Official Gaming Console Thread (XBOX, PS4, Switch etc)

Re: Official 360, PS3, PC Gaming Thread v4.something

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 4th, 2011, 4:24 pm

yeah man hoe will be glad to add yuh. I like them kinda games like dead nations and thing just so much frecking fun.

Well I ain't mind waiting a lil while to use PSN hopefully everything will be sorted out soon.

Ow also thanks for the input there speedfreak99

Yeah is 16:9 ratio 25 inch 1080P HP monitors. Fizz has a thread on misc sections he prices real good I mean $1850 for that is really good.

I think this was a good time to purchase a PS3 as I currently do not have any present generation console. I am usually a PC RTS and FPS gamer I does play like Heroes of Newerth etc. But the New Mortal Kombat and this dead nation really forced me to get a PS3 LOL

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 4th, 2011, 4:30 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:ok so I bought a PS3 from Raptor

Now the first game I wanna get is Super Street Fighter 2 HD remix and then Dead nation.
How will I go about buying these games now?

Do you have to put your credit on PSN? cause I her that not so secure.

Ah just need to get one of them 25" Monitors from fizz now with HDMI.

Anyone knows if PS3 does upscale all 720p games straight to 1080p? cause LCD tends to look best at its native resolution and crappy on anything lower. Even if its a little bit lower.

I hoping PSN comes back up soon and this problem does not occur again. Spending $50 US a year for xbox live to me don't make sense jed. I accustom to it being free on PC all these years that I doh really wanna pay for that. So I took the PS3.

I also read the PSN uses dedicated servers so it lags much less while xbl uses peer to peer which causes it to lag more with players who are to far.

These are the 2 biggest reason i took the PS3. And well dead nation.

http://www.maximuscards.com/
you'll get your card in 5 minutes
Raptor has cards too if you like to scratch
battlefield uses dedicated servers

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 4:57 pm

"Sony has blamed the online vigilante group Anonymous for indirectly allowing the security breach that allowed a hacker to gain access to the personal data of more than 100m online game users was compromised." lol opening paragraph on a BBC news article

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-13288532

PSN back in a MONTH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://www.joystiq.com/2011/05/01/some-psn-services-to-return-this-week-full-services-within-thi/

scientist

Postby scientist » May 4th, 2011, 5:03 pm

casper wrote:^^^ps3 has blueray...360 doesnt
Minor details

casper wrote:ps3 supports 3D gaming...360 doesnt...

360 Supports 3D gaming

honda hoe wrote:ps3 had built in bluray, wifi and hdmi

Which means squat right now since all current 360s have HDMI and wifi. These things also do little to enhance gameplay. Since I always could do HD gaming on my 360 even before using HDMI cables. Blu ray doesn't matter much to gaming. Wrt movies...Downloads and streaming is taking over.

it has a web browser, a streaming media centre and it recently implemented 3D capability with a simple firmware update

Browser has little to do with gameplay
I have streaming media from my laptop and wireless connected devices. I also have Netflix and Hulu + ZUNE video rentals and purchases

rodfarva wrote:Its graphical capability surpasses the 360.

That is untrue since the graphics processor on the 360 is more capable than the graphics processor for the PS3. In theory and on paper the cell processor is better than the 360's.

rodfarva wrote:What gives the 360 its advantage is that Its hardware is easier to develop for. So publishers make games first for the 360 and then port them over to the ps3, bypassing many of the hardware advantages that the ps3 has to offer
I wonder how well the 360 would do if the tables would turn
the ps3 has the raw power to run games that are NOT optimized for its hardware configuration
the same is not true vice versa

This was only true in the past, not today. Games ported to 360 from PS3 don't suffer the same issues. Games nowadays are developed by seperate teams...they have both their xbox and their playstation, pc etc developers.

Sony was at fault for milking the ps2 for too damn long... caught with their pants down by the development of 360....microsoft being greedy as usual drop their hard ware too early for market shares gain.. with cheap assed prices...$250 us for a console really? (welcome rrod). Sony tried again milking their fans with in retrospect the ineffective "it only does everything" slogan... with three times the price of xbox's cheapest line up.. with no franchise games to boot, and a whole long string of blunders, i swear only japanese culture would tolerate. So for me from now on who ever come best win...If it weren't for the blue ray format... the sony ps3 would make no sense.

