Mini Diesel Run...

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

Jeremy Mohd

Re: Mini Diesel Run...

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 18th, 2011, 2:41 pm

droppa wrote:yeah but to reach ah trail say 8.30 would have men coming from south say wat 7.30??

nah i find the timing was good, but we can look at improving the time,
the general time like 8.30 is cool....

less stops will improve the trail start time........

I guess its just a personal preference.
When I moving Toco/Blanci for the day/weekend, I accustom leaving home 6 clock latest. The drive and trip does be alot better when yuh reach where yuh going and still have the whole day to go.

Butttt its noted... with so much guys and people coming from all over, men coming from work, from fete, from ah strange girl house, maybe ah stange man house, I dunno... It hard to co-ordinate anything ealier than 8/8:30 at the meeting point.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 18th, 2011, 7:29 pm

rottedv wrote:
rottedv wrote:4x2 friendly?

last time is wasn't! but the dry season can possibly change that..

Lets hear what Jeremy says after he checks the trail..

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 18th, 2011, 10:18 pm

Will try to take some pics of all the bad spots, so we can decide..

Nice pics there kurpal... real screensaver material.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 18th, 2011, 10:50 pm

I have to say kudos to the guys for always thinking safety first, with fun/excitement a very close second. Sure we may have some wild moments, but it's good to see the guys thinking of each other's safety. No man gets left behind, no matter how stuck he may get!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 19th, 2011, 6:14 am

Right.... so here's a few pics from Sunday's mini-run, by Side B.

Going through the Caroni Canefields, after meeting up in Trincity and waiting for a few stragglers. Heading south now, to meet with the rest of the guys in the convoy.

Really nice trail found by Droppa, running over some pipelines in Caroni.

"Oh gorsh boy, this sun blazin hot!"

Waiting for two more, just before heading off to see the first Mud Volcano.

Climbing the first (dry) Mud Volcano. There were a few more around, but time was short on us now.

Rotted_V is the first to get stuck, right at the entrance to the trail, in a 4x2 Hilux.
(this didn't stop him from going all the way into the track with the rest of the 4x4's though!)

Second to get stuck was Brian, all because Droppa dared him to go through the mud.
This one was a bit more epic than the 4x2 Hilux, cuz now Brian was axle-deep in mud to the left side - which was actually not a rut, but an Irrigation Ditch full of slushy mud.

After a bit of struggling, we go him out. But not without a few dents, a bent sidebar (which was straightened by pulling it straight using the black Mazda B2500) and a bent stabilizer bar.

And he's out!

Droppa waiting on an inclined slope, for the other guys ahead to clear through a ditch.

Ah boy, what is it with Mitsubishis and getting themselves hung up on ruts? :) :)
He got out safely though, good to hear.

Jeremy and Brian traverse some deep ruts left behind by a large CAT TimberJack (logging vehicles). Fortunately the place was dry enough for them to crawl over the ruts, and the ruts sturdy enough to support each truck.

It was at this point that we all looked at the sky, and saw that rain clouds were forming. I also received reports from Rutless Tiida who was not onsite (he was back in Arima) that rain was falling in Arima and there was more than 50% chance of precipitation towards the South.
The guys decided they didn't want to chance another incident like in Santa Flora where only 10 mins of light rain fell but was enough to turn that clay-soil track into a nightmare of slipperyness. And seeing that our trail was a grade-4 trail in spite of being dry, we were anxious to get OUT!!

It took us 45 mins to get into the trail about half-way, but the exit took less than 15 mins, with everyone scrambling as quickly and safely as they could over the same undulating ruts we had just passed over.

Search And Rescue, directing Brian back out of the trail after he reversed.

Let's get out of here.

Rain coming in the distance!

Surrounded by two curtains of rain to either side of us.
Come on guys... move-move-MOVE!!! We have to Hustle!!

Me and Droppa made it out first, soon followed by the rest of the guys. Phew! That was a few tense minutes there. For a couple minutes I was sure the rain was gonna catch us while we scrambling out - but luckily it held up just a few more minutes. However.... as the last vehicle exited the trail, rain just started to fall on us at the Trail entrance.

At that point, the decision was made to just head down to Morne Diablo beach through the paved main road instead, as the rain was now dropping in fat drops on our heads.
Just 200 feet down the road, the rain had already started falling in cats & dogs. It was a passing cloud though, but the amount of rain that fell as we drove back to the main road from the trail looked like enough to properly wet down the track and would have caused us a sh1tload of trouble to get out, had we pressed ahead to the volcano.

So we went down to the beach, which was actually un-impressive, just a small shoreline and a fishing depot with a few parking spaces.

We had lunch and then we left to go home.

Up at Debe though, we decided to take a small detour and explore some tracks around the Golconda Road.

Then while exiting out from that trail onto the M2 Ring Road, we had to cross over a drain to get onto the main road.

Rene, the L200 made it out fine.

Droppa had a bit of trouble with his angle of approach....

Then Claries in the black Mazda B2500 made it out safely without much fuss. Jeremy made it out too with a big, dramatic moment when his rear-wheel went waayyy up in the air, but they made it out ok.

Then it was my turn; crossed that canal with minimal fuss. That Navara's long-wheelbase helped a lot, plus I was hungry and wanted to head home fast.

Bye trail, bye Morne Diablo. It was fun - too bad we had to turn around. But at least this time we actually made it to a beach! (even if it wasn't through the trail itself).

I'd like to tackle this trail again, but this time in dry weather i.e. in the height of the dry season, as well as a little earlier in the morning.

Thanks to everyone who made it out to the run, esp. to Rotted_v in his 4x2 Hilux. He really impressed us and showed that its' not just the vehicle, it's the driver too.

