New model Fielder wagon 1.5 or 1.8 differences...

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

New model Fielder wagon 1.5 or 1.8 differences...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 18th, 2011, 3:04 pm

looking to buy 1 & wanted to know d difference between each model & is d 10k price difference worth it ?

supposed to be a lil more power with d extra CCs right ? - but what features otherwise will make dealers charge so much more , its d same manufacture age (2008) & its interior\exterior appears to be d same

yesterday i checked 1 dealer who say d 1.5 is 125k & d 1.8 is 135k ... :? :? :?

ramishrrr

Re: New model Fielder wagon 1.5 or 1.8 differences...

Postby ramishrrr » March 19th, 2011, 4:50 am

I am an importer of cars. If you are getting a 1.8 for TT$135K, then you should go for it.
For starters, 140HP is a lot better to drive than 105HP. This is the dual VVTI engine. It will be good on gas.
It would carry a few more features for sure.
Then the price.
Motor Vehicle Tax on a 1.8 is $12,420. 1.5 is $6,469.
Customs duty on a 1.8 is 35%. On a 1.5 is 25%.
Both Customs Duty and MVT as well as the cost of the car from Japan are subject to 15%VAT. Logically the 1.8 will be more expensive then.
That is a good price, considering the high Yen and US$cost.

Go for it !
Regards,
RR.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 19th, 2011, 11:20 pm

great info thanks ! :)

d only thing is d 1 place i checked so far they only carrying d dark interior wagons because they said it sells faster than d creamish looking 2 tone interior models since its mostly ppl with kids who buy them & they dont want d interior to show dirty as fast as it wud with d lighter color ...BUT by faaaar i do prefer d brighter\lighter interior so next wk i will be looking around even more ... 8-)

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » March 20th, 2011, 5:01 am

I don't know why, but Toyota puts a lot of black interiors in the more expensive vehicles in Japan. Even the exterior colours black, dark metallics cost more when a new car is purchased.
I like very light interiors. It makes the car more airy inside. The interior of mine is black, and I hate it. Looking for objects in the vehicle warrants the use of a flashlight.
The ZRE 142 G model has the fully dressed Fielder 1.8 Aerotourer S. The last photo is the regular Aero Aerotourer S. The first few are of the Sports M, which are a bit rare. Would be nice if you get one of these. Keep the original sizes in rims and tyres, and you have a beautifully handling and riding vehicle.
Regards,
RR.
Fielder 4.jpg
Fielder 5.jpg
Fielder 3.jpg
Fielder 2.jpg
Fielder 1.jpg
Fielder Aerotourer S..jpg

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 20th, 2011, 11:53 pm

great post !

remembering how my ad wagon originally came with that dark interior made me felt sort of down in d dumps so ur absolutely right & i want to go totally opposite of dark\dismal

i notice d same dark interior trend with some of d higher hondas too like d latest model stream & crv

yes i definitely do not like big ass 18s or worse 20s - not practical at all , most i wud go is 17s with at least 45 series tires nothing less

man if i cud only get a same white wagon maybe even a red looking exactly like d 1 in that last pic i wud buy it right away :D once it has d light interior of course ! - from a few roro places i been to its very rare to see d full body kit on these newer models , it looks so much sweeter but if i cant get it i will settle for at least 1 with a trunk lid spoiler ... 8-)

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » March 21st, 2011, 11:51 am

135k is pretty steep for a used vehicle. Have you checked out your Brand new options?

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » March 21st, 2011, 5:45 pm

Have you checked TTL on the price of a new Corolla with the 1.8L engine ? Do it please!
RR.

Postby pugboy » March 21st, 2011, 7:16 pm

RR, you have any in stock ?

its best either way to put seat covers

so at least you can wash them periodically and have your car smelling good again
also when you selling the car and show prospective buyers seats with no wear/dirt on them it helps a lot

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 21st, 2011, 8:03 pm

yea 135k for a roro eh exactly cheap - thank d pee en em for raising FU taxes but i def dont want to spend plenty more $ for brand new , i honestly havent checked TTL because i fraid their price & after service fees - do they even carry d fielder wagons ? .....

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » March 21st, 2011, 9:49 pm

To Pugboy.....I only import cars on specific request. I do not stock them.

Like I mentioned in a previous thread, the Japanese yen made a marvelous rebound from the recession in 2009. In 2009, the yen was about 98 to the US$.....now it is 81 !
I have records to show where I brought a fully dressed NZE 121 XG. The car cost USD 8,000 CIF from Japan. This cost the customer TT$85,600.
Later in December last year I brought another NZE 121 XG (not an Aero model, just roof rails) for USD 10,200.......The price had risen. This cost the customer TT$107,000.
Right now one of my dealers has a NZE 141 X for USD 141 for 12,200. To the customer, this will cost TT$127,000 !
I have included the pics of the 1st and 3rd Fielders. The pics of the 2nd is on another computer.

