WTK: Where sells mud tires to fit 17" rims...???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
white_lion

WTK: Where sells mud tires to fit 17" rims...???

Postby white_lion » April 1st, 2011, 1:44 pm

As stated above I am looking for a place or person that sells mud terrain tires to fit 17" rims. Ideally would like to get a set maxxis bighorns but any other options are welcome.

thanks in advance...

white_lion

Re: WTK: Where sells mud tires to fit 17" rims...???

Postby white_lion » April 1st, 2011, 3:50 pm

helping out a friend of mine.
the tires would be used on these rims, 17" Mamba M1

Postby sliderz1 » April 1st, 2011, 10:41 pm

JD......

Postby JD...... » April 2nd, 2011, 2:29 am

dean wheels might be able to help with the Kuhmo M/T KL71

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 6th, 2011, 5:42 am

Where is this dean wheels?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 6th, 2011, 6:13 am

Diego martin.

When you reach by the intersection on the highway by KFC in diego martin, turn left to head towards the main road. When you reach the corner, you'll see "Dean's Wheels" - this is the tyre shop.

The Rims shop is a bit further down the main road; turn left from the tyre shop and head down about 1/4 mile and you'll see "Deans Wheels" on the left side - you can't miss it cuz the big monster-truck F-150 and some jimny's are parked up there.

633-RIMS.

white_lion

Postby white_lion » April 13th, 2011, 8:57 am

Thanks for the suggestion but dean's only had a set of 33's to fit 17" rims but got these at Mileage Mack in south. Mickey Thompson Baja MTZ - 265/75 17

looks wicked...

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 13th, 2011, 9:22 am

"You got those.." You bought them??

Scared to ask.. but what was the price?

badart

Postby badart » April 13th, 2011, 10:03 am

what vehicle? stock suspension?

droppa

Postby droppa » April 13th, 2011, 10:44 am

oh fork :crazyeyes:

those are frukkin sweet hoss

Postby sliderz1 » April 13th, 2011, 11:12 am

those threads look awesome

white_lion

Postby white_lion » April 13th, 2011, 12:18 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:"You got those.." You bought them??

Scared to ask.. but what was the price?

was not for me personally, was for a friend. yuh have reason to be scared, price was $2,200 each..!

badart wrote:what vehicle? stock suspension?

2009 Toyota Hilux with stock suspension. No fitment issues.

white_lion

Postby white_lion » April 13th, 2011, 12:24 pm

I personally went with the 32x11.5 Maxxis Bighorns on 15x10 steel rims. This is my second set of bighorns and after over 2 years and 40,000 km's of faithful service on the first set I have no complaints whatsoever...

droppa

Postby droppa » April 13th, 2011, 1:32 pm

thas the green hilux with the TRD Off Road logo on the tray.....

btw, that ranger supension not stock ent?

white_lion

Postby white_lion » April 13th, 2011, 1:50 pm

droppa wrote:thas the green hilux with the TRD Off Road logo on the tray.....

Nope, not green, this one....

droppa wrote:btw, that ranger supension not stock ent?

Ranger has stock suspension with 2" body lift and jacked torsion bars.

badart

Postby badart » April 13th, 2011, 2:50 pm

ranger n the hilux looking sweet, but noticed in both tht piece of the fender is missing, had to remove it to prevent the tires from rubbing?

white_lion

Postby white_lion » April 13th, 2011, 3:13 pm

haha, nah, the ranger is mine. ripped off one while off-roadin so just removed the other one for aesthetic purposes, the hilux was in a small bounce and new flare was never purchased.

both are going to be equipped with custom made steel front bumpers in the near future...

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 13th, 2011, 3:49 pm

I see that ranger is East/West traffic all the time..(unless it have a next one with that flare missing)
SWEAR it had a lift kit and not only a body lift. Looks reallll high for only a body lift!!

Where'd you get the body lift done? any problems? know of anyone that did it on a 2010 model?

Has a shovel sometimes on the outside below the back glass? I does wonder if iz people the owner disposing off!

Haunted

Postby Haunted » April 13th, 2011, 8:28 pm

you get higher lifts with a body lift than a suspension lift

droppa

Postby droppa » April 14th, 2011, 9:51 am

Ranger has stock suspension with 2" body lift and jacked torsion bars.

what were the disadvantages of jacking the torsion,
stiffer or softer ride?
more or less bounciness?
possibility of breaking a torsion under extreme ruff up?

white_lion

Postby white_lion » April 14th, 2011, 10:53 am

Jeremy Mohd wrote:I see that ranger is East/West traffic all the time..(unless it have a next one with that flare missing)
SWEAR it had a lift kit and not only a body lift. Looks reallll high for only a body lift!!

