Cell phone driving ban to take effect February 18th 2011

Re: Cell phone driving ban to take effect February 2nd 2011

Postby wagonrunner » January 4th, 2011, 3:38 pm

redmanjp wrote:
The law however specifically exempts use of mobile telephone on the road once it is in "hands-free mode". It also does not apply when the vehicle is off the road/parked and not in motion and not impeding traffic. It will thus still apply if the vehicle is stopped and off the road but is in motion. In other words turn off the engine.
how cud a vehicle be stopped & in motion at the same time?

damn the rotation of the earth!!!! :evil: hadda be dat. :|

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 4th, 2011, 5:15 pm

got to get my hands free shyt...
Last edited by streetbeastINC. on January 4th, 2011, 5:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pete » January 4th, 2011, 5:20 pm

redmanjp wrote:bmobile still have their xmas sales prices? i interested in d nokia 5310 or Samsung E2550 (right now i only have a old cheap motorola wit no btooth) anyone know if they selling this in any store now or just online in their e-store?

why police & emergency service drivers exempt? they cant use hands free?

or is it to allow them to communicate with a police radio/dispatch?

and jeez i sticking wit Feb. 2nd oui

Just the e-store. But the e-store is great, pay online and they'll deliver it directly to you, no hassle going to a store to collect. I was supposed to get my 5310 today but wasn't there :(

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » January 5th, 2011, 3:45 pm

Two recommended bluetooth ear headsets:

Cardo S800 (US$20 on amazon)

BlueAnt Z9i (US$25 on ebay)

Postby redmanjp » January 5th, 2011, 5:24 pm

pete wrote:
redmanjp wrote:bmobile still have their xmas sales prices? i interested in d nokia 5310 or Samsung E2550 (right now i only have a old cheap motorola wit no btooth) anyone know if they selling this in any store now or just online in their e-store?

why police & emergency service drivers exempt? they cant use hands free?

or is it to allow them to communicate with a police radio/dispatch?

and jeez i sticking wit Feb. 2nd oui

Just the e-store. But the e-store is great, pay online and they'll deliver it directly to you, no hassle going to a store to collect. I was supposed to get my 5310 today but wasn't there :(

unfortunately i haz no credit card :(

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » January 10th, 2011, 10:03 pm

So ONCE youre using your any electronic communication device whilst driving its a CHARGE.
So why are people rushing out to buy Hands free and headsets- they will still be ILLEGAL to use whild driving.

From midnight

Postby UML » February 17th, 2011, 9:49 pm

the ban on cellphone use while driving will take effect.
Last edited by UML on February 17th, 2011, 9:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: From midnight

Postby rollingstock » February 17th, 2011, 9:51 pm

Is nuh de 19th???

Postby UML » February 17th, 2011, 9:53 pm

on the news said tonight. :|

Postby K74T » February 17th, 2011, 9:53 pm

screw d ban :evil:

Oh wait, it's screw d bulb :|

Postby rollingstock » February 17th, 2011, 9:57 pm

UML wrote:on the news said tonight. :|

Saw the same thing on ietv news, but i thought it went into effect on the 19th

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » February 17th, 2011, 9:58 pm

iz tmr nite

Postby rollingstock » February 17th, 2011, 10:02 pm

^^^ Thanks.

I know i'm ugly and stupid, buh Alzheimer's too?

Postby S_2NR » February 17th, 2011, 10:03 pm

12 midnight on feb 18th is 12 o clock tonite...

12 midnight on feb 19th is 12 o clock tomoro night..

once the clock strikes 12 am at midnight..a new day begins..

rossi

Postby rossi » February 17th, 2011, 10:04 pm

rollingstock wrote:^^^ Thanks.

