megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » November 29th, 2008, 9:05 pm

but the man say identical ps
how the wires different?

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 1st, 2008, 11:06 am

na i lazy 2 open my wonderful container of delights..........i try it wit adapters and nuttin happen so yay :!:

Terabyte

Postby Terabyte » December 1st, 2008, 11:42 am

pioneer wrote:no u don't need it...when Alltrac did mine he jus connected de wires n tha was it

Postby wagonrunner » December 1st, 2008, 2:20 pm

pioneer,
the thing wukking boy, he jess eh want others to know how bess it is.

Re: computer power supplies in parallel?

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 2nd, 2011, 12:32 am

forgot I made this thread oui , yea Pioneer it worked perfectly, thanks everyone

ran this thing for hours and it handles the pressure with ease, the middle PSU in this pic failed the other day and started giving out 18V :|
swapped it out with another spare I had and it runs nicely.
Also took out the piece of metal with the holes in it where all the 6AWG wires lead to and made a neat little distribution block from an old Air Condition breaker

only bad thing is that the max voltage is 11.8 when the amp is connected with no music playing and gets as low as 10V when trying to play at high volume.

Added a relay because I was bored

the orange cylinders are an array of capacitors adding up to 0.03F, good enuff for a 30W amp :?

Planning to upgrade the PSUs and hack the circuit for the 16 pin IC to increase the voltage of the 12V rail, and I'll try to do it neater this time

Postby nervewrecker » June 2nd, 2011, 12:39 am

what in gods name?

Postby stev » June 2nd, 2011, 12:43 am

nervewrecker wrote:what in gods name?

its alive!!!!

cool though..i learn sumtin new...google ftw

Postby Sky » June 2nd, 2011, 1:23 am

wtf? jed why didnt you just buy a 12v. 10 amp psu?
Those arent designed for constant peak load and will always fail after a while. after a few more swaps ull regret this choice. and you WILL get fedup of those wires. trust me.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 2nd, 2011, 1:28 am

The only reason the middle one failed is because it was meant to be thrown away in the first place. I just changed the swollen capacitor and ignored the fact the board was already scorched

I intend to start a new build from scratch to eliminate the bird's nest of wires

and where sells 12V 10A PSU cheap? I don't mind using that once the price is right

Postby Sky » June 2nd, 2011, 1:47 am

montrose electronics.
or if you wanna go the fun way, they also have transformers. use one big enough with a bridge rectifier ( or use 4 diodes if ur that bored) and a capacitor to smoothen out the dc. it'll be cheaper than the unit and still satisfy whatever tech crave u havin. even cheaper if you find an old ups and use the tran from it.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 2nd, 2011, 2:08 am

nice, thanks yo

Now u implant the idea of making a giant PSU with multiple transformers and rectifiers, I not gonna sleep now :(

DTAC

Postby DTAC » June 2nd, 2011, 2:16 am

Wow! The only think missing is the Flux Capacitor! :faint:

Postby cinco » June 2nd, 2011, 6:42 am

what a pretty fire hazard

DTAC

Postby DTAC » June 2nd, 2011, 7:38 am

I hope he have no young children in that place otherwise it's snap, crackle & pop! Barbecued babies.

Postby redmanjp » June 2nd, 2011, 9:43 am

cinco wrote:what a pretty fire hazard

ever since ah put ah xmas tree bulb in a AC outlet when i was about 9 and it blow and mih face black i doh mess aroung wit ting again

SPRANG_A

Postby SPRANG_A » June 2nd, 2011, 10:54 am

i glad you get thru...hope you run some fuses in that ratch tho

me personally get enuff shock/fires thru my own shitty engineering to continue down that path... (there is a reason my work space floor is terazzo)

you know you can get 12v, 20a/20a/30a/30a parallel in ONE 1000w psu right?

Postby black start » June 3rd, 2011, 7:46 am

DTAC wrote:Image

daz ah time machine? :lol: