wtk proper way to use 02 protege auto tranny plz read

MAZDA People United - it continues here

shimon

wtk proper way to use 02 protege auto tranny plz read

Postby shimon » February 16th, 2011, 5:02 am

Goodday fellow mazda owners I recently bought a 05 protege and was searching through the various forums on the net with no luck. What I want to know is how to properly use the auto tranny this is what i understand so far correct me if im wrong.

1 gives you access to gears 1 and 2
S gives you access to gears 1,2 and 3 this gear is used for city main road driving
D gives you access to gears 1,2,3 and 4 this is used on the highway for long trips 4 acts like the overdrive in nissan vehicles?
HOLD NOW THIS IS WHAT I READ ON THE FORUMS NEVER USED IT MYSELF holds the gear in longer and redlines the car before changing to the next gear ? also I read they said it holds the gear you selected until you manually change it e.g if I in 2 it WOULD'T change to 3 unless I move the shitfer to d?

correct me if im wrong here tuners need this info ASAP its my 1st real car and I really wanna treat it better than the girlfrend Thanks.
Last edited by shimon on February 16th, 2011, 5:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: wtk proper way to use 05 protege auto tranny plz read

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 16th, 2011, 9:44 am

shimon

Postby shimon » February 16th, 2011, 10:10 am

thanks bro just the post i was looking for just didn't know how to type it in the search bar

shimon

Postby shimon » February 16th, 2011, 10:18 am

arrr to little info cmon mazda peeps post some links or sumthing really desperate gonna try to get a manual any ideas where i can dl one or buy one ? gonna try southern sales over the weekend

shimon

Re: wtk proper way to use 02 protege auto tranny plz read

Postby shimon » February 16th, 2011, 8:56 pm

Anyone else cmon keeepppp the info coming

libra

Postby libra » February 16th, 2011, 10:10 pm

D.A.B

Postby D.A.B » February 16th, 2011, 11:39 pm

hmmm...what d hold botton purpose really is?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 17th, 2011, 8:29 am

shimon for regular everyday driving, highway, normal road etc just leave it in D
only time u will want to go down in 2(S) or 1 is if u trying to come up a hill and u seeing problems
or if u going down a hill and doh want to keep mashing brakes. but have to watch your rpm

shimon

Postby shimon » February 17th, 2011, 4:15 pm

Hong kong i checked it s gives me 3gears d gives me 4 it seems when im on the main road the 4 gears are to much and the car keeps shifting back and fourt like when u have on the overdrive in a nissan and from my knowlege overdrive is for crusing long distances not for going up hills etc libra thanks for the info but the manual doesnt have what im looking for rite now all i really wanna know is how to use the tranny properly

shimon

Postby shimon » February 17th, 2011, 4:17 pm

Hong kong ill use the d and see how it goes

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 17th, 2011, 4:46 pm

yeah shimon
save your self a lot of hassle and just leave it in drive (D)
that is why u buy an "auto" the tranny shift the gears for u, u dont have to do it .
the other two positions is not for everyday driving

Most times when u hear people talking about changing gears in an auto is because they have a tiptronic tranny and they can switch.

your transmission is not that yours is the normal auto which u just put in "d" and it does the work for u

Postby j.o.e » February 17th, 2011, 5:43 pm

leave in "D" ......best advice.

shimon

Postby shimon » February 17th, 2011, 7:07 pm

Ok tuners thanks for the advice dont feel i not listining is just i know fella who have nisans leave there od on all the time and after a while the tranny does slip due to the where and tear of the constant switching of gears 1-4 thanks but i guess mazda diff lol ill leave it in d thanks fellas

shimon

Postby shimon » February 17th, 2011, 10:11 pm

btw it seems like my bj cum with a stabiliza bar where can i buy one also i want to know where i can get a front left side chrome handle thanks

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » February 24th, 2011, 4:45 pm

have (had) a PDF detailing the use of Mazda transmissions (it was a Mazda publication)... can't seem to find it but I'll keep looking.

For all normal driving conditions, 'D' should be used, with 'hold' disengaged. It will cycle through all 4 gears, and shift points are determined by throttle input, vehicle load etc.

