2011, 12:21 am

^yea too much games :lol:

seriously tho i see it as well. nothing to be alarmed.

phreak

Postby phreak » June 14th, 2011, 12:27 am

M_2NR wrote:^yea too much games :lol:

seriously tho i see it as well. nothing to be alarmed.

lol.. the other page have the worthwhile apps.. wasn't alarmed though..

just interesting how it popped up and disappeared..

who knows what else running in the background.. :shock:

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » June 14th, 2011, 12:33 am

shaq090 wrote:http://www.tatt.org.tt/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=-axrUHrfxpk%3d&tabid=253

wow it was right under our noses all the time...they got awarded a 3g mobile license since december 30th 2010

All I saw in that article was that part of their 800MHz spectrum became available again at the end of 2010. And that 3G or the next generation will come at a later date... unless I'm missing something

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 14th, 2011, 3:05 am

http://bmobile.co.tt/iphone-4-16gb/

They did it

32 Gb models avail;able too as well as 3GS

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 14th, 2011, 3:31 am

friggin iyp 4G hotspot smh

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 14th, 2011, 4:22 am

So does this mean I can now upgrade to 4.3.3 and not use the gevey sim anymore?

BlueGalant HD

Postby BlueGalant HD » June 14th, 2011, 5:26 am

^^^^^ NOPE

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » June 14th, 2011, 7:05 am

i must say, this is one of the best post of trinituner, keep it up...
any latest news from tstt, no inside info.