Friday, 08 April 2011 11:32
Giant Screen Entertainment today announced that they will be launching the first IMAX® Theatre in the Caribbean and will open this summer at One Woodbrook Place in Port of Spain, Trinidad. Ingrid Jahra, co- founder and CEO of Giant Screen Entertainment Limited, said "IMAX will change the way Trinidadians experience movies. IMAX brings sharp, enhanced images combined with the world's best sound system. Many of the films are in IMAX® 3D which will be the most immersive in Trinidad on the largest screen in the country, 40 by 70 feet".
Ms. Jahra explained that several corporate sponsors are supporting to subsidize the world's best cinema so it can be affordable to all Trinidadians. She also announced that Digicel is the title sponsor and the cinema will be called the "Digicel IMAX Theatre". IMAX will primarily screen Hollywood blockbusters that have been enhanced through IMAX's proprietary digital re-mastering process specifically for presentation in IMAX's format, and hopes to open this year with the IMAX version of Transformers in 3D and the final chapter of the Harry Potter series. Later this year there will be an IMAX version of many other great films like the next Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol and even Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stronger Tides has an enhanced IMAX version in 3D.
Digicel IMAX will also provide the ultimate field trip for schools as many of the morning films will be IMAX classical, fun educational films. Born to be Wild 3D, Hubble 3D and Under the Sea 3D are some of the films planned. Port of Spain will now have an ever changing field trip option. Digicel IMAX will also accommodate charity events and screenings and ensure everyone has an opportunity to experience IMAX.Ms. Jahra also thanked Atlantic, First Citizens, Carib, and ANSA Automotive for their support. All will contribute to subsidizing the ticket price and Atlantic will directly support the costs of schools in need of assistance.
"Everything in the IMAX theatre is designed to immerse the audience in the movie. With our partners at Giant Screen and an exciting slate of films that include Hollywood blockbusters and entertaining documentaries in 2D and 3D, we're looking forward to offering audiences in Trinidad a whole new way to experience movies," said Geoff Atkins, IMAX's Sr. Vice President and General Manager, The Americas.
IMAX digital projection systems showcase Hollywood blockbusters that have been digitally re-mastered into the unique image and sound quality of The IMAX Experience as well as original documentary-style IMAX content. Films are projected on a specially-designed IMAX screen that is slightly curved and moved forward to further immerse the audience. Images of exceptional quality, combined with IMAX's proprietary digital surround sound system and patented theatre geometry create "The IMAX Experience," making audiences feel as if they are IN the movie.
DTAC wrote:An IMAX screen in One Woodbrook Place? Going to be about $150 a ticket!
eliteauto wrote:inside
ek4ever wrote:DTAC wrote:An IMAX screen in One Woodbrook Place? Going to be about $150 a ticket!
Excellent! Hopefully this will keep the guntas out
Sky wrote:Parking?
pioneer wrote:can we talk to de screen n tell de actors how dotish dey is?
Laquisha wrote:EAR HOW THA MAN SO FCUKIN DOTISH DRED? EEF DAT WAS ME IIII WASN'T STAYIN IN DEY NAH!!! BEFORE HE LOOK TO RUN OUT DE HOUSE HE GOIN UPSTAIRS*stewwwwwwwwwwps*
A172 wrote:pioneer wrote:can we talk to de screen n tell de actors how dotish dey is?Laquisha wrote:EAR HOW THA MAN SO FCUKIN DOTISH DRED? EEF DAT WAS ME IIII WASN'T STAYIN IN DEY NAH!!! BEFORE HE LOOK TO RUN OUT DE HOUSE HE GOIN UPSTAIRS*stewwwwwwwwwwps*
zer0xp wrote:A172 wrote:pioneer wrote:can we talk to de screen n tell de actors how dotish dey is?Laquisha wrote:EAR HOW THA MAN SO FCUKIN DOTISH DRED? EEF DAT WAS ME IIII WASN'T STAYIN IN DEY NAH!!! BEFORE HE LOOK TO RUN OUT DE HOUSE HE GOIN UPSTAIRS*stewwwwwwwwwwps*
BUH AYE-AYE, LOOK HOW SHE ANSWA DE PHONE *high pitch* BUH WHA DE *low pitch* ASSSS IS DIS BOY? I WASN DOIN DA NAH, I WAS BAWLIN DONG DE PLACE
A172 wrote:zer0xp wrote:A172 wrote:pioneer wrote:can we talk to de screen n tell de actors how dotish dey is?Laquisha wrote:EAR HOW THA MAN SO FCUKIN DOTISH DRED? EEF DAT WAS ME IIII WASN'T STAYIN IN DEY NAH!!! BEFORE HE LOOK TO RUN OUT DE HOUSE HE GOIN UPSTAIRS*stewwwwwwwwwwps*
BUH AYE-AYE, LOOK HOW SHE ANSWA DE PHONE *high pitch* BUH WHA DE *low pitch* ASSSS IS DIS BOY? I WASN DOIN DA NAH, I WAS BAWLIN DONG DE PLACE
*gesturing at screen*OH GOAAAAAAAARR DIS OMAN EH PLAY SHE DOTISH NAH...DE MAN RITE DEY EEN DE ROOM....WAR SHE GOIN IN DEY FOR? DEM WHITE PEOPLE REALLY DOTISH FUH TRUE OUI*/gesture*
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ better than not having it at all
Sounds great, will definitely check it out when they open
zer0xp wrote:A172 wrote:zer0xp wrote:A172 wrote:pioneer wrote:can we talk to de screen n tell de actors how dotish dey is?Laquisha wrote:EAR HOW THA MAN SO FCUKIN DOTISH DRED? EEF DAT WAS ME IIII WASN'T STAYIN IN DEY NAH!!! BEFORE HE LOOK TO RUN OUT DE HOUSE HE GOIN UPSTAIRS*stewwwwwwwwwwps*
*gesturing at screen*OH GOAAAAAAAARR DIS OMAN EH PLAY SHE DOTISH NAH...DE MAN RITE DEY EEN DE ROOM....WAR SHE GOIN IN DEY FOR? DEM WHITE PEOPLE REALLY DOTISH FUH TRUE OUI*/gesture*
*kartel ringtone suddenly goes off* ..... ELLO.. EH HEH.. HUSH NAH GYUL I IN MOVIETONG.. YEH.. WHA YUH MEAN BIG-EAD AN SWANKYGYAL FALL OUT AGAIN? GYUL AHGO CALL YUH BACK JUS NOW EH.. HOLE ON.
Team Loco wrote:man the experience of Imax is simply out of this world.
zer0xp wrote:BUH AYE-AYE, LOOK HOW SHE ANSWA DE PHONE *high pitch* BUH WHA DE *low pitch* ASSSS IS DIS BOY? I WASN DOIN DA NAH, I WAS BAWLIN DONG DE PLACE
*kartel ringtone suddenly goes off* ..... ELLO.. EH HEH.. HUSH NAH GYUL I IN MOVIETONG.. YEH.. WHA YUH MEAN BIG-EAD AN SWANKYGYAL FALL OUT AGAIN? GYUL AHGO CALL YUH BACK JUS NOW EH.. HOLE ON.
dominion wrote:heard IMAX 3D is amazing, would love to experience that
Strugglerzinc wrote:http://www.ttentonline.com/press-release/imax-is-coming-to-trinidad-tobagoFriday, 08 April 2011 11:32
Giant Screen Entertainment today announced that they will be launching the first IMAX® Theatre in the Caribbean and will open this summer at One Woodbrook Place in Port of Spain, Trinidad. Ingrid Jahra, co- founder and CEO of Giant Screen Entertainment Limited