'S' actually stands for secondary shift sequence (or some other word meaning sequence)... and NOT sport mode as believed by many, including me before getting the PDF. It's uses are as follows:

1) to downshift while at speed for (a) engine braking, or (b) to raise rpm's into the engine's power band in preparation for overtaking, but without an increase in throttle input

2) To disengage the overdrive gear while still retaining full automatic use of the other gears. It spoke of using this while ascending a hill, or while driving on an undulating road where overdrive is not needed, and constant shifting to and from the overdrive gear increases operating temperatures and wear. It also spoke of use in slow moving traffic. Supposed to reduce fuel consumption too under these circumstances

As for the 'hold' function, when engaged (light illuminates on dash), the driver is given manual control of all 3 forward gears. This is to be used when towing, or when automatic shifting is not advantageous (case in point I've used 1st and 2 gear only when crossing the hill to Maracas with the car loaded up with ppl and their stuff; 3rd gear decreased rpm's too much to maintain a good pace). Also when hold is engaged, and with the gear selector in 'D', the transmission will shift automatically through gears 1, 2 and 3, but upshifts occur at a set rpm (and a very low one at that), regardless of throttle inputs
Last edited by damieG82 on February 24th, 2011, 7:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » February 24th, 2011, 5:02 pm

In terms of maintenance, change the transmission fluid every 50-60K kms. Sadly this tends not to get done since ppl do not place the same service importance on 'regular' transmissions as they do with CVT's, tiptronics, dual-clutch types etc etc.

Chances are it was never done, so best start now. Most ppl on here swear by Redline brand. I'd say any reputable brand of Dexron III synthetic fluid will work fine. If u go with a non-synthetic aka conventional, I'd recommend u half the service interval I quoted above

shimon

Postby shimon » February 24th, 2011, 6:15 pm

wooooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww thanks dogg i have a service manual but it isnt for the Trini version 323 but here check out my post on a Australian website thanks again dogg

shimon

Postby shimon » February 24th, 2011, 6:17 pm

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 24th, 2011, 6:53 pm

Ok tuners thanks for the advice dont feel i not listining is just i know fella who have nisans leave there od on all the time and after a while the tranny does slip due to the where and tear of the constant switching of gears 1-4

Wait what?

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » February 24th, 2011, 7:24 pm

no probs Shimon... and the info posted backs up what I said. The consensus is that the 323's transmission generally is not a strong unit, hence the reason timely maintenance is a must. One thing I forgot to add is that you should come to a complete stop when switching from reverse to drive, and vice versa. It seems obvious but when in a rush there's the propensity to make that shift while the car is still rolling, albeit slowly. Over time that practice will cause undue transmission and axle wear

Regarding the Nissans, its actually not the first time I've heard that, but overdrive use and transmission slip are mutual exclusive. I'd chalk it up to lack of maintenance and lack of knowledge as to how overdrive works (some actually thought it gave a 'turbo' effect :lol: ). But there is a switch that goes bad... it happened to a padna's B14 SS. With steady throttle, it would slip in and out of overdrive. With Mazda's its called a neutralising switch (well at least that's what d ppl at Jenton called it). Mine went bad last year and was causing the same problem among others. After replacing it, everything was A-ok once more

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 25th, 2011, 6:11 am

I'd chalk it up to lack of maintenance and lack of knowledge as to how overdrive works (some actually thought it gave a 'turbo' effect ).

Correct.

Had two Nissan's with that OD function...both for a few years.....with NO isues with OD switching or otherwise.

Poor m'tce schedules are most likely the culprit here, since in my experience (and from what I could detect), the car hardly ever went into OD during normal road driving (which was pretty slow anyway).

Folks just switch off OD 'cuz they don't actually know what it does.

shimon

Postby shimon » February 25th, 2011, 7:40 pm

yep yep I leave it off on my grandpa's nissan becuase his car is mainly used on the main road to and from the golf corse overdrive on nissan vehicles or any vehicle with a o/d switch should be used for long trips where the 3rd gear will be engaged for long leaving the car at a high rpm which cause more wear than usual good maintenance or not it should't be on all the time eg main road driving etc i read that in a nissan bullutain a while ago basically it said that not in my word but same meaning makes sense when u think about it ask yourself if it was made to be on all the time why would it be made into a switch anyways thanks for all the advice u guys makig this a good post for mazda tranny guys.

Return to “MAZDA”