Mini Diesel Run...

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

jhonnieblue

Re: Mini Diesel Run...

Postby jhonnieblue » March 21st, 2011, 5:18 pm

:(
i real miss out, stupid virus sigh
nex one i there for sure
got up early and all to come, but the fever was too high :(

nex run i in for sure
with the black beauty of my nav :)

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 21st, 2011, 7:30 pm

jhonnieblue wrote::(
i real miss out, stupid virus sigh
nex one i there for sure
got up early and all to come, but the fever was too high :(

nex run i in for sure
with the black beauty of my nav :)

4x2's had no place being on dat run, d 4x4's were strugglin after d rain.....jus ask Rotated padna, Style was it??

droppa

Postby droppa » March 21st, 2011, 8:09 pm

Jhonnie u would not have wanted to go tru that forest with ur van dog!

So this run have the two gas powered vans missing front hubs,
Hmmmmm something strange here!

Underwashed and body washed tody, inside will do tomorow, it not that dirty
Newspapers worked real good.

Rotated

Postby Rotated » March 21st, 2011, 8:31 pm

Meh Partner with the Navara (style) did like the experience,he has to join the forum,he is also anxious to change his tyres and come on the next run.(Not to sure abt his Mrs watching all that mud on her husbands van.)LoL...But nevertheless we all had a great time.
Speedy yuh still mad in my book to take a 4x2 and enter 4x4 terrain.Hats off bro...
Jeremy doh talk bout Automatics is for girls when U know both the Blue Ranger and the Hilux running Autos and still making the trail...LoL.
We must say thanx to "Shortman/Sanjay" for getting the Keys for the Barrier,even though it was one tyre and rear Light too late.He did make mention that if we plan to take on that trail again to let him know and he would leave the lock open.(Doesn't sound too bad if the weather dries up)Remember we still have to go and collect the piece of "Grating" that we left behind...LoL.

I did clean up the interior of the Van today and boy was it dirty!Plan to leave the outside the way it is for a while.(Jus enjoying the looks of people who pass by)

And oh by the way the 24's still surviving.

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 21st, 2011, 8:35 pm

i dont see what people have against auto's.... for the offroading we do down here auto's is the perfect thing...

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 21st, 2011, 8:40 pm

droppa wrote:Jhonnie u would not have wanted to go tru that forest with ur van dog!

So this run have the two gas powered vans missing front hubs,
Hmmmmm something strange here!

Underwashed and body washed tody, inside will do tomorow, it not that dirty
Newspapers worked real good.

for relll! not me again and that traill! waiting for brasso tho! :D hehe!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 21st, 2011, 8:41 pm

Rotated wrote:Meh Partner with the Navara (style) did like the experience,he has to join the forum,he is also anxious to change his tyres and come on the next run.(Not to sure abt his Mrs watching all that mud on her husbands van.)LoL...But nevertheless we all had a great time.
Speedy yuh still mad in my book to take a 4x2 and enter 4x4 terrain.Hats off bro...
Jeremy doh talk bout Automatics is for girls when U know both the Blue Ranger and the Hilux running Autos and still making the trail...LoL.
We must say thanx to "Shortman/Sanjay" for getting the Keys for the Barrier,even though it was one tyre and rear Light too late.He did make mention that if we plan to take on that trail again to let him know and he would leave the lock open.(Doesn't sound too bad if the weather dries up)Remember we still have to go and collect the piece of "Grating" that we left behind...LoL.

I did clean up the interior of the Van today and boy was it dirty!Plan to leave the outside the way it is for a while.(Jus enjoying the looks of people who pass by)

And oh by the way the 24's still surviving.

thx man! :D!!

Rotated

Postby Rotated » March 21st, 2011, 8:44 pm

I second that....Don't forget dealing with all the traffic on these roads...But seriously a Van with a good powerplant and Auto tranny is a good combination for us here in Trini.

