TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

Re: TSTT WiMax 4G + Hotspot Thread

Postby Bizzare » May 2nd, 2011, 5:27 pm

brickman, check out the website and you'd see pics of it....wanna purchase in a week or two if reliable.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 2nd, 2011, 5:31 pm

another thing

the foolish lady ask me to write my residential address for her to see if i got coverage..

comes back and tells me no i dont..
i said yes i do..

she says she went in the back and the techs told her no i dont.. i said yes i do... can i have a number please..

if u see she face.

i reach home..ting wokin better than at their outlet...

ROFL

brickman

Postby brickman » May 2nd, 2011, 5:33 pm

From what Nigson said when he tried to get one is that they only give you one if you cant get land line or wimax service.Wish you luck.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 2nd, 2011, 5:36 pm

got mine normal
and i have/had a residential line along with ADSL from them...

u talkin about the Turbo 3G

but the trincity branch handing it out like free cake...

Postby M_2NR » May 2nd, 2011, 5:54 pm

Glad to hear you got thru with ease with that branch.

Last time i dealt with them I switched to Digicel within the same day.

brickman

Postby brickman » May 2nd, 2011, 5:57 pm

That price to high for me jed,cant see myself paying more than $250 for that.good for allyuh rich boys yes.*goes back to eating my butter & rice dinner*

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 2nd, 2011, 6:07 pm

no pal
u have it all wrong...

i work very hard for my salary at the end of the month.. if i decide to get something that i will use frequently.. i dont see the need for the rich boy comment ..

brickman

Postby brickman » May 2nd, 2011, 6:22 pm

It was just a joke dan,you need to chill out bro.I dont know your situation & you dont now mine,lots of folks find its just too expensive to take out.

Smokey

Postby Smokey » May 2nd, 2011, 6:38 pm

Chiney wrote:the device is a BLINK branded Franklin R536
picture that blank..with an orange BLINK Broadband logo

i tried the service so far from trincity to maracas valley st.joseph..where i am right now and currently using.

gettin 2mbits where i reside at the moment.

the route i took waz as follows:

left trincity via cinema entrance/exit
took the highway all the way to pizzahut/kfc by kaydonna. lost signal briefly by fedex and just after uwi for short periods..
then took southern main road to curepe..
took the back road ( river side road ) into the valley and got a few dead spots when i was between high hills..
other than that..service throughout.

will see how it goes
so far i am satisfied!

the lil thing gets warm tho!! :shock:

Good observations on your test. It should be known that WiMAX is not truly Mobile...as such, maintaining consistent throughput while moving with this technology is very difficult even if you have full coverage. I've noticed as soon as I exceed 30km (yes 30!) I drop connections and sometimes take more than a minute to reconnect.

Postby ismithx » May 2nd, 2011, 6:45 pm

lol well yea ok.... hmm... well @Chiney i guess some people have had good experiences with blink, for me its 'been complicated'

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 2nd, 2011, 6:52 pm

I like how Blink releases this modem even tho it has some serious issues with overheating. Clear pulled back this after a couple months of service I think and issued the clearspot and the clearspot 4G+, Blink probably got a shitload of these at a reduced price seeing as tho they are discontinued...

(still contemplating buying it tho haha tired of waiting forever to upload pics from my phone on the go)
source: Google before you buy something.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 2nd, 2011, 7:45 pm

mojosodope wrote:I like how Blink releases this modem even tho it has some serious issues with overheating. Clear pulled back this after a couple months of service I think and issued the clearspot and the clearspot 4G+, Blink probably got a shitload of these at a reduced price seeing as tho they are discontinued...

(still contemplating buying it tho haha tired of waiting forever to upload pics from my phone on the go)
source: Google before you buy something.

Believe your referring to the Clear iSpot which was discontinued, don't believe tstt is selling these.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 2nd, 2011, 8:33 pm

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 2nd, 2011, 8:52 pm

I know the iSpot was discontinued because it was possible to hack it to get unlimited 4G from clear and alot of people used this to replace their home modems but all i know is that clear's current 4G hotspot is this Image

and Chiney thanks for testing it against the Miami server, you just convinced be to buy it, going in tomorrow to the Trincity branch after my exams :D

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 2nd, 2011, 9:03 pm

cool man

remember its not 100% eh

it cant replace a wired connection

but its awesome for internetz in yoz pocketz yo!

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 2nd, 2011, 9:19 pm

yeah I know that way i could cancel the $150 worthless data package i have on my iphone 4 and just use this full time, do you think it will give the four hours with constant streaming or will do you think if i keep it in my pocket all day on and use the wifi on my phone now and then it would last?

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 2nd, 2011, 9:28 pm

Chiney wrote:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NCuX3Pz6yx4

Let us know of any disconnects or webpages timing out, looking good.

Uploaded by ChineyTT on May 2, 2011

Just a quick test vid. let us see how long the performance keeps up!

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 2nd, 2011, 9:32 pm

hopefully the ping gets a little lower as they roll out whatever they have planned..

I just read on their website it's capable of 38Mb/s down and 7Mb/s up, hope we get a little faster speed than the 2Mb/s in the future

reference:http://www.franklintech.co.kr/?doc=bbs/gnuboard.php&bo_table=product&wr_id=32

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 2nd, 2011, 9:35 pm

how many hours can this last on one charge?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 2nd, 2011, 9:43 pm

shaq090 wrote:how many hours can this last on one charge?

it carries a 1350mAh battery so if I'm not mistaken around 4 hours with full wifi use, the lower the signal in the area the faster the battery drains.

4 hours is the average time for any Mifi with the stock battery, i haven't seen any with much more with 4.5/5 being the longest .

It lasts a good bit while on standby but Chiney could report on that once he has time to play around with it for a couple days and test it out, too early to give a full review right now.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 2nd, 2011, 9:57 pm

will keep yall posted

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 2nd, 2011, 10:24 pm

its tempting...cuz just now imma take out a plan from blink...most likely the 4mb plan for 350 but i then i doh wanan pay an extra 150 for edge....but is it really worth the 475 one a 1year contract? or would they up the speed sometime soon to at least make ur money worth it

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 2nd, 2011, 10:45 pm

no
its doesnt worth the 475

work the 350 tho
so i took the 2yr contract
its only gonna get better
i have no fear there

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 2nd, 2011, 10:51 pm

so u would suggest taking this instead of the blink 4mb connection?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 3rd, 2011, 8:21 am

^ nope!

this is all for mobile net.. i am currently working on a project including a piddy pad! :)

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 3rd, 2011, 9:16 am

one more thing I wanted to ask Chiney, what's the portability like? does it feel awkward carrying it around in your pocket?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 3rd, 2011, 10:32 am

you be the judge :wink:
IMG-20110503-00384.jpg
IMG-20110503-00381.jpg
IMG-20110503-00383.jpg

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 3rd, 2011, 11:36 am

that actually not too big, thanks for the reference bro, hope to get mines today

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 3rd, 2011, 11:37 am

this device is nice but allyuh eh find it tooo expensive.....cause i mean most public places already have free wireless....

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 3rd, 2011, 11:55 am

^ it is something you got to make up your mind to buy
convince yourself that you will use it.. i am most certainly!

just came it to my cousin to test run. he will torrent..regular download. youtube. stream movies all kinda ting..he is one of those

will let yall kno how it works out