Postby M_2NR » May 23rd, 2011, 1:40 pm

like ulyuh never saw the SE Xperia Pureness :|

monochrome but still.
I dont like it though. No privacy at all

SRASC

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby SRASC » May 23rd, 2011, 5:00 pm

Analysis of Apple's quarterly guidance reportedly reveals that Apple will release the next iPhone in June/July rather than in September, according to SeekingAlpha's Andy Zaky.

During Apple's Q2 conference call, CFO Peter Oppenheimer stated, "We expect OpEx [operating expenses] to be about $2.5 billion, including about $255 million related to stock-based compensation expense."

Zaky says Oppenheimer might as well have said, "Despite what you might hear on Wall Street, we expect the iPhone 5 to be released in late June or early July as planned."

Arguments for June/July Release:
● Consensus seems to be that Apple will be releasing a minor "4S" update. Unless Apple is planning something revolutionary there is no need to delay the cycle.
● Apple is likely trying to throw reporters off due to the whole "prototype" debacle of last year. It's possible that Apple could hold separate events in June. One for iOS and one for iPhone.
● Rollout of an evolutionary iPhone 4S after the white iPhone 4 release would make sense. The White iPhone 4 would merely become the lower end version of iPhone 4 / iPhone 4S family of devices.
● Apple significantly increased its guidance for operating expenses this quarter. Over the past two quarters Apple offered OpEx guidance of $2.325 billion for fiscal Q1 and $2.350 billion for fiscal Q2. For Q3 Apple has significantly updated operating expenses guidance to $2.5 billion.

Zaky elaborates on the his last point which is the most important.

In what is generally considered one of Apple’s seasonally slowest quarters of the year, Apple’s management just offered the most aggressive OpEx guidance in the company’s history. Notice this huge increase in Q3 guidance is also more or less very consistent with the historical trend. We saw the exact same pattern take place in 2010. Apple offered the same exact guidance of $1.64 billion in fiscal Q1 and fiscal Q2 of 2010, and then increased its OpEx guidance by 11.6% to $1.83 billion for fiscal Q3 ahead of the iPhone 4 launch.

There are some other factors to consider such as the launch of Mac OS X Lion and the time needed for developers to update applications for a new iOS 5 release; however, Zaky does bring up some valid points.

------

In an interview with AllThingsD, France Telecom/Orange CEO Stephane Richard discussed a smaller SIM card that Apple is developing with their global carriers for future versions of their mobile devices. Besides confirming that carriers, including Orange, are working with Apple on the new initiative, Richard said that Apple’s next-generation iPhone will be smaller and thinner.

Richard’s comment specifically says the “next” iPhone, meaning the fifth-generation iPhone – rumored for a September launch – but we think his comment could simply be an assumption based on the smaller SIM card developments. Another possibility, since we have no time frame on these smaller cards, is that the next iPhone is actually an all new, thinner, smaller design.

Another possibility is that these smaller SIM cards are for the “iPhone nano,” which the Wall Street Journal discussed earlier this year. The device, codenamed N97, is said to be smaller, lighter, cheaper and feature an edge-to-edge display. Smaller SIM cards would be perfect for this device, so perhaps Orange’s CEO just dropped a hint of that.

The person who saw the prototype of the new iPhone said the device was significantly lighter than the iPhone 4 and had an edge-to-edge screen that could be manipulated by touch, as well as a virtual keyboard and voice-based navigation

It’s necessary to mention that Richard is the same person who “confirmed” an Apple tablet – with 3G -announcement in late January, but said it would include a webcam. As we all know, the Apple tablet only got a webcam two months ago with the iPad 2.

------

Apple’s pull is virtually impossible to resist, we’ve all known that. Despite fierce competition from the likes of Samsung and HTC, Apple gets the utmost respect from rivals. See a female shopper in the above shot? That’s HTC’s co-founder and chairwoman Cher Wang, accompanied by husband Wen-Chi Chen, a CEO at VIA Technologies. The two were snapped up shopping for Apple gadgets at the Palo Alto retail store, reported the Chinese-language Mobile01 site. So, why on Earth would the couple want to set their foot inside an Apple Store?

