T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

tiger balm

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby tiger balm » January 17th, 2011, 10:27 pm

zando wrote:160 is too much for that, specially one so ugly...it makes more sense to get the Cerato with a 1.6 for dat price..

Agreed! 160K is too much, especially for a 1.4 engine. Don't even what to imagine how much the new Focus is going to sell for when it's released later this yr or next yr :shock:

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 18th, 2011, 2:56 am

^^ agreed. new ford focus looks good though. Mondeo as well! Slight resemblance to the Jags now..was only a matter of time :lol:

dlion

Postby dlion » January 18th, 2011, 5:28 pm

Good post, but need an update now.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 18th, 2011, 8:16 pm

^^Had nothing 2 do today (vacation) so I picked up my old man and off to Massey & Toyota. Both sales men told me prices are set to increase from Feb this yr dur to the strengthing of the YEN.

I cannot comperhend the Narava $248K & Hilux $254K interior. The doors are hard CHEAP plastic and the seats are BS and so many people are buying these trucks.

And best part to keep the warranty you MUST service the truck there for 3 yrs or 100K KM :shock:

5k service $1074 approx
10k service $ 1500 approx
20k service $ 4800 approx

I have a roro Tiida HB 08( mortgage to pay nah 15 yrs ) and in 1 yr all I did was change oil & filter twice (approx 16K) for the yr & it costed $331 X 2 = $662.

Mobil 1 3 qts @ $67
OEM filter $ 130
Labor....my self $0
Beer while performing oil change $9X 10 beers = $90 :lol:

I could never see myself spending that kind of money on a truck which is supposed to be a work horse. In Canada if one purchases a car/truck you can change your own oil etc but must keep receipts for your warranty.

Trini's are a real rip off in this country :?

Postby Stephon. » January 18th, 2011, 8:21 pm

Stephon. wrote:The Suzuki Grand Vitara is the same price? I saw an ad in the papers the other day and when I calculated it, it came up to a little over 200 grand. I'm talking about the cheapest (starting price) one.

zando

Postby zando » January 18th, 2011, 8:41 pm

Well boy...i thought the recession was fixin itself? lol...Kia/Hyundai for me next time yes...

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 19th, 2011, 6:30 am

^^And to make matters worse they are selling like hot bread & most don't even use the tray.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » January 19th, 2011, 8:53 am

Chemical wrote:^^Had nothing 2 do today (vacation) so I picked up my old man and off to Massey & Toyota. Both sales men told me prices are set to increase from Feb this yr dur to the strengthing of the YEN.

I cannot comperhend the Narava $248K & Hilux $254K interior. The doors are hard CHEAP plastic and the seats are BS and so many people are buying these trucks.

And best part to keep the warranty you MUST service the truck there for 3 yrs or 100K KM :shock:

5k service $1074 approx
10k service $ 1500 approx
20k service $ 4800 approx

I have a roro Tiida HB 08( mortgage to pay nah 15 yrs ) and in 1 yr all I did was change oil & filter twice (approx 16K) for the yr & it costed $331 X 2 = $662.

Mobil 1 3 qts @ $67
OEM filter $ 130
Labor....my self $0
Beer while performing oil change $9X 10 beers = $90 :lol:

I could never see myself spending that kind of money on a truck which is supposed to be a work horse. In Canada if one purchases a car/truck you can change your own oil etc but must keep receipts for your warranty.

Trini's are a real rip off in this country :?

WTF, look at them service costs!

My first service on the Cerato cost $269
my 30,000K service cost $1500, which included change of spark plugs, and cabin air filter.

Damn them really bussing price :shock:

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » January 19th, 2011, 12:35 pm

i could tell you massey is the biggest rip off for service
imagine 20k service, i using sythetic oil, no need to change it, brought my own filters (air and diesiel )
and they still chagre my over 2500
i was like y?
well thaz the service charge ....i could do everything they did there myself...all for the sake of waranty?
steups
NEAL and MASSEY IS A WASTE

Postby ronsin1 » January 19th, 2011, 5:14 pm

Stephon. wrote:
Stephon. wrote:The Suzuki Grand Vitara is the same price? I saw an ad in the papers the other day and when I calculated it, it came up to a little over 200 grand. I'm talking about the cheapest (starting price) one.

what you say was the monthly installment plus you have the down payment to deal with an other fees

Postby Stephon. » January 19th, 2011, 8:41 pm

$3220, I went with a rough figure of 20 000 downpayment. Best I stick with meh b14 and chill mehself oui

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 20th, 2011, 2:52 am

The service price I quoted above is Toyota's price but Massey ain't too far behind.

So exactly how much do the owners of these trucks spend on service , insurance & installment monthly ?

Finally you cannot change the OEM rims either else its voids the warraty.

Postby Stephon. » January 20th, 2011, 6:14 am

Chemical wrote:Finally you cannot change the OEM rims either else its voids the warraty.

That's not bad, tired of people buying perfectly fine vehicles and ruining it by putting disgusting ass rims on it.

