Mini Diesel Run...

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

lighthammer

Re: Mini Diesel Run...

Postby lighthammer » March 16th, 2011, 12:41 pm

And here's another article to read up on, "How to get unstuck"

http://www.4wdaction.com.au/articles/tips-and-techniques/42787-coming-unstuck

claries

Postby claries » March 16th, 2011, 1:36 pm

Thanks for the invitation and info.I have all the above stuff but where i can buy the snatch strap and i guys i'm from chaguanas area .lighthammer I'll pm you with contact info

droppa

Postby droppa » March 16th, 2011, 1:48 pm

Once again... list is as follows:

1.lighthammer
2.droppa
3.jeremy
4.speedy
5.3stage
6. mrcuddles
7.claries

so we will all meet up and move down if ur from central......maybe 7.30 or so....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 16th, 2011, 3:19 pm

Guys please try to be on time - judge your departure times from home accordingly.

North, East, West & Central guys can meet in Price Plaza for 7:30am in front of Rituals. I'll be there along with Droppa - if you don't know us and our trucks, PM me and I'll give u details.

Then we all meet in Gulf View KFC car park for 8:00 - 8:30am for a meet, greet and a short safety briefing with 3stage and myself, we'll scout the trail sometime this week and tell you guys what we find, what to expect on the trail, etc.

Then we'll establish the convoy, who taking point to navigate (3stage) and who taking the rear. We'll also distribute and sync up the walkie talkies if you guys can bring some along.

So estimated time to leave KFC Gulf View is approx 9:00 - 9:15am, depending on the stragglers. Should reach on the Quinam trail at around 10:00 - 10:30 am.

Guys make sure your trucks are in good working order and full up your tanks. Last thing you want to do is run out of diesel on the trail.

Put down some newspaper on your floormats cuz it's gonna get MUDDY down there. Get a good nights rest too, cuz from past experience these runs can be physically and mentally challenging (esp if you get stuck - I talking from experience!)

Don't forget the usual diesel boyz rules:
- safety first
- don't stray from the group
- don't take any uneccessary risks and please no wild behaviour. If this starts to occur you will be asked to calm down, and barring that, your @ss will be left behind.
- ABSOLUTELY NO ALCOHOL is to be consumed by the drivers. Zero Tolerance on drunken behaviour by anyone - this is a family-friendly group and ppl will have family with them.
- respect the trail, respect the home & property owners nearby. After the incident on the last run, we want to keep the diesel boyz' reputation clean.
- don't forget to bring garbage bags, don't litter!

Also, as a safety measure - if you're early to the meetup point and is just you alone, stay inside your truck until you see more of the guys arrive. Usually we'd keep the meeting

Postby 3stagevtec » March 16th, 2011, 4:27 pm

^ I'm gonna laugh so much if that trail is graded..

(If it is, Morne Diablo FTW!)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 16th, 2011, 6:38 pm

^ daiz nuttin... We go just hadda dig it up for the side B dudes :D

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 16th, 2011, 8:07 pm

^^^ yea... i goh dig it up! :D Muahahah!! :P

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 16th, 2011, 8:28 pm

speedaholic wrote:^^^ yea... i goh dig it up! :D Muahahah!! :P

not wit dem slicks yuh had lass time :roll: lol

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 16th, 2011, 11:57 pm

naw i eh have ne slicks again boidanboi!

droppa

Postby droppa » March 17th, 2011, 8:25 am

an boidanboiorsey
the man have staggs for them slicks tooo eh......

claries

Postby claries » March 17th, 2011, 10:41 am

fellas what is actual journey of the trip an how long it is

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » March 17th, 2011, 12:38 pm

droppa wrote:Once again... list is as follows:

1.lighthammer
2.droppa
3.jeremy
4.speedy
5.3stage
6. mrcuddles
7.claries
8.brianr20v

so we will all meet up and move down if ur from central......maybe 7.30 or so....

droppa

Postby droppa » March 17th, 2011, 1:09 pm

nice, spoke to LH earlier and he was on his way to meet 3Stage.....

at the moment the guys are scouting the trail, so later on we shall have some updates and maybe pics and condition of the trails..........

the run should be finalized by tomorrow so who aint pm their contact info yet,

do so......

droppa

Postby droppa » March 17th, 2011, 1:16 pm

spoke to my usual DB navigator nemesis_7514 and he said that the TTORC has a run planned for Sunday, think its a private run, but we not sure where they plan on ploughing yet, lets hope its not the same as where we thinking of going.........