Thats more personal opinion than fact. Just like the PS2 the PS3 cost sony a lot of money. They needed to recover, thats why the PS2 stayed in production for so long, they needed to make money.

the 360 did not drop to $250 till later. Microsoft took a head start since they were late to the console game when they released the original xbox. They took a risk and it payed off. Even with the head start the 360 still took a long time to gain traction in the market.
casper wrote:ya'll do know that blueray disc hold a capacity of 25gb whereas a dvd is just 4gb and a dual layer is 8gb right????

what that means??? it prepared itself for the future of gaming...

only real thing 360 has over ps3 is the more ergonomic controller...HALO get rel boring after the 2nd one IMHO

multi platformers such as back ops i do admit looks better on 360 but it doesnt move as fast though...feels slower somehow...some racing games on 360 back ground loads up later than it does on the ps3...the ps3 version u can see further down the street...same game on ps3 u see up to a certain distance..beyond that distance hasnt been loaded yet..

console itself feels flimsy i fine...it squeeks alot...and is louder too...

Whats the point of a 25GB disk when the developer can't even come up with content to full a 8gb disk. Thats why expansion packs exist. A lot of developers pad the bluray disks with repetitive data to help improve load times.

Give me the 360s quicker load times vs the PS3s very long installs.

HALO is just one game for the 360.

Have you compared the environment in Forza 3 vs GT properly? GT has sup par track environments in comparison.

take homefront

Xbox ver:

PS3 ver:

NFS Shift 2

There are two areas where the PS3 version clearly under-performs in comparison to the Xbox 360 game. Night-time scenes (perhaps because of the additional dynamic lighting required) can cause some very noticeable tearing on the PS3 game, and we also note that image consistency takes a bit of hit on replays too. However, for the most part we see the same consistent 30FPS update on both machines.

The overall impression is that the Xbox 360 game is a touch more refined in terms of the visuals, but the core gameplay is effectively identical on both systems

Note also that all these games do not even surpass 6GB on disk.

The general rule is the 360 does smoke, dynamic lighting and visual effects better. the 360 can d 4xAA (4x anti aliasing) vs the PS3 2xAA

My 360 is also rather quiet

All multiplatform games run @30fps on 360...Homefront on the PS3 runs slower

casper

Postby casper » May 4th, 2011, 5:24 pm

^^^with all that said....it sux when u have no one that u know to play with on black ops cuz everyone that u know running black ops on PS3's.... :lol:

Postby 16 cycles » May 4th, 2011, 5:28 pm

^ how does the same movie in dvd HD compare to blu ray???

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 5:28 pm

speedfreak99 wrote:Sony was at fault for milking the ps2 for too damn long... caught with their pants down by the development of 360....microsoft being greedy as usual drop their hard ware too early for market shares gain.. with cheap assed prices...$250 us for a console really? (welcome rrod). Sony tried again milking their fans with in retrospect the ineffective "it only does everything" slogan... with three times the price of xbox's cheapest line up.. with no franchise games to boot, and a whole long string of blunders, i swear only japanese culture would tolerate. So for me from now on who ever come best win...If it weren't for the blue ray format... the sony ps3 would make no sense.

scientist wrote: Thats more personal opinion than fact. Just like the PS2 the PS3 cost sony a lot of money. They needed to recover, thats why the PS2 stayed in production for so long, they needed to make money.

the 360 did not drop to $250 till later. Microsoft took a head start since they were late to the console game when they released the original xbox. They took a risk and it payed off. Even with the head start the 360 still took a long time to gain traction in the market.

Dude..
speedfreak99 wrote: boy i think i can now say i used to be a Sony fan yes....but i doh hold shares so dey could HDMC; whatever...microsoft too
Last edited by speedfreak99 on May 4th, 2011, 5:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 4th, 2011, 5:30 pm

but my decision to buy a PS3 dont have anything to do with graphics. I have had enough of all the top of the line graphics found on PC. Been in this gaming rig hobby to long I just want games for its fun.

