The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » January 17th, 2011, 10:31 pm

You are supposed to have 3.1.2 ipsw as well. do not use 3.1.3 ipsw with redsn0w. thats why u getting that error

laflouf

Postby laflouf » January 18th, 2011, 3:54 am

thamks bro.. i got through

Postby noshownogo » January 18th, 2011, 10:02 am

"I love Apple so much and hope to be back as soon as I can." Steve Jobs

Not to harp too much on Steve's personal issues, but doesn't the above statement seem a bit morbid?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 18th, 2011, 10:23 am

People have been reporting that.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 18th, 2011, 1:26 pm

What happens when an Apple CEO takes a medical leave of absence?

I personally have seen some iPhones still on 1.1.5. :?

eel7

Postby eel7 » January 18th, 2011, 9:53 pm

anyone have fifa 11 for mac?i want it....

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 19th, 2011, 4:41 pm

As part of the countdown to the 10 billionth app download, Apple has posted the all time top iPhone and iPad app downloads. It is separated into four categories: Top Free iPhone Apps, Top Paid iPhones Apps, Top Free iPad Apps, and Top Paid iPad Apps. Here’s the top 10 from each list.

All-Time Top Paid iPhone Apps
    Doodle Jump
    Tap Tap Revenge 3
    Pocket God
    Angry Birds
    Tap Tap Revenge 2.6
    Bejeweled 2 + Blitz
    Traffic Rush
    Tap Tap Revenge Classic
    AppBox Pro Alarm
    Flight Control

All-Time Top Free iPhone Apps
    Facebook
    Pandora
    Google Mobile App
    Shazam
    Movies by Flixster
    The Weather Channel
    Google Earth
    Bump

All-Time Top Paid iPad Apps
    SoundHound
    StickWars
    FlightTrack
    Backbreaker Football
    Calorie Tracker
    BlocksClassic
    iFart Mobile
    GoodReader for iPad
    Cro-Mag Rally
    Ambiance

All-Time Top Free iPad Apps
    Pandora
    Google Mobile App
    Movies by Flixster
    Google Earth
    Yelp
    Fandango Movies
    Remote
    iBooks
    Bible
    Solitaire

------

We knew it was coming, and now it looks like Saurik has finally rolled out a new major update for Cydia.

The most prominent new feature of this update is “Manage Account”. This new feature will help you keep a complete record of all your installed packages and apps that you have purchased from the Cydia store. This is something which even Apple’s App Store doesn’t have yet.

All your purchases are tied directly to your Facebook or Google account. Now if you restore your firmware, or purchase a new phone, you can easily install back all your jailbreak apps and tweaks without having to manually look for them again in Cydia repositories.

And this is not it, App Store like commenting, ratings and backup of installed Cydia repositories is said to be coming next. Jailbreaking iPhone, iPad and iPod touch is now going to be a whole a lot more fun !

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 19th, 2011, 11:51 pm

One of our Apple sources has just sent us over a couple screen shots from what we’re told is an internal test model of the iPhone 4. The shots are interesting because it looks like Apple is testing multitouch gestures on the iPhone in addition to the iPad. While this isn’t shocking, what’s interesting is that internally, the same amount of fingers applies to gestures on both devices. What we mean by this, is that you have to use four finger gestures on the iPhone just like the iPad — kind of difficult such a comparatively tiny screen. It might be easier with say… a multitouch gesture area below the screen, sort of where the home button is?

------

Ping was Apple’s first attempt at the social networking but it pales in comparison to what they have coming. Hidden deep in the iOS 4.3 file system is a new folder titled “Media Stream.” Within that folder is some information about “Photo Streaming.” From the looks of different alerts and plists, it appears that Apple will let iPhone users set up “Photo Streams” that friends could “subscribe” to. Also, it looks like there will be some privacy preferences related to this, so you can choose who is allowed to view your “Streams.”

With Photo Streams, you will also be allowed to “invite” other users to view your pictures as you take them and upload them to a service. This service looks like it is connected to MobileMe, and we speculate that “Media Stream” can be directly connected to “Find my Friends.” We think Find my Friends will be another aspect of Apple’s social network, a part of a free MobileMe, where you can choose to view your friends’ “Photo Streams” all on that same map. Apple has a patent on something called iGroups relating to this. This would clearly tie into the Mac and iOS photo app’s Places feature. From looking at the SDK, it looks like “Media Stream” could very well also have a plugin counterpart, like AirPlay, in 3rd party apps.