For the same prosaic reasons as us ordinary folks – the experience of being served by the world’s greatest consumer electronics powerhouse. They had reportedly spent about half an hour talking to clerks and inquiring about products before leaving the store. Mind you, at no point did Wang appear bothered by that pending lawsuit from Apple accusing her company of “stealing” handset-related patents. Maybe the couple was keen on learning firsthand how the heck Apple became America’s greatest retailer? Joking aside, the report has it that HTC’s chairwoman and her husband left the store with a bunch of shiny gadgets with the Apple logo emblazoned on them. This includes two iPads, two Apple TVs, two MacBook Airs – one per spouse – plus an Airport Express, probably to create and share ad-hoc wireless networks among their computers while on the road.

------

Although the previous generation iPod nano had curved glass (it wasn’t universally loved), the Samsung Nexus S was the first mainstream smartphone with curved glass. If Digitimes is right, the iPhone 5 may be the second (and likely more popular).

…the latest being circulated around the supply chain in Taiwan is that Apple is going to adopt a curved cover glass for its next generation model, according to industry sources.

That would seem to fly in the face of recent reports that the iPhone 5 would be very similar to the iPhone 4 in appearance. Digitimes has found what they think is anecdotal evidence.

However, in order to push forward the production of curved glass, Apple reportedly has purchased 200-300 glass cutting machines to be used by glass makers, said the sources. The glass slicing machines are currently being stored at associated assembly plants and will be brought online once yield rates for the production of curved glass reaches a satisfactory level, the sources revealed.

Although Samsung is a competitor wrapped in lawsuits with Apple, it is also a major supplier and obviously has experience with curved glass screens.

------

Hands up if you’ve ever restored your iDevice only to realize you hadn’t saved your photos somewhere beforehand? Come on, hands all the way up. That means you at the back!

While it’s not the end of the world if you intend on restoring a backup of your device, if you want to start afresh you’re out of luck. Or, you were until Photo Rescue came along.

Photo Rescue is a nice, simple way of peeking into your iDevice backups and picking out your much-loved photos for restoration.

Using the free version of Photo Rescue will allow you to see what photos are part of which backups, but if you want to retrieve them you’ll be paying the very reasonable $4.99 for the full version. All devices which have backups on your computer will show here.

One caveat for some though – Photo Rescue is Mac-only right now, so if you’re a Windows user you’re out if luck here unfortunately. Also, encrypted backups are not supported, though we’re willing to bet that doesn’t affect the vast majority.

Photo Rescue is available for download now.

------

Mac|Life has put together a list of 10 Android OS Options We Want for iOS. Here's that list.

Typing in a four-digit security code is so last century. Android's screen lock lets users draw a custom pattern to unlock their phone. Sweet!

Multitasking is a great feature, but wouldn't it be nice to have the apps you use all the time always open and ready for use? Android's got that going on, as many applications can be used as on-screen widgets.

With Android Market, users can browse for apps on their computer and then install them wirelessly to their Android device. C'mon Apple, let's make this happen!

Sure, the keyboards offered by iOS are easy to work with, but variety is the spice of life. Android allows you to install a multitude of different keyboards with a robust number of options.

Does Android do Flash? Yep. How about the iPhone or iPad? Nope. Will we ever see Flash on an iOS device? Don't hold your breath.

Sure, iOS looks nice and is easy to use, but wouldn't it be nice to change things up without the need to jailbreak your handset first? Android users can trick their phone out with a custom launcher and do exactly that.

If a custom launcher's not enough for you, how about the ability to install custom ROMS? By installing a new ROM, Android users are able to dramatically change the functionality of their handset with very little effort. Yeah, we want that.

