SRASC

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby SRASC » June 9th, 2011, 9:44 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 9th, 2011, 10:24 pm

mojosodope wrote:they took hotspot with edge away to give it back boosted with 3G :D
I sure hope so

I don't see the point in removing personal hotspot - what could possibly be the reason to remove that feature? Abuse of a slow-a$$ data service? really?

Postby S_2NR » June 9th, 2011, 10:25 pm

bmobile is gettin iphone 4!
im sure it will be wayyyy overpriced tho.. :evil:

and no 3g

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 9th, 2011, 10:31 pm

tried to get info via online chat with a rep but they have no info with regards to the release date and terms of service ... as usual na.

He just stated the ad was a teaser of what is to come ... in maybe a couple of months for the most.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » June 9th, 2011, 10:45 pm

^ yeah i did the online rep chat thing too. they never know anything.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 9th, 2011, 10:49 pm

I emailed. No reply yet

Postby M_2NR » June 9th, 2011, 11:22 pm

Im surprised that you all actually looking to get info. Ulyuh forget its Apple oar? Apple making sure nowadays that NOTHING is leaked. I'm sure they (apple and bmobile) dont want another gizmodo. I honestly excited hella lot but im taking all info with a pinch of salt. Unless Duane knows someone on the inside and gets some info (and i mean DEEP inside LOL) just sit back and relax lol.

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ if they are a Apple authorised carrier then yes, T&T should show up in iTunes.
i hope not. Then we wont have Pandora etc. or some apps that are region specific wont show up no?

Apple has far more clout than bmobile, so I think bmobile will have to roll out 3G if they are to support iPhone 4 - no if's, am's or but's.
i hoping and praying for this! and hopefully my data on Digicel gets upgraded to 3G to..(yeh im asking for a mile i know)

I'm kinda curious what bmobile will do about unlocked and jailbroken phones - or even about factory unlocked iPhone 4's - will they support them?
support as in allow them to work? yea... why not? happens all over the world no?
I'd say factory unlocks have a greater chance of support (as in repair if u mean) than our AT&T/whoever locked phones though :lol:

Does this mean that visual voice mail will work here??!!!! Finally after waiting 4 years!!!
unlikely. possible but there are chances it wont... why? watch here :(

all my thoughts in red :)

SRASC wrote:Visual voicemail would be a real treat. A bigger treat would be personal Hotspot given back to us! (sorry for sounding like a broken record about that)

i tell yuh already... mod your carrier plist... (crap i forgot to look up on it as to exactly how to again)
Have a read here on how to edit the plist and here on how to mod the commcenter and in order to be able to hack the carrier.plist file.
See i tell you I'd find something. Try it out nuh?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 9th, 2011, 11:32 pm

Oh I keep forgetting to mention, I don't personally care for it too much, but just didn't like that the update took it away.

Postby M_2NR » June 9th, 2011, 11:37 pm

SRASC wrote:Oh I keep forgetting to mention, I don't personally care for it too much, but just didn't like that the update took it away.

2eh
so is just Duane vex then... hmmm. I'm sure he still wont jailbreak :lol:

In all fairness the link i pointed Duane to shows where its allowed... lets pray June 14th we see a Trinidad and Tobago flag with all options ticked :fadein:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 9th, 2011, 11:46 pm

but I used personal hotspot often with my iPad!!!

I see visual voicemail not offered by all carriers - which sucks
and I see some carriers disable personal hotspot - which sucks even more!

I know for a fact that it works on bmobile, but it's just a matter of if they will allow it - perhaps they might not, because they feel it would cannibalize their 4G hotspot device -

GAWD I hope bmobile dont start capping data - $150 unlimited is good - I hope they dont start saying $150 for 2GB transfer per month on 3G :sick:

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 9th, 2011, 11:50 pm

well i hope the itunes store lists Trinidad as official.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 10th, 2011, 12:00 am

^ it's no biggie, just register with your skybox address

Postby M_2NR » June 10th, 2011, 12:05 am

Parvin wrote:well i hope the itunes store lists Trinidad as official.

What is there to gain though? I will continue using my US account.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 10th, 2011, 12:12 am

well no skybox ... so no US address :(

Postby M_2NR » June 10th, 2011, 12:20 am

Parvin wrote:well no skybox ... so no US address :(

dude you not serious...
if that is the reason... you can just use any arbitrary address AND phone! :lol:
my phone number registered its 555-555-5555

Feel free to use that address above ok?