Gameplay is Greater than Graphics. I think I understand what those users on Steam Forums were speaking about now I mean when I played Heroes of Newerth, and realize what a failure Dawn of War 2 was. There is no comparison.

Hell I could play HON for years and never be bothered to play another PC game and HON has the lowest and crappies graphics of them all. My Dawn of War 2 is just sitting there doing nothing even with all its great graphics.
I hope we do not see any PS4 until 2014 seriously. Current Gen consoles are more than adequate to handle games of all kind.

Seeing Dead nation sealed the decision for me to buy PS3. Its a cheap and fun CO OP I am a sucker for CO OP shoot em ups like this.

Also consoles you can buy their games for $13 and $20 on Amazon. PC however steam sells them for full $ 60 price years after. And only with a once or twice a year one day sale can you get them for $5 etc. Not very convenient.

I was thinking of getting the 360 I mean the $200 US price tag AKA $2000 TT price tag was very very very tempting. But then money I would have spent on live and then to buy a HDD didn't make sense.
Admittedly I like the controller on the 360 more than the PS3. Feels better in my rather big hands but thats ok.

There is also something about Sony Computer Entertainment that tends to sound more proprietary and sophisticated than microsoft gaming. Yeah its just a name but u know nah.

I also feared the RROD issues in a 360. I heard Sony has a much higher reliability than Microsoft.

Postby sharkman121 » May 4th, 2011, 5:35 pm

see what happens when men dont have games to play..... we officially debating this topic for about the 315th time... i surprise jj16 aint jump in as yet.. :roll:

ps3 goin on 4 yrs now with some serious mistreatment...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 4th, 2011, 5:37 pm

BTW any chance of Alan Wake coming to PS3?

Would love to get that game.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 4th, 2011, 5:38 pm

speedfreak99 wrote:"Sony has blamed the online vigilante group Anonymous for indirectly allowing the security breach that allowed a hacker to gain access to the personal data of more than 100m online game users was compromised." lol opening paragraph on a BBC news article

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-13288532

PSN back in a MONTH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://www.joystiq.com/2011/05/01/some-psn-services-to-return-this-week-full-services-within-thi/

The list of known services returning to PSN this week are listed after the break.
Restoration of Online game-play across the PlayStation®3 (PS3) and PSP® (PlayStation®Portable) systems -This includes titles requiring online verification and downloaded games
Access to Music Unlimited powered by Qriocity for PS3/PSP for existing subscribers
Access to account management and password reset
Access to download un-expired Movie Rentals on PS3, PSP and MediaGo
PlayStation®Home
Friends List
Chat Functionality

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 5:40 pm

casper wrote:^^^with all that said....it sux when u have no one that u know to play with on black ops cuz everyone that u know running black ops on PS3's.... :lol:

True....thas why i eh buying no xbox yet cause in trinidad ps3 real popular...why have two consoles when one just go be collecting dust? And all the graphics comparison doh mean sheit cause i eh go be playing both systems side by side...i go be more focussed on cussing up de campers and dem nah (i mostly play fps)...lol.

Metalgear.. i was just messing with yall on the month thing :mrgreen:
nevertheless seeing is believing.... i never post so much on trinituner in meh life!!!! well apart from one instance.... :evil:
Last edited by speedfreak99 on May 4th, 2011, 5:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 4th, 2011, 5:40 pm

^ Hmm for a minute I taught he was referring to PS3 gaming will be back this MONTH.

It is great to know it will return this week because I have 0 intentions of doing anything except online gaming on PS3. So other services can come back in a year I just wanna play Dead Nation and SSF2 HD Remix. Should have my HDMI monitor Saturday fizz should pass and drop it off.

