Any Mitsubishi L200 Triton fans out there?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
badart

Re: Any Mitsubishi L200 Triton fans out there?

Postby badart » July 11th, 2010, 10:17 pm

oh ok cool..thanks..hopefully they wud hav fixed tht issue for the 2010 model

JWT

Postby JWT » July 19th, 2010, 11:29 pm

the 3.2l auto was going for 240k on the road a teach at my school bought one like 6mths ago when they now came out price raise!!

i still find new van prices are way too high

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » July 20th, 2010, 6:45 am

Go for it, the 3.2 Sportero is a great investment.

The ride is very smooth for a truck.
I may be wrong but i have been told that the 3.2 version is detuned in order to accept our poor quality diesel here. The 3.2 however is very much impressive in terms of power, handling and comfort.

I am a proud owner doing appox 30,000kms and absloutely no problems.

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » July 22nd, 2010, 1:32 pm

Those Tyres :shock: :shock: :shock:

venum

Postby venum » July 22nd, 2010, 10:28 pm

soon . . . soon . . .

ah who the hell I kidding . . . soon is 1 yr+ for me

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » July 23rd, 2010, 1:01 pm

i was suppose to post this up long time ,this is for 4wd action.com. the article is about how to get your lsd to engage on the bt50,but i guess it would pertain to all vehicles that have lsd

Just a little thing that might help you getting that torque transfer thingy with Left Foot Braking to work for you. Get hold of a fairly tubular type jack, screw or hydraulic. With the vehicle in 2WD and on level ground, handbrake on, no chocks; very carefully jack one rear wheel just clear of the ground. Make sure that you keep clear of anywhere the car might roll if it comes off the jack, and certainly DO NOT get under it while it is raised, but try to locate the jack under the axle or suspension of the side you are raising - Driver's side is probly gonna be easier for what we are doing. Make sure that the jack is placed in such a way that when you drive off it, the jack won't stick bits into anything under the car, ie fuel tanks etc, and get the wheel just clear of the ground, it doesn't need to be 2" off the gound, just clear is OK, so the wheel will spin freely. Take the handle out of the jack too - stops it hitting anything.

Then get into the drivers seat, start the car, release the handbrake and gently release the clutch. Remember you should be in 2WD, and by releasing the clutch (or putting an auto into low gear) you should find the wheel that is raised spinning. If you are lucky enough to have an LSD that has sufficient pre-load to drive straight off the jack, stick a normal house brick in front of one of the front wheels! You can still improve the torque transfer with this left foot braking! Anyhow, now that the wheel is spinning, with your left foot gently on the brake and using your right foot to gently feed in power to keep the engine from stalling, gently increase the pressure on your left foot until the spinning wheel slows and eventually it should either drive you right off the jack, or at least you should feel it definitely trying! REMEMBER THE AMOUNT OF LEFT FOOT BRAKE PRESSURE YOU ARE USING to get it to drive off the jack!! That is effectively what you are doing on the hills etc.

That is how much left foot brake you are going to hafta apply to get any appreciable torque transfer when you are climbing or lifting wheels. And you might need a little more when the vehicle is in 4WD and you are lifting 2 wheels, 1 front and one back! We tried this in a BT-50 not that long ago - couple of weeks ish! And it helped make it easier to come to terms with the braking effort needed, it is probly more than you think!! AND it does help to get the car further than it could previously going!

While this technique will work for any vehicle with a diff, & especially those with LSD's; we have found that the BT-50 is as good if not marginally better than all the similar utes of this latest batch to hit the market, and the rear diff does allow torque transfer fairly readily, adding a fair bit to the rear drive especially. It will increase the ability of the vehicle to traverse ruts and humps where diagonal cross axle wheel spin is a problem, as well as helping you when climbing steep or loose hills - great in this latest lot of mud that has appeared 'cos of the rain!

Give driving off the jack a try, get the feel for the amount of brake needed, then practice transferring this braking effort into the real 4WD use! It is a good way to practice when you can't get out into the ruff stuff, and it's a good way to get on top of the skill when you are having problems. PRACTICE MAKES PERFECT!

hope this is helpfull and when alyuh going and test alyuh lsd . and v when yuh ready to sell check meh unless i bought one before you ready to sell :)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 12th, 2010, 4:41 pm

What's the pricing currently on a 2.5 4x4 manual L200?

Anyone bought one recently, what are your views, thoughts, mishaps?

I wonder when Diamond Motors is gonna come with the new 2010 MN L200 sportero, with the new 2.5 D1-D high-power engine and longer tray-bed.