Oh, iPhone, where does all your power go? If you were an Android handset, you could tell me. Yeah, that's right, Android offers users the ability to see what their battery power is allocated to -- natively. Le Sigh.

Android users receive notification of new mail, text messages and just about everything else through the notification bar at the top of the screen. We'd love to see this unobtrusive wonder brought over to iOS.

Most of us would rather use third-party apps and have never traded stocks in our lives. Sadly, the iOS Weather and Stock apps can't be removed from our phones. Same goes for the rest of iOS' default applications. That's not an issue for Android users. Phooey.

scientist

Postby scientist » May 23rd, 2011, 7:24 pm

anyone has any info on getting the iphone 4 to work with digicel edge network?

Postby M_2NR » May 23rd, 2011, 8:24 pm

Just go in Settings>General>Network>Cellular Data Network>
Enter for the APN:
web.digiceltt.com

http://modblog101.wordpress.com/2010/05/20/mms-on-your-local-trinidad-tobago-networks/

If cellular Data Network isnt there, eject and reinsert the sim card while in the Network area in settings and it should show up.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 23rd, 2011, 9:38 pm

M_2NR wrote:Just go in Settings>General>Network>Cellular Data Network>
Enter for the APN:
web.digiceltt.com

http://modblog101.wordpress.com/2010/05/20/mms-on-your-local-trinidad-tobago-networks/

If cellular Data Network isnt there, eject and reinsert the sim card while in the Network area in settings and it should show up.

if he is using an iphone4 .. he will have to redo the gevey hack steps everytime the phone goes off or sim is ejected

scientist

Postby scientist » May 23rd, 2011, 9:47 pm

forgot to mention i'm in dominica

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 24th, 2011, 10:46 am

bmobile are offering 2 weeks FREE prepaid data service. Check here on how to configure. For me & I would think other iPhone owners it is simply a matter of inserting bconnected into the APN field.

See if it works for you. If it does, enjoy it for the time we have it. :)

------

Eldar Murtazin, editor-in-chief of Russian mobile phone blog Mobile-Review today reported in a Tweet (via MacStories) that iOS 5 will not be compatible with the iPhone 3GS, limiting the next-generation operating system to the current iPhone and of course new models yet to come as far as the iPhone is concerned.

Just one comment. Apple iPhone 3Gs wont be upgradable to iOS 5.x. iPhone 4 will.

The information is unverified and it is unclear from where Murtazin obtained the information, but he does have a very solid reputation in the mobile phone rumor community. Murtazin does not, however, frequently report on Apple's plans.

iOS 4.0 was released last June with compatibility for the iPhone 3G, 3GS, and 4, although some of the iOS 4 features were not available on the older hardware. That fragmentation continued until Apple finally discontinued support for iPhone 3G updates with the release of iOS 4.3 earlier this year, leaving that device at a maximum operating system version of iOS 4.2.1.

Limiting iOS 5 to a minimum of iPhone 4 hardware would be a significant shift toward high-end hardware requirements, particularly considering that Apple still sells the iPhone 3GS. iOS 5 has, however, been reported to be a significant reworking of the company's mobile operating system, and Apple may simply feel that only the latest hardware (relatively speaking) will offer a satisfactory experience.

Apple really is going against traditions this year. First the possibility (the very strong one at this point) of not releasing the next iPhone at WWDC & now the iPhone 3GS, which to me wasn't even a question of it not getting iOS 5 now there are questions about that. I say that cause usually a generation of iPhone would get at least through 2 major releases of iOS. Then again I'm sure most thought the 3G would get up to 4.3.3 (or whatever ends up being the final iOS 4.x version).

iPhone - 1.0 to 3.1.3 (1-2, 2-3)
    iPhone 3G - 2.0 to 4.2.1 (2-3, 3-4)
    iPhone 3GS - 3.0 to 4.3.3 (currently) (3-4, (was) expected 4-5)
    iPhone 4 - 4.0 to 4.3.3 (currently) (4-5, 5-6)