The differences in the prices would be the result of inflation, increase in vehicle production costs, strengthening of the yen, higher US$ cost.
There will always be the argument about "bess yuh buy ah new car". However, there are those who just cannot pay the bank an extra $100 or $200 per month to get the bigger loan, and a massive yearly insurance bill for 5 years. Then the foreign used will be the only option with a new series number plate.
For those who can afford, when a foreign used vehicle cost over 65% the cost of a new car, then the situation needs to be reviewed.
Even before the earthquake and tsunami, I felt that new car prices would shoot through the roof. If that happens, then the gap between new and used will widen again. Don't interpret that as a win situation !

And for those who want to argue, just call Toyota Trinidad Ltd. and ask how much it will cost to buy a new 1.8L Corolla Wagon !

Regards,
RR.
2007 NZE141 $127,000 Rr.jpg
2007 NZE141 $127,000 Rr.jpg (26.65 KiB) Viewed 20073 times
2007 NZE141 for 127,000 Fr.jpg
2007 NZE141 for 127,000 Fr.jpg (33.04 KiB) Viewed 20073 times
Fully Dressed NZE 121 $85,600 Rr..jpg
Fully dressed NZE 121 $85,600.jpg
Fully dressed NZE 121 $85,600.jpg (28.75 KiB) Viewed 20073 times

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » March 23rd, 2011, 9:48 am

^RR I think you are missing my point. I am not fighting down your price at all. I am just looking out for a fellow tuner.

I was in a similar position two years ago. I was getting a brand new vehicle for 20k more than a f/u. Yes I had to save a little longer but the point is it was a new vehicle and I didnt have to worry about its previous history and the way the owner treated it, plus I got 3 yrs warranty and could sell it for the same price as a f/u 3 yrs later.

Granted he won't get a fielder for 20k more brand new, but there are other wagons he can get brand new for around that price. Personally I would choose a brand new nissan over a used Toyota, but thats just me, everyone is different.

Years ago I used to sell car audio and decided to shift my business efforts to something more profitable, the reason being that it wasnt worth the hassle to make $200-$300 on an item just to match market prices. The same will happen to f/u pretty soon, especially with the increase in prices due to the tsunami. It just isnt going to be worth it considering the price difference between a brand new and 2-3yr old vehicle.

oxidation

Postby oxidation » March 27th, 2011, 9:20 pm

wow i love the new fielders

but can these cars use super gasoline....

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 29th, 2011, 11:27 am

^^^hmmm good question - didnt think of that : anybody can answer ??? ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 3rd, 2011, 9:18 pm

^^^^^^anybody ?

& 1 more question : does d transmission give trouble ? ...

Postby pugboy » April 4th, 2011, 7:50 pm

I think the 1.8 requires "premium" octane gas

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_ZZ_engine#2ZZ-GE

I use super in my 1.5 nze, switching to premium would be an increase of $65 per 50liter tank

Imran007

Postby Imran007 » April 14th, 2011, 12:45 pm

the only issue with the new fielders and axio is the auto tranny needs to change tranmission fluid every 30,000km with a special toyota cvt oil, not currently available in T&T, if anyone has them they should advertise, cause you cant get them even at TTTL.

the tranny in the auto 1.5 & 1.8 is electronic cvt, so there's no dipstick and there's only a nipple to pump out and in the oil, so not all mechanics have the adaptor to drain it, which is the easier part, getting the new oil is worst...

so if anyone has the oil and has the actual adaptor to work on the tranny, this is a good time to talk....

Postby pugboy » April 15th, 2011, 7:23 pm

I noticed that also, was looking at one the other day and didn't see a tranny dipstick

pingpong

Postby pingpong » May 7th, 2011, 10:28 am

I like this topic. First of all where do I get a 1.8 fielder for $135.
I just made a downpayment on one and the final cost is $145.
It is an Aero model with dark interior but I don't know much of the specs. Can I get some more info about this vehicle please.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 8th, 2011, 12:28 am

i may have made a mistake there with d 135k price since i dont seem to recall where i saw that price ... lol

pingpong

Postby pingpong » May 9th, 2011, 7:59 am

Ok thx Rovin.
Ramish u seem to know a lot about these vehicles, can u tell me a bit more. The one I am purchasing is marked S Aero on the back. The chassis # is something like zre-142...
Can u tell me if this is a good choice at the cost of $145 K?
Thx

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 12th, 2011, 12:18 pm

:bump:

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » May 12th, 2011, 5:38 pm

Pingpong, take a lil' boof for 2 things:
1. We have discussed much of the Fielder already. Some of the 1.8 too.
2. You should have checked with your dealer about the features of your proposed vehicle before paying your hard-earned money. Yuh cyar buy cyat-in-barg !!