Guys Load some more Pics and Vids of the Run PLEASE...(Patiently waiting)................................. ...............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Still here Waiting.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 21st, 2011, 9:24 pm

^droppa have a video of me doing a quick summary of the day's run, hope he post it sometime soon.

I on call tonight so if I get to leave early I'll try to post the rest of the pics.

Rotated - for real, I real thankful to Sanjay for helping us out. If it wasn't for him, the evening would have stretched out longer. But he was real cool, and hats off to him. Sorry we couldn't really lime with him after, but the guys in my van had to go home and we were all tired.

Aye yuh get yuh two 10-bolt and stick back on yuh number plate? I eh stick on my plastic finisher on my bumper yet... Too tired/lazy.

After seeing what happened to yuh pardner Nav, I felt its pain, hope he gets that sidestep straightened out - otherwise send him to ROC in bamboo, they have original parts for much cheaper than N&M.

Rotated

Postby Rotated » March 21st, 2011, 10:17 pm

Number Plate back in ah Order and ready for the next run.

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » March 21st, 2011, 11:02 pm

Right. Now relaxing home after a long day of tire hunting and school. Got the tire replaced for $30 as 3stagevtec said. The tire change cost more than the tire itself! LOL. Who ever used it before has his vehicle at a bad camber so the inside of the tire is not too far off the tire wear indicator but the outside is really good. Lucky me.

As for the actual washing of the vehicle, nothing has changed from last night. Underneath of the vehicle is cleaner than the body of the vehicle and the inside is still a mess. Will have to wipe down the interior with a wet cloth to remove all the sand. Might even take the leaf blower to it. Everything else is fine in the vehicle, so I'm really happy.

Now for the pictures:

Strapped up and ready to pull speedy.

The dreaded drain/river.

I give them credit. They real work hard this run. Thanks for the assistance guys.

Ah Yes! The first weight reduction. Yuh didn't stick though!

Group Photo. Showoff those parts with pride.

At least rotated balls were still in order. However, the 24's didn't need balls for this run. Well done!

FROM HERE IS AFTER THE GROUP SPLIT INTO TWO:

Dropping the pressure in the tires for a steep hill up ahead.

Dropping the pressure in the tires really does make a huge difference. The brown ranger, I think it was civic minded, was having problems to climb the steep hill. We tried giving him a push and weighing down the tray of the van to get him to climb it but nothing worked. When he gave it power the wheels were just spinning and he was moving off really slow. However, as soon as he dropped the pressure, the van took off like a bullet and made it all the way up the hill in one go. So there is a top tip, when in deep mud and need some traction, drop the pressure!

Mazda like the mud.

Mazda, Toyota, Ford.

Time to collect speedy. It should be noted that all he needed was a little pull at start and he ended up driving out himself. Not sure where he got the traction but the van worked.

Tug-Of-War!

And I was so close to making it out without getting stuck too!! *sigh*
In my defense, I only had 2WD (Even with 4WD on, the diff would only send power to the flat tire) and the van was too big to get move around the trees with some momentum. Plus the last thing I wanted to do was damage those alloys.

Thanks again guys for the help in changing the tire. Especially the guy with the red jersey and the other B2500 owner. It was a good thing it got punctured near the road. I really don't know how I would jack up the van in that soft mud to change the tire. The jack would just sink! Something all should be aware of. Scout the path you are going to drive through for any cut trees or anything that can damage your tire.

The day went good no matter the difficulties. Think of it like this, we have one hell of a story to tell. This is one trail we can feel proud off. We conquered the worst trail we could imagine for our vehicles.
(Videos will be posted tomorrow when I get time to upload them to YouTube. I still have to finish clean out the interior of the van and inside the skid plate under the van. And yea, it's a lot of videos)

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » March 21st, 2011, 11:08 pm

The cleaning:

Oh lawd. Next time I'm gonna pay for an underwash. That was just too much mud under the house. My mother flipped when she saw all that forest. The good thing is though, I got good top soil for the plants around the house :D

Nice and clean. Well sorta.

