Postby X_Factor » February 7th, 2011, 4:16 pm

the price dropped alot since we bought it in 09 when we paid 8000
i believe its around the 6000 range 7000 for the most
CTC has it the cheapest

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 7th, 2011, 7:05 pm

^ Samsung and Panasonic have had the best HDTVs for the past few years now and looks like they will for some years to come

@mitch, i can't wait to join that XBMC bandwagon, but Intel and this Sandy Bridge / Cougar Point mess up means I'll have to wait before I can get a new system and relegate this one to a HTPC build :(

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 7th, 2011, 7:55 pm

PS3 netflix

+

=
countless hours behind the tv
5.1 sound and "HD"

what am I missing out on the HTPC? after I got this netflix running didnt bother to set up anything on the PC i built for the tv, only use it to run the ps3 media server basically for any new dvd screener movies that i come across

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 7th, 2011, 10:17 pm

^ how are you getting past the US IP check on PS3 netflix?

Postby M_2NR » February 7th, 2011, 10:25 pm

mitch wrote:installed the Aeon MQ skin yesterday. XBMC jus got awesome-er

boy... i kinda sticking as uwi start... but XBMC out for iOS... Duane yuh see why it good to jb :P hehe

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » February 7th, 2011, 10:28 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ how are you getting past the US IP check on PS3 netflix?

http://www.usvideo.org/

Edit the settings in the ps3 network options change the DNS.

There is a post somewhere with the info... I am with flow and works great!!! streamed on two machines simultaneously and still worked great.

Also supports hulu

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 7th, 2011, 10:47 pm

so i guessing usvideo is the best proxy thus far?

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 8th, 2011, 8:06 am

http://www.usvideo.org/

^ i'm using that

5 day trial, i just reset my modem every 5 days to change IP on my blink

but today i'm going to pay for it, because my FLOW is static

i emailed them and they said it will work fine with my trinidad credit card

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 8th, 2011, 8:09 am

definitely worth paying the subscription
just click and play, no choosing a server to play from or checking for quality of streaming

and they suggest other good movies or shows based on the ones i watched and liked

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 8th, 2011, 11:37 am

^ definitely - I changed the DNS on my router so my PC, laptops, PS3 and even iPhone are all getting Netflix and Hulu+

I started watching a movie on my PC, went to grab a bite to eat downstairs so i continued watching it on the big screen TV via the PS3 and then I went to bed and watched it out on the iPhone all from where I left off on the previous device, seemlessly!

This is definitely worth the money!!!

usvideo.org - US$4.99 / month
netflix - US$9.99 / month
hulu+ - US$7.99 / month

Humes

Postby Humes » February 8th, 2011, 12:10 pm

I've been looking at this 42" 720p Samsung.

It's about $550 USD on Amazon, and $5300 in Price Smart. Critique it please.

I checked out the CTC sets...cool, but ~$7000 is my entire budget. Still hadda get a media player and a sound bar.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » February 8th, 2011, 12:16 pm

Humes wrote:I've been looking at this 42" 720p Samsung.

It's about $550 USD on Amazon, and $5300 in Price Smart. Critique it please.

I checked out the CTC sets...cool, but ~$7000 is my entire budget. Still hadda get a media player and a sound bar.

if my supplier has it in stock in miami

i can get it for $4700 for you

Samsung PN42C450

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » February 8th, 2011, 12:20 pm

I think someone mentioned this before, but I really do question the build quality of samsung's products. Aside from having a couple friends who purchased Samsung HD (LCD) sets that failed, Ive read quite a bit online about others who have the same or similar problems.
Being that we live in Trinidad, I'd be very upset to have to go through problematic returns and repairs on a brand new set.
Im going to be looking for a new HDTV soon, and I was really leaning toward samsung, since they seem to have the market pretty well covered in the upper midrange area of LED/3D..but Im wondering If i shouldnt go with some tried and true (for me anyway) Sony

RapToR

Postby RapToR » February 8th, 2011, 12:27 pm

rodfarva wrote:I think someone mentioned this before, but I really do question the build quality of samsung's products. Aside from having a couple friends who purchased Samsung HD (LCD) sets that failed, Ive read quite a bit online about others who have the same or similar problems.
Being that we live in Trinidad, I'd be very upset to have to go through problematic returns and repairs on a brand new set.
Im going to be looking for a new HDTV soon, and I was really leaning toward samsung, since they seem to have the market pretty well covered in the upper midrange area of LED/3D..but Im wondering If i shouldnt go with some tried and true (for me anyway) Sony

i'v had problems with samsung LCD, so i dont carry it anymore

the LED and Plasma i had no problems

Sony LED i got problems with a few

Humes

Postby Humes » February 8th, 2011, 12:36 pm

Raptor, I've heard good things so I'm keeping you in mind.

Postby crazybalhead » February 8th, 2011, 12:56 pm

Humes wrote:Raptor, I've heard good things so I'm keeping you in mind.

Raptor FTW Humes. Don't bother to shop around.

Humes

Postby Humes » February 8th, 2011, 1:06 pm

crazybalhead wrote:

Well that cements it. But I still hadda check around on Amazon to decide what I want.

Raptor have a thread/post with just TVs?

