Exhaust Hissing

turbo_beast369

Exhaust Hissing

Postby turbo_beast369 » May 24th, 2010, 4:01 pm

Car is a stock CS3 lancer with a 4G18

I had a stock exhaust system and was hearin a slight hissing sound (kinda like a rattle snake) whenever i drive by a wall or another car and even when i am driving normally...i thought it was the cat converter so i replaced with a resonator/silencer ting dem muffler shop does have...but i am still getting the noise...went by 3 muffler shops but they not seein any leaks..the ring gasket at the end of the exhaust manifold was changed as well (OEM)

could it be possible that my down pipe from my manifold has gotten thin on the inside due to age/heat and it kinda echoeing in the chamber?

I have asked guys with same car/engine who have taken out their cat cons and they not gettin d noise I am getting...

CD4Accord

Re: Exhaust Hissing

Postby CD4Accord » May 24th, 2010, 4:21 pm

I am no exhaust pro, but did you also check out the exhaust manifold gasket coming off the head?

What exhaust shops you went to exactly?

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » May 25th, 2010, 7:54 am

exhaust manifold gasket coming off the head is good...

I went by Imraj, Mickey and a guy name Mazda (in a street off of cipero st that connects to todd street)

G20

Postby G20 » February 17th, 2011, 1:08 pm

turbo_beast369 wrote:exhaust manifold gasket coming off the head is good...

I went by Imraj, Mickey and a guy name Mazda (in a street off of cipero st that connects to todd street)

Didi you ever get this sorted out ?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 17th, 2011, 11:39 pm

Mazda fella would be on Westwood street I think, at the bottom of the hill..

Interestingly I dealt with all 3 of those exhaust men in the past.. All have done good jobs really

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » February 18th, 2011, 9:59 am

nah d car still sounds like it has an exhaust leak

I feel is because the catalytic converter was taken out...even tho it was replaced with a silencer it still sounds like it leakin....I fedup tryin to figure it out...I wanna change d engine next year so i wont hurt meh head too much...

G20

Postby G20 » February 18th, 2011, 1:22 pm

Was asking cause I'm having the same problem I took out my stock manifold and replaced it with an extractor kit...The cat-convert was taken out, the old barrel was replaced with a fujitsubo barrel that came off an S14 and there's a resonator.

I was told to go check a guy not too far from Roopnarines on the Caroni Savannah road to try and sort it out.

It would be nice to go to a good muffler shop that would have someone who just don't install muffler systems but can give you good advice based upon what you want....

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 18th, 2011, 3:31 pm

Go check 2001 specialist on Manahambre Rd, St. Madeline...
He is rather knowledgeable and is a step above your average welder/installer!

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » February 18th, 2011, 4:10 pm

yeah I heard good reviews from them....

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 21st, 2011, 8:23 am

are you running aftermarket barrel? Most of the cheapo ones are sheit and will make noise when the inner insulation burns away.

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » February 21st, 2011, 4:08 pm

I was gettin the noise since even b4 I installed my aftermarket exhaust....its the same b4 and after...and I don't have a cheapo barrel...its a Fujitsubo exhaust ;)

G20

Postby G20 » February 21st, 2011, 4:40 pm

^^^^ nice

G20

Postby G20 » March 7th, 2011, 8:31 pm

any luck ???? A muffler guy told me yesterday that my extractor is made up of that cheap, thin material so I would get that " hissing " noise...

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » March 7th, 2011, 9:24 pm

nah me eh bothering with that nah...i go leave it until i change to a 4G93T

G20

Postby G20 » March 9th, 2011, 10:30 am

ok cool...I was thinking the same think but my QG don't want to die for nothing !!! lol