Postby S_2NR » June 10th, 2011, 1:13 am

M_2NR wrote:
Parvin wrote:well no skybox ... so no US address :(

dude you not serious...
if that is the reason... you can just use any arbitrary address AND phone! :lol:
my phone number registered its 555-555-5555

Feel free to use that address above ok?

this is exactly what i doin yrs now... :lol: :lol:

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 10th, 2011, 9:11 am

@ M_2nr

thanks man :)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 10th, 2011, 10:36 am

Who-ho, a Dubai carrier that sells the iPhone may have just kissed good-bye its chances of doing business with Apple. According to GulfNews.com, the United Arab Emirate’s wireless operator etisalat (yes, without capital “e”) has gone official today on a possible iPhone 5 launch. Here’s what their head of corporate communication said:

Yes, we are in talks with most smartphone manufacturers including Apple on the rollout of the 4G handset, iPhone 5 later this year. As the first telecom organisation to roll out the 4G network, LTE, in the Middle East, we have already started talking to them for the handsets and chipsets in them.”

Yeah, and analysts have promised us flying cars, too. Take this one with a healthy dose of skepticism. On the other hand, here we have a corporate communication chief of Apple’s valued carrier partner publicly hinting at a release time-frame of an upcoming Apple handset. Either he doesn’t have a clue what he’s talking about – in which case today will be his last day at job – or he’s just inadvertently confirmed September launch rumors .

The publication’s business editor Saifur Rahman explained that etisalat is finishing up a nationwide deployment of its 4G LTE network, due to launch commercially in the third quarter, when the next iPhone is said to hit the market. Note he also implied in no uncertain terms that iPhone will support fourth-generation networks using Long-Term Evolution (LTE) radio technology. They also covered the Emirate of Abu Dhabi with the advanced fiber-optic network. Etisalat’s 4G LTE network will be capable of download speeds up to 150 megabytes per second, Rahman noted.

------

In addition to the newly discovered ability to render 1080p videos on A4-powered devices by scaling down high-definition content on-the-fly, a tipster pointed out that the iOS 5 software development kit ups the maximum resolution for video exports from 720p all the way up to 1080p. The iOS 5 media framework now rocks a new video export option: A 1920-by-1080 full HD preset. Previously, programmers calling system APIs were only able to export video content up to the 720p resolution. The change has been spotted in the export preset strings of AVAsset, an abstract class of AV Foundation framework which has been around since iOS 4.

Programmers use the AVAsset class to work on a detailed level with timed media assets such as videos and sounds. It lets them examine, create, edit or reencode media files, get input streams from devices, manipulate video clips during realtime capture and playback and more. It is now clear that iOS 5 enables devices such as iPhone 4, iPad 1 and 2 and fourth-generation iPod touch to both decode 1080p videos and encode content in 1080p. This completes the picture and is another indication that the rumors of an eight-megapixel camera with 1080p video capture on iPhone 5 are likely true because there is no point in iOS 5 supporting 1080p video exports if users won’t be able to acquire full-HD content on their iPhone 5.

It is already possible to load a 1080p movie on your iPhone 4 which runs a developer preview of iOS 5. It works smoothly and looks great. The system media player automatically scales down a 1080p file in real-time to your device’s display resolution. I’ve successfully tested this myself. First I downloaded a 1080p Tron trailer to my Mac, trimmed it down to a short 19MB segment that I emailed to myself. From there, I checked the email message on my iPhone 4, tapped on the 1080p MOV attachment and it played back without any hiccup. With the new 1080p export option, system apps like YouTube and Apple’s programs such as iMovie will gain the ability to export videos in 1080p. We can also expect that iTunes will enable you to load up your device with 1080p videos when the stable iOS 5 version ships. Best of all, third-party developers will only need to adjust their code slightly in order to take into account the new video export preset.

------

Just as MuscleNerd informed the world that the iPhone-dev Team has successfully jailbroken a developer beta of iOS 5, the team two hours ago released an updated redsn0w beta tool that lets you put unsanctioned apps on your devices running a developer preview of iOS 5. Unlockers should avoid this jailbreak as they are very likely to lose their unlockable baseband if they try to install iOS 5, the team warned. Other useful things to know…

The redsn0w beta tool is Mac-only but a Windows version will likely be developed at a later stage, MuscleNerd tweeted. Therefore, this jailbreak is only for Mac users of iOS 5 beta. It supports third- and fourth-generation iPod touch, iPad 1, iPhone 3GS and iPhone 4 (both CDMA and GSM version). This being a tethered jailbreak also means you’ll need to use the redsn0w tool each time you restart your device and also to use apps like Cydia and Safari. “If you see a white icon for Cydia, or if Cydia or Safari crash when you open them, it’s because you didn’t boot tethered”, the team explained.

