Mini Diesel Run...

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

Re: Mini Diesel Run...

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 17th, 2011, 3:54 pm

My picassa album down below, later Ill update with the full set

https://picasaweb.google.com/nitrus2nv/ ... tn9-rSnAQ#

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 17th, 2011, 4:19 pm

wayys! that run looked like epic fun! sorry i cudnt make it... and yall made it out just in time.. the rain is pouring now! nice pics dey kurpal!

Postby 3stagevtec » April 17th, 2011, 4:35 pm

speedaholic wrote:wayys! that run looked like epic fun! sorry i cudnt make it... and yall made it out just in time.. the rain is pouring now! nice pics dey kurpal!

umm, there was another 4x2 that made the run also! :shock: and he went all the way! :shock: :shock:

Now reach home guys.. gonna take a sleep and head off to work later. Will check back tomorrow..

Postby 3stagevtec » April 17th, 2011, 4:35 pm

Nice album kurpal!!

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 17th, 2011, 5:13 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
speedaholic wrote:wayys! that run looked like epic fun! sorry i cudnt make it... and yall made it out just in time.. the rain is pouring now! nice pics dey kurpal!

umm, there was another 4x2 that made the run also! :shock: and he went all the way! :shock: :shock:

Now reach home guys.. gonna take a sleep and head off to work later. Will check back tomorrow..

Who was the 4x2 man? He looked scared as hell at some points and properly relieved when we said we gonna turn around LOL..

Props to the guy for making it still man

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 17th, 2011, 6:11 pm

if my clutch was in proper workin order i wuda have come...!
slipping pretty badly still gettin it sorted on tuesday...

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 17th, 2011, 7:08 pm

Yeah guys and gals....Twas nice....I now reach home myself.....Went down La Brea for meh daughter and an unknown beach i.e only known to the villagers.....Took a nice relaxing dip....

I think i'm hooked on this offroading thing now.....And to boot you guys and gals are a great bunch...Too bad I have a 4x2....I should have taken Leo's advice in the beginning.....Great pics!!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 17th, 2011, 7:15 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Who was the 4x2 man? He looked scared as hell at some points and properly relieved when we said we gonna turn around LOL..

Damn right I was scared....U saw the size of some of those ruts!!! What the hell passed through there before us!!!!

Was fun though....When is the next one?!?!? LOL

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 17th, 2011, 8:17 pm

rottedv wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Who was the 4x2 man? He looked scared as hell at some points and properly relieved when we said we gonna turn around LOL..

Damn right I was scared....U saw the size of some of those ruts!!! What the hell passed through there before us!!!!

tiber jacks LOL

LOL Dude no disrespect but it was funny as hell when I saw you chopping away at that stump :lol:

Seriously doh, you hanged tough with the vitara and 4x4 boys like a pimp!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 17th, 2011, 8:25 pm

OH... so wait... that was you boy?? I didn't realize it was you RottedV, sorry that we didn't get a formal introduction :(.

Aye I glad you come out eh, and that you was brave enough to make that run in ur 4x2 with open diff. Just goes to show that it's almost always the driver that determines where the vehicle will go, and not necessarily the vehicle. Sure it had its limitations, but you impressed me today dred.

Now finish washing off the Navara - has mostly Dust, not mud this time, hooray! LOTS and LOTS of scratches down the sides though.... hurt meh heart to see that but some Mothers California Gold scratch remover should fix that.

Pics to come soon, I real tired and I dunno how many pics "boots" (daiz de missus online name) took.. a lot to be sure. Will sort through them tomorrow.

Good run guys, we all had a blast (esp. the North Men and our run through the caroni canefields!). The trail was as promised - a challenging obstacle course that put our brains to work, and not necessarily our vehicles. Too bad that rain bear down on us - that was a real race to get out of the track as the rain came thundering down in the distance!! (ask droppa the amount of speed we made on our exit!). Didn't want a repeat of Santa Flora - thanks to Rutless Tiida for the weather updates, and good call by the guys to take caution and safety first.

Will update and make a proper report later. Now it's time to bathe and get this dust out of my hair!

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 17th, 2011, 9:35 pm

twas nice meeting you guys , see i didnt plan on making the entire trip but it was soo much fun i was sorry to leave u guys . how was the beach ?

carite is over $25 a lb who bought any on the beach?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 18th, 2011, 8:15 am

rottedv wrote:

and next time, listen to to your wife's advice on choosing the proper driving line.. :lol:

I have to be honest, I was really shocked to see you make it that far into the forest (especially considering the tyres you had, not really the 4x2).. and at the rate you were going, i'm sure you could have made it all the way!

droppa

Postby droppa » April 18th, 2011, 8:18 am

hoss, that was bunsee trace we was in ent....

mih padna in work now tellin me he was right there around 2ish with ah 4X4 tractor

i we had only known.......

well next time we have a puller on standby

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 18th, 2011, 8:29 am

yeah it was bunsee trace.

