PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad -- Trinidad and Tobago prison officers have joined police officers in their call for increased salaries and more allowances.
The police officers started their protest action because of the refusal by government to pay the 40 percent increase demanded by organising "sick outs"
The Guardian newspaper reported that prison officers are now saying the illness which threatened police officers will affect them if their demands are not met by Prime Minister, Kamla Persad Bissessar.
General Secretary of the Prison Officers Association, Burton Hill, said, "We cannot strike or take protest action. Officers can choose to work according to rules. That is their choice.”
“Sometimes officers become very demotivated if they feel their demands aren't met," he said.
"Nobody is sick at this moment. We hope the illness that affected the Police Service does not go across to the prisons. We hope it is not some airborne disease" Hill added.
The prison officers are not happy that they cannot get an appointment to see the prime minister, and on Thursday handed a letter to National Security Advisor to the prime minister, Gary Griffith.
Hill said that if the officers do not get a favourable reply within seven days they will be forced to take action.
Soundwave wrote:strikers gonna strike...
ronsin1 wrote:I sure the PNM watching this and laughing makes good sense
Treasury has no money call election ensure you loose and let the other party take the pressure of finding money.
TRAE wrote:lawd, if dem come back i migrating
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:well if they strike hopefully there will be NO one to feed the inmates!
Good!
zoom rader wrote:RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:well if they strike hopefully there will be NO one to feed the inmates!
Good!
Very true, Inmates will not be able to get their supply of Weed, and cell phones.
TRAE wrote:zoom rader wrote:RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:well if they strike hopefully there will be NO one to feed the inmates!
Good!
Very true, Inmates will not be able to get their supply of Weed, and cell phones.
No Weed and Cellphones!!!!! Sheit dey Go feel like dey in jail
jackkle wrote:But wait if i'm not mistaken, right now prison officers making more money than police officers and dem f@ckers want more money again...wtf jed. And on top ah all that they making extra with overtime and bringing in cellphone & weed. doh theif my head nah.
*Looks tru the papers to see when prison recruiting again*
UML wrote:why wasn't the PSA, Police, Prisons, etc protesting and demanding wage increases when the PNM administration was squandering the wealth of the country....not one dog bark!!!
rollingstock wrote:UML wrote:why wasn't the PSA, Police, Prisons, etc protesting and demanding wage increases when the PNM administration was squandering the wealth of the country....not one dog bark!!!
Ummmm probably because they were better administrators, and the sly bastards knew just how much to tell the population and public servants to have them under servitude, Kamla wanna be the approachable baby kissing, panty in the air waving PM, DEAL WITH THE CONSEQUENCE. If they believe that she would be the one to bow to demands they will push. Sucks to be her, she need to call Patos for some pointers.
~Vēġó~ wrote:ah boy, my salary negotiation right 'rong de corner!!!!
jackkle wrote:But wait if i'm not mistaken, right now prison officers making more money than police officers and dem f@ckers want more money again...wtf jed. And on top ah all that they making extra with overtime and bringing in cellphone & weed. doh theif my head nah.
Seeker wrote:jackkle wrote:But wait if i'm not mistaken, right now prison officers making more money than police officers and dem f@ckers want more money again...wtf jed. And on top ah all that they making extra with overtime and bringing in cellphone & weed. doh theif my head nah.
Like all services there are very corrupt officers within the ranks. And like the Police, not all are bad. You are talking about 1 or 2% of bad eggs in a case. I am a Public Servant and I work very hard in all my years without fail. Whether I get a salary increase or not - it really does not nullify my duty.
People will almost never see the good. But they will always see the bad.
I for one will love for the authorities to catch them officers who bringing in contraband for the inmates.
As for the overtime talk; that does not apply to all officers, I think it really applys to shift officers and payments are far apart. Not sure of the duration. Because I have heard of officers working extra hours "for the glory of the Prison Service" and not getting a black cent.