RB 25 Engine Wash

juderoberts

RB 25 Engine Wash

Postby juderoberts » May 5th, 2011, 12:28 pm

Good day, I'm looking for a good place to wash my RB 25 Engine & also tune up. I called masterserv but they say they don't wash RB 25 engines cause washing the engine will damage the Coil Pack. So I really want to wash and service ASAP and any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Jude
C33 Medalist RB 25

Re: RB 25 Engine Wash

Postby turbosingh » May 6th, 2011, 6:27 am

I don't really think you should wash it either just wipe it with a damp cloth,as stated it could damage plugs coil packs,blow fuse etc.Well as for the tune up almost any good mechanic should be able to fix you up!Where you located?

RB25-DET

Postby RB25-DET » May 6th, 2011, 12:36 pm

The physical washing of the engine doesn't damage the coils, ever heard of the golden rule water and electricity doh mix heres a perfect example.

The location of the RB20/25/26 coils can be described as inside a valley between the two cam covers, when water is left to settle in the "valley" submerging the coils in water this leads to the damage of the coils.

As turbosingh said any compitent and trusted mechanic will hook you up.

GHOSTRYDER

Postby GHOSTRYDER » May 7th, 2011, 6:51 am

Here is what i did got some pitchoil and a toothbrush and went to all the grimy parts and a cloth thats the best i think you can do with the cleaning as the other guys said to put no water in there a damp cloth and wipe around if it dusty

juderoberts

Postby juderoberts » May 9th, 2011, 12:18 pm

Thanks for the advice. I live in chaguanas...anyone know a good RB Mechanic that knows RB and isn't 2 exspensive?