We should organize it ahead of time.

Next time... All the way!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 18th, 2011, 8:29 am

hmmmm

Postby 3stagevtec » April 18th, 2011, 8:40 am

I wanna see pics of those madd clouds! :shock:

claries

Postby claries » April 18th, 2011, 9:13 am

yea fellas bess run dey :lol: . It was rel fun navigating through those huge ruts and good thing we made it out on time

any word on Brian20v

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 18th, 2011, 9:20 am

3stagevtec wrote:I wanna see pics of those madd clouds! :shock:

Those?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 18th, 2011, 9:39 am

it looked even scarier from inside the forest! lol

droppa

Postby droppa » April 18th, 2011, 10:10 am

x2 on any word from brian...

yesterday was a real nice day, good weather, great ppl and sweet food.....

lemme see if i can remember who was there....was about 9 trucks...

LH, 3Stage, Claries, Brianr20v, rottedv, Cuddles, jeremy, kurpal, droppa...

small crew and well manageable.....

and yeah we could have gone further and chanced the weather, but better safe than sorry, everyone was out and we had time to spare......

so lewwe buss ah relax for now and after the easter we will make a run again........

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » April 18th, 2011, 10:27 am

an jus to be safe, for any/all future diesel runs lets not be totally dependent on d "officials" caus we all saw hw quickly an easily plans can jus fall tru.....leaving us sayin WTF!!

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » April 18th, 2011, 10:38 am

Hey all, This run was really great I was really able to test my vitara and now I know the pros and cons with my suspension, I was a little worried about my brakes not holding so sorry I couldn’t make the second run with you all. But I have good news she up and running like new again lol :D the shock was replace with the original, the problem why the shock failed was that the stabilizer links bolts bend then broke off and the bar was stock between the leaf arm prying it on an angle causing the shock to bend so it took of the hole stabilizer bar. The brake was small thing it was just mud stuck between the front brakes or and the side steps I took it off as well straighten the brackets an give it to my friend lol :mrgreen:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 18th, 2011, 12:12 pm

^ brian - now u have a chance to fire up the arc-welder and fabricate some proper side-bars from some hard-iron :).

Good to hear no permanent damage on ur GV - you does takes the most licks eh bai? :D.

I could do with a beach lime - if anything... Next run is Blanchi/Paria part - 2, we aiming for the beach!!!

(... And of course lime on Tyrico afterwards with bake and shark!)

droppa

Postby droppa » April 18th, 2011, 12:46 pm

ahh that will be a decent run, hopefully will have a lil bigger crew too

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 18th, 2011, 1:10 pm

Crew size was not too bad...

I in Blanchi for the weekend, so I will run the Trail and see if we could pass.
Brian said he up there as well.

Sad we couldnt make it to the end of this one. I think when nex we moving we have to move early. Like if we going Blanchi/Toco/deep south like yesterday; according to where you live, we have to try to reach the trail start like 8, 8:30. Not leave Trincity 8:30! My 2 cents.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 18th, 2011, 1:17 pm

^ well part of the run was droppa's excursion through Caroni canefields - but yeah ur correct Jeremy, we needed an earlier start time to the actual trail than 1:00pm.

It still worked out ok for us, cuz we managed to escape the rain.

But next run we'll dedicate solely to the trail, with minimal side-excursions. We can prob leave the side-excursions till after the actual trail (like the debe-side run yest. Afternoon).

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 18th, 2011, 1:20 pm

4x2 friendly?

droppa

Postby droppa » April 18th, 2011, 1:36 pm

yeah but to reach ah trail say 8.30 would have men coming from south say wat 7.30??

nah i find the timing was good, but we can look at improving the time,
the general time like 8.30 is cool....

less stops will improve the trail start time........

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » April 18th, 2011, 1:55 pm

I in for this beach lime
more mud...... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
but what day you all looking for thin run saturaday or sunday

lighthammer wrote:^ brian - now u have a chance to fire up the arc-welder and fabricate some proper side-bars from some hard-iron :).

Good to hear no permanent damage on ur GV - you does takes the most licks eh bai? :D.

I could do with a beach lime - if anything... Next run is Blanchi/Paria part - 2, we aiming for the beach!!!

(... And of course lime on Tyrico afterwards with bake and shark!)

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 18th, 2011, 2:39 pm

rottedv wrote:4x2 friendly?

Return to “Off Road Runs”