Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

ryan99tt

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby ryan99tt » May 8th, 2011, 11:33 pm

hey, quick question....any of u guys use RODI water in your tank?

Postby sharkman121 » May 9th, 2011, 12:27 am

ryan99tt wrote:hey, quick question....any of u guys use RODI water in your tank?

thats all i use in my tank..

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 9th, 2011, 3:12 am

wat brand and how many stages? lookin at one to order in...where yuh get urs and how much yuh pay?

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » May 9th, 2011, 9:29 am

Makes a big difference. I started with tap and saw a huge improvement when I switched. I got the spectrapure cspdi-90. I came up to around $2200. It was US$199 on spectrapure when they had a sale. This page shows special prices.
http://www.spectrapure.com/email/custom ... ation.html

Postby sharkman121 » May 9th, 2011, 10:12 am

this is mine, got it from melevsreef.com for $169 + shipping came up to about $2100 roughly with shipping and taxes.
Its a 5 stage 100gpd

Postby foss » May 9th, 2011, 10:30 am

looking good sharky 8-)

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 9th, 2011, 12:39 pm

^^ anybody bought the tester to check the purity (PPM) on it or does it have a gauge on the DI unit. Saw one by Raj and it had a built in digital readout on the DI unit.

Postby sharkman121 » May 9th, 2011, 12:43 pm

foss wrote:looking good sharky 8-)

tanx meng

HondaB20B wrote:^^ anybody bought the tester to check the purity (PPM) on it or does it have a gauge on the DI unit. Saw one by Raj and it had a built in digital readout on the DI unit.

theres a TDS (total dissolved solids) meter u can buy for them. They can either be in-line or stand alone. To make sure yr finished product reads 0tds ppm. They not very expensive online though.

Postby sharkman121 » May 9th, 2011, 12:45 pm

this is one of the average ones that alot of ppl have..
about $30 on amazon

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 9th, 2011, 12:55 pm

ok, cool. have to buy one.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 9th, 2011, 1:07 pm

Was passing tru St Lucia yesterday and the is a place next to the Airport called Egret bay, all along the waters edge (in less than 2ft of water) i saw over 100 featherdusters of different sizes. biggest one i saw was about nearly 4in dia. Saw a couple different wrasses and small angels living amounst the damsels. it have nice lil coral too....................................
i was like :shocked!: :shocked!: :shocked!: Dat would look good by me.
If dat was in trini.................. you would tell somebody it had yesterday, Ah man come an take all.

Postby sharkman121 » May 9th, 2011, 1:16 pm

u cant transport ermm... specimens?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 9th, 2011, 3:46 pm

nah, deycdoh let u bring anything on the plane...i was looking at a rodi system like this one though...

http://www.amazon.com/iSpring-6-Stage-R ... 757&sr=1-2

Postby sharkman121 » May 9th, 2011, 4:59 pm

looks good, Bulk Reef supply.com has some very good ones though. Most of the guys on reef central got theirs from there. The storage tank is not totally necessary as u could buy a trash bin from a hardware as most ppl do and u could store larger amt of water than the small storage tank they sell u with that one.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 9th, 2011, 5:04 pm

yea, i plan on doin that but it would be gd to know that i have ah lil extra ready whenever i need..

Postby sharkman121 » May 9th, 2011, 5:13 pm

i have a 150 gallon garbage bin full of ro-di water as extra in case i need. Trust mih dat 3 gallon tank aint gonna make much difference. No probs though..

paid 200 for the bin in one a dem chinee store and dem

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 9th, 2011, 6:32 pm

bess i check u for some...lol

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » May 9th, 2011, 7:10 pm

sharkman121 wrote:i have a 150 gallon garbage bin full of ro-di water as extra in case i need. Trust mih dat 3 gallon tank aint gonna make much difference. No probs though..

paid 200 for the bin in one a dem chinee store and dem

is ah 150 gallon garbage bin yuh say yuh know?? where you get dat
ah normal oil drum is 50 gal.

Postby sharkman121 » May 9th, 2011, 8:20 pm

sorry 50gal..typo

if was 150 dat woulda be more volume than the tank i have now :|

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 9th, 2011, 8:32 pm

sharkman121, yuh have the tds tester? yuh ever check d local pipe water and bottled water to see wat yuh getting?