------

According to GigaOm, Apple has confirmed Steve Jobs will be giving the Keynote presentation at WWDC 2011, despite being on limited duty during his third medical leave. For the last 3 years, Apple has introduced new iPhone hardware (from the iPhone 3G to last year’s iPhone 4 at WWDC, however, unofficial word is that there’ll be no new iPhone until the fall this year. Since, also unlike previous years, there was no iOS preview event this spring, an iOS 5 announcement and probable beta release will likely be our high point. (There will no doubt also be Mac OS X Lion news as well.)
iOS 5 is rumored to be a big update for Apple, everything from a new leap to the cloud to a substantial re-write, so it’ll be great to see Steve Jobs doing what he does better than anyone else in the industry — running the show.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 24th, 2011, 12:34 pm

Has me wondering though. I lost a dollar off my credit without making a call or sending a text. Going to monitor it and see

Postby M_2NR » May 24th, 2011, 3:43 pm

Chiney wrote:
Enter for the APN:
web.digiceltt.com

if he is using an iphone4 .. he will have to redo the gevey hack steps everytime the phone goes off or sim is ejected

that would suck... a lot! I guess jailbreaking and patching the commcenter might be an option. I cant remember correctly if that solved it or not.

SRASC wrote:Has me wondering though. I lost a dollar off my credit without making a call or sending a text. Going to monitor it and see

LOL! typical bsmobile. Call them na and ask them where your credit gone. I'm sure its probably an error. Digicel has that same issue in prepaid when you use data. At first it overcharges your account.

Any of you use airplay?
Besides the fact that eldar depress me this morning, with no iOS 5 for 3GS.
I'm loving the possibilities of AirPlay.
It is truly a lazyman's dream.

This week lifehacker made a post on it:
How to make your entire home AirPlay compatible

Then lo and behold today someone released airplay compatibility with... you guess it, windows media center!
YAY!
Read more about it here.

Of course, you can use AirVideoEnabler from cydia to get AirPlay working on other apps :)

It doesnt work for audio yet so a fallback was posted in the lifehacker article that you can use Shairport4w for windows.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » May 24th, 2011, 3:51 pm

Any of you know where I can get a MINT condition 32GB 3GS to purchase?

Really miss not having a phone at the moment and I really want to get back an iPhone ... would have loved to get the iPhone4 but I discouraged by the 'death grip' issue and the cutting of my sim card.

phreak

Postby phreak » May 24th, 2011, 4:02 pm

Parvin wrote:Any of you know where I can get a MINT condition 32GB 3GS to purchase?

Really miss not having a phone at the moment and I really want to get back an iPhone ... would have loved to get the iPhone4 but I discouraged by the 'death grip' issue and the cutting of my sim card.

death grip way?.. have my iphone 4 since last year.. best thing since slice bread.. no problems with signal.. now and then bmobile might play de ass.. but other than that.. love it..

btw.. the sim cut thing is no worries.. it have sim cutters for that.. easy..

Parvin

Postby Parvin » May 24th, 2011, 4:06 pm

So the signal loss is not an issue for you?

And what about the proximity sensor issue? If you had it?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 24th, 2011, 4:18 pm

the death grip issue has practically been eliminated with software updates used in conjunction with a case for your iPhone 4, the most I've ever seen mines drop was 2 bars and i was squeezing the sheit out of it, proximity sensor issue is not really noticible anymore, the phone's good, network down here sucks, simple as that.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » May 24th, 2011, 4:20 pm

Well ulyuh clear up some serious negative thoughts I had about it yes.

One more thing, if the battery life improved?

