menthlyated spirit on HP screen - Pics up

Postby skylinechild » June 7th, 2011, 7:08 pm

guys, i accidentally got a bit too much menthlyated spirit on my laptop while cleaning it.
now the screen LOOKS as if it's cracked- but it's not..it's got blotches on it and the keyboard is screwed....it keeps on detecting a key is stuck

as for the keyboard i disconnected it internally - so i can live without that until i get a replacement

menthlyated spirit apparently it got inside the screen. is there anyway or anything i can use to get it back to proper working order??

any help appreciated guys

pics added..click the link to view...it not allowing me to embed....something about cant determine size....

Last edited by skylinechild on June 8th, 2011, 7:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: menthlyated spirit on HP screen

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 7th, 2011, 7:13 pm

take pics of the screen, I feel it looks blotched like water between 2 pieces of glass, in that case it shud just dry up

idk bout d keyboard, unless the spirits dissolved some impurities causing a the circuit to be complete so it may show as a stuck key until it dries up

then again I may be talkin crap, see what the others have to say

Postby skylinechild » June 7th, 2011, 7:20 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:take pics of the screen, I feel it looks blotched like water between 2 pieces of glass, in that case it shud just dry up

idk bout d keyboard, unless the spirits dissolved some impurities causing a the circuit to be complete so it may show as a stuck key until it dries up

then again I may be talkin crap, see what the others have to say

will try to put up pics as soon as possible...
the keyboard -i'm not too worried about that - it can be replaced...i'm using an external USB keyboard currently
Last edited by skylinechild on June 7th, 2011, 7:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby K74T » June 7th, 2011, 7:22 pm

Oh ohhhhhhh :puppydogeyes:

Postby rfari » June 7th, 2011, 7:38 pm

can it be the protective gloss on the lcd that started to dissolve? pics would help

Postby nemisis » June 7th, 2011, 8:10 pm

Methylated spirits...... shoot into a sock or napkin nah man

Postby DFC » June 7th, 2011, 8:50 pm

I was thinkin recently to clean my screen with it, but after reading this..
Lol ima jus use a wet napkin.

Postby tr1ad » June 7th, 2011, 8:54 pm

first a fella buy a phone without warranty, and gettin run around

now you???

is allyuh time now yes

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » June 7th, 2011, 9:25 pm

give the screen 24 hrs and see if anything clears up
also, how much pressure did you apply to the screen when cleaning it?
I does use a lil anti reflective glasses cleaner .... not too much

Postby skylinechild » June 7th, 2011, 9:39 pm

rodfarva wrote:give the screen 24 hrs and see if anything clears up
also, how much pressure did you apply to the screen when cleaning it?
I does use a lil anti reflective glasses cleaner .... not too much

i'll give it the 24 hrs to see what happens....right now i have it working without the bezel at the front..virtually no pressure - none at all during cleaning

the screen not looking cloudy it just looks like dark in some areas and light in others - like splatters on the inside

ive used menthlyated spirit before to clean the screen...this time i dunno what happen.

pics to come tomorrow....hopefully

SPRANG_A

Postby SPRANG_A » June 7th, 2011, 9:40 pm

you accidentaly pour the whole bottle? or you use a wet cloth instead of damp?

let it dry out overnight.. if the screen still blotchy.. then you have to scrap it down and wipe down the screen and filters and let dry... you can use a blowdryer on the keyboard

Postby skylinechild » June 7th, 2011, 9:50 pm

SPRANG_A wrote:you accidentaly pour the whole bottle? or you use a wet cloth instead of damp?

let it dry out overnight.. if the screen still blotchy.. then you have to scrap it down and wipe down the screen and filters and let dry... you can use a blowdryer on the keyboard

i used a cloth...it was a bit too damp and this is what caused it i feel. the keyboard is not really botherin me..the old one was already on it's way out- the keys was kindy shiny from over use plus it accumulated some dust and stuff so i dont mind about that.

the screen is what botherin me...

can i use a blow dryer to dry the screen when i scrap it out..?

Postby bushwakka » June 7th, 2011, 10:30 pm

u sure is spirits or sumn wit acetone u use?

Postby skylinechild » June 7th, 2011, 10:41 pm

bushwakka wrote:u sure is spirits or sumn wit acetone u use?

menthlyated spirit.....made by V&S pharmaceuticals......