Postby UML » May 9th, 2011, 8:36 pm

HondaB20B wrote:^^ Santoo in diego, he could give you better directions. 689-7227

Thx

Sky wrote:
UML wrote:Sky, u can try a piece of clear plastic bag (3inch x 3 inch).....it will float on the surface and the male with blow his bubbles under it....you can thank me later :mrgreen:

HondaB20B, ah hear u always mentioning Santoo. Where is he located and directions and can you give me a contact number.

About "donations" when selling fish.....I wud say the fish free but u have to buy the water!!! :wink:

I did that back then when I first did it. IT worked, but I prefer the lettuce/patchoi leaf. It'll feed them later on.

So the fries hatched and papa ate them all by accident.

Gonna try another pair. tomorrow I'm gonna boot out the clumsy pops and put the male there for about a week until he properly builds a nest. Then I'll introduce the female. I'm using two yellow/pearls.

STILL LOOKING FOR HALFMOONS!!!

yea i like the idea that they can feed of the leaves.

sharkman121 wrote:Some pics of my build from inception till now :mrgreen:

hope these pics dont slow up the page loading too much :|

looking good man...great work, bit of stupid advice.......try and hide your water height....i personally dont like seeing it and it gives a better "deep" effect if u dont see it. :wink:

sharkman121 wrote:love the black background and the effect it gives. it brings everything out to the fore, some ppl prefer blue though...i had blue last time.

yea I have black background in my tanks...i find it looks better and brings out the colour more in fish.

will try and post some pics of a partner nano tank (first attempt at salt). I find it looking good.

ryan99tt wrote:sharkman121, yuh have the tds tester? yuh ever check d local pipe water and bottled water to see wat yuh getting?

I would really like to know this as well.

Postby UML » May 9th, 2011, 8:56 pm

partner first time salt....is yearssssss we waiting lol

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » May 10th, 2011, 1:49 am

My unit has the dual tds meter on it. I checks the water before the ro the after the di. It doesn't check the tap water though. output is 0.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 10th, 2011, 1:59 am

always wanted to setup a nano tank...lookin gd so far...

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » May 10th, 2011, 3:21 am

Sharkman if I build d stand for the 8 ft tank out of plank wud dat wrk 2" thick plank????

Postby sharkman121 » May 10th, 2011, 8:34 am

ryan99tt wrote:sharkman121, yuh have the tds tester? yuh ever check d local pipe water and bottled water to see wat yuh getting?

actually i bought the ro-di unit, never bought a tds meter yet.. i really should though, its more laziness than anything that i havent gotten it as yet.

UML wrote:looking good man...great work, bit of stupid advice.......try and hide your water height....i personally dont like seeing it and it gives a better "deep" effect if u dont see it. :wink:

thanks man.... 8-)

the point of the whole picture frame finish is not to see the water level at all, i agree that doesnt look good.
However the plumbing for the overflow down to the sump and back up is not yet complete, so i cant have the water at the height i want it too till the sump plumbing is finished or else theres gonna be a whole lotta water on the ground in that room.

Postby sharkman121 » May 10th, 2011, 8:45 am

eternal audio wrote:Sharkman if I build d stand for the 8 ft tank out of plank wud dat wrk 2" thick plank????

Cant really comment for sure on what the thickness of a wooden stand should be cuz remember 8 feet of aquarium alone, plus water weight and live rock etc. we talkin well over 2000lbs here when filled. Most guys go for overkill with their stands so as to have peace of mind. If u have a builder who's competent and has experience not only in wooodworking but aquarium stands as well, then full steam ahead.

If u interested in metal stands at all. u can check out this thread, i got some good ideas here and eventually patterned mine after one i saw here.

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showt ... eel+stands

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » May 10th, 2011, 9:52 pm

Sharkman as for metal stand I Tinkin bout usin I beam

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 10th, 2011, 10:03 pm

sharkman, wat kinda goby is dat? meh lil bro wanted one of those ah wile now and i never see dem...how much yuh pay for it?

Postby sharkman121 » May 10th, 2011, 10:04 pm

u check out the link?