chevy3k

Re: LOST A LOT OF BLOOD

Postby chevy3k » April 21st, 2011, 4:45 am

Allyson gets needed blood
Published: Thu, 2011-04-21
Kalifa Clyne

Allyson Hennessy has received the blood donation which her family appealed for on Tuesday. She remains in a stable condition at the St Clair Medical Centre, her sister Rose Marie Hezekiah said yesterday.
Hezekiah expressed gratitude to the public for their support and asked that they continue their prayers for her full recovery. The appeal caused Health Minister Therese Baptiste-Cornelis to move into action to help Hennessy. The minister was alerted about the situation through a blackberry message that the veteran television presenter was in need of blood.

Reports yesterday stated that Hennessy, who has been warded at St Clair Medical Centre since April 8, was in need of Type O-positive blood. Baptiste-Cornelis said after receiving the message she contacted chief medical officer Dr Anton Cumberbatch so that action could be taken. She said Cumberbatch called the National Blood Transfusion Services and reported to her that the agency would get the blood to the private institution where Hennessy was warded.

Baptiste-Cornelis repeated calls for citizens to become blood donors. She said the chit system had been discontinued because the ministry could not barter for human tissue. She said the only way to eliminate the system was if every citizen recognised the only way blood could be free and available was to become voluntary donors. (KC)

chevy3k

Postby chevy3k » April 23rd, 2011, 2:50 pm

Bodoe appeals for more blood donors
By Carolyn Kissoon South Bureau

Story Updated: Apr 23, 2011 at 12:51 AM ECT

Dr Lackram Bodoe, chairman of the South-West Regional Health Authority (SWRHA), has appealed for more blood donors.
He said 16 pints of blood were collected on April 16—the first weekend the blood bank was opened to the public. But the SWRHA's target remains at 30 to 40 units daily, he said.
"The blood bank will be open again this Saturday from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. and we would be grateful if donors could come forward. The SWRHA will continue to look at other ways of attracting and retaining blood donors," he said.
Bodoe said the blood bank will be open on Saturdays to accommodate working blood donors.
"We realise that there are many people who are willing to give but because they are busy during the week, Saturday remains convenient... the authority is actively pursuing measures to have the blood bank open on a Saturday morning to facilitate donors," he said.

chevy3k

Postby chevy3k » April 23rd, 2011, 2:53 pm

quote;
"We realise that there are many people who are willing to give but because they are busy during the week, Saturday remains convenient... the authority is actively pursuing measures to have the blood bank open on a Saturday morning to facilitate donors," he said.
end quote.

Are you willing to give blood?
then why not? Is it that you are too busy during the week?

PLEASE TELL!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 23rd, 2011, 7:27 pm

I'll be donating when the mobile unit comes to my area within the next week or so....what wrong with Allyson?

chevy3k

Postby chevy3k » April 23rd, 2011, 8:31 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:I'll be donating when the mobile unit comes to my area within the next week or so....what wrong with Allyson?

Allyson Hennessy improves
Friday, April 15 2011

Allyson Hennessy...
Veteran television presenter Allyson Hennessy’s condition continues to improve after she spent almost six days in hospital for a reason unknown to the public.

She was rushed to the St Clair Medical Centre last Friday. Her sister, Rosemary Hezekiah, said contrary to reports Hennessy did not go into a coma but was sedated upon her arrival at hospital. She has not revealed what is the exact cause of Hennessy’s condition as she believes her medical condition is a private matter.

“Allyson is responding well and everyday she makes more progress,” Hezekiah stated. She could not say however, when her sister will be released from hospital but continued to ask for the prayers and positive energy of those concerned.