Car giving some problems needs a new fuel pump. Else i would have gone for it sooner.

casper

Postby casper » May 4th, 2011, 5:40 pm

^^^mistreatment as how???

it watch u cut eye and u slap it dong or wah?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 4th, 2011, 5:42 pm

Hey is there any game similar to Alan Wake on PS3?

casper

Postby casper » May 4th, 2011, 5:44 pm

^^^yea...i think Dante's inferno and devil may cry

scientist

Postby scientist » May 4th, 2011, 5:53 pm

casper wrote:^^^with all that said....it sux when u have no one that u know to play with on black ops cuz everyone that u know running black ops on PS3's.... :lol:

This would be the case if i was moving from PS3 to 360. I have over 20 XBL friends in Dominica i play black ops with, plus a few Trini and US friends.

18 Man Private Ground war is fun. Something you can't do on the PS3 version

Postby 16 cycles » May 4th, 2011, 5:55 pm

casper

Postby casper » May 4th, 2011, 5:57 pm

scientist wrote:

This would be the case if i was moving from PS3 to 360. I have over 20 XBL friends in Dominica i play black ops with, plus a few Trini and US friends.

yea u can...u can do a 9 vs 9...9 + 9 = 18 :D

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 4th, 2011, 6:01 pm

ok one very very important question I gotta ask u guys.

Online gaming, how active is it on PS3? I know on PC games like Dawn of War 2 becomes dead quick
Hard to find people online.

But like say if I buy Street fighter 2 HD remix is it actively played like over 9000 players per day?
Can you chose if you want to play with people in your region and chose my pings?

It is my assumption since Consoles are dedicated and cheap gaming devices that almost all games will be active online.

Now leh we say Honda Hoe didnt have a PS3. How would I find a friend to play CO OP with in Dead Nation? can you automatically search and play with random people?
Even though I understand playing with people you do not know is not really so great as compared to playing with a trini padner.

Finally does the PS3 support online VOIP? and will I need to buy a special headset to talk with or will it come with the PS3? And can you mute annoying 10 year olds if such a situation arrives?

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 6:03 pm

casper wrote:
scientist wrote:

nah leave him he talking facts;... :mrgreen: How he eh know dat it really puzzling me...especially since he trying to bigup xbox he should know about the ps....nah nevermind
Last edited by speedfreak99 on May 4th, 2011, 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

casper

Postby casper » May 4th, 2011, 6:03 pm

any bluetooth headset will work hoss...d PS3 has bluetooth :D

casper

Postby casper » May 4th, 2011, 6:05 pm

speedfreak99 wrote:
casper wrote:
scientist wrote:

nah leave him he talking facts;... :mrgreen: How he eh know dat it real puzzles me...especially since he trying to bigup xbox he should know about the ps....nah nevermind

ent?!?!!?

cuz i always thought scientists sposed to b good @ maths :|

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 6:10 pm

casper wrote:
speedfreak99 wrote:
casper wrote:
scientist wrote:

nah leave him he talking facts;... :mrgreen: How he eh know dat it real puzzles me...especially since he trying to bigup xbox he should know about the ps....nah nevermind

ent?!?!!?

cuz i always thought scientists sposed to b good @ maths :|

and research.... and facts ent?!? :lol:

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 6:22 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:ok one very very important question I gotta ask u guys.

Online gaming, how active is it on PS3? I know on PC games like Dawn of War 2 becomes dead quick

But like say if I buy Street fighter 2 HD remix is it actively played like over 9000 players per day?
Can you chose if you want to play with people in your region and chose my pings?

It is my assumption since Consoles are dedicated and cheap gaming devices that almost all games will be active online.

Now leh we say Honda Hoe didnt have a PS3. How would I find a friend to play CO OP with in Dead Nation? can you automatically search and play with random people?
Even though I understand playing with people you do not know is not really so great as compared to playing with a trini padner.

Finally does the PS3 support online VOIP? and will I need to buy a special headset to talk with or will it come with the PS3? And can you mute annoying 10 year olds if such a situation arrives?

