Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:the event was approved by the Minister of Sport, The Member of Parliament AND the Mayor!Death-Row wrote: anyways, i think approval should've been confirmed b4 any other planning was done. again, ive never planned an event b4 but from a straight forward point of view, the approval is the kinda "make or break" part of things, so i would've assured that we had that in hand first b4 moving to the other steps. just my 2 cents tho.
It was approved by the Larry Gomes Stadium and road work to level the race track was approved and done by the by the Ministry of Works and Transport.
How much more approval you want? The Queen?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:the event was approved by the Minister of Sport, The Member of Parliament AND the Mayor!Death-Row wrote: anyways, i think approval should've been confirmed b4 any other planning was done. again, ive never planned an event b4 but from a straight forward point of view, the approval is the kinda "make or break" part of things, so i would've assured that we had that in hand first b4 moving to the other steps. just my 2 cents tho.
It was approved by the Larry Gomes Stadium, The Sporting Co of Trinidad & Tobago (SPORTT) and road work to level the race track was approved and done by the by the Ministry of Works and Transport.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I can assure you that TTASA played NO PART in the cancellation of the Arima Grand Prix. There may have been correspondence sent by TTASA regarding the non-sanctioning of the event, but I am 100% sure the Police did not take this into consideration when deciding not to follow through with their support for the event.chucky wrote:Ah boy. Looks like the Easter "Bunny" used his "Link" to get his way. Once again a very sad day for motorsport in Trinidad.rpm_unleashed wrote:If them bajans and jamaicans could do it, why we can't do it, and do it even better? Have THEM come to our island to compete?
Then the issue will be if TTASA would sanction their cars and events. Are their membership dues paid. Maybe Racing doesn't take place in Barbados and Jamaica. Has TTASA ever been there to prove that racing actually takes place. Are the tracks sanctioned by the measuring tape man.
Sad Sad Day
Scoobert Bauce wrote:sooo despite increasing grants to cricketers, payin d footballers them, auditin TTFF, fixin all dem community ground, and tryin to finish dat metal piece a shiznit on d highway, you want him to go cuz YOU didt get what you didnt get what you want? LMAO Doh blame Anil, blame d men in TTASA for eh sayin nuttin, and and blame racing for not bein popular enough for a lot of ppl to care
So we could blame Link Sampath then?! After all you claiming responsibility for all this 'moving forward'!link wrote:I will now continue, as the Vice President of TTASA, with responsibly moving motor sport forward.
I, for one, cannot say it is or isn't TTASA fault, but I see a member of the TTASA Executive taking responsibility up there!Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I didnt' read anywhere that the OP stated it was TTASA's fault. You want someone to apologise or correct something they didn't say?
Take your beef up with the individuals on the forum who categorically stated it. I don't think those individuals who accuse TTASA are associated with the event in anyway. It is pure speculation on their part. What you CAN spend worthwhile energy behind as the Vice President of TTASA is figuring out WHY so many people automatically assumed it was TTASA's fault
link wrote:I hearing u, Duane & others.........BUT I'M NOT HEARING RAWLE MAHABIR OF AUTOSPORT, who supposed to be the one under the Chairman of the Arima Grand Prix project (Mr.Jameer Ali)
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:What you CAN spend worthwhile energy behind as the Vice President of TTASA is figuring out WHY so many people automatically assumed it was TTASA's fault
what the hell are you talking about?Cjruckus wrote:Well...
You people look for this. Don't cry about it now, but when you side with the government things don't ever go your way. Stop waiting for any Government to do something about Motorsport.
Get Serious and privatize.
The sport ain't cheap.
brainbull wrote:lighthammer wrote:".. and all across trinidad, suddenly a lot of people have nothing to do on Easter Sunday..." lol.
From reading the post above, it seems to be a bureaucratic problem in how the Police permission was handled rather than any actual input from any 3rd party that caused the collapse of this event.
My question is - how come this particular event was cancelled, while others in the past have been granted full permission even though they were in the same vein as this one?
