The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » April 16th, 2011, 6:50 pm

All I will say is Good Luck.
Ask Duane about what we had to do for his one...

Easiest solution is to update to latest firmware and THEN downgrade.

I can see you didnt read my blogpost on error 3194 :|

Postby Chimera » April 16th, 2011, 7:52 pm

Dred..i feel is just when I using my old ass home computer I getting all these problems

the 3g i had asked about yesterday, ended up getting through when I used the SAME .ipsw and process that I was using on my home pc, when I used it on my office pc

3gs i asked about at 6pm ago, SAME process that tried and failed home, went down to the office and got through with no issues at all on my one of the office pcs.

all good now :|

Postby X_Factor » April 16th, 2011, 7:55 pm

anyone knows where i can get the house charger adapter for the 3g?

Postby M_2NR » April 16th, 2011, 8:01 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Dred..i feel is just when I using my old ass home computer I getting all these problems

the 3g i had asked about yesterday, ended up getting through when I used the SAME .ipsw and process that I was using on my home pc, when I used it on my office pc

3gs i asked about at 6pm ago, SAME process that tried and failed home, went down to the office and got through with no issues at all on my one of the office pcs.

all good now :|

glad to hear u got thru, when someone reset and erase all data its very problematic.
X_Factor wrote:anyone knows where i can get the house charger adapter for the 3g?
amazon?
u can try cell shops down here. The one they sell is sometimes the cheap one so be warned.
I got one from the one in valpark. I dont advise using them unless absolutely necessary. I think its around 20$

Postby X_Factor » April 16th, 2011, 8:05 pm

i see amazon has the wall charger that has the usb port pretty cheap
just thought i could have gotten it locally

Postby M_2NR » April 16th, 2011, 8:51 pm

some are fake as the reviews are saying. As i said, check cell outlets.

Postby Chimera » April 16th, 2011, 8:58 pm

I bought about 10 from amazon for 3-4 US each...atleast 5 came dead on arrival :|

bess you buy locally so you can test it before u buy it,

Postby S_2NR » April 16th, 2011, 9:23 pm

if buying it from amazon..
ensure ur buyin it directly from amazon for $30 US and not from any of the 3rd party sellers who have it at ridiculously low prices.

bought one two years ago frm amazon for $30 ..it is original and still goin strong

Postby M_2NR » April 16th, 2011, 9:37 pm

I bought one for 7usd, was legit.

The one i bought locally for someone it gave the error that it wasnt recognized, and what you supposed to do is stick it in and out ( :| yeh that's for u sick ppl) about 4 times and it works. I kid u not.

Ulyuh ever realize something... When u try to use an unofficial cable or charger to charge your iDevice from 0% (when u see the red battery and the charge sign as in it not on) it gives a lot of issues to come on and you have to almost coax it to turn on? happened lots of times not just with my stuff.

Postby Chimera » April 16th, 2011, 9:48 pm

M_2NR wrote: and you have to almost coax it to turn on? happened lots of times not just with my stuff.

yuh sure that line wasnt for the sick people

Postby M_2NR » April 16th, 2011, 10:01 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
M_2NR wrote: and you have to almost coax it to turn on? happened lots of times not just with my stuff.

yuh sure that line wasnt for the sick people

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » April 17th, 2011, 11:08 pm

Curious, why do people bother with jailbroken iphones? I bought an unlocked iphone 4, paid about US850 plus shipping. Stuck in a micro sim (cut myself), and bam the phone worked. Is it the money people try to save or is it the problem with getting apps? Just wondering. BTW used facttime for the first time tonight, totally unbelievable.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 18th, 2011, 12:25 am

^ I paid CAD$659 for my 16GB iPhone 4 factory unlocked

what size did you get for US$850?
sounds kinda high

Sully

Postby Sully » April 18th, 2011, 6:33 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I paid CAD$659 for my 16GB iPhone 4 factory unlocked

what size did you get for US$850?
sounds kinda high

So how does that work? You just walk into an Apple store in Canada and say I want a factory unlocked iPhone 4, hold the service plan?