From the actual operating system, not the SDK, we could only find references and graphics relating to the “Photo Stream” feature, not the “Media Stream” feature in general. We speculate that Apple is currently working on “Media Stream” and this is going to go way beyond photos in the future. We think Apple will expand this to music and videos, maybe like AirPlay between mobile iOS devices where you can watch or listen to your friends’ media and of course Apple will provide easy buy links to iTunes.

Speculating further, the Media Stream has to be stored somewhere, it isn’t just going to live on your iOS device. We believe this is where Apple’s Cloud infrastructure comes in. Apple will likely have a Kin Studio-type (I know!) of automatic upload feature that will allow you to tag your uploads for either private or public consumption (see video above).

Going back to Find my Friends, according to some people in the know, Apple has been working on Find my Friends for quite some time and has been ready to launch at a basic stage for some time. This would be what the name implies, a map with your friends on it like Google Latitude. It looks like Apple might be waiting on Find my Friends until their dream social network is ready to launch. Perhaps with a huge cloud focus.

Why iOS 5? Well the files are pretty hidden and not as informative as other features we’ve found like the iPad 2 having dual cameras and Photo Booth coming to iOS. We also feel iOS 4.3′s launch is nearing and Apple wants to get the service working with their new North Carolina data center; we wouldn’t doubt Apple’s social being heavily cloud-based.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 20th, 2011, 1:02 pm

iPhone running iOS 4.3 b1 using the multitasking gestures found for the iPad.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 20th, 2011, 5:59 pm

Well it looks like iOS 4.3 Beta 2 has more stuff secretly hiding deep inside the firmware. An Italian blog iPhoneItalia has now uncovered thumbnails for crop and rotate functionality which indicates the arrival of this feature for basic image editing natively in future iOS versions.

Whether this functionality will be available come the final Gold version of iOS 4.3 is yet to be seen, but what we know now is that Apple is testing this functionality and we might have it fully implemented in the upcoming iOS firmware updates.

If this is iOS 4.3 imagine what iOS 5.0 will bring...

------

Check out this terrific transparent case mod for the iPhone 4 discovered online by TUAW. Combine this with a wallpaper of the iPhone 4's internals and you'll have one unique looking device.

The site has been unable to find a way to purchase the mod kit yet.

Apple were the one who you could say pioneered see-through technology

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 21st, 2011, 2:49 pm

As the video below shows (at the end), Rovio is working on a special Valentine’s Day edition of the most popular iOS game in the universe. Convenient because you can play the game at dinner with your Valentine!

------

A small but welcome feature in iOS 4.3 beta. Now when saving numbers for contacts you can include the pause & wait in them.

------

Oh, hello. We’ve done some digging in the latest SDK it looks like Apple’s much rumored second-generation iPad will not feature some fancy 5 megapixel camera, but will instead shoot your flicks and take your pics with something close to a 1 megapixel camera. That’s awfully close to the fourth-generation iPod touch’s 0.7 megapixel back camera so we speculate they could be the same thing. That means you’ll be able to take some unwieldy 720P video with your iPad (whether you’ll be able to view that 720P video natively is another question).

As for the front, it’s VGA, just like the iPhone 4 and fourth-generation iPod touch. The front-facer for FaceTime and taking pictures of yourself will do video recording too, if you had any doubts. As for how we are making the connection? Sources have told us that ‘K94′ is the iPad 2′s codename and interestingly enough, there’s a K95 in the same file section too. Is this the 3G version of iPad 2, or a dual-band? Back to the camera… why so few megapixels? We speculate the amount is due to some serious tapering on the iPad 2′s edges, as shown on the physical iPad 2 mockups found at CES.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 21st, 2011, 4:01 pm

The Chronic Dev-Team has announced an untether for the iOS 4.2.1 jailbreak.

It's a result of a collaboration between @0naj, @p0sixninja, and @pod2g. P0sixninja has previously said it will not require iOS 4.2b3 SHSH blobs.

Stay tuned for further details on its release.