Many other events have been successfully handled by other motorsports body - most recently Rally Trinidad 2011 where the guys got permission to use Canefields, the National Stadium and even shut down a major road in Chaguanas itself, with FULL BAR services and full Police presence. So it's not to say it's a problem with permission or the Police Service frowning down on MotorSports in general. Maybe the internal affairs of the local police service in Arima were at fault, judging from the fragmented pattern in which Mr. Mahabir was sent running and giving out information to the Police admins.
I personally ran that track yesterday morning to give it a once over (was looking for good vantage point to position myself for photo's) and not once did I notice any spot where residents were "blocked in". That whole length of the proposed race-track was along industrial road, and the only places getting blocked were Automotive Components and a few other business but NO residential compounds or houses. Those entrances start lower down, closer to the stadium, opposite the stadium and by the traffic light/junction. Even so, the houses that line that section of the roadway don't even open their driveways onto the main roadway, they open into side-streets which again, were NOT anywhere close to the proposed race-track. It seems that the organizers purposely chose that limited section of track just so that they would not be blocking any residents - even with parking.
So, it's a shame that we all got hugely disappointed. If one were to read carefully between the lines it looks like the fragmented communication between the police admins was at fault, if anyone wants to point fingers. It's always been that way, in our 3rd world country - it's a difficult system to change.
What can we do in the interim? Prepare for next time - get the paperwork rolling again, prepare for more bureaucratic red-tape, never give up and be insistent. This cancellation just gives everyone who planned to compete more time to tune, test and practice for the real event, when it eventually does come along. I'm sure by that time, them fellas will be ready.
*edit - fellas, please don't take the negative route when expressing your disappointment. We all are disappointed but negative actions and inflammatory comments wont' help at all. Why not try to channel that anger and energy into something constructive like organizing your car, your crew, practicing (not on the open road or highway) driving, testing and tuning. That way, when the actual day comes, you'll be prepared to blow everyone away at your improved performance.
Saying that you fed up and gonna go illegal drags in cumuto or munroe road isn't going to help anyone, and it'll just bring us all down even more. Look at the bigger picture instead of your own singular plight - if you contribute and help out, then we'll all get to enjoy Motorsport much more. Ditch the selfish attitude and help to promote Motosport to the level of a recognized sport by the authorities and then we'll have no trouble at all meeting up on a Sunday to drags at the upcoming track, or to go rally in a canefield somewhere.
Come nah man, fight the negative vibes with some positive and useful energy. Doh study it - next time we go come bigger and better!
lemme talk bout dis "illegal drags dan" if anybody in here prefer to spend $9000 + on gt45 turbo $5000 + on management and have it home cover down waitin on ah track from any local gov dat is fackin you not me bro..if alyuh have money to modify car and have it cover down fuh years waitin on track dat is alyuh, i want to feel dat bOOst. TALK DONE and that is the bottom line. ent chevy man.
AutoSport wrote:Ok Mr. Link, lets move Motor Sport forward with some facts here, which others are whispering but refuse to shout out to the high heavens. And by the time you are finished reading this, I may also be on your lawyers list....In typical style, you all feel that you can fool all of the people all of the time. But regretfully for you and your team, there are many today, who will no longer sit back and allow the hoodwinking to continue.
And it would be so good if instead of calling all and sundry, and pushing your fallacious interpretations of the facts as they are today, you would dare to PUBLISH your “facts” and inform all of the motorsport public.
“You simply refused to cooperate and do the right thing and as a result have now placed our drivers and other motorsport enthusiasts in this most unfortunate situation.”
You can’t be serious about doing the right thing when it is still fresh in everybody’s minds the so-wrong things you did earlier this year in January, with the FCB Awards Fiasco - and the greatest part of this is in your defense, in your own published document, you were boldface enough to try to demand of the FCB Awards committee that they change their conditions and permit you boldface people to nominate two male individuals -, else take none. And later in the same document, you then turn around and attempt to show why the really outstanding motorsport performer for 2010 was thrown by the wayside.
And the month, before by selecting the son of the President and the Secretary to receive an International Award – here again making a mockery of good governance and alienating most of the lovers of motor racing, not only in TTASA, but across the board. Ask yourselves why your own members prefer to go elsewhere, and you have ended up with three consecutive monthly meetings without a legally constituted quorum.
