Spider bite!

Re: Spider bite!

Postby nervewrecker » February 2nd, 2011, 8:30 am

They never really strike me as something dangerous. I have friends who practically play with them Tarantulas but I aint touching dem mofos though, they kinda creepy.
I now view those blasted things from a different perspective. That small bite on my finger caused me intense pain for about 2 nights straight & I didnt know better than to take panadol for pain. Whole friggin night I rolling with pain.
Only after the good ole doc cut the finger open & drain it then it eased up. Imagine I have my finger cut in 3 places (1 major cut almost to the friggin bone) & it pained a lot less. I have a few pretty gross pics that I never put on the net, it looked like my finger rotting lol.

Postby janfar » February 2nd, 2011, 8:30 am

Could have also been one of these badboys... been seeing them around of late...

Brown Recluse.

http://www.brownreclusespider.org/

some info here...

Postby nervewrecker » February 2nd, 2011, 8:37 am

janfar wrote:Could have also been one of these badboys... been seeing them around of late...

Brown Recluse.

http://www.brownreclusespider.org/

some info here...

saw that same pic on wikipedia & I'm wondering if its the same one I have in that pic on page 2. but there isnt enough detail in pic from the net to determine if its the same one.
what about the huntsman spider?

Postby AllTrac » February 2nd, 2011, 8:39 am

every single crawling and flying insects feels the wrath of my slipper! fcuk the tree huggers.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » February 2nd, 2011, 8:45 am

i honestly didn't think we had such dangerous species of spiders in Trinidad :|

Postby janfar » February 2nd, 2011, 8:49 am

Brown Recluse are not natural inhabitants of Trinidad... but with the increase of shipments from ther US they are now quite common...

Remembered we recieved some equipment from Louisianna back in 2004 and when we opened up we saw one ontop the tool... Just before one of the guys picked up one of the expats pulled him away and told us what it was... Have been seeing them ever since.

Postby nervewrecker » February 2nd, 2011, 8:52 am

searchingone wrote:i honestly didn't think we had such dangerous species of spiders in Trinidad :|

it have a black hairy type (some more hairy than others & some come disguised as a hairles type) that does cause you grey hair, hair loss, premature ageing, continious stress on you & your wallet & may even introduce offspring into your home.
Some may even cause damage to your car if you are caught assoicating with other spiders of that species.
The only way to get rid of it is to give it half of everything you own.

Postby 16 cycles » February 2nd, 2011, 8:58 am

if it is the brown recluse or ppl seeing it - need to report sightings for vector control??

home fowl is help with the insects...

Postby mitsu_chick941 » February 2nd, 2011, 8:59 am

AllTrac wrote:every single crawling and flying insects feels the wrath of my slipper! fcuk the tree huggers.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » February 2nd, 2011, 9:00 am

slacker_jack wrote:
searchingone wrote:i honestly didn't think we had such dangerous species of spiders in Trinidad :|

it have a black hairy type (some more hairy than others & some come disguised as a hairles type) that does cause you grey hair, hair loss, premature ageing, continious stress on you & your wallet & may even introduce offspring into your home.
Some may even cause damage to your car if you are caught assoicating with other spiders of that species.
The only way to get rid of it is to give it half of everything you own.

Postby Bizzare » February 2nd, 2011, 9:03 am

Mark! wrote:allyuh aver kill a big spider and a MILLION babies come crawling out all over?

Happened numerous times with cockroaches yea..... :sick: :skurry:

searchingone

Postby searchingone » February 2nd, 2011, 9:05 am

^ditto! *deads* :cry:

s@int

Postby s@int » February 2nd, 2011, 9:53 am

Guys,I am very sorry to here of your encounters with these little critters however I am glad you guys are ok. I just want mention that the typical response to these encounters are to clean and spray with insecticides,but this can be of equal if not even worse results,.........how you might ask....I'll tell you.Firstly spiders are arachnids so most insecticides will not work spraying your yard would just kill all the insects and make a wondeful buffet for spiders (the guy selling the insecticides is most likely unaware of this),you may think that you sprayed a spider in the past and it died,no it did not,it just went into a state of semi shock and you probably finished it off by whacking it some instrument,think back hard.The spiders that do die from common insecticides are not harmful.Secondly for the folks with kids,spraying your yard with insecticides would just mean you have to watch your kids EVERY second,they would be having a snack piece falls they pick it up and in their mouth it would go together with traces of the insecticides,playing with their toys in the yard then they rub their eyes,this list could go on and on.Get a CAT nature's insecticide very effective against spiders,rats,snakes,roaches,centipedes,scorpions the stuff you would normally spray for.Cleaning your house is a good idea however there are places that you will not be able to get too and these are the places that the spiders will eventually turn to its humble abode.Cleaning just relocates them,you need to get rid of them.I can only hope that at least one tuner would consider my suggestion.