Anyway, yuh is ah tuner, so here goes.

The customs duty on a 1.8 is 10% more than a 1.5. This will increase the VAT also. Motor vehicle tax on the engine is twice the 1.5's. This will significantly carry up the cost over a 1.5.
Used Toyota cars in Japan are very expensive. If you are getting a 1.8S Aerotourer in good condition for TT$145,000 then it is worth considering. Ask TTL how what is the price on a 1.8 Corolla, so you will have an idea how you are going. Anywhere from 50-60% the cost of a new one will be OK.

The S Fielder will carry the features a modern car will carry with some more:

The interior likely will be dark, if not black (which I hate) with ISOFIX fabric cover.
Japanese people are not crazy about alloy wheels as we are. You could possibly get steel rims with covers.
Not all of the Fielders come with roof rails. (Roof rails makes washing more difficult, aside from being almost useless for the average joe)
The dash carries Climate control AC.(I have no problem with manual AC)
There is tiptronic on the shifter. I cannot say if the transmission is the 4-Speed or CVT.
The 2ZR-FE engine is Dual VVT, which should be easier on gasoline. Not that the older 1ZZ-FE was bad on gas.
140HP is a lot easier to drive than 105HP, and is very useful in our traffic condition.
The rear seat should fold up with the touch of a button from the cargo area.
The dash has more storage in addition to the glovebox.
Not sure if you have a leveller control for the headlights, or if all S Aerotourers have HID.
All auto windows.
The rear windows are tinted heavier than the front.
Not sure if all S Aerotourers come with Start/Stop button and Keyless entry.
Not all Aerotourers carry extension lips on the rear bumpers, indicators on the door mirrors, rear camera, TV nor controls on the steering wheel.
You get one of the smoothest rides from a small car.

I hope this would help.
Regards,
RR.
S Aerotourer Rear Bumper Aero.jpg
S Aerotourer Int. Rear.jpg
S Aerotourer Engine.jpg
S Aerotourer Backseat flip.jpg
S Aerotourer Dash..jpg
S Aerotourer Glovebox..jpg
S Aerotourer Int. Trunk.jpg
S Aerotourer Start&Stop.jpg
Last edited by ramishrrr on May 12th, 2011, 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » May 12th, 2011, 5:48 pm

More.
S Aerotourer front Wheel.jpg
S Aerotourer Int..jpg
S Aerotourer Fr..jpg
S Aerotourer Fr. 1.jpg
S Aerotourer Fr 2.jpg
S Aerotourer Int. Rear.jpg
S Aerotourer Rr 2.jpg
S Aerotourer side.jpg

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2011, 6:33 pm

Just collected a 1.5 today, drives even nicer than the older Fielder

ketching my tail to clean the armorall the idiots put on the windscreen though

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 12th, 2011, 7:30 pm

^so long u take to get it ? - was wondering what going on ...

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2011, 7:32 pm

I told them wait until 8000 number came around
now I get an 85xx number

Did you make a spare key ?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 13th, 2011, 1:05 am

oho - was wondering what happened since i got mine in 2 days , u really hold on for that 8k number yes .... :lol:

thats roughly 1500 cars sold in T&T in less than 1 mth - :shock:

i was surprised when i got 2 factory keys with mine - :D both have d lock\unlock door buttons , they said sometimes ur lucky if d ppl from japan sends both keys ...

pingpong

Postby pingpong » May 17th, 2011, 9:03 am

Thanks Ramish and yea I know I deserve that boof but being a female puts me at a lil disadvantage. Not always you get helpful and knowledgeable people at those foreign used places. I am supposed to collect the vehicle this week and when I do I will be able to get all further details. I did get a valuation done though so I hope that meant something. LOL. Keep the info coming. I like reading your contributions as they are very detailed. Thx again.

Postby pugboy » May 17th, 2011, 9:13 pm

Had to remove/unbolt the seats to shampoo and wetvac to get rid of the armorall that was sprayed all over the seats and rest of car
used Tuff Stuff, rubbed and soaked with water then wet vac
this is after the roro dealer allegedly had the car cleaned, lol

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » May 18th, 2011, 8:42 am

Pingpong,
My regards to you.
Just don't let the dealer take advantage of you. No cock-and-bull story from him.
I hope you get one of the most enjoyable rides your money will buy. To help this.......stick to the tyre size the sticker on the driver's side says.
RR.

Return to “TOYOTA”