I again repeat and ask the question about Ansil Ali taking part in the recently non-sanctioned Rally Trinidad.
And Gerard and Ravi taking part in non-sanctioned Karting
And Rudy Beeke taking part in non-sanctioned Solodex.
And not one damm protest or objection from this infallible team.
LET ME SHOW YOU WHAT YOU HAVE AS YOUR LEGACY.
And this is not opinion, it is there for everybody to see.
You people cannot be serious about the final statement in your selective response. You were the ones very much involved in the San Fernando GP. And you are talking about “placing our drivers and other motorsport enthusiasts in this most unfortunate situation.”
Let’s take a look at the manner in which the concrete safety barriers were laid out at the SFGP, where you and your team were very much involved. Instead of concrete barriers being closely aligned and there to protect, each one of them was spaced out and in this manner each and every one was more dangerous to the competitors. Who you will blame for this?
Concrete barriers at 0.18 ( and also Jameer’s meeting on 29yh June
Concrete barriers at 0.02
And this coming days after this body hosted a safety-training program for marshalls. Yet we also see marshalls, and photgraphers, strategically EXPOSED to the oncoming racing cars- standing on the “island” with no protection.
The Tyre barriers. Tyre barriers? Tyre barriers are supposed to act as a safety buffer should a car come into contact with them. What we saw at the SFGP were tyres tied together in 4’s, and when hit by the cars, became projectiles, both towards the crowd, and coming towards the unsuspecting driver – nowhere in the world are tyres strung together in this manner - but let us not forget we have here in T&T, the most knowledgable personalities in the whole wide world. The results of this poor setup are clearly displayed. And you made members pay for an FIA licence for this!
And then we see, again not subjective, but we see tyres, a chain link fence, and the public immediately behind the fence – a disaster waiting to happen….and it did happen..
Hopefully, soon, very soon, you will awake to the reality that the nonsense you try to sell will fall straight back in your faces. And while you are on your witch hunt trying to dig up dirt on others, the skeletons in your closets will come back to haunt you in more ways than one.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:for everyone's sake i hope you don't get the urge to buy a gunbrainbull wrote:lemme talk bout dis "illegal drags dan" if anybody in here prefer to spend $9000 + on gt45 turbo $5000 + on management and have it home cover down waitin on ah track from any local gov dat is fackin you not me bro..if alyuh have money to modify car and have it cover down fuh years waitin on track dat is alyuh, i want to feel dat bOOst. TALK DONE and that is the bottom line. ent chevy man.
AutoSport wrote:Ok Mr. Link, lets move Motor Sport forward with some facts here, which others are whispering but refuse to shout out to the high heavens. And by the time you are finished reading this, I may also be on your lawyers list....In typical style, you all feel that you can fool all of the people all of the time. But regretfully for you and your team, there are many today, who will no longer sit back and allow the hoodwinking to continue.
And it would be so good if instead of calling all and sundry, and pushing your fallacious interpretations of the facts as they are today, you would dare to PUBLISH your “facts” and inform all of the motorsport public.
“You simply refused to cooperate and do the right thing and as a result have now placed our drivers and other motorsport enthusiasts in this most unfortunate situation.”
You can’t be serious about doing the right thing when it is still fresh in everybody’s minds the so-wrong things you did earlier this year in January, with the FCB Awards Fiasco - and the greatest part of this is in your defense, in your own published document, you were boldface enough to try to demand of the FCB Awards committee that they change their conditions and permit you boldface people to nominate two male individuals -, else take none. And later in the same document, you then turn around and attempt to show why the really outstanding motorsport performer for 2010 was thrown by the wayside.
And the month, before by selecting the son of the President and the Secretary to receive an International Award – here again making a mockery of good governance and alienating most of the lovers of motor racing, not only in TTASA, but across the board. Ask yourselves why your own members prefer to go elsewhere, and you have ended up with three consecutive monthly meetings without a legally constituted quorum.
I again repeat and ask the question about Ansil Ali taking part in the recently non-sanctioned Rally Trinidad.
And Gerard and Ravi taking part in non-sanctioned Karting
And Rudy Beeke taking part in non-sanctioned Solodex.