Postby Chimera » April 18th, 2011, 7:07 am

^^^ yup

if there are lines for people who want to register service plans, you usually don't have to wait in it, just give them your money and collect the phone, no paperwork and no wait

they didn't always offer factory unlocked phones tho, i think they only started doing it for the 3GS and 4, before that it was always locked to the carrier that you bought it from and you had to buy a service plan

lots of people started buying it for $200 US, selling it for $600 us (where you then had to unlock it for your personal use if you bought it) and reporting it stolen/lost and getting a replacement for $75
could only do that around 3 times before apple black listed you though.

for the iphone 4..i don't think it make sense at all buying it unless you buying it factory unlocked, the iphone 3gs and older you can get professionally unlocked for $300 TT locally or even do it yourself. but the iphone 4..if you trying to unlock that locally it gonna cost you $900 to $1800..and it's a big risk because it doesn't always work.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 18th, 2011, 9:47 am

^^^ Same here as far as where I got mine. At the time I didn't know it was offered offline as well. Had a friend get it for me. The lack of a pre-order really made the process a hassle though since at the time the shipping times were at least a month from Apple.com/ca & they were selling out of iPhone 4s in general on a daily basis. Took a 6-7 hour wait to eventually get it.

Speaking of unlocks, apparently this IMEI unlock does in fact work.

------

Apple’s next-generation iPhone may launch even later than September this year, as has previously been rumored on numerous occasions. Apple has stuck to a summer launch for each new iPhone model released thus far, but the February introduction of Verizon Wireless’ iPhone 4 and the imminent release of the white iPhone 4 do suggest Apple may deviate from its previous schedule. Concord Securities analyst Ming-Chi Kuo cited supply chain checks in a note to investors on Monday, in which he suggests Apple’s iPhone 5 won’t enter mass production until September. This would make a September release highly unlikely, and would instead mean the new smartphone might launch in October or later. Ming-Chi also reiterates earlier rumors that the iPhone 5 will be an incremental update, and will feature Apple’s new A5 processor, an 8-megapixel camera and a Qualcomm radio like the one found in Verizon Wireless’ iPhone 4. Industry watcher DigiTimes recently issued a report calling any iPhone 5 manufacturing timelines to this point “baseless,” claiming Apple has not yet discussed the device or any production timing with its manufacturing partners.

Postby M_2NR » April 18th, 2011, 1:51 pm

You all can check the previous page for my post on the iPhone 4 unlock solutions so far.

Ok, afaik you have to pay 14% tax on the 659 CAN figure. so its more like 751 CAN or that doesnt apply everywhere?

BTW LOL @ "professionally unlocked"

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 18th, 2011, 2:00 pm

^^ you could recommend anyone who capable of unlocking iphones?

I had one friend take it to a computer repair guy and now the phone wont stop throwing error6. I tried everything I could find online ( the phone wasnt connected to anything to fry the battery so its not that)

Postby M_2NR » April 18th, 2011, 2:38 pm

error 6 isnt unlocking lol. I wish I knew someone myself who can fix errors. u tried another pc etc?

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » April 18th, 2011, 2:47 pm

anyone know who does physical repairs i think my charging port is done phone isnt charging and when i plug it into the usb it isnt recognizing it..its an 3g

Postby Chimera » April 18th, 2011, 2:51 pm

ah have two brand new 16gb factory unlocked iphone 4's for sale if anyone want :P

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 18th, 2011, 3:00 pm

M_2NR wrote:error 6 isnt unlocking lol. I wish I knew someone myself who can fix errors. u tried another pc etc?

I figured unlocking error, same feild lol.

Yea man, tried 3 different pc's (mac included), did literally everything I saw online and it just wont do anymore than pop-up on itunes in recovery and say error 6 half way through the process.

Its a 3g, you know anyone who might be able to handle this phone?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 18th, 2011, 5:45 pm

Angry Birds Seasons has been updated for Easter with golden eggs a-plenty.

