WTK : Gas mileage

Re: WTK : Gas mileage

Postby rollingstock » March 24th, 2011, 6:38 am

Yep, lighten yuh right foot, does wonders for your economy. I'm serious.

Postby Dave » March 24th, 2011, 8:38 am

most cars generally have the best mileage around 80km assuming the vehicle is in good service

Postby MG Man » March 24th, 2011, 12:54 pm

Dave wrote:most cars generally have the best mileage around 80km assuming the vehicle is in good service

yup
alth surprisingly with the CVT driving hard does not make as much of a dent in consumption as with a regular auto or manual...

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » March 30th, 2011, 8:53 pm

got 400km from a $100 filled at another gas station

Postby sliderz1 » March 30th, 2011, 9:12 pm

^^ yuh bac in d game den

oxidation

Postby oxidation » March 30th, 2011, 9:46 pm

i usually get about 500 - 520 km per $100 in my B15 QG 15 e throttle....

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » March 30th, 2011, 9:58 pm

^^^^^ main road or highway?

Postby sliderz1 » March 30th, 2011, 10:26 pm

^^ da hadda b highway wit ah CAI

FASTec

Postby FASTec » March 31st, 2011, 12:36 am

E throttle is electronic, so you suppose to get good mileage from that car due to the fact its not fully human controlled.

oxidation

Postby oxidation » March 31st, 2011, 11:37 am

h/way most of d times lol

on city i usually get 400 - 450

oxidation

Postby oxidation » March 31st, 2011, 11:38 am

ohh yea no CAI stock box with dem sakura filter

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » March 31st, 2011, 7:08 pm

MG Man wrote:My AE111 corolla averages 11 - 12 kms / liter in mixed, mostly traffic driving
On long journeys / highway, I get as much as 13kms / liter, with a smooth, relaxed driving style: no hard acceleration, maintaining 80kph on highways etc
Only 'mod' on the engine is a K&N drop in filter

The AE111 I drive has the exact same K&N mod as yours. Using premium fuel, I have an average (highway and city) of 8.23l per 100km (12.15 km/l) since I started recording the gas mileage.

The best I ever got was 13.2km/l. This is with the A/C on ALL the time, and when on the highway, speed varies between 80-100km/h.

I can't really complain nah! :)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 4th, 2011, 11:45 am

anyone notice any economy drop within recent week(s) of filling (super)?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 5th, 2011, 12:43 pm

Currently averaging over 400 KM to $150 Premium which is about 10.66km/l

Best I ever did was 12.37km/l

I have CVT :)

What I do is keep my RPM below 2200. If I'm in a rush... 2600 RPM gets me to 120kmph.

Right now I spend a lot of time idling so I'm 100% sure I can get more than 500KM out of a tank.

Is there anything else I can do to improve efficiency?

Postby MG Man » April 5th, 2011, 10:11 pm

Jonathan wrote:
MG Man wrote:My AE111 corolla averages 11 - 12 kms / liter in mixed, mostly traffic driving
On long journeys / highway, I get as much as 13kms / liter, with a smooth, relaxed driving style: no hard acceleration, maintaining 80kph on highways etc
Only 'mod' on the engine is a K&N drop in filter

The AE111 I drive has the exact same K&N mod as yours. Using premium fuel, I have an average (highway and city) of 8.23l per 100km (12.15 km/l) since I started recording the gas mileage.

The best I ever got was 13.2km/l. This is with the A/C on ALL the time, and when on the highway, speed varies between 80-100km/h.

I can't really complain nah! :)

we stopped running premium when prices went up
only difference is the car seems to idle slightly rough now
The MINI averagin a solid 10km / l for a while now

Postby Morpheus » April 5th, 2011, 11:45 pm

:? 350km on $160 Premium

Lancer CK4 MIVEC 1600cc

:twisted: Very varied driving though. Tiptronic mode often and hitting 6000rpm each gear change now and then :oops:

One of these days I will fill the tank, start leaving home a 20mins earlier, take the extreme left lane and do some Tantie driving and see how the fuel economy looks. That is going to be a tough do :lol:

Nice thread BTW

air wick

Postby air wick » April 6th, 2011, 3:32 pm

about 260km on $150 premium subaru wrx (10psi) in stock form no tune it works out to 16mpg

