boxes for my subs

spam

boxes for my subs

Postby spam » May 18th, 2011, 3:38 pm

the first box is what my subs are currently in it plays a nice mixture between low and loud but does go as low as i wud like it....

this second box is a box i wud like to build and test to see if it meets my requirements a lil better than the first box

wat do you guys think any feedback wud be great in terms of size and tuning, subs are 2 kicker l7 8"
:shock: :shock: :shock:

Re: boxes for my subs

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 18th, 2011, 5:16 pm

click to zoom in, the triangle thingy just makes sure that when the air meets it is directed out of the port instead of battling in the 13.25" chamber, the orange-ish parts are what I think it should look like ( slight flare[cud correct meh on dis])
and 45 the corner b4 the port, [the north east and north west corners]
Add damping material like in the 2nd pic if ya want, was too lazy to do it in paint

2chamber32.jpg

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Again, 45 the corner b4 the port, [idk it seemed like a good place to put it]
definitely want to 45 the corners inside the port, better air flow,
damping optional (the fuzzy white stuff)

ryan.jpg

doublestenns

Postby doublestenns » May 18th, 2011, 9:46 pm

way to get d fuzzy white stuff ?

Postby 3stagevtec » May 18th, 2011, 11:54 pm

Radhica Trading.. They have Dacron and Polyester Fiberfill...

5forward

Postby 5forward » May 19th, 2011, 12:46 am

^I know these things lower tuning frequency a bit...but if it is used,can it be removed from the box after?

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 19th, 2011, 7:16 am

5forward wrote:^I know these things lower tuning frequency a bit...but if it is used,can it be removed from the box after?

If you use a staple gun and apply it, yes, if you glue it to the box still yes but not completely off.

PM me if anyone needs dracon, I have about 10yrds to get rid of.

5forward

Postby 5forward » May 19th, 2011, 7:35 am

how is this dacron compared to lets say,pollyfill or fiberfill? same function?

Postby 3stagevtec » May 20th, 2011, 1:27 am

5forward wrote:how is this dacron compared to lets say,pollyfill or fiberfill? same function?

dacron is alot easier to work with than fiber fill and is easy to apply. as kurpal said, a staple gun or even hot glue can be used to apply. with dacron, try and apply it to at least 3 walls inside an enclosure..

Postby SR » May 20th, 2011, 6:04 am

there is no need to use dacron/polyfill etc in a ported box

it will not make a difference

5forward

Postby 5forward » May 20th, 2011, 7:30 am

Thanks for that bit of info SR...almost wasted some money :oops:

Postby 3stagevtec » May 20th, 2011, 12:55 pm

SR wrote:there is no need to use dacron/polyfill etc in a ported box

says who?? worked quite well for me! and it makes a noticeable difference, especially in a high(ish) tuned enclosure..

usually, just one layer of dacron will smoothen out the response a bit.. it's quite noticeable..

5forward

Postby 5forward » May 20th, 2011, 1:14 pm

ok well i might try it in the future.what freq is your box tuned to^?

Postby 3stagevtec » May 20th, 2011, 1:36 pm

36Hz for my 12"..

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » May 20th, 2011, 4:13 pm

SR wrote:there is no need to use dacron/polyfill etc in a ported box

Wrong. Definitely does make a difference.

Whether the difference is better or worse is another matter.

Look online for Nousaine's article on stuffing. One of the boxes he tested was a vented box.

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 20th, 2011, 5:43 pm

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » May 20th, 2011, 8:54 pm

That's the one.

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » May 22nd, 2011, 4:09 pm

what calculator was used inthe design and how accurate is it....im looking for an accurate one

spam

Postby spam » June 1st, 2011, 7:26 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:click to zoom in, the triangle thingy just makes sure that when the air meets it is directed out of the port instead of battling in the 13.25" chamber, the orange-ish parts are what I think it should look like ( slight flare[cud correct meh on dis])
and 45 the corner b4 the port, [the north east and north west corners]
Add damping material like in the 2nd pic if ya want, was too lazy to do it in paint

2chamber32.jpg

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Again, 45 the corner b4 the port, [idk it seemed like a good place to put it]
definitely want to 45 the corners inside the port, better air flow,
damping optional (the fuzzy white stuff)

ryan.jpg

if the corners are not 45 as u suggested would it make a big difference ? i mean a difference you can actually hear ?

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » June 1st, 2011, 10:12 am

yes it can.The 45 degree corners improve air flow and reduces turbulence in the box.

D March Guy

Postby D March Guy » June 5th, 2011, 10:46 am

One like this...........was one of my previous project

mastamind17

Postby mastamind17 » June 5th, 2011, 11:28 am

Spectro Vibez wrote:One like this...........was one of my previous project

nice!!! :P

Postby nervewrecker » June 5th, 2011, 1:24 pm

I find that box looks familiar:

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 5th, 2011, 7:48 pm

yes Yes YES!!!!!!!!! :yankit:

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » June 5th, 2011, 8:25 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:

yes Yes YES!!!!!!!!! :yankit:

Honestly, while they look good, I'm not sure if those modifications within the vent make much difference.

I suspect that chamfering makes the most difference when done at each end of the vent (i.e. inside and where it exits the box).

Also, chamfering only one end of the vent (typically where it exits the box) is a common error that should be avoided wherever possible.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 9th, 2011, 5:53 pm

so days for using pvc pipe for port done then?

D March Guy

Postby D March Guy » June 9th, 2011, 11:08 pm

No Bhaii !!! I still uses PVC pipe in some of my smaller boxes , for like lower wattage subwoofers around 250w rms an ting

Postby Ted_v2 » June 9th, 2011, 11:29 pm

i uses aeroports for my installs (imo easier to retune )

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 10th, 2011, 6:24 am

sound boy 64 wrote:i uses aeroports for my installs (imo easier to retune )

Ive never found this to be true in my case. Aero was always more costly and harder to cut in my point of view.

MONGO

Postby MONGO » June 10th, 2011, 7:09 pm

never found the use for aero or pvc porting in any of my builds...