Looks really good!

venum

Postby venum » October 15th, 2010, 8:07 pm

^^^ LH dread . . . it too sweet

pity though taht DM may NEVER bring a model like the one in that vid

imagine teh price they would chanrge - no one would buy

48,000.00 AUD = 300,402.25 TTD

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 16th, 2010, 2:27 am

imagine teh price they would chanrge - no one would buy

48,000.00 AUD = 300,402.25 TTD

NNOOOOOOooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!

:shocked!: :shocked!: :( :( :( :cry: :cry: :faint: :faint:

As much as I like the L200 Sportero, I still find DM charging a lot for it.
$230,000 for the 2.5L and $265,000 for the 3.2L in AUTO ONLY.....

Sniff sniff.

Hey venum, did you ever check out Club Strada of the Philippines? That bunch of dudes love their L200's & Strada's.

http://www.stradaclubph.com/

venum

Postby venum » October 17th, 2010, 8:02 pm

^^^ never did check them

I am a lifetime paid member of www.l200.org

will check them out

unfortunately, that is the converted price of that 2010

the interior is different with some more luxurious upgrades such as the shift lever

I find that the price of new pickups in Trinidad are waay too high . . . the dealers still consider them a status vehicle IMHO so they priced high

was by N&M 1 month ago with a buddy - $241K for an auto Navara with leather option

not bad considering that the auto 2.5L Sportero is $220k

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 18th, 2010, 6:25 am

$241K for an auto Navara with leather option

Auto 4x4 hilux with leather is $265,000
Auto 3.2 4x4 L200 with leather is $265,000
Auto 3.0 4x4 Ranger with leather is $265,000

Auto 2.5 TDCI 4x4 BT-50 is $230,000

*sigh*
*has a mournful look through www.trinicarsforsale.com*

badart

Postby badart » October 18th, 2010, 8:25 am

the auto hilux now coming with fabric for $250,000 this wasnt an option b4

venum

Postby venum » October 18th, 2010, 5:46 pm

^^^ ya i saw that same time i was looking around with my buddy

trinicars has a nice black auto TCJ sportero for $170k with low mileage

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » December 11th, 2010, 1:08 am

Guys,

I am looking into buying the fully loaded Sportero from DM. I test drove the 3.2 turbo fully loaded model last week on Lady Chancelor hill while rain was falling bucket a drop then decided to decent through the St Anns road. I was very impressed and did not even need to engage 4h/4L for mst of the drive I only engaged to feel the difference and test the vehicles capability.

I am convinced that if I am to proceed with this purchase that the Sportero is the way to go (i did not doubt it before either but had to scan the market for myself).

My only dillema is should I go for the 3.2 or settle for the 2.5. I noticed you all mentioned that the 3.2 is best suited for the manual model but I am looking to finally go automatic with my next purchase of a 4x4.

The present prices for the fully loaded automatic Sporteros are $265,000.00 for the 2.5 turbo and $273,000.00 for the 3.2 turbo. This does not include bedliner, bull bars, tray covers etc but comes with turbo timer, GPS Tracking alarm system and reverse sensors. This is quite pricey!!!

Let me know what you think and and any informed technical suggestions wrt this purchase.

PS are there no Tritons no longer available RORO. I have checked to no avail...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 11th, 2010, 8:53 am

drift-king,

I'd prob go with the 3.2L auto. The 2.5 is adequate for performance, but the 3.2 is strong and will pull relentlessly. It's not the most powerful engine nor the smoothest but it's reliable and consistent in performance.

http://trinitruckblog.blogspot.com/2010/11/test-drive-mitsubishi-l200-sportero.html

Yeah, I agree with you in that the L200 sportero is quite pricey. IMO it's not really the best value for money (i don't like the small tray) but it won't let you down.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » December 12th, 2010, 8:32 pm

DK, spend the xtra cash and get the 3.2.
Last month made me 2 yrs and counting with my 3.2 sportero & not one single issue. Have driven the 2.5 but the 3.2 really is a driving experience.

Go local & purchase from DM rather than the roll on rolloff dealers. The aftersales staff are knowledgeable & have the right equipment.

With respect to the new price, it seems as if u are paying for all what they say u r getting "free". Nothing in life is free.

Call bobby ali 678-4930 (DM in south) & talk to him about your intention to purchase a vehicle, he will enhance your package, maybe throw in a bed liner.

Tell him dennis from south sent you.

Congrats in choosing the 3.2. You wont regret it.

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » December 16th, 2010, 1:29 am

Thanks for the great advice guys, any issues I should be aware of.
The sales rep in POS told me that you can engage the 4H/4L while in motion. Is this true or it is designed to stop and engage???

Also should I stay with the stock rims/tyres or should I go slightly bigger as this will be a daily driver on the highways and byways... Let me know your views and advice on best upgrades (if allowed to do without voiding warranty from DM)...