G-T

Postby G-T » April 23rd, 2011, 8:48 pm

I will continue doing my part...

chevy3k

Postby chevy3k » April 25th, 2011, 10:14 am

Hennessy family says thanks
Published: Mon, 2011-04-25

The family of television presenter Allyson Hennessy has thanked the people who responded to their appeal for blood. “From Allyson and family, we wish to thank all who gave blood and who wanted to but maybe couldn't! As blood donors ourselves, we understand the value and are totally grateful for your caring and support,” they said in a brief statement yesterday

“We are happy to be able to say that Allyson continues to make steady progress—we see improvements each day and know that she is well on the road to recovery! “Please continue with your prayers and positive thoughts—we are convinced of the positive power of the love and support she has received from so many people.” Hennessy has been warded at St Clair Medical Centre since April 8.

chevy3k

Postby chevy3k » April 28th, 2011, 9:09 pm

we're back to the chit system

the health minister has reverted to the chit system to encourage donors to come forward,due to the supply crisis.
............................full details to follow shortly.

Postby teems1 » April 28th, 2011, 9:30 pm

heh, knew it was only a matter of time

I wonder what happened to the pints I had available on my transfusion card. Only time will tell if they were lost

chevy3k

Postby chevy3k » April 29th, 2011, 5:12 am

Chit system in blood donations back for now
Published: Fri, 2011-04-29 Trinidad guardian
Richard Lord

Government yesterday agreed to resume the chit system in which people can donate blood to the Blood Bank. Health Minister Therese Baptiste-Cornelis said the Government wanted to discontinue the chit system because “there was a lot of illegal sale of blood chits for as much as $1,500 a pint, there was the sale of bogus chits and a large portion of the blood collected was found to be unsuitable.” She added that the chit system was “not in keeping with WHO (World Health Organisation) standards.” Baptiste-Cornelis said the new system, which was introduced by the ministry recently, “had not given the desired results.”

She added that the level of blood donation had decreased. Baptiste-Cornelis said when the new system was introduced at the start of this year donors were informed of it. She said in order to avert the impending crisis, Cabinet agreed to the purchase six four-bed mobile units at a cost of $6 million.
The minister said that would “allow for the collection of blood outside the established centres.” She said one of the mobile units would be bought for each of the six regional health authorities. She said they would not be available until a six-month period would have elapsed after the purchase date.

She said as a consequence Cabinet agreed to re-institute the chit system for a limited time. Baptiste-Cornelis said measures would be implemented to “make sure the illegal sale of blood chits does not occur, as well as to ensure for the proper detection of the bogus chits.” She said people in breach of the system would be dealt with.

http://guardian.co.tt/content/thn7heamp4-0

supremacy_007

Postby supremacy_007 » April 29th, 2011, 1:39 pm

what are the requirement to give blood, what restricts you from be ing to donate i.e. smoking, alcohol consumption, asma?

chevy3k

Postby chevy3k » April 29th, 2011, 7:36 pm

supremacy_007 wrote:what are the requirement to give blood, what restricts you from be ing to donate i.e. smoking, alcohol consumption, asma?

Health criteria for donating blood
These guidelines are designed to ensure that blood recipients are protected from potentially harmful blood products, and that blood donors are protected from harm. Only people in good health are accepted as blood donors.

For your own safety, you should NOT give blood if:

You have been prescribed medication for high blood pressure, diabetes, heart disease, fits or asthma.
You are a pilot or in any other service aircrew occupation.
You have an occupation where a delayed faint from donating blood could cause a hazard (such as a bus driver, heavy machine operator, etc.) UNLESS you will be off-duty immediately after your donation.

For the safety of others, you should NOT give blood if:

You or your sexual partner (past or present) has AIDS or tested positive for HIV.
You are a man who has had sex with another man.
You have ever accepted payment for sex.
You have multiple sex partners.
You carry the hepatitis B or C virus.
You have ever injected drugs not prescribed by a doctor.
You are a haemophiliac who has received treatment with clotting factor concentrate.
You think you need an HIV test.
You weigh less than 50kg.
You have donated blood within the previous 16 weeks.
You have donated blood three times in the previous year.
You are pregnant.