Postby Dave » February 8th, 2011, 1:20 pm

it is measureable( video and audio) the difference in using a 3ft vs 6ft HDMi cable?
No need for 6ft but 3ft price and availability is marginally smaller than 6ft

Postby 16 cycles » February 8th, 2011, 2:22 pm

^ no diff....

http://reviews.cnet.com/hdmi-guide/

And if you get nothing else from reading this guide, you should remember one simple fact: There's no reason to pay extra for HDMI cables. Intrigued? Let's get started....

Expensive cables aren't worth it

If you walk into your typical electronics store to buy an HDMI cable, you're likely to see prices upward of $50 with promises of better performance and faster speeds. Do you really need to spend that much money on a single HDMI cable?

Absolutely not--those cables are a rip-off. You should never pay more than $10 for a standard six-foot HDMI cable. And despite what salesmen and manufacturers might tell you, there's no meaningful difference between the $10 cable and the $50 cable. Unless you see something obvious, such as dropouts or a flashing screen, the digital information transmitted by both cables is exactly the same--no cable can make the picture any better or any worse. We've used cables from many different companies in the past--such as Belkin, Accell, Monoprice, Monster, and SimplayHD--and have not run into any consistent issues with any brand of cable.
Last edited by 16 cycles on February 8th, 2011, 2:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RapToR

Postby RapToR » February 8th, 2011, 2:29 pm

Humes wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:

Well that cements it. But I still hadda check around on Amazon to decide what I want.

Raptor have a thread/post with just TVs?

i only stock fast selling TV's around december

rest of the year

you choose model no. and i qoute you cost and eta

my next shipment will as i'm leaving for 2mts from this month

Postby X_Factor » February 8th, 2011, 3:05 pm

16 cycles wrote:^ no diff....

http://reviews.cnet.com/hdmi-guide/

And if you get nothing else from reading this guide, you should remember one simple fact: There's no reason to pay extra for HDMI cables. Intrigued? Let's get started....

Expensive cables aren't worth it

If you walk into your typical electronics store to buy an HDMI cable, you're likely to see prices upward of $50 with promises of better performance and faster speeds. Do you really need to spend that much money on a single HDMI cable?

Absolutely not--those cables are a rip-off. You should never pay more than $10 for a standard six-foot HDMI cable. And despite what salesmen and manufacturers might tell you, there's no meaningful difference between the $10 cable and the $50 cable. Unless you see something obvious, such as dropouts or a flashing screen, the digital information transmitted by both cables is exactly the same--no cable can make the picture any better or any worse. We've used cables from many different companies in the past--such as Belkin, Accell, Monoprice, Monster, and SimplayHD--and have not run into any consistent issues with any brand of cable.

while i doubt there will be any loss between 3-6ft
im certain that cable brands does make a difference
(note i didnt say expensive eh)
but most times the better brands does cost more

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 8th, 2011, 3:12 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ definitely - I changed the DNS on my router so my PC, laptops, PS3 and even iPhone are all getting Netflix and Hulu+

I started watching a movie on my PC, went to grab a bite to eat downstairs so i continued watching it on the big screen TV via the PS3 and then I went to bed and watched it out on the iPhone all from where I left off on the previous device, seemlessly!

This is definitely worth the money!!!

usvideo.org - US$4.99 / month
netflix - US$9.99 / month
hulu+ - US$7.99 / month

same here...
i resume from work when i have nothing to do
and continue back at home

works good from the ipad too

i havent tried the HULU though.. how is it working for you?
any major differences from the netflix?

Humes

Postby Humes » February 8th, 2011, 3:58 pm

RapToR wrote:my next shipment will as i'm leaving for 2mts from this month

Perfect timing. I shall vibes you then.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 8th, 2011, 6:23 pm

didnt upload any pics since i did the glass door for the cabinet

now all wires and devices are hidden, remotes work fine through the glass, still need to order me that logitech harmony remote

i'll be ready soon for that monster surround set up... kinda fedup of this sony HTIB, allyuh would have to recommend something for me

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 8th, 2011, 6:31 pm

^ ignore that lamp thing eh.... i was too lazy to move it

Humes

Postby Humes » February 8th, 2011, 7:26 pm

Yuh lookin bess.

Humes

Postby Humes » February 8th, 2011, 7:28 pm

Btw, just hooked up with that Netflix thing. Works fine. Letting my wife sample the trial period on her laptop, where she watches most of her TV anyway. Then I'll decide whether to stick with it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 8th, 2011, 9:04 pm

looks GREAT cooper_Shot!!!

you definitely NEED a Harmony 900

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 8th, 2011, 9:12 pm

can the harmony be programmed to open netflix on the ps3?

would be so great if i can just press netflix on a remote and the tv & ps3 would power on and netflix will automatically open

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 8th, 2011, 9:22 pm

You would need the PS3 BT adapter for the harmony 900

In essence yes - i just press "Watch Movie" on the Harmony 900 touch screen, the a/c comes on to 22 degrees with the fan speed on low, the receiver comes on, the TV comes on, the PS3 comes on and all on the correct input, the room lights dim - you then select what you want to watch.

And since the harmony 900 remote is RF you dont have to point it at anything, even for devices that use IR remotes.

At worst you will start off on the Xross Bar menu and you go to Netflix, but since the PS3 remembers the last place you were the most you'd have to do is to click enter on the netflix icon

the Definitive Technology Mythos XTR 50 slim wall mounted speakers would look and sound EPIC on your setup - I'd buy them if I could afford them - i went with the Klipsch Quintet SL LCR instead