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » December 16th, 2010, 1:41 am

Nice blog lighthammer...

badart

Postby badart » December 16th, 2010, 12:37 pm

273K for the 3.2 Sportero WTH, test drive the hilux b4 u make a decision, if u looking for a slightly used 3.2 sportero, 2010 model with turbo timer, tray liner etc pm me

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 16th, 2010, 4:28 pm

DriFT_KiNG wrote:Thanks for the great advice guys, any issues I should be aware of.
The sales rep in POS told me that you can engage the 4H/4L while in motion. Is this true or it is designed to stop and engage???

Also should I stay with the stock rims/tyres or should I go slightly bigger as this will be a daily driver on the highways and byways... Let me know your views and advice on best upgrades (if allowed to do without voiding warranty from DM)...

You should be able to engage the 4wd while moving, at least into 4H. I can't remember what I saw in the manual but most modern trucks have that ability.

It's when you shifting frm 4H to 4L, you have to stop and engage it. This is because you're shifting into low-range, which is a different set of gear ratios. In 4H, you using the same gear ratios as in 2H, just that you locking the center diff to get the front wheels involved in powering the truck.

If you gonna be driving mainly on highways/paved roads, then it's best to stick with the stock tyres. As crappy as they might be off-road, they were specifically selected to give a comfortable ride with a certain level of handling.

If you go with bigger tyres with a higher sidewall profile, you're gonna end up off-setting the speedometer slightly (since there's more tyre to roll now...) and also your handling might be affected according to the type of tyre you choose as well as the sidewall stiffness.

If you plan to go off road at all, take my advice and go ahead & upgrade to all-terrain tyres. Highway tyres will work on a trail, yes, but... you'll really struggle to get any kind of traction esp. if the trail is wet or if you run into slippery mud.

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » December 22nd, 2010, 2:27 pm

Thanks for the advice LH. I was thinking to go for some 18" or 20"'s Black or Gun metal just for the aggressive looks but as anyone knows me I am all about function and not form.

I was quite convinced after reading your blog on the Sportero then to realize that you went with the Navarra. What threw you off so drastically???

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 22nd, 2010, 5:23 pm

^ to be honest I didn't like the sportero at first cuz of the looks, but then I tried it out and it grew on me.

When it came time to put down the money and sign the cheque, I chose the Navara mostly for the larger cabin, more powerful engine and it was cheaper too; or at least it seemed a better deal to me. I didn't like the small tray in the sportero either - didn't suit my needs.

But if you like the sportero and it suits your needs, then all the best to you.

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » January 3rd, 2011, 4:38 pm

Well it's off to DM/Bank to get me the 3.2 then...i'll let you know how it all pans out.

I was really considering the Sorento (4x4, Diesel, 7-seater) as opposed to the Sportero but I think the Sportero fits my immediate needs at the moment...I always have something to tote!!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 4th, 2011, 6:28 am

^^ good choice bro, you won't be disappointed at all.
4m41 powah :D

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » January 28th, 2011, 12:36 pm

Well the BEAST reach...

I collected it from DM a few days ago and I am very impressed thus far...It takes a bit getting use to it's size and is a pain in the ras to park. Thank god for the freebie reverse sensors and turbo timer from DM.

I have some plans to upgrade a bit but I find the prices for aftermarket accessories are rediculous.

I may just put in a bedliner for now although I wanted to install the Roll N Lock but this is severely overpriced I think so I am yet to decide. I dont mind the spray on liners but just studying getting dents from the inside while transporting any cargo (which is what you have to apply if installing the roll n lock BTW.

I already informed my DM Rep that I wanted to bring my own Amsoil oil when doing my first service but they advised me against it because they claim that the service men does thief it so I may just upgrade to the Total synthetic for now.

No regrets though...great vehicle. Not running it too hard until it get a good break in...

will post up some pics later!!!

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » January 28th, 2011, 1:18 pm

DSC02651.JPG
DSC02648.JPG
[attachment=0]DSC02650.JPG[/attach
DSC02673.JPG
DSC02669.JPG
DSC02650.JPG

bt50

Postby bt50 » January 28th, 2011, 1:30 pm

Drift_king

Congrats on your purchase....

Wow...the sales rep actually told you that the servic men does thief the amsoil....WTF

gundelero

Postby gundelero » January 28th, 2011, 1:41 pm

light hammer making me reconsider the ranger now.
i never knew the max power on the 2.5L triton is 131kW.

catalan24

Postby catalan24 » January 28th, 2011, 3:25 pm

best ride drift king..looking sweet..alwayz wanted this color but all was sold out...had to settle for silver..lol

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » January 28th, 2011, 3:28 pm

gundelero wrote:light hammer making me reconsider the ranger now.
i never knew the max power on the 2.5L triton is 131kW.

Yeah yeah... buy the triton.
Ranger is no good :lol:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”