You should not give blood for ONE YEAR if you have had sex with:

A man who has had sex with a man (if you are a woman).
A prostitute.
A haemophiliac who has been treated with clotting factor concentrate.
A carrier of hepatitis B or C.
A person who has injected drugs not prescribed by a doctor.

or if you:

Injured yourself with a needle or other sharp object contaminated with blood of another person.
Had acupuncture, tattooing, ear or skin-piercing, tissue or hair transplantation.

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2011, 7:51 pm

makes sense,
why would a person give blood freely, knowing that 99% of the time it going to some gunshot/gang related case on a daily basis
they should open a blood bank in the hotspots for gang members/bandits to manage for themselves

chevy3k

Postby chevy3k » April 29th, 2011, 8:09 pm

i'm still awaiting a reply from the ministry as it relates to donors with accounts.
whether or not it can be used as was prior to the new system.
after all this is the real meat of the issue.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 30th, 2011, 2:35 am

supremacy_007 wrote:what are the requirement to give blood, what restricts you from be ing to donate i.e. smoking, alcohol consumption, asma?

seriously man? asma? wow.......

but to answer your question, check the TriniTuner Blood Bank Register thread in the sticky.....the info you seek may be found there.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » May 7th, 2011, 3:24 pm

The Blood Bank has reverted to the original system, and what you had in you "blood-bank account" remains intact.

Confirmed this on my recent visit on the 5th May.

As usual, the few unscrupulous continues to mess up the many.

Postby MG Man » May 9th, 2011, 6:31 am

the many need to start becoming donors to avoid being extorted...............people keep making excuses not to donate but always eyeing my frickin donor card..........my policy now is NONE FO YUH

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » May 9th, 2011, 9:53 am

My policy is not as aggressive but I will make you feel real bad when you ask.

What about yuh brother, yuh sister, yuh young relatives?

Friend asked me for his friend, when I spoke to "his friend" she had 5 hard back brothers, but none of them qualify because of their "lifestyle".

Now I have also publicly addressed the TTRC and the TTKA and have had a success rate of... ZERO response. Guess nothing will happen to none of them, thing does only happen to other people.

chevy3k

Postby chevy3k » June 6th, 2011, 6:49 am

Educate, engage about blood
Published: Mon, 2011-06-06 Trinidad guardian Editorial

In a detailed response to an editorial carried in another newspaper that “celebrated” the return of blood chits to the systems at the National Blood Transfusion Service, Dr Kenneth Charles makes some compelling points about the issues with that system. Charles, who ran the Transfusion Service until recently and is now Senior Lecturer in Haematology at UWI, certainly knows his way around the scientific issues regarding blood and its role in saving lives through transfusion. Among the key points he raises in his statement, excerpted in today’s Guardian, is the vulnerability to abuse inherent in a system that commoditises blood donations.

Among the key reasons for the removal of the chit system at the end of 2010 were problems with blood being sold, after donation, with the chit used as an illegal form of tender and the practice of paying people to donate blood for a specific patient. The incidence of infected blood also rises among donations taken either directly or indirectly for money, since donors living in situations of greater risk are most likely to sell blood for money. As Dr Charles points out, blood almost never goes directly from donor to recipient despite the wishes of someone giving blood.

Blood must be tested extensively and prepared for donation through several processes, which cost the State up to $2,000 per unit and adds 48 hours to the preparation process. Whole blood remains viable for just 28 days. It’s worth noting that the reason for the discontinuation of the chit system represented only a part of the Transfusion Service’s refreshed focus on delivering blood based on medical merit instead of emotional drivers. The service, colloquially known as the Blood Bank, provides blood for emergency victims, but it also must provide blood for persons who need continuing transfusions of blood. While Dr Charles’ statement is a valuable addition to the relative lack of information about the realities of blood transfusion, the goodly haematologist must also acknowledge that the Blood Bank has done a poor job in the past of explaining the issues at stake in blood donation.

