What is it with workers and wanting to rob their employers?

Postby Chimera » March 14th, 2011, 4:38 pm

Now i`m sure most of yall have come across a situation where you gone to buy items be it tiles, lumber, cement, whatever...and the person loading the goods will say "eh gimme a extra $100 i guh give u a extra 5 boxes,sacks,packs,lengths"

I've had it happen to me in bhagwansingh where one of the truck drivers offered "eh..when yuh ready for plenty material..just go buy quarter of what yuh need,hit me a $2000..and i giving yuh up to $50,000 in material easy easy"

that tile place in limehead road "just go inside and pay for 5 box, i guh link d other 10 boxes for you for small money"

and numerous other hardwares, I have a friend who owns 3 hardwares, who budgets 1million a year to employee theft, as you can't stop them from stealing but you always need workers and they hard to get.

Now...I guess that's normal...employees gonna thief...but now many customers expect this to be done as part of tradition.

In my pvc ceiling business place, I usually just tell customers I just working there and the boss not around, I've done this mostly for safety over the years

1 out of 10 customers will always say " yeah gimme a extra pack of panels na (worth $600), i guh hit yuh a $200

"eh gimme a extra 2 pack of screws na (value $90) I guh hit yuh a $20

eh gimme 20 extra furring na (value $400) i guh hit yuh a $100...

nobody guh know, u eh hadda tell d boss..and i guh always come back and buy from yuh

Being the business owner..I does just laugh and say...nah boy i can't do that...

Even a popular soca lyon wanted me to rob the "business owner" once
I cud never forget when she came with the installer and said "yeah hear d scene nah boss....yuh working here right...(i say yeah) well hear d scene...we guh put 80 panels on d receipt, i guh pay yuh wid linx for the 80 panels but u guh just gimme a 100 na, i guh hit u a $200 on the side..dsi no one guh know"

Any of you other tuners/customers/business owners come across this?
Allyuh gone to buy tiles and the loader offer to "link yuh for a small fee"

civic minded

Re: What is it with workers and wanting to rob their employe

Postby civic minded » March 14th, 2011, 4:51 pm

had employees rob me already - just when you have people working for years for you and you trust them and pay them really well - they come back and steal from you. It is real hard as a business owner to have that.

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2011, 4:52 pm

if it is normal for leaders of the country to tief,
why should people at the bottom of the chain not want to tief

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » March 14th, 2011, 4:53 pm

***** R A C K E T *******

Postby Bizzare » March 14th, 2011, 4:54 pm

Even a popular soca lyon wanted me to rob the "business owner" once

Hmm.... :popcorn:

Yea, back when I was working for a Tuner here the opportunity use tuh come along everyday in the warehouse. Most workers there use to brace the costumers wid dem kinda thing and well, the man responsible for checking goods on leave (dispatcher) would never allow that slackness. He's an honest fella.

BUT YUH SEE WHEN I WAS WUKING IN SIGNATURE WAREHOUSE !!! :drinking: :drinking: :drinking: MEN MAKE DEY NAME BOI!!! SMALL CHANGE ON DE SIDE DOZ ADD UP TO 2 GRAND AH DAY AND THING!!
Until the head of it all (dispatcher) was fired. Lol.

I think in a business place if every measure is taken to account for everything, the possibility of a worker making small change on the side will not be very easy though.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » March 14th, 2011, 5:26 pm

Is all over have racket going on!
Once, my friend and i were waiting to go in the cinema. We already bought tickets and were waiting for two our friends to meet us, just outside near the person who takes the ticket stubs. Out of the blue an attendant comes up to us and says, "How much of yall? I can get yall in for only half price!" :o I was like, ''Really! Damn, but we bought tickets already!'' :popcorn:

jeepers
Location: Still locating this location that when located it will appear as my location

Postby jeepers » March 14th, 2011, 5:40 pm

*takes notes of places to get special prices*

Postby sharkman121 » March 14th, 2011, 5:51 pm

You have a PVC ceiling place :shock: i was now looking to do over my ceiling, lemme hit yuh a lil sumtin an yuh go handle mih nice nah..