As we all know, every season is an Angry Birds season. After St. Patrick’s, Trick Or Treat and Season’s Greedings, Angry Birds Seasons is back – and now there are chocolate eggs and bunnies!

What's New In This Version:
EASTER EGGS FOR ANGRY BIRDS!
Spring is upon us and the time is ripe for some chocolate eggs and easter bunnies! So shed the winter gear and get in – Easter Eggs have never been this delicious! If you think St. Patrick’s Day was a blast, well, you ain’t seen nothing yet! This episode will again prove that Angry Birds is the most generous update giver of them all!

New Features in version 1.4.0:

- 15 LEVELS FULL OF SPRING
- NEW THEME TO FIT THE MOOD
- GOLDEN EGGS A-PLENTY
- LISTEN TO THE TWITTER OF BIRDS TO GET MORE

You can purchase Angry Birds Seasons HD from the App Store for $1.99 or Angry Birds Seasons for $.99.

------

Microsoft has released Photosynth, an iPhone app that lets you capture a 360° panorama of wherever you are.

Photosynth for iOS is the panorama creation and sharing app that lets you capture more of your world. Now you can capture 360° in all directions (up, down, left, and right) to create spectacular images. Using the latest in computer vision techniques, Photosynth makes it easy and fun to create and share interactive panoramas of wherever you are.

Features:
• See your panorama take shape as you capture them with INTERACTIVE CAPTURE
• Look and capture in all directions with FULL-SPHERE PANORAMAS
• See the final panorama right away with fast ON-DEVICE PROCESSING
• Sharp, high-resolution results with the ADVANCED IMAGE STITCHING ENGINE
• Panoramas are always available to view and share from the ON-DEVICE LIBRARY
• Zoom, pan, stretch, and view in landscape or portrait with our IMMERSIVE VIEWER
• Save as many panoramas as you want and view them online at PHOTOSYNTH.NET

Sharing:
• Share to Facebook with images or interactive panoramas
• Share to Bing Maps to see your panoramas throughout Bing
• Your panorama images are available to any app from the Camera Roll

You can download Photosynth from the App Store for free.

Image Image

------

Apple has quietly upgraded some recent MacBook Air orders with Samsung solid-state flash memory drives, offering even faster read and write times.

Some MacBook Air units were discovered by AnandTech to include the SM128C SSD, presumed to be manufactured by Samsung. When the newly redesigned MacBook Air first went on sale last October, units included the Toshiba TS128C flash drive.

The difference between the two drives is noteworthy: Testing shows the Samsung SSD has a read time of 261.1MB per second, compared with 209.8MB/s for the Toshiba drive. Similarly, the Samsung has a superior write time of 209.6MB/s, compared to 175.6MB/s write times with the Toshiba drive.

"There is no absolute confirmation that Samsung manufactures the SM128C, but all indicators point that way," author Kristian Vatto wrote. "Regardless of manufacturer, the SM128C appears noticeably faster in sequential read/write performance. What we can't confirm is how the two models differ in more intense testing, specifically with regards to random read/write performance, TRIM support, etc."

Rather than relying on traditional 2.5-inch or 1.8-inch SSDs, the new MacBook Air drives utilize a new form factor known as mSATA. After the thinner and lighter MacBook Air was unveiled last year, Toshiba announced its Blade X-gale SSD series, the same hardware found in Apple's thin-and-light notebook.

Though Samsung and Apple compete in making notebooks, phones and tablets, Apple is also Samsung's largest customer, with a reported $7.8 billion in purchases planned for 2011. Samsung provides the custom-built processors Apple uses in its mobile devices like the iPhone and iPad, and also provides liquid crystal displays.

Another major component Samsung is responsible for is flash memory, with that partnership forged through a landmark deal in 2005. Flash memory has since become a crucial part of Apple's product line, ranging from the iPhone to the iPad to the new MacBook Air.

------

Driven by strong sales of the new Thunderbolt-equipped MacBook Pro lineup, domestic Mac sales are estimated to have increased 47 percent year over year in the month of March.