------

Liz Gannes writes for All Things D that Apple’s social integration in iOS 5 includes much more than Twitter, which was formally announced during the WWDC 2011 keynote on Monday. Look no further than contact cards in a developer version of iOS 5, Gannes writes:

The contact information page in the iOS 5 address book has a field not just for Twitter, but also offers space to add friends’ handles on Facebook, Flickr, LinkedIn and Myspace. Alongside a person’s email address and phone number, an iOS user can also add links to their accounts around the Web. Then Apple auto-populates the URL for each of the services. Clicking on the account name opens up Safari to that person’s profile page.

In addition to four additional social networks, iOS 5 contact cards also include an option to add custom service by pasting a profile URL.

Of course, this little discovery in no way means that the final version of iOS 5, which ships this fall, will support other social networks as Apple may have provided said hooks simply to eventually enable greater social integration in iOS down the road. It is also possible that these fields are just what they appear to be, the place to provide links to your contacts’ profiles on popular social networks. It makes sense not to stop at Twitter integration, however, especially given the popularity of other social networks and the fact that social streams are being integrated in rival mobile operating systems.

------

Just a little follow up

Gevey SIM is a hardware-based unlocking method for iPhone 4 which works with most basebands. Today, we received a tip from a reader who has tested Gevey SIM on iOS 5… and it works!

It involves using a thinner-than-normal SIM card which actually needs to be inserted along with the actual SIM card into the SIM slot. Then, you have to follow a few steps such as dialing an emergency number (112), turning Flight Mode off and on etc. to unlock your iPhone 4. It works without jailbreaking.

The method is a controversial one as its legitimacy is questionable based on the fact that it is not exactly right to misuse emergency calls.

We wrote about it before back in March and stated that it worked only up to iOS 4.3. Well, it appears that Gevey SIM’s magic still works on iOS 5.

Reader Usman sent in these screenshots of his iPhone 4 hardware unlocked using Gevey SIM running a beta version of iOS 5:

The photos clearly show the iPhone running on iOS 5 with baseband 04.11.04.

Even though the jailbreak, as of now, is tethered. But as time goes by, there probably will be an untethered jailbreak available. The Dev-Team has shown time and time again just how capable they are and we can trust them to deliver again when iOS 5 comes around.

------

If you’re outside the US, don’t get too excited about iTunes iCloud music services like re-downloading and iTunes Match streaming, because you’ll likely have to wait until 2012 if not later before it comes to your region. According to The Telegraph, Apple’s iTunes in the Cloud music storage service will not be coming to UK users until the first quarter of 2012 at the very earliest. A spokesman for the Performing Right Society (PRS), which is responsible for ensuring songwriters and music publishers are paid for their work told The Telegraph the bad news.

Negotiations with Apple about ensuring rights in the UK had started but were at a “very early stage”. The licensing team at the PRS have started talks with Apple, but are a long way off from any deals being signed…It is very much the early stages of the negotiations and is similar to the launch of iTunes – which began in the US and took a while to roll out to other countries.

The Telegraph also confirmed the details with a major record label executive who told it that talks had started between the major labels and Apple. Again however the term “early stages” was used and it wasn’t expected to be completed until 2012.

The story will likely be the same in other countries. One look at how widely supported iTunes TV Show rentals, movies, and other services are around the world shows just how fragmented and complicated media licenses remands. Added to that, media executives in other countries might take a wait-and-see attitude with iCloud, watching US performance, before they even negotiate with Apple.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » June 11th, 2011, 1:22 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/business ... 74994.html

TSTT will launch iPhone 4 in Trinidad and Tobago on June 14 with a range of tariff plans tailored for iPhone customers.

iPhone 4 is the most innovative phone in the world, featuring Apple's stunning Retina display, the highest resolution display ever built into a phone resulting in super crisp text, images and video, and FaceTime, which makes video calling a reality.

iPhone 4 is powered by Apple's A4 chip and features a five megapixel camera with LED flash, HD video recording and a beautiful glass and stainless steel design like no other mobile phone.