^^ Triple threat right there :lol: :lol:

Postby Chimera » February 18th, 2011, 12:05 am

get yuh plantronics 925's here

Postby tr1ad » February 18th, 2011, 12:15 am

same way they allowed to drive without seatbelt
ambulance and fire services as well could use the phone

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 18th, 2011, 12:27 am

redman10 wrote:12 midnight on feb 18th is 12 o clock tonite...

no.

the 18th now start. midnight on feb. 18th is in 24 hours. the ban takes effect from Friday midnight

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 18th, 2011, 7:41 am

IBTR (in before the Raptor)

Postby wagonrunner » February 18th, 2011, 7:49 am

tr1ad wrote:same way they allowed to drive without seatbelt
ambulance and fire services as well could use the phone

so if dem dead from ah accident...thaz ok?

I find thaz ah OSH offence if you ask me

dont forget the same "threat of causing an accident" and involving other drivers. ;)
if the the police vehicle is simply being driven along the roadways, ,with lights and siren off, while driver is talking / holding / texting / touching / going through the menus of their phone.

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » February 18th, 2011, 7:54 am

mitch wrote:
redman10 wrote:12 midnight on feb 18th is 12 o clock tonite...

no.

the 18th now start. midnight on feb. 18th is in 24 hours. the ban takes effect from Friday midnight

actually 12:00 midnight that just went was when the 18th started as in 12 am and this day will end at 11:59 pm therefore today is the day you get charged.

Postby Stephon. » February 18th, 2011, 7:55 am

silent_riot wrote:IBTR (in before the Raptor)

:lol: For real though, I've been hearing people telling me that bluetooth sales this week was great! I should have invested in some :(

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » February 18th, 2011, 8:20 am

evo-STI-k wrote:So ONCE youre using your any electronic communication device whilst driving its a CHARGE.
So why are people rushing out to buy Hands free and headsets- they will still be ILLEGAL to use whild driving.

This is what I want to find out. The advisory from MOWT clearly says cell phones.

ok so question.
I have trucks that use Motorola two way radios. Is talking on these while driving illegal? Keeping with the fact that this is a "cellphone" ban.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 18th, 2011, 8:58 am

^ the law states

"No person shall drive or have charge of a motor vehicle on any road while holding or using a hand- held mobile device."

The law is not against communication, the law is against holding the device in your hand while operating the vehicle. This makes hands-free devices legal.

You CAN use a wired or wireless headset, in-ear-monitor, bluetooth device to receive a phone call and talk to the caller - this is legal.

Both hands should be on the steering wheel - so fiddling with your hands free device, trying to "pair it" to your phone while you are driving would be illegal. Holding your phone to dial a number would also be illegal.

there are hands free kits and headsets for CB radios and walkie-talkies as well - wired and wireless

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » February 18th, 2011, 9:05 am

thanks Duane.
that was what I needed clarified.

Shio

Postby Shio » February 18th, 2011, 11:59 am

noticed more police than usual today

Postby redmanjp » February 18th, 2011, 12:27 pm

on C dis morning they said midnight 2nite- ah doh have mih blutoot yet from 2mrw dem calls go hadda go tuh voicemail oui

Postby Hook » February 18th, 2011, 1:00 pm

rollingstock wrote:^^^ Thanks.

I hope you're thirsty too *hands u a glass of water* cuz thas d only thing I could help u with

Re: Cell phone driving ban to take effect February 18th 2011

Postby tr1ad » February 18th, 2011, 1:08 pm

who the fack cares if it is tonite, tomorrow yesterday or last week

notice was given wrt this new law

Postby redmanjp » February 18th, 2011, 2:04 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ the law states

"No person shall drive or have charge of a motor vehicle on any road while holding or using a hand- held mobile device."

The law is not against communication, the law is against holding the device in your hand while operating the vehicle. This makes hands-free devices legal.

You CAN use a wired or wireless headset, in-ear-monitor, bluetooth device to receive a phone call and talk to the caller - this is legal.

Both hands should be on the steering wheel - so fiddling with your hands free device, trying to "pair it" to your phone while you are driving would be illegal. Holding your phone to dial a number would also be illegal.

there are hands free kits and headsets for CB radios and walkie-talkies as well - wired and wireless

so how yuh answering d calls or hanging up? if it has a button & yuh press it to answer/hang up daz illegal too?