Facts:
you can do voip as well as video conferencing on your ps3...
most bluetooth headsets can be paired with the ps3
If u have cash to burn, buy a tritton ax pro or tritton ax 720. They real sweet for surround sound and chat function you can have full control over (in line vol. switch) the only thing is that you eh go really hear your voice in the headset and the headset themselves are passive noise cancelling.So you go be shouting in a quiet room...lol

There are others like turtle beach, astro a40's let you hear your voice in the headset and have all the voice and volume control you will ever need. Do a quick search online you will get other brands...Make sure they are surround sound though... simulated or 5.1

Xbox 360 online crowd bigger hands down but most of them in foreign featuring: lag, racism and annoying 10 yr olds as u call em.
Ps3 matchmaking tries to prioritise region, then ping...but it isnt perfect

Dedicated servers with the PC crowd have you spoiled... :) i can tell...we have no controll over the servers... dedicated servers can make choosing lobbies based on region, ping, game rules etc all the more fun

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 4th, 2011, 6:35 pm

speedfreak99 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:ok one very very important question I gotta ask u guys.

Facts:
you can do voip as well as video conferencing on your ps3...
most bluetooth headsets can be paired with the ps3
If u have cash to burn, buy a tritton ax pro or tritton ax 720. They real sweet for surround sound and chat function you can have full control over (in line vol. switch) the only thing is that you eh go really hear your voice in the headset and the headset themselves are passive noise cancelling.So you go be shouting in a quiet room...lol

There are others like turtle beach, astro a40's let you hear your voice in the headset and have all the voice and volume control you will ever need. Do a quick search online you will get other brands...Make sure they are surround sound though... simulated or 5.1

Xbox 360 online crowd bigger hands down but most of them in foreign featuring: lag, racism and annoying 10 yr olds as u call em.
Ps3 matchmaking tries to prioritise region, then ping...but it isnt perfect

Dedicated servers with the PC crowd have you spoiled... :) i can tell...we have no controll over the servers... dedicated servers can make choosing lobbies based on region, ping, game rules etc all the more fun

just buy the official ps3 headset. it has noise cancelling and gets the job done. no need to spend extra money for that. A usb headset can be used as well. never tried it but i hear people well when they use it.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 4th, 2011, 6:39 pm

LOL yeah I get real accustomed to dedicated servers on PC and choosing my pings and stuff.

Plus I fedup of them dotish morons them does claim everybody with an accent is a terrorist. If da is the sh!t on XBL me eh want no part of that. I rather go where it has less of these immature morons.
If its PSN even better.

Hmm fizz on tuner selling some nice HP monitors jed. question is should I buy a 25 or 27 inch.
Cause my current monitor dont have HDMI. Its a touch of color samsung 23 inch LCD with VGA 1080p but no DVI or HDMI surprisingly.

He 25 is $1875 with free delivery to my house. 27 inch is $2550 with free delivery.

I eh really wa spend da extra money for the 27 after spending so much for the PS3 and plus I go want a bluetooth headset. So i was really going with the 25 inch.

Wonders if its a big difference between 25 and 27 inch?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 4th, 2011, 6:42 pm

metalgear

How I hooking up the Audio for this PS3? I have a nice Logitech Theater Speaker. And I have an adapter with one end is female 3.5mm headphone jack and other side is 2 RCA white and red.

Or PS3 does do everything through HDMI but monitor speakers does be crappy.

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 4th, 2011, 6:45 pm

they have USB headsets in the Trincity mall upstairs Ferreira Opticals; cant remeber the name of the place though...for 120 TT but i had those and they sound like crap... the old PS3 headset i find does sound bad i eh know about the new ones they just released...Thats why i invest in a good set of headphones that would last and bought my Trittons and my padners does always comment on its clarity...whilst some of dem i ALWAYS have to mute...static, white noise, feedback... so damn annoying!!! Only ting about the Trittons is that they bulky and have plenty wires

scientist

Postby scientist » May 4th, 2011, 6:47 pm

casper wrote:
scientist wrote:

that one was my mistake as with talking to a friend he told me they can only do 12 player matches, but i guess he wasn't using ground war.

You can restrict region and age in your match making settings and can mute people in game and in lobbies, You can also set people to be avoided or prefered. Video and voice chat is available to other XBox live users or Windows live messenger contacts. With a Kinect 360 video and voice is standard

I play at least 4hrs on xbox live every day and rarely come across what is being claimed on here