Mini Diesel Run...

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

DooMRR

Re: Mini Diesel Run...

Postby DooMRR » March 20th, 2011, 12:12 am

Right guys. A little list on what I'm carrying and some other checks. Just so you all can compare. Never know what you might forget or something you didn't think of.

> Oil at proper level
> Tires properly pressurized. (Might have to drop the pressure if the mud it like caramel)
> Coolant level good
> Wind shield water bottle fulled

> Drinking Water + Extra water to use for things such as washing hands
> Mosquito Repellent
> Baby Oil (It apparently keeps away sand flies). In my case, I don't have any, so I will try hand cream
> Sun Screen (It's gonna have a lot of sun)
> Shovel (Need I explain?)
> Old news papers and maskin tape (good if you want to wrap up muddy things)
> Cell phones THAT ARE TOPPED UP AND FULLY CHARGED
> Tow Rope
> Cutlass
> Knife
> Walkie Talkies
> Old waste cloths
> Cooler

That is all I believe we will need. Feel free to add to the list if there is anything I'm forgetting.

lighthammer wrote:I going and put dong some newspaper underneath my floormats to protect the carpet... and Scotchguard the seats to make them water-resistant (and hopefully mud-resistant too!)

Good advice here! I also wrapped my floor mats too because it takes a lot of effort to clean those mats without it drying and turning white.

Not sure about using scotchguard though. I never used it and I don't know if it will be able to come off. Will take a look at how it is when we meet up later today.

Also. I was suppose to ask. Anyone organize with a car wash after this run? I don't mind a simple wash on my van after. Just want to get off the heavy mud so it doesn't turn my yard into the next off-road site. I'll do my proper wash when I get home. It's a Sunday, so the regular car wash will be close. I believe there is a gas station near cross-crossing that washes vehicles. Don't know if they will be open.

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 20th, 2011, 12:39 am

take win dey bro!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 20th, 2011, 1:09 am

MrCuddles wrote:^looks like its jus me an u meetin pizza hut tmrw mornin......hp dem fellas get there on time :roll:

No worries - Rotated gonna be there too, he coming with ah pardna, so be on the lookout for the 'lux.

I'll try my best to be on time, but I has a couple passengers to pick up along the way.
If anything, droppa and the rest of those guys in price plaza could go ahead to gulf, and i'll catch up with u for sure by 8am.

We'll do the safety briefing - for the benefit of the new guys - and then a short trail briefing as well.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 20th, 2011, 1:10 am

^^ de man lurve his Mazda, who could blame him?
Putting paper on the pedals - that's dedication - respect to u bro :D

I already scotch-guarded the seats and flooring - it dries clear so no worries about staining. Only thing was I had to open all 4 doors, cuz I was getting high off the aerosol :D 8)

Nah but that mud was like clay, real sticky. Had trouble washing off my slippers and all.

Right... so my pelau now finish bubbling down, just have to wake up early and finish some more snacks, final packing and then I ready.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 20th, 2011, 1:28 am

Jeremey, please don't give away your cutlass again to some random piper like last time.... esp when we might need it most :D.

At least make de man use it to chap dong some small tree for us before he gone he way nah :lol: :lol:

Smeed

Postby Smeed » March 20th, 2011, 2:47 am

Baby Oil (It apparently keeps away sand flies). In my case, I don't have any, so I will try hand cream....depending on the scenet it will attract them more!! try de baby oil....it does work good!! pick it up in superpharm by gulf city dey

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 20th, 2011, 5:43 am

***** WAKE UP ******

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 20th, 2011, 6:42 am

ah wake up!

Postby 3stagevtec » March 20th, 2011, 9:02 am

In Siparia by the fiancee.. Where alyuh!! :D

So Rotated coming too! sweet! Time to put those 24"s to a real test!

and for once I'm not the only gas powered vehicle on a run.. lol

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » March 20th, 2011, 10:31 am

jus came across this thread browsing. seem like a cool bunch. how does a guy join?

Postby 3stagevtec » March 20th, 2011, 6:39 pm

I hear alyuh was asking for MUD!! :lol:

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 20th, 2011, 7:07 pm

HOME!!! as meh mudda see meh she say "go an bade!!" lol

it was a rel bess run fellas, cant wait to do it agen......but wit som beta scouts nex time ;)

Rotated

Postby Rotated » March 20th, 2011, 8:10 pm

Mud/Mud/And more Mud.....Shall i say more....The day was great guys and gals,really nice to make the run with you all...Looking foward to the pictures and the Vids.
Right now I have to go and look for some 10bolts to re-attatch the number plate..LoL.

droppa

Postby droppa » March 20th, 2011, 8:50 pm

What a day, a great day too guys and gals
We had 12 trucks and every one made it out the forest
Well nex time for sure, hope u all get homme safely

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 20th, 2011, 9:03 pm

yess guys!! great day indeed!!!!! think some damage was done to my van tho!! :|! when i cross 60Km/h.. my van is vibrating violently! i drove all the way home under 60... think my steering Rack got damaged.... will check tmr... and update... but home safely.. main thing.... peace..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 20th, 2011, 9:21 pm

yeah fellas, now reach home. tired like heck. Thanks for coming to all, and I'm so very thankful we had no accidents or injuries - just a couple pieced of trucks flying off (including a plastic piece of my bumper and rotated license plate).

