Review of Suzuki SX4 Crossover

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

nb15fourwheel

Review of Suzuki SX4 Crossover

Postby nb15fourwheel » May 29th, 2011, 9:50 pm

Hi guys,
Can anybody post the Reviews of Suzuki SX4 Crossover? I have gone to showroom and checked out this vehicle. Specs are:
Engine 1.6Lt / Airbags/ Auto Transmission/ Fold-able seats/ 3 yrs warranty (or 100,000kM) - either 2WD or 4WD
Price: 150k (for 2WD) and 162k (for 4WD) on road.
Interestingly it is almost of same height as S-GV (only 3 inches less). Everyone of you should check-out the dimensions of this with Grand Vitara (almost same....??)

If any of you already own this vehicle, can you please answer the following?

1. General ownership feeling
2. Any known problems and issues
3. General feelings about its Drive and Comfort
4. Availability of parts (in bamboo)
5. Re-sale value after 3 years

Your opinions, inputs and experiences will help many (especially myself) who can decide to buy this unit.

GerardJason

Re: Review of Suzuki SX4 Crossover

Postby GerardJason » May 31st, 2011, 10:29 am

nb15fourwheel wrote:Hi guys,
Can anybody post the Reviews of Suzuki SX4 Crossover? I have gone to showroom and checked out this vehicle. Specs are:
Engine 1.6Lt / Airbags/ Auto Transmission/ Fold-able seats/ 3 yrs warranty (or 100,000kM) - either 2WD or 4WD
Price: 150k (for 2WD) and 162k (for 4WD) on road.
Interestingly it is almost of same height as S-GV (only 3 inches less). Everyone of you should check-out the dimensions of this with Grand Vitara (almost same....??)

If any of you already own this vehicle, can you please answer the following?

1. General ownership feeling
2. Any known problems and issues
3. General feelings about its Drive and Comfort
4. Availability of parts (in bamboo)
5. Re-sale value after 3 years

Your opinions, inputs and experiences will help many (especially myself) who can decide to buy this unit.

I have the 4WD model for about 2 months now and it a real decent car. No problems so far. I even installed a crash bar on the car over the weekend.

I really didnt look at re-sale value after 3 years because i plan to keep it. What i like about it is that it have a Timing chain and not a belt that you have to change at 100,000km, Chain normally out last the car.

As for parts after your warranty, i think you would still have to deal with company or ship it down urself.

So my option is it is a really good car

Postby Kenjo » May 31st, 2011, 12:47 pm

Where and how much did you get the Crash bar from?I also Have the 2wd for the past 2years and no problems yet.It is just about the same height as a RAV4 and all.It definitely gives a nice ride height and when you drive a car after it feels so close to the ground.Lifestyle is expensive on their services(it acutally was a bit more expensive until a little under a year ago)a very reliable car.The only thing is according to your demographics it can be thought of as a soccer mom car but you have to make it individualitic.I full up about $110 per week super gas to get a little under 350km.When you have to get tyres dont even bother with lifestyle because they cant help much.Known Issues to lok out for with the older ones were that the air filter found in the glove compartment was a dud but i think that was ssorted out after the 2009 model.The side view mirrors also had a tendency to loosen from the screws but i think that was also sorted out.I really cant vouch for resale value but they are getting pretty popular right now and i think it might maintain a decent resale value once again according to the demographics of the person buying it.As a young person you can make it a cool car if you want to.The acceleration is decent but not great so you really have to floor it to over take cars but it isnt bad at all.I will think up of some other things about the car and let you know.I think there is another thread where some1 else gave a nice in depth review also so search this forum a bit more

nb15fourwheel

Postby nb15fourwheel » May 31st, 2011, 8:53 pm

Thanks 'GerardJason' and 'Kenjo' for your inputs. I agree with you all on the points that a) it is becoming now popular b) closely matching dimensions with SUVs c) Performance for the class and price - Thanks for your efforts and time.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 2nd, 2011, 11:28 pm

a bit tight on space but a great car none the less!!!

srnoth

Postby srnoth » June 2nd, 2011, 11:54 pm

My mum drives one (lol @ demographics) but it's really quite a fun car to drive... doesn't feel big and SUVish in terms of handling or acceleration. Actually compared to my lancer it accelerates even easier (very easy to find urself doing 140kph+ on the highway). Had it for about 8 months now and had no problems... still remains to see how it will stand up over time.

Was by far the best value we could get for the money...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 3rd, 2011, 12:08 am

srnoth wrote:Was by far the best value we could get for the money...

