Which Credit Card Would give you best returns/points

crazychinee

Re: Which Credit Card Would give you best returns/points

Postby crazychinee » June 29th, 2010, 5:57 pm

Skanky wrote:So why not just get a normal cc and use the points if you so desire to buy a ticket?That way you still have the option to use the points otherwise.

How you redeeming those vouchers on aa.com?

Hammy Bolo

Postby Hammy Bolo » June 29th, 2010, 9:51 pm

TheOne wrote:I have used the FCB Credit Card for sometime now and I never had any problems no matter which country I travelled to.

The point benefits aren't that great though (IMO) but very reliable.

I have noticed that in the UK however they stopped using the swipe method for cards...all their machines are only equipped for the "chip and pin" system...

This is a bit of a bummer!!

First Citizens has the best and the points can be used by many merchants not only travel agencies https://www.firstcitizenstt.com/persona ... ammes.html

First Citizens Bonus Points

The First Citizens VISA Bonus Points Program rewards you every time you shop with your First Citizens VISA credit card. You earn bonus points faster than you can count, which are redeemable at all the merchants you shop at in Trinidad and Tobago, for your everyday needs and those special events.

Earning Points

You earn points every time you shop:

1 Point for every TT$10 purchase at travel and entertainment merchants and
1 point for every TT$20 purchase at any other merchant

1 point is valued at TT$0.20
You can earn up to TT$8,000 each quarter, equivalent to 40,000 points.
Points are valid for 2 years from the date of issue
Earn even more points during our periodic promotions

First Citizens Ultra Rewards Apply for Visa Platinum

First Citizens Ultra Rewards are a class above the rest when it comes to making your travel dreams come true. Exclusive to the First Citizens VISA Platinum and VISA Signature customers, our world class Ultra Rewards will enhance your sophisticated lifestyle with unsurpassed convenience, luxury and fun.

Specifically designed to provide maximum flexibility, the First Citizens Ultra Rewards offers more choice, variety and accessibility. Best of all your rewards can be in any part of the world and your Ultra Points can be redeemed from wherever in the globe you may be!

Airline tickets to any destination worldwide on any airline, with no blackout dates
Lodging at exclusive hotels and resorts
Cruises, travel packages and vehicle rental with no mileage restrictions
ACCUMULATE ULTRA POINTS

Your Ultra Points will accumulate faster than you can keep track of them!

With 1 point for every TT$6.30 spent, you can virtually see yourself on your dream trip.
Realise your dream trip even faster with additional shoppers on your account and our periodic promotions.

Vacation Lifestyle MasterCard Reward Program

The First Citizens Vacation Lifestyle MasterCard allows you to earn valuable points which are redeemable for:

airline tickets on any airline to the most popular destinations and
cruises on any cruiseliner worldwide

* Earn points quickly at a rate of 1 point for every TT$ 6.30 spent
* Points for airline tickets and cruises cover the base ticket cost only; all other fees
and charges are to be paid by the customer.

Airline Tickets - Round Trip

Destination Economy Class Ticket Business Class Tickets

Restricted Unrestricted Restricted Unrestricted

Grenada 15,000 35,000 30,000 60,000
Barbados 15,000 35,000 30,000 60,000
St. Lucia 15,000 35,000 30,000 60,000
St. Vincent 15,000 35,000 30,000 70,000
Caracas 20,000 40,000 35,000 70,000
Curacao 20,000 40,000 35,000 70,000
Jamaica 20,000 40,000 35,000 70,000
St. Maarten 20,000 40,000 35,000 70,000
Antigua 20,000 40,000 35,000 70,000
Miami 30,000 65,000 60,000 120,000
New York 30,000 65,000 60,000 120,000
Toronto 30,000 65,000 60,000 120,000
London 60,000 120,000 100,000 200,000

Effective from January 1, 2010

- Accumulate 80% of the points required and purchase the rest at TT$0.20 for one (1) point
- Travel one-way using half number of required points for round trip

Cruises

Redeem your points for travel on any cruise liner worldwide. The number of points required will be determined by dividing the cost of the cruise by TT$0.063

Skanky

Postby Skanky » June 30th, 2010, 7:02 am

crazychinee wrote:
Skanky wrote:So why not just get a normal cc and use the points if you so desire to buy a ticket?That way you still have the option to use the points otherwise.

Get your ticket through a travel agency.Price won't be the best but you still have flexibility.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » June 30th, 2010, 7:29 am

Skanky wrote:
crazychinee wrote:

Get your ticket through a travel agency.Price won't be the best but you still have flexibility.

A travel agent? Who the heck uses a travel agent nowadays...

Prototype-Tuner

WTK Which firm offers the best credit card deal ?

Postby Prototype-Tuner » May 6th, 2011, 3:05 pm

which firm offers the best credit card ppl ??
like with specials or like money back anything like that ?

Re: WTK Which firm offers the best credit card deal ?