It comes with iOS 4, the world's most advanced mobile operating system.

The revolutionary App Store provides access to more than 425,000 apps including the iMovie app built just for iPhone 4.

"TSTT is extremely excited to make iPhone 4 available to our mobile customers in Trinidad and Tobago," said Lisa Agard, executive vice president, Mobile Services.

"We are confident our customers will make the most of iPhone 4 on the most advanced mobile communications network in the country."

iPhone 4 will be available at all bmobile retail stores and select dealers beginning June 14.

For pricing and availability, or to register interest please visit

http://www.bmobile.co.tt

Hoping it's not a dig out your eye kind of pricing although I'm waiting on the iPhone 5 to replace my old 3GS.

Postby M_2NR » June 11th, 2011, 1:53 am

You want to lol some more... Watch how Apple have them cork up and licking there crack....

lime and bmobile are related right (all in the same I'd assume)

watch this article...

LIME bringing iPhone 4 to Jamaica June 14

TELECOMS giant LIME yesterday announced that it will launch the iPhone 4 in Jamaica on June 14 with a range of tariff plans tailored for customers.

"iPhone 4 is the most innovative phone in the world, featuring Apple's stunning Retina display, the highest resolution display ever built into a phone resulting in super crisp text, images and video, and FaceTime, which makes video calling a reality," the company said in a news release.

"We are delighted to offer our customers in the Caribbean iPhone 4, one of the most sought after wireless devices in the world," said LIME CEO David Shaw. "LIME is leading the way in innovation and we're proud to be at the forefront of technology with our reliable network, flexible price plans and invaluable customer service."

The iPhone 4 is powered by Apple's A4 chip and features a 5 megapixel camera with LED flash, HD video recording and a glass and stainless steel design.

It also comes with iOS 4, the world's most advanced mobile operating system and its revolutionary App Store provides access to more than 425,000 apps, including the iMovie app built just for iPhone 4.

literally the same article
LMFAO.
(and yea... same launch date as expected)

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 11th, 2011, 8:47 am

anyone have an update on the prices and rates yet??

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » June 11th, 2011, 9:00 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:anyone have an update on the prices and rates yet??

Nope but we might find out on monday

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 11th, 2011, 9:25 am

PRs are usually the same, so that aint a surprise. What sorta is though is that up until now I thought all the Caribbean islands were still using Cable and Wireless under the bmobile name. It actually is just Trinidad & Tobago (which I hope stays that way)

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 11th, 2011, 9:29 am

Them reps eh spillin no info at all dred ... they keepin all the info lock down tight !!!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 11th, 2011, 9:32 am

Well they are dealing with Apple after all, the Fort Knox of technology companies

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 11th, 2011, 12:48 pm

I thought the 3G would have to rollout first before they could sell the iPhone 4, but I can't see them rolling it out by June 14th

Postby M_2NR » June 11th, 2011, 2:41 pm

LOL so i called bmobile last night... talked to a sheniqua type attitude. She was like... i dont know anything about 3G but i know about 4G.... :lol:

I called Digicel as well (my padna was saying how someone in digicel tell him there is 3G but only for Blackberries) and some kant up the island answer me and telling me how 3G is only how fast the data is and how she eh know, that all trini-reps stop working at 9pm to call at 7am. :|

I gonna call naow!
BTW... Claro... isnt there some joint thing with Digicel? Can't remember it exactly but if it is so, that means digicel can also get the iPhone no? and if so, It would be moar competition hehe.
Honestly it wont affect any of us already iPhone users though, so far it has been negative to the factory unlocked guys! Unless we get 3G.

EDIT: Just called. Nothing on Digicel wrt to 3G. they lost! (as usual)

scientist

Postby scientist » June 11th, 2011, 2:51 pm

Lime Dominica is rolling theirs out at that time as well. without 3G

Postby S_2NR » June 11th, 2011, 3:39 pm

how is it that itunes store is not available for trinidad but the iphone is being "officially" launched here?
would the iphones being sold by bmobile hav to be jailbroken prior to use?

Postby M_2NR » June 11th, 2011, 3:42 pm

S_2NR wrote:how is it that itunes store is not available for trinidad but the iphone is being "officially" launched here?
would the iphones being sold by bmobile hav to be jailbroken prior to use?

may be on launch day it will be opened no?
Ulyuh dont realize this is a bad thing... >_>
all Region Specific stuff will be barred :cry:

___

NavFone for T&T videos are out!