Just pressure washed the van to get off the heavy mud. If that dries, it will be twice as hard to get off.

As for those guys driving around with the mud still on their van, I agree with you 100%. The look on people faces when they see the van covered in so much mud is priceless. On the way home from the run, I will breaking down in tears laughing at the different reactions.

As for the inside of the van with all the news paper I used. It didn't last out the entire run, but a lot cleaner than if I didn't put it. :D

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 22nd, 2011, 1:24 am

i think the mud monster got everyone....lol

Postby 3stagevtec » March 22nd, 2011, 8:54 am

Just FYI..

This started as a Grade 1 trail..

Turned Grade 2 after the rain..

Grade 3 is what Morne Diablo looks like in it's worse.. (see http://ttorc.org.tt/ - Events (Pics) - 2009 - Noc 22th Morne Diablo for pics of an actual Grade 3)

Grade 4 is similar to Grade 3 but with more danger included..

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 22nd, 2011, 9:00 am

lord check mud. my van woulda cry if that mud was on d inside lol

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 22nd, 2011, 3:33 pm

3stagevtec wrote:Just FYI..

Grade 3 is what Morne Diablo looks like in it's worse.. (see http://ttorc.org.tt/ - Events (Pics) - 2009 - Noc 22th Morne Diablo for pics of an actual Grade 3)

WTF!! i tink al sit dat one out...

Postby 3stagevtec » March 22nd, 2011, 5:19 pm

MrCuddles wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:Just FYI..

WTF!! i tink al sit dat one out...

Morne Diablo is an odd trail.. some times of the year, a drop low Civic can drive through without any issues, I actually saw cars in there already! other times, you will need a fully built rig on massive MTs to even stand a chance..

I was hoping we can get it somewhere right in the middle..

like this..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 22nd, 2011, 6:41 pm

3stage... dude, where did your door panel go?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WpZKMX52 ... page#t=91s

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » March 22nd, 2011, 7:34 pm

lighthammer wrote:3stage... dude, where did your door panel go?

LOL. We took that off earlier in the week before we went on that trail. Was still doing some work on the door.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 22nd, 2011, 7:38 pm

attempt @ wieght reduction maybe??

Postby 3stagevtec » March 22nd, 2011, 8:30 pm

lighthammer wrote:3stage... dude, where did your door panel go?

was working on enhancing the midbass from the front doors. i sealed off all the holes with fiberglass / resin and sound deadener. i like my bass pumpin!!

btw, how did you get to set the start time on the youtube vid?? from the link..?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 22nd, 2011, 10:19 pm

^^ was wondering that too!

droppa

Postby droppa » March 23rd, 2011, 8:40 am

all the vids i have, my batteries died and half the time the cam was in the truck.....

watch how nice and dry the place was.........

navaras can do it in style too

get on brian......

a few words from the top gun

droppa

Postby droppa » March 23rd, 2011, 9:10 am

and some of my pics........

cuddles "am I holding this thingee the right way"

the top gun, where u get that juzzy boi.....

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 23rd, 2011, 9:53 am

:shock: i didnt evn realize style side step get effed up!! wen dat happen?

droppa

Postby droppa » March 23rd, 2011, 10:01 am

looked like on the way out, cuz from the vid it looks normel wen he went in.....

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 23rd, 2011, 11:00 am

probly happened wen he was tryna get past d gate.....dat wasnt a track na, dat was a trap!!

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » March 23rd, 2011, 11:19 am

ya sure right that was a trap.....

badart

Postby badart » March 23rd, 2011, 2:31 pm

those vids look like it from the 1980's lol good job though, one of these days i mite be able to come on a run

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 23rd, 2011, 3:16 pm

allyuh make a real big run deh yuh know.. ;)
Good Job!

Return to “Off Road Runs”