Where'd you get the body lift done? any problems? know of anyone that did it on a 2010 model?

Has a shovel sometimes on the outside below the back glass? I does wonder if iz people the owner disposing off!

East/West traffic... check. Missing flares... check. Shovel at back... check.
Yup, that's me. Did the body lift myself, issues encountered are as follows;
- crash bar behind bumper has to be removed or raised as it is bolted to chassis through the front of the body. (removed mine as i am building an all steel front bumper)
- radiator shroud needs to be removed due to clutch fan now being lower.
- lower radiator hose needs to be modified to accommodate for raising of the radiator. (used a mazda 929 lower hose joined to original) [also to be noted, I do not have a stock radiator installed so their may be slight differences..!]
- shifter plate needs to be trimmed to allow gears to engage properly.
- rear brake lines needs to be unbolted from front of chassis to free up some tension.
- intercooler hoses need a lil trimming to prevent kinking.
- front brake lines are almost maxed, had to loosen clip on caliper to free it up a lil bit. although i do plan on getting longer lines just to be safe.
That's basically it, maybe a couple other small things that i can't remember at the moment. The tray was very straight forward and was done on an afternoon by myself, the cab, however took the better part of a day to complete everything and have it up and running. No major difference in handling was noticed.

The 2010 Ranger would be no different as everything is basically mechanically identical and I know one or two that actually did a 3" body lift and are running 33's with quite a bit of trimming on the inside of the front fenders.

droppa wrote:what were the disadvantages of jacking the torsion,
stiffer or softer ride?
more or less bounciness?
possibility of breaking a torsion under extreme ruff up?

The main reason for jacking the torsion bars was to raise the front for more ground clearance and also to give it a more leveled look. Really can't stand the 'cock-bottom' look of a lot of the vans on the road today.
With regards to the stiffness, that aspect was never really a concern as I prefer a stiff ride and usually run my tires at a high pressure, generally around 36-40 psi for everyday road driving, but go down to as little as 12 psi in the mud.
Been running jacked torsion bars and mud tires for close to 3 years now without a problem, and trust me when I say, I doh baby it at all...!

Haunted

Postby Haunted » April 14th, 2011, 11:25 am

truck looking good man....vega should be lots of fun next time around
i saw you did something with the tailgate

Haunted

Postby Haunted » April 14th, 2011, 11:28 am

other question
how high you runnin your torsion bars?

white_lion

Postby white_lion » April 14th, 2011, 12:22 pm

Haunted wrote:truck looking good man....vega should be lots of fun next time around
i saw you did something with the tailgate

Yup, made my own. High visibility, low drag. Could feel a difference on the highway, it accelerates from cruising speed a lot easier and makes the world of difference when reversing and parking.

Haunted wrote:how high you runnin your torsion bars?

Can't say exactly but it's not maxed out. Raised it only until the stance was visibly level, using measurements from the ground to the bottom of the fender flare to ensure both sides were raised equally (however do not use the rear height as a guide cuz the front cannot go as high). My rear height from ground to bottom of fender flare is 39" and the front is 37.75". When doing it be sure that all tires have equal pressure and that the vehicle is on level ground.

But, in your case, you have a suspension lift which raises the rear more than the front so heights will be different and attaining a leveled look may not be possible.

JD......

Postby JD...... » April 14th, 2011, 12:54 pm

only problem i got with raised torsions is when going over speed bumps the front lower control arm hits the lower bump stops, basically when you raise the front you loose distance the front wheels will drop.
My ironman torsions sagged a bit but gonna raise them back up later

droppa

Postby droppa » April 14th, 2011, 1:46 pm

thats real good news, cause i heard some pp, saying that cranked torsions can easily strip or break......

i am planning on cranking mine about 1.5 inches soon to clear 33s on 15x8 rims.....

Haunted

Postby Haunted » April 15th, 2011, 12:13 am

JD...... wrote:only problem i got with raised torsions is when going over speed bumps the front lower control arm hits the lower bump stops, basically when you raise the front you loose distance the front wheels will drop.
My ironman torsions sagged a bit but gonna raise them back up later

JD what you think is the most we can run our torsions at?
im kinda scared to crank mine any more.. my front is runnin 34 and im yet to raise it since i swapped suspensions

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”