Postby AllTrac » March 14th, 2011, 6:00 pm

wtf?!?!?! and u tell me u just working there boy aba!? hard luck dey on that scene last month eh, ah did want ah ease up cause ah did now take out ah loan for meh costume and meh chile modda was beating up

rossi

Postby rossi » March 14th, 2011, 6:04 pm

this does happen all over.....but.....at times the employees do that because the owner is not treating them right.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 14th, 2011, 6:15 pm

remember it used to happen plenty with them vans delivering money.
You would always hear the van fly off the road magically and get rob.

You can't pay a man minimum wage and expect to trust him with thousands of dollars and even millions of dollars. Either in cash or materials.

Because all the while he watching you driving yuh new car and he saying look how that greedy snob he living like a king and paying me dog money. Bess we steal from he and make we cash.

Now it go have some cases you could pay how much them men will still rob you. But in majority of cases if these businesses pay their workers a fair salary, they won't have any problems. But in reality the owner looking to make as much money as possible and so does the worker so both of them robbing eachother.

Postby Rooki3 » March 14th, 2011, 8:04 pm

hmmmmmmmm

Turkish

Postby Turkish » March 14th, 2011, 8:24 pm

It's a mentality, something for free. Agreed that some employers treat their employees bad, but what about ppl who just plain greedy. Example:
Company send people on training. Give them nice hotel accommodation, a rental and a credit card for expenses. Employees start to take cash advances on credit card, hit up Walmart, Express, Babys 'r' us, target etc etc, and balance these advances with fake taxi receipts and no bill explanations like restaurant where they ate gave no receipts. What about that?
Free money hard to refuse....
Happy to say that employees in the example have been fired....

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 14th, 2011, 8:43 pm

these greedy\dotish workers\thieves doh study if d bossman store go eventually buss down if they do that & if it happen they go jes get ah next wuk ....

Postby AllTrac » March 14th, 2011, 8:48 pm

Turkish wrote: Agreed that some employers treat their employees bad,

so how about they just leave? If you know you are worth more than what you are being paid then find someone who is willing to pay you your worth or work how you are being paid. The is absolutely no excuse to thief. Those who are caught stealing should have their hands chopped off. Im sick and tired of all these technicalities and de single mother with 3 mouths to feed sheit. A thief is a thief and should be treated as such, like scum, doesnt matter how much years you have been working for the company as long as you steal something, you are a no good wretch.
Im sure if they had a good working relationship with their boss and they have been honest if they do end up in a jam and talk to their employer genuinely the boss would probably help them, might give them a month in advance, but no, they like it free.

rossi

Postby rossi » March 14th, 2011, 9:06 pm

All this starts from home. My mother told me a story about one time when I was in primary school and I brought home another students pencil...she asked me where I got it from and I told her I just took it. She made me go to school and return it. From then on I knew stealing was a wrong thing to do.

As I said before, blame is mutual in the workplace at times. I have known instances where employees work for $400/$500 a week, Monday to Saturday with no overtime and when payday comes they have to follow the boss around all 2/3PM asking him for money.
That sorta behavior is real dotish. Last I heard, some employees were skimming money from him, got caught and fired on the spot.

Postby Stephon. » March 14th, 2011, 9:12 pm

AllTrac wrote:
Turkish wrote: Agreed that some employers treat their employees bad,

so how about they just leave?

FULLSTOP

Also, as for workers robbing their employers, it is disgusting, its just greedy people wanting more pocket change, and chances are the extra money is going into some low profile tires and chrome rims. SMH!

Postby Chimera » March 14th, 2011, 10:54 pm

The first pvc company that came to Trinidad (off of charlieville flyover) , a guy from suriname....he use to have locals running the company, They robbed him blind, stealing stock and money even going so far as to burn down his warehouse to cover the theft.

They eventually started their own PVC ceiling company with much of his stolen stock, but the owner never use to take it on because he didn't think it was worth it to pursue legal action in Trinidad, to much wastage of time and money.