X2 with the kinda prices out there...its a great buy...........

kdat

Postby kdat » October 17th, 2011, 3:33 pm

After two and a half years:
1. Changed left steering rack (because of driving thru bad roads to get away from traffic so I cud reach to work on-time for 6 mnths straight = ended up leaving the wuk)
2. Changed windsheild wiper fluid motor
3. Left wing mirror got loose (dis was a problem across the line)
4. Changed battery after 2 yrs (Warranty was for 18 mnths, but i found that the battery lasted long)
5. Left shock mount became loose and was tightened

Note that these things happened during the 2.5 yrs. After these things no problems, everything was covered under warranty, car drives smooth approaching the 3 yr mark. Personally despite minor problems its a great car. Only reason I will consider selling is because of space which is a serious issue for a growing family.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 17th, 2011, 11:15 pm

prices of these cars has gone up...IMHO,,,,its too expensive for a small car.......

kdat...u changed wiper motor? what happened there?????

seems as though you took advantage of the car in the badroads....lucky for u they changed it free.....

whats the mileaga like on your car?

kdat

Postby kdat » October 21st, 2011, 4:03 am

86k....As I said, the car got some roughin up on those roads...the wiper fluid motor had leaks at the seals, so they changed the entire unit under warranty! I have 5 months to make 3 years owning the car.

Car drives almost like new, but it is expensive to maintain and it is small.

kdat

Postby kdat » July 23rd, 2014, 5:01 am

At 166k and over 5 years, car still works well. Had to replace my radiator and ac fans, didn't buy from LSM, got a replacement on amazon that's been going strong for about 2 years. Replaced brake shoes which I got off either amazon or eBay. Installed rear spoiler and increased tire size to 215 60 16. Can't see myself selling anytime soon.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 27th, 2014, 4:59 pm

kdat wrote:At 166k and over 5 years, car still works well. Had to replace my radiator and ac fans, didn't buy from LSM, got a replacement on amazon that's been going strong for about 2 years. Replaced brake shoes which I got off either amazon or eBay. Installed rear spoiler and increased tire size to 215 60 16. Can't see myself selling anytime soon.

Nice......so 5 years and you clocking 166K.....

I have my suzuki 7 years clocking 70K.... :D ....just changed a stabiliser rubber at the back and some rubbers at the front wheels as well....so far so good..!!

aidan

Postby aidan » July 30th, 2014, 12:37 am

Had a 2WD crossover for about 3 yrs (bought it locally used). I bought it with the AC not working and the front left side was making noise. The AC was easy to sort out, the evaporator needed replacing and the front left sway bar link was bad. They are really good cars, and are very reliable and easy to maintain. The only thing i changed was putting some slightly wider tyres to grip the road (215-60-16), those stock ones made the car feel to 'light'.

My mom has a SX4 sedan from new, no issues. Going onto 70k kms.

Just make sure and service on time, and use recommended fluids and you good to go.

RP55

Postby RP55 » October 20th, 2014, 12:07 am

Evaporator is the same as Nissan Versa 2007 - 2011. Order it online from places like autozone.com and rock auto.com. U' save about $2,000 TT.

aidan

Postby aidan » October 20th, 2014, 5:50 am

^^yup.got one off ebay for cheap,still works great.

Tulipsttd

Postby Tulipsttd » October 25th, 2014, 6:51 pm

kdat wrote:At 166k and over 5 years, car still works well. Had to replace my radiator and ac fans, didn't buy from LSM, got a replacement on amazon that's been going strong for about 2 years. Replaced brake shoes which I got off either amazon or eBay. Installed rear spoiler and increased tire size to 215 60 16. Can't see myself selling anytime soon.

Hi, Can you tell me the model/brand of the radiator you purchased online? I got into an accident and I need to change the Radiator, Radiator panel and AC Condenser. LSM price is extremenly high.

nutty4u2c

Postby nutty4u2c » October 29th, 2014, 10:10 pm

I crashed one, total write off. It saved my Life. The car is solid the airbag worked fine and nothing happened to me. when I was carrying the car home on the wrecker ,we stopped at a traffic light and the driver of another car asked How many peopled died in the crash, The Driver of the wrecker just pointed to me and said only him. I thank God everyday for buying that car, so I bought another one for my wife.

aidan

Postby aidan » October 31st, 2014, 8:59 am

nutty4u2c wrote:I crashed one, total write off. It saved my Life. The car is solid the airbag worked fine and nothing happened to me. when I was carrying the car home on the wrecker ,we stopped at a traffic light and the driver of another car asked How many peopled died in the crash, The Driver of the wrecker just pointed to me and said only him. I thank God everyday for buying that car, so I bought another one for my wife.

Glad you're ok! sx4 ftw

Return to “SUZUKI”