Postby sharkman121 » May 6th, 2011, 3:26 pm

which recycled tuner are you??... jus askin

Postby brams112 » May 6th, 2011, 8:38 pm

save ur money youth man,spend like a scrooge,because that stupid question you asked,,,,if you were to own a credit card you will have to work two jobs to pay back,,,,,money back ha!!!ur got to spend thousand to get back a few dollars....in points

Postby redmanjp » May 7th, 2011, 12:11 am

brams112 wrote:save ur money youth man,spend like a scrooge,because that stupid question you asked,,,,if you were to own a credit card you will have to work two jobs to pay back,,,,,money back ha!!!ur got to spend thousand to get back a few dollars....in points

if yuh use it to buy groceries which is one of the highest monthly bills then it adds up- i myself thinking of getting one just to use online- it have any cards specifically for that?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » May 7th, 2011, 2:59 am

brams112 wrote:save ur money youth man,spend like a scrooge,because that stupid question you asked,,,,if you were to own a credit card you will have to work two jobs to pay back,,,,,money back ha!!!ur got to spend thousand to get back a few dollars....in points

this is one idiotic and useless comment....owning a CC does not mean that you always have to be in debt. management of a CC is just like budgeting your monthy salary. use you CC to pay for major expenses that reoccur every month (like groceries as one person said above). then ensure the CC is paid off before the next billing cycle. online banking makes it even easier cos you can see your CC and other account balances, and can transfer money from said accounts to the CC to pay off the balance owing. no interest means you pay the same as if you used cash, and you build points / miles / credits etc.

@ redmanjp, RBL has a good CC that has a USD and a TTD side. i use that for all my online purchases. plus it allows you to have a secondary billing address in the US (which could be your skybox etc). mine generates miles on AA

Postby Bizzare » May 7th, 2011, 3:04 am

God, am I fed up of this kinda ignorance surrounding a Credit Card.

Prototype-Tuner

Postby Prototype-Tuner » May 7th, 2011, 3:35 am

biggy82 wrote:

this is one idiotic and useless comment....owning a CC does not mean that you always have to be in debt. management of a CC is just like budgeting your monthy salary. use you CC to pay for major expenses that reoccur every month (like groceries as one person said above). then ensure the CC is paid off before the next billing cycle. online banking makes it even easier cos you can see your CC and other account balances, and can transfer money from said accounts to the CC to pay off the balance owing. no interest means you pay the same as if you used cash, and you build points / miles / credits etc.

@ redmanjp, RBL has a good CC that has a USD and a TTD side. i use that for all my online purchases. plus it allows you to have a secondary billing address in the US (which could be your skybox etc). mine generates miles on AA

was thinking the same bout their comment...
and i was thinking about getting one for online purchases thats why i asked

Postby Chimera » May 7th, 2011, 9:45 am

please don't give advice if you're going to give stupid advice.

proto, republic has a card specifically for online purchases, they also have a tstt card, a american airlines advantage card and a few others.

depending on age and relationship with bank and how much limit you want, you may have to put security for the credit card.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » May 7th, 2011, 9:55 am

A credit card will do wonders for your credit rating; especially if you plan on one day taking out a loan.
Now days it's a pain to travel; book hotels, airline tickets or even buy food on a plane unless you have a credit card.
It's safer to walk around with a high limit card vs cash.

Scotia bank- Good customer service; very SLOW in approving your credit card. They will quicker give you an unsecured card vs other banks. Got my first card from them; without any credit rating and no deposit.

Republic bank:Much better in terms of efficiency. Applied for a card a thursday, got approval the friday; and got the card the Thursday after. They require some sort of deposit if you have no credit history . That aside; money hits your account immediately vs other banks which take 24 hours.
I use the Aadvantage card;1 mile for every 1usd you spend. If you're not big on traveling the TSTT/Republic bank card gives good cash back as well.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » May 7th, 2011, 10:13 am

crazychinee wrote:A credit card will do wonders for your credit rating; especially if you plan on one day taking out a loan.
Now days it's a pain to travel; book hotels, airline tickets or even buy food on a plane unless you have a credit card.
It's safer to walk around with a high limit card vs cash.

agreed 100%. the old days of saving money and paying cash are virtually over. when you want to go for a loan (and you will have to do so at least once in your life unless your last name is Duprey), even a bad credit rating is better than no credit rating. banks want to see your ability to repay, obviously cos they want their money back plus interest

Scotia bank- Good customer service; very SLOW in approving your credit card. They will quicker give you an unsecured card vs other banks. Got my first card from them; without any credit rating and no deposit.

very efficient; didnt have much of a problem for approval tho....but then again, i do alot of business with them

Republic bank:Much better in terms of efficiency. Applied for a card a thursday, got approval the friday; and got the card the Thursday after. They require some sort of deposit if you have no credit history . That aside; money hits your account immediately vs other banks which take 24 hours.
I use the Aadvantage card;1 mile for every 1usd you spend. If you're not big on traveling the TSTT/Republic bank card gives good cash back as well.

again, agreed 100%. very fast

Postby Chimera » May 7th, 2011, 10:16 am

credit card= 50 day interest free loan every month if you pay back on time

debit card/cash=if it get stolen, it's your ass to catch and your problem, bank not reimbursing you.

creditcard=24 hour support, call and cancel card and they also take responsibility for charges that you didn't make.