And not one damm protest or objection from this infallible team.
LET ME SHOW YOU WHAT YOU HAVE AS YOUR LEGACY.
And this is not opinion, it is there for everybody to see.
You people cannot be serious about the final statement in your selective response. You were the ones very much involved in the San Fernando GP. And you are talking about “placing our drivers and other motorsport enthusiasts in this most unfortunate situation.”
Let’s take a look at the manner in which the concrete safety barriers were laid out at the SFGP, where you and your team were very much involved. Instead of concrete barriers being closely aligned and there to protect, each one of them was spaced out and in this manner each and every one was more dangerous to the competitors. Who you will blame for this?
Concrete barriers at 0.18 ( and also Jameer’s meeting on 29yh June
Concrete barriers at 0.02
And this coming days after this body hosted a safety-training program for marshalls. Yet we also see marshalls, and photgraphers, strategically EXPOSED to the oncoming racing cars- standing on the “island” with no protection.
The Tyre barriers. Tyre barriers? Tyre barriers are supposed to act as a safety buffer should a car come into contact with them. What we saw at the SFGP were tyres tied together in 4’s, and when hit by the cars, became projectiles, both towards the crowd, and coming towards the unsuspecting driver – nowhere in the world are tyres strung together in this manner - but let us not forget we have here in T&T, the most knowledgable personalities in the whole wide world. The results of this poor setup are clearly displayed. And you made members pay for an FIA licence for this!
And then we see, again not subjective, but we see tyres, a chain link fence, and the public immediately behind the fence – a disaster waiting to happen….and it did happen..
Hopefully, soon, very soon, you will awake to the reality that the nonsense you try to sell will fall straight back in your faces. And while you are on your witch hunt trying to dig up dirt on others, the skeletons in your closets will come back to haunt you in more ways than one.
Death-Row wrote:AutoSport wrote:Death-Row wrote:sorry to hear about the stress but i still say this couldve been avoided if planning had taken place wayyyy more in advance.
oh well, better luck next time.
You obviously do not know how our police "work". Months in advance or one week, they still wait until the last minute, set their "strength". and you pay it or go home.
See what time they called to ask questions related to the granting of the licence? See the amount of money one had to pay for Police presence?
i know how our police work, personally, they never did anything good for me. hate them with all my heart. some do good work but ive never met those. anyways, i think approval should've been confirmed b4 any other planning was done. again, ive never planned an event b4 but from a straight forward point of view, the approval is the kinda "make or break" part of things, so i would've assured that we had that in hand first b4 moving to the other steps. just my 2 cents tho.
sorry to see this happen tho, like many past events also.
fiveforward wrote:Link. Rawle. Autosport. TTASA. Matt. As a youth wanting to see mospo move forward and as one who look up to you elders in the game, how about being adults whom are big enough to put aside the past; and collectively come to some common ground so that mospo can really go somewhere.
As it stands we don't have n e thing right now and whist all these lovely street events whether sanctioned or unsanctioned are fun for the chosen few who are allowed to participate in them; there still is no replacement for something permanent. In fact the way I see it is that motorsport is being prostituted for the betterment of a few - all the boroughs, towns and cities want racing to generate revenue and provide entertainment but nobody want to ante up tangible support so that a permanent place can be had.
Gentlemen of the people road; this is 2011 and you guys can't tell me that a solution can't be found to the benefit of ALL parties involved. Drop the ego and bad history and lewwe get things really moving nah man. I want to race some ah allyuh before you guys retire, come nah man!
AutoSport wrote:And in typical style, Link tries to pull the matador act, and dodge every valid point highlighted.
The cape covering him and he is still trying to move forward.
We all wonder who was responsible for what was clearly shown, and as indicated, straight facts as opposed to opinion. But that is red herring too.
And these jokers want to run all around the place trying to dictate safety to others.
The days of taking up the goal post and putting it wherever they want are numbered.
It was approved by the Larry Gomes Stadium, The Sporting Co of Trinidad & Tobago (SPORTT) and road work to level the race track was approved and done by the by the Ministry of Works and Transport.