The new estimates from the NPD Group were revealed Monday by Piper Jaffray analyst Gene Munster. NPD's estimates for U.S. sales put Apple up 20 percent year over year in January, 12 percent in February, and 47 percent in March, resulting in an average of 27 percent year over year for the quarter.

Actual Mac sales for the quarter will be known come Wednesday afternoon when Apple reveals its quarterly earnings for the second fiscal quarter of 2011. Apple is scheduled to report its earnings after the market closes, and will hold a conference call at 5 p.m. Eastern to discuss the results.

Munster said a 27 percent year over year increase in Mac sales would represent total sales of between 3.6 million and 3.7 million. The data shows Apple tracking on the high end of Wall Street expectations of about 3.6 million Macs sold in the quarter.

Mac sales growth slowed slightly in February, according to NPD figures, ahead of Apple's MacBook Pro lineup refresh. The new MacBook Pros were released in late February, packing Intel's latest Sandy Bridge processors and the new high-speed Thunderbolt data port.

But Mac sales rebounded strongly in March, the first full month in which the new MacBook Pros were available. Still, Munster noted that Mac revenue is estimated to account for just 21 percent of Apple's revenue in calendar year 2011.

The latest NPD data also showed U.S. iPod sales down 10 percent year over year. International iPod sales are a larger mix than international Mac sales, resulting in a slightly greater margin of error from domestic NPD data.

Drawing assumptions from the NPD data, Munster sees Apple reporting sales of between 9.8 million and 10.3 million iPods for its second quarter of fiscal 2011. That's in line with Wall Street's expectations of 10 million iPods for the three-month frame.

------

Apple has filed a new patent lawsuit against rival Samsung, accusing the company of copying the look and feel of the iPhone and iPad for its own Galaxy-branded smartphone and tablet products.

The suit, first reported by The Wall Street Journal, claims the South Korean electronics company copied Apple's mobile devices with products like the Galaxy S, Nexus S and Epic 4G smartphone, as well as the Galaxy Tab touchscreen tablet.

Apple has accused Samsung of violating patents it owns related to the design and creation of the iPhone and iPad. Last September, APC observed that Samsung's Galaxy Tab accessories were so similar to the iPad that the site said, "we can feel an Apple lawsuit coming on."

"Rather than innovate and develop its own technology and a unique Samsung style for its smart phone products and computer tablets, Samsung chose to copy Apple's technology, user interface and innovative style in these infringing products," the complaint reads.

The growing rivalry between Samsung and Apple is complex, because Apple is also the largest customer of Samsung, with a reported $7.8 billion in purchases planned for 2011. Samsung builds the custom chips used by Apple in devices like the iPhone and iPad, and also supplies flash memory and liquid crystal displays.

Apple's latest legal action is similar to a suit filed over a year ago against HTC. In that complaint, Apple accused HTC of infringing on 20 iPhone-related patents, and cited Google Android-powered handsets including the Nexus One.

"We can sit by and watch competitors steal our patented inventions, or we can do something about it. We've decided to do something about it," Apple co-founder Steve Jobs said in a statement that accompanied the HTC lawsuit. "We think competition is healthy, but competitors should create their own original technology, not steal ours."

Apple is also engaged in a high-profile legal battle with another major rival, Nokia. Apple has sued Nokia, and is also being sued in an ongoing patent infringement suit.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 18th, 2011, 6:22 pm

Wtk sum of the good free apps form app store to download?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 18th, 2011, 6:28 pm

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 18th, 2011, 6:59 pm

zer0xp wrote:
SRASC wrote:Android vs iOS UI

Facebook

iOS [left], Android [right]

Speedtest

[Android Gripes]

As far as facebook is concerned, I love how they leave out the little fact that the "big grey area" underneath displays a reel of media that your friends have recently uploaded to facebook. It allows you to quickly click on anything, and takes you directly to the media.

