Re: RedJet to offer fares starting at US$10

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 13th, 2010, 8:29 am

niccce

TunaPuna

Postby TunaPuna » December 16th, 2010, 11:11 am

Their website is currently being developed and hence any information available is purely a "dummy" situation.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 13th, 2011, 11:13 am

Launched today

Postby ronsin1 » April 13th, 2011, 11:22 am

ronsin1 wrote:eh so seeing that is red jet do they show redtube movies???

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 13th, 2011, 11:31 am

Ok so while it will only cost me US$ 83.64 to fly to Barbados Departing a Friday and Returning a Monday..

While you're getting to travel free with a handbag or laptop, you have to pay for ANY baggage, price dependent on the size..

Check the extras...

Priority Boarding is US$10.00
Baggage -small to large is US$10 to US$25
Special Luggage like golf bags etc. is US$30
SMS Confirmation is US$1

So by the time you're done your ticket that started at US$84 could very well end up being US$214.64.

Postby noshownogo » April 13th, 2011, 11:34 am

The prices still beat CAL, i'm especially impressed with the Jamaica airfare after taxes and luggage I got a quote of 1100TTD :shock:

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » April 13th, 2011, 11:45 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Ok so while it will only cost me US$ 83.64 to fly to Barbados Departing a Friday and Returning a Monday..

While you're getting to travel free with a handbag or laptop, you have to pay for ANY baggage, price dependent on the size..

Check the extras...

SMS Confirmation is US$1

So by the time you're done your ticket that started at US$84 could very well end up being US$214.64.

How many bags you going with for a weekend flight and how many SMS notifications you need? :?

Yeo

Postby Yeo » April 13th, 2011, 11:49 am

Is luggages and grip she walkin with lol!

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 13th, 2011, 11:52 am

Lucian-2nr wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Ok so while it will only cost me US$ 83.64 to fly to Barbados Departing a Friday and Returning a Monday..

Check the extras...

SMS Confirmation is US$1

How many bags you going with for a weekend flight and how many SMS notifications you need? :?

ROFL.. :oops:
I'm just saying.. It;s the extras they're making their money off of.. because it's costing me more money to carry on small grip before taxes, than one leg of my flight!

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 13th, 2011, 11:54 am

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » April 13th, 2011, 11:55 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:http://www.flyredjet.com

He deleted the post before I could quote him... :lol:

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 13th, 2011, 11:59 am

HAH!
AND a Web Convenience fee of US $10

Well even after all that they still might be a bit cheaper than other airlines.

This however answers questions of "How they can offer US$9.99 flights and stay in business?"

Postby noshownogo » April 13th, 2011, 12:08 pm

nice marketing ploy to advertise at 9.99USD they still undercutting CAL and will surely make them second guess their pricing...let the price wars begin

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » April 13th, 2011, 12:10 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:HAH!

This however answers questions of "How they can offer US$9.99 flights and stay in business?"

Its a limited time offer.... their prices go up to 39.99 for barbados from Mid July or so... and it still works out to be less than LIAT & CAL.... savings of 100+ depending on how you travel...

I travel light so I am loving it!

CROP OVER!!! :mrgreen:

Postby SmokeyGTi » April 13th, 2011, 2:01 pm

is abot frikking time

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 13th, 2011, 2:29 pm

Lucian-2nr wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:HAH!

Its a limited time offer.... their prices go up to 39.99 for barbados from Mid July or so... and it still works out to be less than LIAT & CAL.... savings of 100+ depending on how you travel...

I travel light so I am loving it!

CROP OVER!!! :mrgreen:

You is one ah dem who does flip yuh jockey shorts inside out nah!? :lol: :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » April 13th, 2011, 2:38 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:You is one ah dem who does flip yuh jockey shorts inside out nah!? :lol: :lol:

in d islands, all you need is two swim trunks / bikinis.
wear, then dry (either on you), or swap next one on.

Postby noshownogo » April 13th, 2011, 2:40 pm

^reversible ftw

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 13th, 2011, 2:49 pm

noshownogo wrote:nice marketing ploy to advertise at 9.99USD they still undercutting CAL and will surely make them second guess their pricing...let the price wars begin

This not a ploy, it is a hybrid of the model used by WestJet and Southwest. So if you doh have carry peppah sauce and seasoning fuh family den your costs will be lower. Even with one piece of lugguage to and from Barbados cheaper than the oneway CAL sent me of $90 one way.

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » April 13th, 2011, 3:11 pm

just got booking confirmation for rally barbados, 3rd june to 6th june, US$94.64.00 (well not me, my cousin asked me to book for him)

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 13th, 2011, 3:18 pm

People don't understand the luggage issue, I'm totally not backing the fact that I should have to pay for luggage to go anywhere, but you have to understand why Airlines are doing it.

Less luggage means less weight on the plane, less weight means burn less fuel.

Personally I could give American a good swift kick in the groin for bringing their free allowance down to 1 piece for international travel.

Postby pete » April 13th, 2011, 3:26 pm

I think it's more that if less people bring a bag they have more space in the bay to ship cargo.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 13th, 2011, 3:29 pm

^ yup the cargo is where they make their money, which is why they can offer the seats so cheap - its a great budget airline business model!

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 13th, 2011, 3:29 pm

That's also a possibility..

As well as less bags to load in the cargo bins, so this facilitates faster turn arounds and helps with delays so as to not incur charges from the airport.

Postby tr1ad » April 13th, 2011, 3:34 pm

well then dont carry luggage

buy yuh clothes over there

then again women need two suitcases for a 5 day trip

men just need a backpack

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 13th, 2011, 3:43 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:People don't understand the luggage issue, I'm totally not backing the fact that I should have to pay for luggage to go anywhere, but you have to understand why Airlines are doing it.

Less luggage means less weight on the plane, less weight means burn less fuel.

Personally I could give American a good swift kick in the groin for bringing their free allowance down to 1 piece for international travel.

When did this happen? I just flew in Feb and my 2 pieces were free.

Postby wagonrunner » April 13th, 2011, 3:44 pm

tr1ad wrote:men just need a backpack

grip and bax geh upgraded?

Postby bushwakka » April 13th, 2011, 4:31 pm

hadda find out if they buy dem plane in de bamboo fuss

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 13th, 2011, 4:36 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:That's also a possibility..

As well as less bags to load in the cargo bins, so this facilitates faster turn arounds and helps with delays so as to not incur charges from the airport.
no possibility, that IS their business model, think it's the same for other low cost carriers too like JetBlue

the cargo carried is the same as if they were to take luggage - so its not about turn around time either

it is not economical for the airline to fly an empty plane :idea:

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » April 13th, 2011, 5:33 pm

Wouldn't doubt that inside the plane is level advertising.

Figured it was based on RyanAir model being Irish and all...