I get more mileage on h-way runs

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » April 6th, 2011, 5:31 pm

350 km 150$ premium very spirited driving/typical mileage 9.3 km/l (cruising speed 140-150)
380 km 150$ premium not crossing 4k rpm 10.1 km/l (cruising speed 90-100km)
450 km 150$ premium not crossing 2.5k rpm 12 km/l (cruising speed 80km)
Mazda 323 1.5vvt. manual no a/c

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 7th, 2011, 8:28 am

Travis wrote:about 260km on $150 premium subaru wrx (10psi) in stock form no tune it works out to 16mpg

You're burning more gas than a V12 :shock:

air wick

Postby air wick » April 7th, 2011, 8:52 pm

LOL it could be much less though, h-way runs only is about 350km per $150 prem.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 11th, 2011, 10:07 am

highway runs are really good for me....had to make 2 last week, and got 586km from a tankful.....re-fill cost me $162 super....

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » April 11th, 2011, 2:02 pm

^^ what vehicel?

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » April 11th, 2011, 3:59 pm

Travis wrote:about 260km on $150 premium subaru wrx (10psi) in stock form no tune it works out to 16mpg

Reading through this thread I was beginning to think I had some serious fuel consumption issues! But Travis confirmed I'm not alone!

I always fill up at 1/4 tank.

1st car: 97 Accord with F20B2. Injen intake. 16" wheels. Driving style: hard. Rio Claro to San Fernando. +/- 250 km per 3/4 tank fuel. Ran mostly premium fuel. Used to be about $100 for 3/4 tank before Premium went up. That was about 33 litres.

2nd car: Primera with SR20DET. Driving style: hard. 10 psi. 17" wheels. Chaguanas to PoS. 230-250 km per 3/4 tank premium.

3rd car: Xtrail with QR20. Bone stock straight from Massy. Driving style: hard. 18" wheels (not crims eh!). In and around Central with some Rio Claro runs. 220-240 km per 3/4 tank premium.

The mileage is very low compared to what men stating on here, but there are a few things common between the three cases:
1. Engine size.
2. Driving style.
3. Consumption.

In all cases though, the average consumption works out to be approx. 7-8 km/l.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 15th, 2011, 8:55 am

nareshseep wrote:^^ what vehicel?

230JK Teana....and that was with a/c right through...

Postby pete » April 19th, 2011, 4:02 pm

Suzuki swift 1.5 Manual

Averaging about 5km/$1Super or about 14.3km/litre or 33MPG.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » April 21st, 2011, 7:10 am

Did some calculations as I filled up last night. I currently average 35 cents to the km and it's roughly 18km from home to work, which works out to $6.30...

So I'd spend 30 cents more to travel in the comfort of my car rather than walking down to the bus route then walking to work :?

And this is PREMIUM fuel too

Postby sliderz1 » April 30th, 2011, 8:25 pm

DJ Q wrote:And this is PREMIUM fuel too

dats d problem

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 5th, 2011, 7:27 am

So I used my car to do some testing.

Driving through the same conditions, same driving style:

Car: Rover 216SLi
Engine Size: 1.6
Driving style: Calm/Comfort

A/C OFF:
- $155 empty to full
- Avg. $0.36/km

A/C ON (right through)
- $155 empty to full
- Avg. $0.44/km

That's a really big difference.... but check this!

A/C when really necessary:
- $155 empty to full
- Avg. $0.37/km

What does this all mean?
If it's not that hot... leave the windows down. Saves you a hell of a lot in gas.

I also have some issues with my car known to me that will improve my mileage once rectified:

- Restricted airflow due to broken hose (already ordered a K&N CAI kit)
- Realised this morning that my tyre pressure seems a bit low, will top that up this evening

Hope this helps some of you :D

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 5th, 2011, 6:50 pm

wow, I get $0.30/km with a/c right through with this 2.3l v6.....and that's with short distance driving (max 30km per day)..but I guess more powerful motor pulls weight of car more easily.....I've read where similar car model as mine but with the 3.5l v6 motor actually gets slightly better economy than I do..around $0.29per km.......but I'm up on them in that they MUST use premium fuel while super works just fine on my motor.....

Postby sliderz1 » May 5th, 2011, 7:49 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:wow, I get $0.30/km with a/c right through with this 2.3l v6.....and that's with short distance driving (max 30km per day)..but I guess more powerful motor pulls weight of car more easily.....I've read where similar car model as mine but with the 3.5l v6 motor actually gets slightly better economy than I do..around $0.29per km.......but I'm up on them in that they MUST use premium fuel while super works just fine on my motor.....

frm previous post.........dat 2.3 V6 is in d new cefiro??