Also, thank goodness that no one was hurt, and no real incidents happened besides the two vehicles getting stuck and Brian sustaining minor damage to the GV (again! - he wife must be getting pissed with the growing repair bill.... eh brian??). Also good call by the guys again on making the right decision towards our safety and getting out before the rain came.

Good teamwork everyone, congrats on a good run (as impromptu as it was, short notice and all) and till next run, Keep On Truckin' !!

Lighthammer out, and off to work!

So guys.....
when is the next run?

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » April 19th, 2011, 8:28 am

nice pics>>

droppa

Postby droppa » April 19th, 2011, 8:41 am

i def need some lsd boi, having 2 open diffs suck........
if caroni had rain would have been real tears........

Postby 3stagevtec » April 19th, 2011, 10:03 am

That's the pic I wanted too see! I had my fingers crossed the clouds would have passes us, but when they started to looks like that.. :shock: That's when I knew we had no choice but to turn around..

WRT to the time discussion, I have no problem with leaving home a little earlier to reach trails sooner.. We would have been able to make it to the end if we reached MD earlier, BUT you really cannot complain in this case when you consider the circumstances with which this run was organized.. which was basically an overnight decision!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 19th, 2011, 11:12 am

ways.. i miss out! :(

Postby 3stagevtec » April 19th, 2011, 11:53 am

speedaholic wrote:ways.. i miss out! :(

you went dex?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 19th, 2011, 5:02 pm

run was really nice, meeting you guys for the first time .. nice summary and pics lighthammer .. next time i'll come a bit more prepared to stay the entire trip

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 19th, 2011, 8:24 pm

Wey!!!! I missed the photo op on the last trail around golconda....I look good in the mud though....lol....I stiil havent' washed the van yet....savoring the mud....kudos to the bunch!

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 19th, 2011, 8:31 pm

and Jeremy show up to work with the shovel still in tow.. :)

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 19th, 2011, 9:35 pm

nah rene didnt go dex... hear it was boring...

Postby 3stagevtec » April 19th, 2011, 9:40 pm

rottedv wrote:Wey!!!! I missed the photo op on the last trail around golconda....I look good in the mud though....lol....I stiil havent' washed the van yet....savoring the mud....kudos to the bunch!

you would have liked that run! :mrgreen:

speedaholic wrote:nah rene didnt go dex... hear it was boring...

huh! rain + PCP666 and PCN35 was there playing on the track! would have loved to see that!!

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=368529

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 20th, 2011, 5:04 am

^ meh.. just a couple of datsuns driving around some road traffic cones, that's all.

But that's ok, I drive a datsun too :D

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 20th, 2011, 12:36 pm

nothin i haven seen b4... i mean yeaa! they are engineering masterpieces and all! but i still rather watch a evo or a R34 go around a track anyday! :D... but thats just me..

Postby 3stagevtec » April 20th, 2011, 12:53 pm

speedaholic wrote:nothin i haven seen b4... i mean yeaa! they are engineering masterpieces and all! but i still rather watch a evo or a R34 go around a track anyday! :D... but thats just me..

R34 = unimpressive big heavy slouch.. unless modified..

EVO = fast and nimble, much more fun!

hmm, wonders if we can have an off road 'dex' type event?? on a course where speed is kept very low and traction or driving skills are the main factors.. like on a beach for example!

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 20th, 2011, 1:12 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:and Jeremy show up to work with the shovel still in tow.. :)

Who be this??

droppa

Postby droppa » April 20th, 2011, 2:08 pm

Rene, icacos is perfect for that, i was thinking of doing that as a run sometime.....

i know the DB suppose the have the 4th Icacos soon, so maybe we can look at doing our own ting sometime..........

lol @ jeremy.......stalker boi.....

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 20th, 2011, 2:14 pm

haha!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 20th, 2011, 2:15 pm

a very large rally track maybe!?! :D :D!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 20th, 2011, 6:03 pm

how about a quarry?

I know, I know, we were s'posed to do a quarry run last sunday, but the circumstances threw us off.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 20th, 2011, 7:22 pm

quarry wud be perfect but we cant have too many trucks all at once..

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 20th, 2011, 7:37 pm

speedaholic wrote:quarry wud be perfect but we cant have too many trucks all at once..

methinks me can help here...

pm me ur location and if we could meet up to scout it out

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 20th, 2011, 10:26 pm

Pm lighthammer or 3stagevtec... dem is the scouting men!

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » April 21st, 2011, 3:21 am

I neglected the rally track with you all last time because I didn't want to put the vehicle through that kind of abuse (Don't want to over-do it with the van since I now got it) or damage any part of the vehicle. However a rally on sand like on a beach sounds like something I can attempt. This would be a really great idea once we can find a safe and secure location.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 21st, 2011, 4:29 am

the only safe place to do this, is as Droppa suggested, at Icacos..

I always like the idea of competitions, so we could do stuff like a figure 8, time attacks, sand drags, tug of war :twisted:

but something like this needs to be well planned out with safety in mind. we will need quite a few ideas to make for a full day of events / fun.. will work on this idea later on..

at the moment, other plans are in the works.. :wink:

droppa

Postby droppa » April 21st, 2011, 7:24 am

in a two weeks time let us put something together nah....an u need a BB boi, so we can have a chat and discuss the matters at hand, LOL.........

i have something nice in mind, but will have to do a full scout first, and we hadda do it in the dry season...........

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » April 21st, 2011, 8:57 am

hey what we doing this weekend i will be in Blanchisseuse this weekend are we gona Icacos.. Pm me

Return to “Off Road Runs”