After a while, he did in fact commence legal proceedings..a week before the case started , he was gunned down a evening in Chaguanas right outside his business place. Killers didn't touch his diamond ring...his watch..or the 40k cash he had on him from the days sales

So..when yuh ketch them thiefing....what you really suppose to do?
let them continue?
fire them and hope there are no repercussions?
kill them before they kill you?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 14th, 2011, 11:16 pm

^^^that is very alarming......the degradation of the moral fibre f society continues unabated......but the day of reckoning is fast approaching!!!!

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » March 14th, 2011, 11:29 pm

intriguing.......

homeboy

Postby homeboy » March 15th, 2011, 12:17 am

Well "some" business owners rub somebody to get their business going, so d worker trying the same to get theirs going also........can't blame them.....Where do you know and how many people actually get paid for what they are worth in the private sector?

Big boss pulls in car park at work everyday with differant vehicles no less than 2 mil and then have his workers strugling to buy a cheap car, they can't even get a loan.....can't blame them is the hard work of the boss that got him/herself rich.... :D :D

Postby Chimera » March 15th, 2011, 12:20 am

homeboy wrote:Well "some" business owners rub somebody to get their business going, so d worker trying the same to get theirs going also........can't blame them.....Where do you know and how many people actually get paid for what they are worth in the private sector?

Big boss pulls in car park at work everyday with differant vehicles no less than 2 mil and then have his workers strugling to buy a cheap car, they can't even get a loan.....can't blame them is the hard work of the boss that got him/herself rich.... :D :D

wow...now lets just add you to that list of people never to be hired.....ever
where you working again? just curious. :shock:

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » March 15th, 2011, 12:40 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
homeboy wrote:Well "some" business owners rub somebody to get their business going, so d worker trying the same to get theirs going also........can't blame them.....Where do you know and how many people actually get paid for what they are worth in the private sector?

wow...now lets just add you to that list of people never to be hired.....ever
where you working again? just curious. :shock:

don't be shocked!!...... many business owners make millions, and their employees don't have a decent salary, they earn less than 5k per month.

I always believe if you and your business prosper, your workers should prosper..."the ones who actually do the work for you"......don't take advantage of them and their situation....

many Indian business men are guilty of this!

Postby Chimera » March 15th, 2011, 12:43 am

are some of you really justifying dishonest employees who steal from their employers?

homeboy

Postby homeboy » March 15th, 2011, 12:44 am

^....lol....No problem if i am on the "no hire" list.....lol......as for me i work for people who don't care about me but care about my skill and they pay for that.....strange you only underline one part of my comment.....share your insight on the rest thanks.....

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » March 15th, 2011, 12:47 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:are some of you really justifying dishonest employees who steal from their employers?

bro like you are one of those business men who exploit your workers :?

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » March 15th, 2011, 12:49 am

THIS

southside crew

Postby southside crew » March 15th, 2011, 1:05 am

Bottom line.. You going to do a fair day's work.. do the work and go home.. don't steal... or out smart anyone.. you won't reach far in life.. you WILL pay for it sooner or later.. ( most times later)..

if you dont like the pay..well keep looking... Don't play MR justice and steal to make up what a man work hard for.. ( yes some business men steal... But alot of honnest business owners out here getting blows)..

Postby Stephon. » March 15th, 2011, 1:08 am

mitsuboi wrote:

THIS

Hmmm, well yes this is true, I know of some popular businesses in Trinidad now, where the worker was working in a store, stole from his boss and sold on the side, made enough money back then to start buying wholesale and selling on the side still while working for his boss. Eventually got his own store. He now has two branches and two warehouses in Trinidad, recently passed away though (about 2 years ago) now his family are the ones handing the business. I'm not justifying him stealing, but it is just interesting to see how some of the thieves turn over.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 15th, 2011, 3:07 am

Some business owners really a bunch of greedy snobs to eh.

It don't justify stealing but according to the law of nature if the thief gets his cut and the employer buss and have to close down, the thief is infact the winner.

Life is about survival of the fittest eh. Even if that means using brain power, the owner would have himself to blame regardless.

In most cases its better not to treat your worker like sheit and actually pay him with some respect.

A simple thing like this can go a long way in life and make you a lot richer.