Good teamwork to all, we banded together and helped each other out. we ran into some serious trouble a couple times, but we helped each other out and made it out of that difficult track.

Stay tuned for pics and a writie up - i goin and unload my van, and then try to stick back on my plastic bumper!

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 20th, 2011, 10:08 pm

excellent run again.... Realllll fun!!!
Especiallyyy after the RAINN. :)

Anyone have a link up wid ah decent underwash/wash man, please lemme know..
Fedup getting rob by them fellas in curepe and the only odder good man I know does work when he feel like in Cumoto.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 20th, 2011, 10:19 pm

yeaa boy dem men in curepe!! rell wickedd!

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » March 20th, 2011, 10:25 pm

hey guys and gals hope everyone has reached home safe....not sure about you guys but am extreamly tired cause i had so much fun and challenges... Can't wait to do it again....... Peace :mrgreen:

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 20th, 2011, 10:41 pm

sono wrote:jus came across this thread browsing. seem like a cool bunch. how does a guy join?

:idea: get a diesel vehicle!

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » March 20th, 2011, 10:52 pm

MrCuddles wrote:
sono wrote:jus came across this thread browsing. seem like a cool bunch. how does a guy join?

lol. working on that mc enerary sticking though. made a down payment on a ranger but they dont hav the colour in stock so gotta wait for the shipment to cum in. thinkin of retractin that. any other criteria 4 the group? most of the dudes here have loads of experience with trucks so maybe sum advice/ preference to ranger/ navara? im thinking auto though... thanks a lot fellas
Last edited by Sierra-117 on March 20th, 2011, 10:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 20th, 2011, 10:53 pm

NAh, if he have a suitable gas vehicle, he could come through man!

Jeremy - since u in Rio so often, if you ever passing Grande side, Chow's auto services, just opposite courts in Grande on the main road - underwash and shock oil = $120.00

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 20th, 2011, 10:57 pm

sono wrote:
MrCuddles wrote:

lol. working on that mc enerary sticking though. any other criteria? most of the dudes here have loads of experience with truck so maybe sum advice/ preference to ranger/ navara? im thinking auto though... thanks a lot fellas

Sono - I'll be totally honest with you, Navara isn't the most ideal vehicle to go off-roading with, it's not set-up properly when it's in stock condition. You'll have to do some mods or at the very least upgrade your tires to all-terrains to make it with a Navara. But once you do, you'll do well.

Better vehicle - in stock form - is the Ranger. I not afraid to admit it, a stock ranger with the stock Dueler AT's will do better ON A TRAIL than a stock Navara with the dunlop highway tyres. But with similar equipment, both will do well. Just that the Navara have a little more space, but is longer and will need more maneuvering on a narrow trail.

droppa

Postby droppa » March 20th, 2011, 11:04 pm

Speedy I don't think anything wrong with ur steeringg, most likely its jus the mud on the wheels causing thatat, I does get the same problem when my rims hav real heavy mud on them

Who say maracas for a bake and shark tomorow!

Brian ur front wheels out real bad boi, yuh need to camber asap!

Rotated yuh padna look like he go get some good hoonch up and clout up, he madam looked cross!

Side B, let us try and actually make it to the beach nex time plz

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » March 20th, 2011, 11:04 pm

reading the blog now. thanks man. any other takers? perhaps a navara driver? btw, what about the hilux?

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 20th, 2011, 11:08 pm

how was it?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 20th, 2011, 11:08 pm

^^ sono I drive a Navara, but for hardcore off-roading i'd choose a Ranger. I plan to modify my Nav with a lift kit and some more aggressive tyres in the future, but for now it holds its own on the trails with the Pirelli Scorpion all-terrain tyres (ask them fellas), plus my passengers didn't have to fight for space in the backseat.

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » March 20th, 2011, 11:13 pm

yea boi i know that... i went to align yesterday but the camber suppose to adjust itself wen the springs are settled.... but i'll tell u this after this run my Vitara riding smoother than b4... i think the springs are now starting to settled but i'll give it a week again b4 i go back to check the alignment man :mrgreen:

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » March 20th, 2011, 11:32 pm

cool. so i got the ranger and the navara... any hilux drivers? just wanna cover all bases befor i commit 100%

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 20th, 2011, 11:41 pm

droppa wrote:Side B, let us try and actually make it to the beach nex time plz

wah beach?!? like u eh realize we turn it into a river lime....
hahahahaaaaaa

Return to “Off Road Runs”