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 17th, 2011, 7:06 pm

Right fellas...
So 3stagevtec and myself went down to santa flora today to scout out the trail and plan out the route.

Basically it's down past fyzabad health center, down into santa flora. Approx 25 mins from KFC gulf view with no traffic.

It's a bunch of old logging trails that cut through the forest. There's a contractor there right now who's clearing a new pathway and logging some trees. This new path will have direct access to Quinam beach, one of the southernmost beaches in Trinidad.

However this new trail is being used by heavy equipment, and in its current condition is almost TOTALLY IMPASSABLE by our stock vehicles, it's most definitely a Grade 4 trail. Guys with liftkits + mud tyres could possibly make it through, but even they will have some difficulty. The tractor driver said today that they'll try to level it out tomorrow, and hopefully we'll get some sun to dry up some of the slush & mud.

However there's another, older trail, that's got a solid gravel base that goes from the contractor's camp, all the way to the main road which then leads straight to Quinam beach. However the end of the trail which leads to the main road is blocked by a locked gate. The good news is that directly to the right of this gate, is a small path through the trees that can be used to access the main road, all we have to do is clear a few saplings with cutlasses and then drive our trucks through. I believe that even 4x2 trucks would be able to make that exit to the paved main road.

The real fun in this trail however, is a small side-path that cuts through the forest and runs parallel with the main trail. There's an entrance to this path not far from the beginnig of the trail, and we believe it goes all the way through and rejoins the main trail approx 1/4 mile down the road. 3stage and I tried to go through it, but didn't go all the way cuz of time constraints (he had to go to work).
That pathway itself is a dirt path, just large enough to fit one vehicle at a time, however it's a little boggy with mud and has loose top soil, soggy enough to sink your foot in slightly in some spots - not too different from the Blanchi Trail we did last year.

Guys with All-Terrain tyres should be able to make it through with a bit of a challenge (I know Jeremy and Droppa will def. want to go!) but guys with highway tyres are better off going to the exit and walking back up to meet us through the trail. Not saying that you guys can't go, but it will be with great difficulty and with highway tyres you're guaranteed to stick.
While 3stage was trying to come back out through that side trail, he got stuck on an incline and had to winch himself out. At one point, the topsoil was so boggy that even though he had full parking brake on, the Grand Vitara started to SLIDE BACKWARDS and I had to grab it by the A-Pillar, and dig my heels in to stop it sliding down the hill.

Will post some pics later on in the evening - but trust me, it's a great trail and almost guaranteed to be FUN. The newbies will enjoy it, some may be scared but we have experienced guys with us so no worries.

Allyuh update the Roll Call, it's not limited to any number, any and everyone can come.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 17th, 2011, 10:59 pm

Right and now the pictures of the reconnaissance mission today...

This is where the contractor's camp is located

These are the machines that are doing the logging and clearing of the new path (Lumberjack CAT). 3Stage and I got to ride shotgun on one of these today - what an awesome and powerful machine!! The driver took us down the new path, since our trucks definitely would not have made it far at all!

This is the kind of terrain on the new path - only heavy machinery could pass through. And it gets worse, much worse. There's hard surface underneath all the slush, but stock vehicles won't have the ground clearance to get through, you'll end up bottoming out.
But the driver said they'll try to level out the trail before sunday, and hopefully with some hot sun, the trail will dry out so there's hope for those who want to pass through. Or at least try to.

Some of the "better" parts of the new track.... looks passable, but proceed with caution! There are deeper and more difficult parts on the new track - I just wasnt able to get pics of it cuz the Lumberjack was bouncing around too much in the deep ruts.

Now there is an older track, with a gravel base that we can definitely run on. The approx distance is prob 1 1/4 miles total, maybe less than that. 4x2 vehicles can make it through to the end, and possibly with assistance go through the side-track to bypass the locked gate at the end.

The side-path that runs through the forest and rejoins the main path looks passable, but it'll take some good driving and some assistance to get through.

3stage and I tried to go through, I walked it and he came down with the GV. But due to time constraints, and lack of turning room, we decided to go back after a good bit in. He couldn't make it up the hill though, topsoil was too boggy and slippery so he had to winch himself out.

I got to press the button!

So instead of getting ourselves stuck even more, we decided to come out of the side-path, and see how far we could get towards the gate. Made it all the way, saw the locked gate with the main road just beyond, plus the pathway through the trees to the right of the gate to bypass and reach the main road - we'll just have to clear a few small trees with our cutlasses and then we can drive through. I feel even the 4x2 guys can make it through that part of the trail, to reach the road.