Thinking of saving the extra now and getting the 4.

phreak

Postby phreak » May 24th, 2011, 5:08 pm

never had any issues with proximity sensor.. thankfully.. using otterbox impact case.. and never had any low signal bars.. battery life.. well i consider myself to be a heavy iphone user.. and i could almost make a full two days without charging.. mind you that is with all radios on (wifi, bt and network) may not sound like much when you compare it to my old 2g that would almost give me 4 ~ 5 days without charging.. but then it wasn't multi-tasking with 5 ~ 15 apps running in the background..

at the end of the day i does just dock the iphone.. charge overnight and you good to go..

phreak

Postby phreak » May 24th, 2011, 5:15 pm

Chiney wrote:which gevey sim do u have?
came in a red packing?

for me

this is wat i have to do:

Accept at the welcome screen
wait for the one signal bar
then call 112 and say 1thousand, 2 thousand and hang up RIGHT AWAY..wait....
then go to airplane mode..turn it off..wait 45secs and turn it on again.. thats it

sometimes..while waiting for the 45secs..u get an error..that is wen u can also turn it back on

the VERY CRITICAL part in this procedure is the dialing 112 part, u need to time that 2 secs REAL accurate!

now get a chance to take another crack at it.. and you right.. that 2 sec thing real accurate.. once i did that everything else went smooth..

thanks man..

easy..

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 24th, 2011, 5:51 pm

proximity sensor issue is much improved since the last couple of IOS updates
but its not perfect still.

I never considered the death grip issue to be a real issue. You have to go out of your way to cause the signal drop

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 24th, 2011, 5:55 pm

farva, I dunno, but you are the first person I know who complains about the proximity sensor at all.

if there are worldwide complaints, I've never personally had a single instance of it giving trouble or not working properly.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 24th, 2011, 5:58 pm

ordered me a metallic silver back for my iphone4

shiz gonna look WET!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 24th, 2011, 6:53 pm

hey guys gettin ah iphone 4 tomorow runnin 4.2.1 baseband 2.10...can this be software unlocked? thanks...

phreak

Postby phreak » May 24th, 2011, 7:07 pm

nope.. only baseband to be software unlocked is 01.59.00 for iphone 4.. could use a hardware unlock though..

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 24th, 2011, 7:14 pm

ryan99tt wrote:hey guys gettin ah iphone 4 tomorow runnin 4.2.1 baseband 2.10...can this be software unlocked? thanks...

buy a gevey pro sim , works perfectly the only downside is that if you reboot your phone you have to do the set up process.. which takes like 2 mins top so its not a big deal. gevey pro is the next best thing to buying a factory unlocked iphone 4, you save alot of money just make sure its not a fake gevey pro.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 24th, 2011, 7:18 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:farva, I dunno, but you are the first person I know who complains about the proximity sensor at all.

if there are worldwide complaints, I've never personally had a single instance of it giving trouble or not working properly.

there was a flood of complaints when the phone just released about the proximity sensor but it was fixed later on in 4.1 or 4.2 not sure which one.

Postby M_2NR » May 24th, 2011, 8:00 pm

i think it still exists. My padna complains about it. ill ask him if its still bugs him. He on 4.2.1

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 24th, 2011, 8:24 pm

Anyone tried it as yet?

scientist

Postby scientist » May 24th, 2011, 9:30 pm

Chiney wrote:
Enter for the APN:
web.digiceltt.com

went to the digi shop and my sim wasn;t properly activated. I'm using a factory unlocked iphone 4 i bought from apple canada. didn't want to deal with the gevey sim or custom ipsw to prevent updating baseband

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 24th, 2011, 9:37 pm

I have one iPhone 4 factory unlocked on 4.3.3. and another on 4.3.3 that is unlocked with the gevey pro and I have no problems with either, proximity sensors or otherwise.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 24th, 2011, 9:47 pm

well the web.digiceltt.com works for me
jus have all your data options enabled and thats it

you just have to figure out what is Grenada's APN

Postby M_2NR » May 24th, 2011, 11:36 pm

dominica hoss

if its factory unlocked as you say, updating it will not pose any threat... arks duane. ;)

SRASC, tried wa?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 24th, 2011, 11:47 pm

prepaid data plan