Corvette Z06 vs. Shelby GT500 vs. GT-R

Postby noshownogo » February 19th, 2011, 6:58 pm

Five-figure supercar comparo pits Corvette Z06 vs. Shelby GT500 vs. GT-R

2012 Nissan GT-R, Corvette Z06 and Ford Shelby GT500 square off in a drag race

Nissan GT-R, Corvette Z06 and Ford Shelby GT500 tested at the Streets of Willow

AYE_SOLDIER

Re: Corvette Z06 vs. Shelby GT500 vs. GT-R

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » February 19th, 2011, 10:05 pm

that red GTR is the sex

Postby 3stagevtec » February 19th, 2011, 11:02 pm

look at the weight difference between the GTR and Z06!

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » February 20th, 2011, 5:53 am

vette>gtr>>.....>shelby
gtr impressively boring, at least to watch that is

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » February 20th, 2011, 12:00 pm

Vette pwnds ALL.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » February 21st, 2011, 9:02 am

^how the vette pwned all?
I clearly see the GTR with the fastest time.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » February 21st, 2011, 9:20 am

White CZ4A wrote:^how the vette pwned all?

It just does....
Yes the gt-r has the fastest time but then it should right?
I mean AWD, DCG, TTV6, 500+HP, 3900LBS, $91,000 and more computing power than the average street car...but all that only equats to what, 2/10ths of a second faster?
A win is a win but its not a convincing win for such a "hyped up car". IMO the car is good but its not all that its made out to be.

you own one dont' you :?:

Postby noshownogo » February 21st, 2011, 9:31 am

I personally think the Z06 is the best high performance car for the money from the US and I also think the GTR is a fantastic kit for slaying supercars.

You simply can't go wrong with either...

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » February 21st, 2011, 10:24 am

trini mk5 wrote:

It just does....
I mean AWD, DCG, TTV6, 500+HP, 3900LBS, $91,000 and more computing power than the average street car...but all that only equats to what, 2/10ths of a second faster?
A win is a win but its not a convincing win for such a "hyped up car". IMO the car is good but its not all that its made out to be.

was just trying to show you that your previous post was incorrect.
The GTR came out on top..simple.
Doesnt matter by how much since these guys are the ones who put these cars up against each other.

I was expecting a larger gap as well but nevertheless...it did have the fastest time.
GTR pwned all. 8-)

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » February 21st, 2011, 11:38 am

White CZ4A wrote:
trini mk5 wrote:

It just does....

was just trying to show you that your previous post was incorrect.
The GTR came out on top..simple.
Doesnt matter by how much since these guys are the ones who put these cars up against each other.

I was expecting a larger gap as well but nevertheless...it did have the fastest time.
GTR pwned all. 8-)

same here

ThatDamnDrunk

Postby ThatDamnDrunk » February 21st, 2011, 12:42 pm

trini mk5 wrote:

It just does....

I didn't bother watch this but considering the corvette has the better power to weight ratio; its actually a pathetic result for it to lose (though of course that's not everything in a drag race; though the GT-R is more famous for its cornering prowess and supreme track times even though by super car standards it does have what is described as not the best power to weight ratio when compared to cars that share similar times on the tracks it has been recorded at). "Not all that its made out to be"; at its time of release it was faster than the fastest porsche (of that time) around the nurburgring; the GT2 RS's project code was actually a reference to the GT-R time around the nurburgring. Oh and this is a four seater; not a two seater making it the fastest in its class by quite a bit (considering the closest AWD 2 seater is not even below 7:35s). If you haven't seen the hype I don't know where you've been boss but hey, I ain't gonna hate on someone who buys a car with a v8 wrapped in plastic and leaf springs. :mrgreen: :drinking: .

But if this is a supercharged ZR1, that's a different beast but still no where near as epic as the GT-R (Zr1's are also made out of plastic :mrgreen: )

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » February 26th, 2011, 6:13 pm

The skyline is nice but to me it doesn't look like a drivers car.. any Playstation 3 nerd can drive it!!The corvette and mustang on the other hand will take some level of skill to actually get it around a track safely.I'd take the mustang and give it a proper suspension. :D

Picasso

Postby Picasso » March 1st, 2011, 3:30 pm

I hate the corvette and the Shelby/mustang .. GT-R to the world!

Postby rollingstock » March 1st, 2011, 5:29 pm

The gtr was the only awd vehicle in the lineup, and the vette was clearly suffering form wheel spin on launch and even in 2nd gear.

Love the gtr but bang for buck vette.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 1st, 2011, 6:47 pm

Picasso wrote:I hate the corvette and the Shelby/mustang .. GT-R to the world!

Why :? :?

trinibuggy

Postby trinibuggy » March 1st, 2011, 7:07 pm

Picasso wrote:I hate the corvette and the Shelby/mustang .. GT-R to the world!

yea why? they are good cars that actually take skill to drive.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 6th, 2011, 6:01 pm

The gtr was the only awd vehicle in the lineup, and the vette was clearly suffering form wheel spin on launch and even in 2nd gear.

Love the gtr but bang for buck vette.

HOnestly, if I could have afforded EITHER (yeah right) I'd choose the 'vette (Z06.....or esp a ZR1) over the GT-R. Personal preference.

That said, I'll have to stick to 1:8 scale models for now.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 6th, 2011, 7:18 pm

i was talking to trini guy who lives in miami this week. He has a whole set of performance sports cars.from rx7 to porshce to corvettes. He says next month hes coming back to trini and hes bringing his viper(600+hp) and 07 corvette( supercharged 800+hp)...needless to say i nearly faint when i hear that. I really hope he does go tru with it. 2nrs dont hold me to it if it doesn't happen. Im just telling allyuh wat he told me.

Zenki

Postby Zenki » March 7th, 2011, 12:07 am

I did expect the GT-R owning them all. But I also expect a bit more of a showing w/ the vette though.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 7th, 2011, 12:22 am

^^Once again the track favored the GTR

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 7th, 2011, 11:15 am

IIRC, the Z06 I think pulled a faster time on VIR than the GT-R for C&D's Lightning lap.

So...you're right I guess.....the track has alot to do with it perhaps <shrug>