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » January 21st, 2011, 4:39 pm

Postby M_2NR » January 21st, 2011, 7:17 pm

big stueps.

iOS 4.2.1 is a WOFT f/w. why didnt they just get a proper one for 4.3?

lets hope its something that can be ported over to 4.3 and beyond

john005

Help needed iphone stuck in recovery mode

Postby john005 » January 22nd, 2011, 11:29 am

Hi all Just got my foreign used 3g iphone for $100US However it seems to be stuck in this mode. Urgent help needed please. When I turn the phone on and the only thing J see is a picture of the white connecting cable pointing towards tunes music icon above and above all that on top an icon of a lock in white color the rest is all black. the only thing I can do with the phone is view my imei and iccid numbers and emergency slide button which will take me to the phone pad (buttons) i can't access anything else. Inserting my SIM doesn't help. Thanks all.

john005

Postby john005 » January 22nd, 2011, 11:46 am

Need help Foreign used iphone stuck in recovery mode with lock icon on top and emergency numbers only at buttom. Please any assistance.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 22nd, 2011, 11:49 am

i dont think thats recovery mode

i could be wrong , but you might need to get your hands on an AT&T sim or state what firmware you are using, along with the type of iphone - 3g, 3gs, 4

Postby M_2NR » January 22nd, 2011, 11:58 am

it needs activation... you can try 0.96 redsn0w on it and jailbreak it and thereby hacktivating it but using an ATT sim as Rod saying is better as hacktivation can lead to poor battery life.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 22nd, 2011, 12:00 pm

^ is there no way to flash a custom firmware on the phone? or is that a ios3.xx thing now?
its always a good idea to snag an AT&T gophone whenever ur in the US, even dead gophone sims can activate the iphone...

Postby M_2NR » January 22nd, 2011, 12:04 pm

yeh he can do that too but then he'd have to download that ipsw, etc and still use redsn0w to put it into a pwned DFU state in order to flash/restore it successfully.

I agree with that! i hadda check a tuner anytime i wanna activate mines. Or else i hadda use a jailbreak tweak named SAM along with Push Doctor.

john005

Postby john005 » January 22nd, 2011, 12:34 pm

Thanks so far, the AT&T sim card is in with a signal strength icon. Do not know what firmware it is , phone looks like 3g cause it have 8GB at the back, not getting pass this page.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 22nd, 2011, 12:39 pm

john005
if you have the ATT sim installed, you need to plug the phone into your computer with itunes.
once its activated, you can easily check the firmware
go Settings--->General--> about, scroll to Version
once you have that, it'll be easy to figure out what route you'll need to take in order to jailbreak and unlock the phone

if itunes tells you that you need to update the phone's software ... DONT!

Postby M_2NR » January 22nd, 2011, 12:53 pm

rodfarva wrote:if itunes tells you that you need to update the phone's software ... DONT!

this!

if only people used to listen to... the iOS world would be a nicer place...

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 22nd, 2011, 12:54 pm

ENT! :lol:

TK!

Postby TK! » January 22nd, 2011, 1:02 pm

i would sell it and buy a 500 TT bb.

i'll give u fifty for it :-D

Postby M_2NR » January 22nd, 2011, 4:57 pm

LOL

got some stuff FS

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=352132

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 23rd, 2011, 5:30 pm

Gail Davis hates telemarketers. Hates 'em. Hangs up on their ilk as soon as she hears a wisp of their tortured, desperate breath over the telephone. Sadly, this same hatred nearly cost her family a cool $10,000 gift card.

You see, as Apple does when it's about to sell a milestone number of apps or songs via the iTunes Store, offered an obnoxiously large gift card planned for the person who downloaded the 10 billionth App Store app. That milestone was reached very recently, and the lucky winner would have been Gail Davis' daughter. Her "Paper Glider" purchase was magic number 10 billion.

When an Apple rep called, Gail Davis was all too eager to assume the voice on the other end was someone attempting to sell her a Shake Weight or some knives, and so she promptly hung up the phone.

When her frantic daughters' pleas had her second-guessing this rash decision, Davis tried to call back, but to no avail. The Apple operator blew her off—now it was Gail Davis who was pestering someone for a change!

Luckily, Eddy Cue, the VP of iTunes, somehow learned of all this and called the Davis household himself to sort everything out. Crisis averted! The Davis family, bless their hearts, will never have to pay for an Apple App Store app or iTunes song ever again.

------

Thank you BigBoss for finding a new proper home for this & thanks for the tip off zcrugby

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 23rd, 2011, 9:51 pm

why not just build it in? usual apple thinking

anyway better than not having it at all

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 24th, 2011, 10:54 am

Hey guys, those of you who have iPhone 4's, do you have problems sometimes with the home button? I find sometimes I need to press it twice for it to register. Sometimes It brings up the task switcher with just one click. A search on Google shows up numerous reports of the same. I just wanted to know if any of you guys here have ever encountered this before..

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 24th, 2011, 11:05 am

Sometimes. Not that big an issue to me though. Sometimes it's just bad pressing on my part