Postby Bizzare » June 7th, 2011, 10:42 pm

Its a permanent problem most likely. Unlike water, from the time you posted this thread to now, menthylated spirit would have dried up so thats not the issue. It would have probably dried up before you even posted this I guess. Just to make sure, hold it under an ordinary fan. Doesn't take much for menthylated to dry up.
Since you said the keyboard facked too, looks like its the gloss coat you destroyed. Cuz normally the whole laptop has it. Armor-All does the same thing to the gloss coat. I'm guessing that its looks like white veins running across the screen, Not so?
Last edited by Bizzare on June 7th, 2011, 10:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby K74T » June 7th, 2011, 10:42 pm

spirit lash cause that :|

Postby Bizzare » June 7th, 2011, 10:47 pm

Hoss doh dat eh. One day of use and the Laptop would start to flake. I think I know what you're seeing, looks like a plastic sheet/covering on the laptop raised/swollen.

aidan

Postby aidan » June 7th, 2011, 10:49 pm

if the screen looking like it has blotches in spots like when water dries on a car when you washing it in hot sun (water spots). You can use a micro fiber cloth and apply a bit of pressure to clean it. This happened to me already when i got too much on my laptop screen. If you got on too much, you may have dissolved any protective stuff on the screen.
For future use, you can buy a small spray bottle (superpharm has some 2oz bottles) and fill it with rubbing alcohol or methylated spirits and use it to clean/sanitize your stuff without getting too much on it.

Postby skylinechild » June 7th, 2011, 10:51 pm

Bizzare wrote:Its a permanent problem most likely. Unlike water, from the time you posted this thread to now, menthylated spirit would have dried up so thats not the issue. It would have probably dried up before you even posted this I guess. Just to make sure, hold it under an ordinary fan. Doesn't take much for menthylated to dry up.
Since you said the keyboard facked too, looks like its the gloss coat you destroyed. Cuz normally the whole laptop has it. Armor-All does the same thing to the gloss coat. I'm guessing that its looks like white veins running across the screen, Not so?

well.. it's functional however it has light and dark parts....kinda like water stains....
i'm usin it right now....it's just the light and dark that annoyin me...

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » June 8th, 2011, 12:29 am

just wait it out, dont try any other solutions

Postby rfari » June 8th, 2011, 1:00 am

hoss in the future (for your new lcd from ebay) doh use methylated spirits to clean any part of ur laptop. use a mircrofibre cloth and lil bit of water.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 8th, 2011, 1:31 am

just a lil bit or rubbing alcohol on a small piece of cotton dan......it will do no harm but u cant wipe your keyboard or any other part of the laptop cause it will damage.......

but its an Hp Laptop.....

How old? If it almost a year old...no worries cause you will have to replace the whole laptop anyway.......cause its HP...........

I know I will get some bashing there but my friends have HP and their motherboards gave up just after a year...as soon as the warranty period finish........

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 8th, 2011, 1:42 am

well now I know what NOT to use on lcd screens!

Bareback

Postby Bareback » June 8th, 2011, 7:08 am

You're screwed, the liquid has dissolved the liquid in the screen.

FYI - you can clean your laptop screens with a very diluted solution of water and dishwashing liquid, dust first then clean, applicable to the keyboard also.

Postby ismithx » June 8th, 2011, 7:22 am

The important thing to do is whatever liquid you use (choose carefully! some will damage your components), apply it sparingly to a microfiber cloth, then use that to clean your machine.

Postby dougla_boy » June 8th, 2011, 8:48 am

ur laptop screwed....did the same thing to mine and to fix it u had to open up the screen and sumting and sumting and sumting else....change d screen dawg....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 8th, 2011, 12:42 pm

Did not realise that this would harm a LCD screen so much!!

TK!

Postby TK! » June 8th, 2011, 6:43 pm

methyl ethyl sprits and lcd = fuhget about it. that spoils lcds and plastic. nvr ever use that on computer equipment/tvs or plastics.

u are safe using 50-50 isopropyl and pure distilled water

Postby skylinechild » June 8th, 2011, 7:10 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:just a lil bit or rubbing alcohol on a small piece of cotton dan......it will do no harm but u cant wipe your keyboard or any other part of the laptop cause it will damage.......

but its an Hp Laptop.....

How old? If it almost a year old...no worries cause you will have to replace the whole laptop anyway.......cause its HP...........

I know I will get some bashing there but my friends have HP and their motherboards gave up just after a year...as soon as the warranty period finish........

my laptop is like almost 3 yrs old....no over heating problems what so ever...all i did was as soon as it was bought remove the stock 120Gb HDD and memory and install a 250Gb HDD and install a 2Gb memory...

it's still the same way....pics to come....soon...any other suggestions on what to do..?

noobie

Postby noobie » June 8th, 2011, 7:12 pm

Nothing you can do. The spirits removed the coatings on the LCD screen and it's now permanently screwed.

Happened to a monitor of mine ages ago.

Have to change the screen, it isn't going to get better or 'come off'.