P.S. I am not a spiderologist I am actually the Green Goblin,I have dedicated considerable time to getting rid of Spiderman and his family.LOL

Postby janfar » February 2nd, 2011, 9:59 am

But in the end Green Goblin dies... so why should anyone take your advice???

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 2nd, 2011, 10:03 am

i too thought ti was a brown recluse, but ppl say you feel the bite, and i didnt.. but seeing it next to the penny above, it does look allot like that..

I aint posting no pics of my wound. i dont think it's necessary and honestly i am very grossed out by it and dont eed to see any reminders etc.

much thanks for all the support and best wishes, really appreciated!

Postby Chimera » February 2nd, 2011, 10:39 am

steups...I hadda go pull out some ceiling material I was saving for personal use from a dusty end of the warehouse and I bummy cuz it have plenty spiderwebs....lol

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 2nd, 2011, 10:45 am

BOP d whole damn place!

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 2nd, 2011, 10:52 am

Sorry to hear 'bout that d00d....good to hear you're recovering though! I still think that sounds more like a Recluse spider (saw a documentary on Nat Geo once).

Those buggers can be harmful. Scary if you ask me, since they're so small.

i honestly didn't think we had such dangerous species of spiders in Trinidad

Yep....here's an example:

You do realise that the Black Widow Spider is found in South America...right? Some of those spiders could have been transported here for all we know....and their poison is more lethal than that of your average rattlesnake.

Postby gastly369 » February 2nd, 2011, 11:08 am

had so many encounters with this kind already.. dont think they are poisonous tho there name is scorpion spider.. dey does lay flat flat flat on de ground like under ah box and you go sure dem dead and squashed because ah de weight or someting. but as yuh touch dem is NOS and gettorn wild wild ... i does hit dem combo ah bop, protox and slippers
Last edited by gastly369 on February 2nd, 2011, 11:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » February 2nd, 2011, 11:18 am

^where u livin horse??

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » February 2nd, 2011, 12:29 pm

Reminds me of the world's most dangerous spiders...

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 2nd, 2011, 1:00 pm

I use something called SpeckOz with the chemical Bifenthrin. Safeish to spray inside as well.

Have not seen an insect or arachnid for months.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » February 2nd, 2011, 1:04 pm

shotta 20, mods move brisk on yuh dey bhai :|

Postby Bizzare » February 2nd, 2011, 1:13 pm

Hmm and the scary thing is, the last spider in those pics looking the least harmful......but its not.
I've seen all kinda spiders, insects on the whole, when I was working in a warehouse owned by a Tuner here :roll: (clean yuh place)
Sometimes these things come on containers shipped from overseas......

moti

Postby moti » February 2nd, 2011, 1:53 pm

Bez,

glad to know you doing well pal.
sorry to hear this happened.

spiders MUST die.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » February 2nd, 2011, 2:44 pm

hottgyul wrote:shotta 20, mods move brisk on yuh dey bhai :|

Fuh real hottgyul...I thought it was educational..... :D

Postby Hook » February 2nd, 2011, 2:54 pm

maybe this? it says it kills spiders *shrugs*

http://www.killsbugsdead.com/fogger/

Postby mitsu_chick941 » February 2nd, 2011, 2:56 pm

Postby Hook » February 2nd, 2011, 3:02 pm

WOW...now reading the wiki article there

The spider usually bites only when pressed against the skin, such as when tangled up within clothes, towels, bedding, inside work gloves, etc. Many human victims of brown recluse bites report having been bitten after putting on clothes that had not recently been worn or lying undisturbed on the floor. The initial brown recluse bite frequently is not felt and may not be immediately painful, yet such a bite can be serious.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 2nd, 2011, 3:06 pm

sounds exactly like the scene that played out.. i didnt think it was the brown recluse cause of some of the stuff i read, but the more i read the more it may well have been,

this is why it's important to kill one if you see it, especially if you have been bitten