The sudden shift from a decades old and readily understood system of blood donation based on banking metaphor to a completely new procedure based on altruism represented such an abrupt shift in perception that the sharp drop in blood donations was inevitable. Most donors found out that their chits were useless when they came to give blood and that’s an inexcusable lapse in public communication. By failing to articulate these critical changes clearly with the public, its most essential resource, the Ministry of Health missed a critical window of positive engagement with the community most critical to a continuing blood supply at the Blood Bank. After the sharp drop in donations, the Ministry of Health managed to put itself in the position of both having to explain its new position while trying to win donors back to the Transfusion Service.

Desperation, misinformation and ill-will were the first harvest of this error in judgement and fundamental misunderstanding of human nature and it’s an error that the Ministry will be wrestling with for some time to come. The reintroduction of the chit system may have brought some temporary relief to the situation that the Blood Bank found itself in, but it’s also put the service in the position of having to engage in an uphill reselling of its plan to move to voluntary, unpaid blood donors who give to a key national service rather than to a person or investing in a “bank.” With a goal of three per cent of the public giving blood twice a year, the Ministry of Health must open the doors of the Transfusion Service to greater public understanding of its mission critical service. On World Blood Donor Day, June 14, the Ministry should declare its commitment to a national programme of education and engagement that will have as its goal the encouragement of a committed local culture of blood and eventually, organ donation as cornerstones of a 21st century public health system.

chevy3k

Postby chevy3k » June 6th, 2011, 7:36 am

Blood chit system unsafe, unethical
Published: Mon, 2011-06-06 22:46

Senior Lecturer in Haematology at UWI, Dr Kenneth S Charles, has described as “unsafe, unethical, expensive, permissive of illegal activity” the chit system for blood donation that was recently reintroduced in T&T. Charles, in a letter to the editor, was responding to an editorial in another newspaper on May 9 celebrating the return of the ‘chit’ system for blood donation. Please allow me the space in your newspaper to discuss some of the issues raised, bearing in mind that Trinidad and Tobago is a member state of the World Health Organization (WHO) and is obliged to observe its recommendation.

According to Charles, ‘blood donor chits’ have been issued for decades as receipts to guarantee transfusion for an ill relative or as proof that blood used in an emergency has been returned (replacement blood donation). Nearly 90 per cent of blood is collected in this way in Trinidad and Tobago, he stated. Some persons donate to trade these receipts for cash or other payment (remunerated or paid blood donation). “Truly voluntary blood donors give blood freely and unconditionally. There is no ‘link with an intended recipient’.

They receive no token that could be converted to cash. In reality the donated blood never goes to the ‘intended recipient’ but into a blood bank for public use. What goes in could end up in any of our veins.” The World Health Organisation established more than 35 years ago, he argued, that voluntary blood donors were much less likely than the other types of donor to carry infections that could harm patients. On the grounds of public safety, the WHO recommended blood collection from voluntary blood donors only.

“Developed countries were the first to comply but with the discovery of the human immunodeficiency (HIV) virus, many developing countries began totally voluntary blood donation to keep their blood supply safe.” What is the problem with collecting unsuitable blood? First, it costs millions of dollars per year to collect, process then discard infected blood. Donor blood is tested very carefully in the laboratory after donation, not with the initial skin-prick test as suggested. Recently infected donors may have a negative test. This is much more likely with replacement and paid donation.

Charles,  who is the former director, National Blood Transfusion Service, stated: “The chit system is unsafe, unethical, expensive, permissive of illegal activity and inconsistent international standards for public safety. A blood transfusion service based on voluntary (no ‘chit’), regular (once or twice per year) by 3% of the population solves all the problems caused by replacement or paid blood donation. As we approach World Blood Donor Day on June 14th, I join the international community in thanking voluntary, unpaid blood donors everywhere.”

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 8th, 2011, 3:31 am

^^^good read.....supposed to be donating this Sunday.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » June 8th, 2011, 3:43 am

just thinking about needles wha