achillies wrote:Guys, torrents are mostly illegal
achillies wrote:though it may seem unfair to us the customers, the company, FLOW also has take the steps necessary to keep their network running in an optimal way, having all these customer maxing a connection downloading copyrighted material may be putting their network at a risk in a way that we may never know
achillies wrote:if u do the research u would see that its a known practice to shape traffic because using torrents to download copyrighted intellectual property is giving away a lot of bandwidth to abusers.
achillies wrote:sorry guys, the problem is affecting me also but i'm in the wrong so i really cant and shouldn't complain.
ABA Trading LTD wrote:wait na..a 4 page thread thats a business/commercial complaint?
interesting.
achillies wrote:All I'm trying to do is present the case from another side, Y do u think they are shaping traffic, because I am sure they are shaping. Information is what we do not have and without information we will be spinning a top in mud trying to figure out whats going on, but i ask again, why do u think they are shaping, cause they would not shape the traffic if they dont have to.
Also anything that is legal on torrents you can get through a direct download, I downloaded Ubuntu in short time, no issues, we know the topic here is software, music, movies and games, why deny it, and while u were posting links, u should have posted this one http://wiki.vuze.com/w/Bad_ISPs bandwidth shaping is a part of the landscape now
and BTW, Flow is not a company on its own, they are a very very small subsiduary of the much larger Columbus Networks or http://www.columbus-networks.com/. lets just be glad that FLOW no longer calls customers and informs them that they are breaking the law by downloading so n so movies and so n so games through torrents
And I dont think its fair to talk about how we are paying customers when the argument is not about the service which is good but about Torrents, we are after all getting for free what we are supposed to be paying for it is the main use of torrents, Case in point I bought Starcraft II and I'm downloading it directly from Blizzard, you aint pay a cent and you getting it from isohunt.com. Whose traffic should be shaped and who should download at the max speed their connection allows. Talk Nah
ragzinc wrote:achillies wrote:All I'm trying to do is present the case from another side, Y do u think they are shaping traffic, because I am sure they are shaping. Information is what we do not have and without information we will be spinning a top in mud trying to figure out whats going on, but i ask again, why do u think they are shaping, cause they would not shape the traffic if they dont have to.
Also anything that is legal on torrents you can get through a direct download, I downloaded Ubuntu in short time, no issues, we know the topic here is software, music, movies and games, why deny it, and while u were posting links, u should have posted this one http://wiki.vuze.com/w/Bad_ISPs bandwidth shaping is a part of the landscape now
and BTW, Flow is not a company on its own, they are a very very small subsiduary of the much larger Columbus Networks or http://www.columbus-networks.com/. lets just be glad that FLOW no longer calls customers and informs them that they are breaking the law by downloading so n so movies and so n so games through torrents
And I dont think its fair to talk about how we are paying customers when the argument is not about the service which is good but about Torrents, we are after all getting for free what we are supposed to be paying for it is the main use of torrents, Case in point I bought Starcraft II and I'm downloading it directly from Blizzard, you aint pay a cent and you getting it from isohunt.com. Whose traffic should be shaped and who should download at the max speed their connection allows. Talk Nah
like flow paying ah small money to lick they arse or wha?
i use torrents to download tv episodes that i missed - and yes i do have cable...i really dont see your point....cause we could still get whatever we need from ftps and file sharing sites....it would just take longer...that is if you dont have a premium acct
the point being made is that we want an official word from them and not no BS like "we cannot/not allowed to diagnose the problem" and "torrents are illegal"
achillies wrote:Also anything that is legal on torrents you can get through a direct download, I downloaded Ubuntu in short time, no issues, we know the topic here is software, music, movies and games, why deny it, and while u were posting links, u should have posted this one http://wiki.vuze.com/w/Bad_ISPs bandwidth shaping is a part of the landscape now
achillies wrote:and BTW, Flow is not a company on its own, they are a very very small subsiduary of the much larger Columbus Networks or http://www.columbus-networks.com/. lets just be glad that FLOW no longer calls customers and informs them that they are breaking the law by downloading so n so movies and so n so games through torrents
achillies wrote:Case in point I bought Starcraft II and I'm downloading it directly from Blizzard, you aint pay a cent and you getting it from isohunt.com. Whose traffic should be shaped and who should download at the max speed their connection allows.
metrini wrote:Well Im glad Ive read this.
I play World of Warcraft and at the beginning of this month I started getting alot of trouble with the game. With their last expansion/patch they changed the format of their data packets to p2p technology.
That isnt illegal technology but I believe Flow has some packet shaping measures active now and I'm havig a hell of a time playing the game. Once I use SSH tunnel service I can play latency free. SO it proves that the ISP is causing the packets to be lost.
And the rehearsed speech I got when I spoke to a tech pretty much solidifies it. Why cant they just admit they're shaping the packets now?
Im not doing anything illegal by playing WoW!
achillies wrote:From what i understand, flow has gotten letters (emails) from the owners of copyrigthed material e.g SONY which basically stated that your customers with so n so IP addresses are downloading alot of our copyrighted material.
The rest is history
Humes wrote:This is why every time I see men shytin up TSTT and sayin Flow is de greatest, I does just sit back and laugh.