As far as the road goes, 3stage said it goes all the way down to Quinam Beach, which is only a quick 10 min dash down. And heading back out, it goes all the way back to Siparia, so we have an exit for those who want to head home after the off-roading fun.

Anyway, time was drawing close for our departure, so after a couple 3-point turns into the bush, we headed back to the Contractor's camp and then headed back to the main road and into Fyzabad, then home.

But not without some antics first.....

Postby 3stagevtec » March 17th, 2011, 11:01 pm

droppa wrote:spoke to my usual DB navigator nemesis_7514 and he said that the TTORC has a run planned for Sunday, think its a private run, but we not sure where they plan on ploughing yet, lets hope its not the same as where we thinking of going.........

It's a north scout run / trail clearing they are going on IIRC.. grade 4 only stuff..

will update and post pics in a while, now reach home nah..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 17th, 2011, 11:21 pm

And to make a point - I saw a Sunny B15 up by the contractor's camp... as well as a low-rider 4x2 datsun pickup - so 4x2 and cars could make it up to that point.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 17th, 2011, 11:23 pm

nice this run gone be epic!!!

Postby 3stagevtec » March 18th, 2011, 12:23 am

I was gonna post pics, but Lighthammer got it well covered. (btw, it's Timberjack.. not lumberjack.. lol)

As you all can see, the original trail is way to difficult for stock vehicles. I believe we can possibly get through with some work, but the deep ruts filled with logs can cause trouble.

The alternative route is also pretty challenging. Soft mud, relatively smooth trail with some hills will make for some serious thrills. ATs are a must, HT can get through with assistance. For those who do not want to attempt this section, there is a bypass route that leads to the same location. So even the 2WD guys, err, guy is covered..

After work, I will remain in Forest Reserve and you all will meet up with me there. Leo knows the way, so he will lead you all down.

See you all Sunday! Walk prepared!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 18th, 2011, 3:34 am

3stagevtec wrote:So even the 2WD guys, err, guy is covered..

:D :D!!

droppa

Postby droppa » March 18th, 2011, 7:20 am

lighthammer wrote:And to make a point - I saw a Sunny B15 up by the contractor's camp... as well as a low-rider 4x2 datsun pickup - so 4x2 and cars could make it up to that point.

yuh sure that was not a 4WD B15????

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 18th, 2011, 7:50 am

Let's update the List

1.lighthammer
2.droppa
3.jeremy
4.speedy
5.3stage
6. mrcuddles
7.claries
8.brianr20v
9. Rotated (possibly)

Postby 3stagevtec » March 18th, 2011, 2:15 pm

droppa wrote:
lighthammer wrote:And to make a point - I saw a Sunny B15 up by the contractor's camp... as well as a low-rider 4x2 datsun pickup - so 4x2 and cars could make it up to that point.

yuh sure that was not a 4WD B15????

I asked.. FWD.. lol

droppa

Postby droppa » March 18th, 2011, 2:21 pm

aye by chance we passing tru by powergen in penal there......

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 18th, 2011, 3:03 pm

^nah, we passing through mosquito creek, into fyzabad, then to santa flora.

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » March 18th, 2011, 3:09 pm

This run looks interesting.
lots of fun........... :D

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » March 18th, 2011, 3:24 pm

I'll be there :)

<<<Updated>>>

1.lighthammer
2.droppa
3.jeremy
4.speedy
5.3stage
6. mrcuddles
7.claries
8.brianr20v
9. Rotated (possibly)
10. cvt-7_RR

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 18th, 2011, 3:59 pm

Fellas dont forget the two meeting points:

- Price Plaza carpark, in front of RITUALS - meet at 7:30am SHARP
- Pizza Hut gulf view carpark (right in front of SuperPharm). - meet at 8:00 - 8:30am SHARP.

We'll be leaving gulf view at 9:00-9:15am, if anyone is late they'll be playing catch up. This will give us more time to play on the trail, esp since we have a fairly large group and I'm sure almost everyone will want to try the sidepath.

Try and put where you want to meet next to your name on the roll call, so I can organize the list for that day.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 18th, 2011, 4:55 pm

1. Lighthammer
2. Droppa
3. Jeremy [Meeting group at Gulf Pizza Hut]
4. Speedy
5. 3stage
6. McCuddles
7. Claries
8. Brianr20v