As for Speedtest, anyone remember 2009 when the Speedtest app for iOS looked EXACTLY LIKE the android one?

yuh know Android have iPhone fanboys panties in a bunch when they start comparing how apps look :lol:

y dont they talk about how dated iOS looks on the whole :|

and fyi, Speedtest has been updated and now looks exactly like the iOS version :roll:

https://market.android.com/details?id=o ... .speedtest

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 18th, 2011, 8:51 pm

The iPhone Dev-Team has just updated RedSn0w with the ability to perform an untethered iOS 4.3.2 jailbreak.

Only a few weeks after the 4.3.1 untether created by @i0n1c was released, Apple pushed out firmware 4.3.2. Thankfully, it appears Apple didn’t have a chance to fix the hole used by @i0n1c’s untether, so he ported his code over to 4.3.2’s kernel. Today’s redsn0w has been updated to include it

As always, ultrasn0w unlockers should stay away from redsn0w and only update their firmware through a custom IPSW. We’ll release a new version of PwnageTool sometime this week.

Note that many people are currently having problems updating to 4.3.2 through saurik’s server. You’ll need to remove the gs.apple.com entry in your hosts file in order to restore directly to Apple’s servers.

You can download RedSn0w 0.9.6rc13 here:
Windows
Mac

The 4.3.2 untether works on all devices that actually support 4.3.2 except for the iPad 2:

iPhone 3GS
    iPhone 4 (GSM) download from link below
    iPod touch 3G
    iPod touch 4G
    iPad 1

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 19th, 2011, 10:35 am

The iPhone Dev-Team has released an update to RedSn0w that fixes issues when performing an untethered jailbreak on an iPhone 4 running iOS 4.3.2.

redsn0w rc14 includes the fixed i4 untether from @i0n1c. You can re-run redsn0w rc14 right over the tethered rc13b to transform the i4 JB into an untethered one.

The 4.3.2 untether works on all devices that actually support 4.3.2 except for the iPad 2:
    ● iPhone 3GS
    ● iPhone 4 (GSM)
    ● iPod touch 3G
    ● iPod touch 4G
    ● iPad 1

You can download RedSn0w 0.9.6rc14 here:

------

Remember the second people to bring the world legit photos of the iPhone 4? How about a mid-year MacBook refresh and an iPod touch camera prototype? Well, they (Tinhte) are back and they’re back with a white iPhone 4. It’s not any white iPhone 4, see, it runs the yet to be revealed iOS 5. From the looks of things, iOS 5 loses the Spotlight search menu from the iOS 3/4 days and the iOS 4 multitasking UI and instead sports a new Expose multitasking page with a Spotlight menu at the top of the display. Really cool stuff happening here. (via Engadget)

We’ve found a new video from the same source, this time showing off some of the device’s hardware: it’s 64 GB and obviously a prototype based on the camera and buttons designs. Oh, iOS 5 brings a brand-new home screen folders interface… it’s awesome!

Why we think it’s could be iOS 5: This particular phone is running an Apple-internal application called “Radar” in addition to a game called “Tough Fighter.” If you’re not familiar, Touch Fighter is a game Apple actually built to show off the iPhone’s accelerometer and graphics performance at one of their early SDK keynotes. Maybe they’ll be showing off the Gyro mixed with some 9X the graphics performance in Touch Fighter. Some of the settings menus also look pretty internal.

Could this be the “better-iPhone-4″ iPhone 5? It looks really snappy…

Update 2: Facebook integration is here! It’s probably integrated nicely with Media Stream for photo uploading and such

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 19th, 2011, 10:51 am

I don't know, that first figure in the Version field sure looks like a 4

Also don't you think that SIM is bigger than a microSIM that the iPhone 4 uses?

Postby M_2NR » April 19th, 2011, 1:40 pm

could be themed but if it was, it REAL snappy for true. My padna iPhone 4 has a normal theme and it feels laggy. I was watching that sim card too... big eh?

Im seriously thinking of buying an iPhone 4 when the "5" comes out and hopefully if the IMEI unlock can be guaranteed, it will be worth the price still. I really dont see the point of paying 700$ for a device.