Postby redmanjp » May 7th, 2011, 7:20 pm

does the credit cards u can use online have a minimum salary to qualify for it? right now im a student & only work part time for less than $2000

Postby Chimera » May 7th, 2011, 7:35 pm

you can get a $500 us limit as a student with no job letter/collateral

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 7th, 2011, 10:33 pm

NONE ---all cr card companies will rip u off and take yur jockeyshorts if they have too!!!

Prototype-Tuner

Postby Prototype-Tuner » May 8th, 2011, 12:41 am

^^ true

Prototype-Tuner

Postby Prototype-Tuner » May 8th, 2011, 12:42 am

think i'll get a republic bank debit card...sounds better
and i'll mostly be doing online purchases

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » May 8th, 2011, 9:02 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:you can get a $500 us limit as a student with no job letter/collateral

Erm, probably not. They only do that shiet when your parents co-sign like with a loan.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » May 8th, 2011, 9:04 am

redmanjp wrote:does the credit cards u can use online have a minimum salary to qualify for it? right now im a student & only work part time for less than $2000

Different banks wil calculate your ability to make a minimum payment on certain factors.
Weather you pay rent, live at home, still in school, have wife/kids etc.
Scotia I believe uses 30something% of your salary as your minimum payment.
Republic works a bit different.
At any rate; if your income is $2000, and you have no money in the bank dont bet on getting an unsecured card.
Secure the card for now, and maybe in about 12 months they give you back the deposit once you keep up with payments etc.

Remember, donot 'wait' for your bill in the mail; pay it via online banking. You'll kick yourself in the butt for firetruck up your credit history because of TTPOST.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 8th, 2011, 9:27 am

I saw FCB has waived the annual fee for new credit card signups.

Hammy Bolo

Postby Hammy Bolo » May 8th, 2011, 9:40 am

shaneelal wrote:I saw FCB has waived the annual fee for new credit card signups.

and for a limited time you can actually get 50% more bonus points at selected merchants
not to mention the cards can be used in Trinidad & Tobago or abroad and you can load extra money to your limit for larger purchases if it exceeds your limit

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 8th, 2011, 9:45 am

Hammy Bolo wrote:
shaneelal wrote:I saw FCB has waived the annual fee for new credit card signups.

and for a limited time you can actually get 50% more bonus points at selected merchants
not to mention the cards can be used in Trinidad & Tobago or abroad and you can load extra money to your limit for larger purchases if it exceeds your limit

I remember I was going to raise the limit on card to buy some tiles, the rep told me I could add money to the account to increase the limit for the purchase, this was a great convenience as it's very rare that I'd make large purchases exceeding my limit. Didn't check around, but couldn't this be done with other bank's CC?

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » May 8th, 2011, 9:54 am

shaneelal wrote:
Hammy Bolo wrote:

I remember I was going to raise the limit on card to buy some tiles, the rep told me I could add money to the account to increase the limit for the purchase, this was a great convenience as it's very rare that I'd make large purchases exceeding my limit. Didn't check around, but couldn't this be done with other bank's CC?

As far as I know you can do it with all banks except republic bank.
You can't 'credit' your account.

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » May 8th, 2011, 10:34 am

i own a republic credit card.i make all purchases that i can with this card so my miles right now are really high.never had any major problems.very quick and reliable service.i can also get a temporary increase to my exceeding limit when ever i want.all you have to do is know how to use the system and you can get gain a lot back from using your card.

some people just to ignorant of how useful this card can be, but then again some people just to stupid to know how to use this card.

unimatrix001

Postby unimatrix001 » May 8th, 2011, 1:32 pm

crazychinee wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:you can get a $500 us limit as a student with no job letter/collateral

Erm, probably not. They only do that shiet when your parents co-sign like with a loan.

I could tell you certainly not with Republic Bank, Royal Bank and First Citizens Bank... I tried with all 3 of these banks when I was a student and was working for $3000/month and they all wanted collateral PLUS job letter. the other option was co-signing with parents. I took the Republic VTM

Postby Chimera » May 8th, 2011, 4:36 pm

crazychinee wrote:

@19 they offered me a $500 us limit with no collateral, i had no job and no banking history with them and they didn't ask for my parents to co-sign.

If i wanted anything more I would have needed to put collateral or get parents to sign, i did get vex and ask them wha they expect me to do with $500 us though, how daz a waste of a creditcard :lol: :lol: :lol: