T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby noshownogo » March 10th, 2011, 12:09 pm

^^ :shock: what :lol: they price themselves above a VW GTi with DSG box and ST Focus with 6forward. Big FAIL...both of those cars have more room, more power, much faster, better looking...don't see many selling

Postby cinco » March 10th, 2011, 1:21 pm

saw an ad for the mazda2 in the papers
called them
170,000 VI :shock: :shock: :shock:
fully loaded no sunroof

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » March 10th, 2011, 4:03 pm

cinco wrote:saw an ad for the mazda2 in the papers
called them
fully loaded no sunroof

:shock: The dealer has to be crazy. This is a subcombact car. It should be competing against the nissan tiida, yaris, kia rio etc. How in the world can this car be $170K? I think the Ford Fiesta is priced similarly (can't remember). We really need to force the dealers to lower their prices by not buying over-priced vehicles.

Postby zoom rader » March 10th, 2011, 7:02 pm

tiger balm wrote:
cinco wrote:saw an ad for the mazda2 in the papers
called them
fully loaded no sunroof

:shock: The dealer has to be crazy. This is a subcombact car. It should be competing against the nissan tiida, yaris, kia rio etc. How in the world can this car be $170K? I think the Ford Fiesta is priced similarly (can't remember). We really need to force the dealers to lower their prices by not buying over-priced vehicles.

Ford Fiesta Priced is at $160,000 for a 1.4l at 96Bhp, this car is not worth the money and Ford Trinidad worst after sale record.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » March 10th, 2011, 7:30 pm

stupid prices
170k for a KIA SOUL??????
160K for a baby ford?
170 for a mazda 2....steups. steups steups!

Postby Stephon. » March 10th, 2011, 8:31 pm

LOL These prices real depressing.

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » March 10th, 2011, 8:33 pm

zoom rader wrote:Ford Fiesta Priced is at $160,000 for a 1.4l at 96Bhp, this car is not worth the money and Ford Trinidad worst after sale record.

Thanks

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » March 10th, 2011, 10:09 pm

What is the updated price for the 2011 Tiida Hatchback fully loaded from N&M?

Postby cinco » March 11th, 2011, 6:41 am

i was really hoping the mazda2 would have been ~140-150 i was considering it
but hell no for a subcompact with a 1.5l engine for 170
i will much much much prefer the hyundai i30 for 152 more car for less money

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » March 11th, 2011, 9:30 am

FYI:
Updated Prices on Tiida Hatchback:
Basic - $144,000 VI
Fully Loaded - $157,000 VI (electric sunroof, leather seats, automatic air condition, armrests, etc.)

Postby noshownogo » March 11th, 2011, 9:54 am

That's a good price for a fully loaded Tiida. Not my cup of tea but good price none the less.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 11th, 2011, 2:19 pm

zoom rader wrote:Ford Fiesta Priced is at $160,000 for a 1.4l at 96Bhp, this car is not worth the money and Ford Trinidad worst after sale record.

For a sec there I thought you said it had 968 HP

Was going to run and buy it now.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 11th, 2011, 4:23 pm

^ :lol:

Mazda 2 = FAIL

should be the sport hatchback 1.5 for $130k. I'll buy it tomorrow over any 1.5 Suzuki Swift

Postby cinco » March 12th, 2011, 4:54 pm

understand
that is what i was looking for the 130-140 range MAX
hyundai may soon get my money

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 12th, 2011, 7:17 pm

acesinghit wrote:^ :lol:

Mazda 2 = FAIL

should be the sport hatchback 1.5 for $130k. I'll buy it tomorrow over any 1.5 Suzuki Swift

It looks like they're targeting the Honda City sedan......but yes, a Mazda 2 Hatch would be nicer choice IMHO.

S-sales price for the 2 though = epic lolz

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » March 13th, 2011, 1:08 pm

Kia's are overpriced....

Postby ronsin1 » March 13th, 2011, 1:42 pm

new 3 series BMW is $410,000.00

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » March 13th, 2011, 1:54 pm

southern sales gone crazy oui
how much for a mazda 3 then?
them madd yes

Postby cinco » March 13th, 2011, 2:12 pm

hard part is people are buying their vehicles :|
new car prices in trini are ridiulous
200+ for a civic??????????
madness

Postby ronsin1 » March 13th, 2011, 2:27 pm

I wonder how long will it take for them to increase their prices and stated it is due to what happened in japan

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » March 13th, 2011, 11:46 pm

ronsin1 wrote:I wonder how long will it take for them to increase their prices and stated it is due to what happened in japan

I was wondering the same thing. Both Toyota and Nissan have stopped production. I think Toyota's own is bigger than Nissan's own though. Also several Japanese ports may be used for relief efforts. It's not only the car industry that going to be affected though. I guess we'll see if any affected car manufacturers sitpulate that dealers continue selling at the usual prices. Some maunfacturers usually have a base recommended sales price. Foreign used car dealers may have more leeway here. I guess we'll see how the situation develops.

That being said, I pray they continue to find more survivors, the nuclear situation is controlled and Japan recovers and show the world how it's done as they usually do :D

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 13th, 2011, 11:58 pm

these NEW car prices are ridiculous .....Imagine the kinda insurance you gonna have to pay if you dont have any no claim discounts to fall back on.....Steups.......

bess to roll in a lil 120y oui.......

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2011, 7:32 am

what/how do people go about asking for discounts ??
I know there is a basic range they will discount at will
but can discount more on discretion

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 14th, 2011, 7:51 am

ok so we feddup of the prices yet PCS past what 5000 already? Who cares about your perception of Kia and Honda or whatever brand it is, here is a solution:

BAN:

Importation of roro/foreign used vehicles including knock down's for parts and used parts AND cheap Taiwanese parts etc..

RESULT?:
Good bye, Bamboo and associated parts places in El Socorro/San Juan etc etc

OPEN UP THE EXISTING MARKET:

Gov't should offer incentives to individuals/companies wishing to start a new franchise and meet with Car Manufacturers to encourage them to invest in T&T.

REMOVE:

We are already paying MVT and VAT and take note we also pay VAT on the subtotal (including showroom price of the vehicle) so it means double income for the Gov't (unfair).

END RESULT?

Make it easier for people to upgrade their cars and own PROPER cars so that we won't have the amount of junk that keeping back traffic on our roads and whose emissions new born babies have to tolerate whilst on the roads in cars that have no a/c etc....

We actually speeding up the pace, have a higher index of safer cars on the road, less emissions and better fuel consumption than those old carburettor junk we seeing!

TRAFFIC?

Well, we build a massive recycling plant and or (optional for you environmentalists who weren't born yet when they created Point Lisas, Fortin, a-Pierre etc...) to trash the older cars in there and other steel items.

RESULT?:

We have a greener country, we increase employment and we diversify our income since we can now assist CARICOM as being the only and largest recycling hub of the Caribbean not too mention the benefits derived of having an alluminium smelter which would create sub industries in the manufacturing sector.

END RESULT:

The Gov't could then offer tax or insurance incentives for those driving old cars to give that up or trade them in for a new vehicle (similar to the USA's cash for clunkers program)..

Having the market for new car dealerships only means there is no need for roro vehicles as the prices for these roro's are getting closer to the equivalent in the showroom. Why would someone put down 45% downpayment on a roro Tiida and pay back the loan in 4yrs maximum when he/she could have downpaid somewhere around 10-15% for a brand new car and pay back the loan in 5-6 years maximum. The extra 2 years in loan payment vs the roro car still means that the car would be newer and maintain better resale value than the roro equivalent.

NUTSHELL:

The reason why our cars are so expensive is due to VAT plus corruption/kaka tax called MVT (so banana republic).

To recap our dismay:
2011 Honda Civic 1.8 = $235,000.00 TTD (approx) (Classic Motors in T&T)
2011 Honda Civic 1.8 = $16,000.00 USD (approx) (Honda Motor USA MSRP)
when converted to TTD it is $102,400.00

WTflyingF?

originalbling

Postby originalbling » March 14th, 2011, 9:26 am

Just to update some pricing on the Mitsubishi Lancers:

MITSUBISHI

Lancer EX
$184,000.00 1.5 GLX basic
$206,300.00 1.5 GLS mid-spec
$210,660.00 1.5 GLS fully loaded
$267,000.00 2.0 GT automatic

Didnt see any pricing for a manual GT model on the list.

CS3
$154,000 1.6 Basic
$165,000 1.6 Fully Loaded

Sales rep said they meeting this week - expect a huge increase in prices because of the situation in Japan as well as the exchange rate fluctuation.

Postby ronsin1 » March 14th, 2011, 9:48 am

^^^ Lancer GT manual is $255,000.00 TTD

Postby cinco » March 14th, 2011, 10:00 am

acesinghit wrote:
To recap our dismay:
2011 Honda Civic 1.8 = $235,000.00 TTD (approx) (Classic Motors in T&T)
2011 Honda Civic 1.8 = $16,000.00 USD (approx) (Honda Motor USA MSRP)
when converted to TTD it is $102,400.00

WTflyingF?

let me help you out though
shipping from ohio plant to us dealership < 50000TTD
conv rate fluctuates so x10
= 160000 TTD plus duties and taxes and shipping

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » March 14th, 2011, 10:23 am

There's also an economic downside to making vehicles more affordable or disposable like in the US.....pressure on our foreign exchange reserves and ultimately our exchange rate.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 14th, 2011, 10:55 am

"Sales rep said they meeting this week - expect a huge increase in prices because of the situation in Japan as well as the exchange rate fluctuation."

They meeting one week after the earthquake to discuss price rises. I'm sure they will raise the price on existing stock or stock in transit that was purchased at old prices. Typical Trini business mentatility - try to increase profit at every opportunity

Postby Chimera » March 14th, 2011, 11:20 am

They may not get any new stock for a while, supply and demand, there's usually a waiting list for new cars anyway, people who want them , still gonna buy them.