Postby cinco » January 20th, 2011, 11:36 am

Chemical wrote:The service price I quoted above is Toyota's price but Massey ain't too far behind.

So exactly how much do the owners of these trucks spend on service , insurance & installment monthly ?

Finally you cannot change the OEM rims either else its voids the warraty.

that is bullshite unless you have a suspension related issue that they can prove was caused by the non oem parts they cannot do that
talk to consumer affairs they will guide you
btw all u have to do is remove your crims and get your service

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 20th, 2011, 12:00 pm

Chemical ... I'm in agreement with what you're saying w.r.t. the cost of servicing and the quality / built of the new vehicles... I've started bring in my own OEM parts and what I can't do myself, my mechanic does.

The thing is I'm seeing so many new vehicles on the road ... things sweet in TNT, while the rest of the global economies is recovering from a double dip recession, we're paying more for everything.

Postby Chimera » January 20th, 2011, 12:45 pm

dred..i needed 2 cradle for a b15, neal and massey tell me 1800 a piece

I get the same thing for 980 in m&n in bamboo :| original part eh

almost all the other places had it for 1500+,

neal n massy doz kill yuh wid prices, and their "no warranty unless you do X,y and z is BS, you just have to make enough noise and they will honor your warranty. tell them the vehicle faulty and you want a new one.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 20th, 2011, 2:19 pm

it is unfair on the consumer to 100% rely on the dealership for service issues just because you would like to uphold the warranty. I asked the service manager, what if I get the oil/filter/plugs and air filter changed on my own? What if I change belts/mounts/bushings/pads on my own? I will keep all original receipts and boxes for reference purposes. Heck, I'll pull out my flipcam and record the frigging servicing I do to the car but they answer and say NO. Because? I or we are not the professionals...I say listen, what if I the owner of the vehicle prefer AMSOIL over the crappy Shell and or Castrol you put in there? They say no! I say BS....I don't need to argue how great AMSOIL is but they know best.

I did a Cost Benefit Analysis on the entire service schedule and I realized, fcuk the dealer and their dotishness. I will do it myself. If my car has such an "advanced ECU" that "records" engine data especially check lights then it becomes the "black box" of the car just like an aeroplane no? So if my engine or tranny or suspension or any other electrical or mechanical part gives a problem while the vehicle is under "booklet ie. owner's manual warranty" and the stealership does not want to organize me then I have enough bad mind and resources to totally embarass the dealers and put full page ads and write to Mr. Ferdinand Karl Piëch himself until I get proper recourse.

I don't feel so bad though as I'm enjoying this car totally and for $220k its pure orgasmic compared to the Nissan I had before. I feel sorry for all of us who get rip off in this country by these high prices. Imagine my car is more refined, faster, more comfortable and has more features than those half-a-million dollar +++ turbo diesel noise making smokey pickups in our market where someone was right to say the door panels and interior is so cheap IMHO it reminds me of a b13 (navara and ranger/bt-50). I am ashamed too at the hilux and sportero and for the little they give you for the prices called for.

For Hilux leather seats money, I can recruit a baddarse Sportage with panoramic roof in my garage.

I just needed to vent guys, just my $0.02

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 20th, 2011, 2:41 pm

I did a Cost Benefit Analysis on the entire service schedule and I realized, fcuk the dealer and their dotishness

^^This.

Chances are, you'd spend more on servicing by them over the period of your warranty, rather than if service DiY or by your own mech, and the "average" problem comes up here and there (of which you have to bear the cost).

Remember, car dealerships are all businesses - they are not going to do something that is making them lose money! They know that with fairly new cars, problems in general are minimal, so they end up profiting more in the long run.

Even if your car is defective, say with an engine issue, they may very well try to pin it on you as being caused by "abusive driving" etc etc.

Postby Stephon. » January 21st, 2011, 12:57 am

dlion wrote:Good post, but need an update now.

Prices gone up? Or down :)

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 3rd, 2011, 6:14 pm

$269,000.00 basic
$289,000.00 everything except heated steering, seats and navigation.

RIP accord, camry and 6

Postby Stephon. » February 3rd, 2011, 6:22 pm

^^ LOVE IT!!!!

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 3rd, 2011, 9:26 pm

agent007 wrote:Image

$269,000.00 basic
$289,000.00 everything except heated steering, seats and navigation.

RIP accord, camry and 6

What engine for 289k? Not like I could afford it anyway....but hey :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 3rd, 2011, 9:39 pm

yes that optima is fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby Chimera » February 3rd, 2011, 9:47 pm

gonna check out the RRS in classic tmr

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 3rd, 2011, 10:14 pm

^^^tell me their pricing and options (motor, trim etc)...if you don't mind....

Postby Chimera » February 4th, 2011, 2:18 pm

the 3.0 litre twin turbo RRS is 1.15 mil (but yuh cud work out a discount)

they out of stock right now but have two coming in (already sold) on 19th of feb

they have ten coming in in march/april

hadda go see the two that coming in before the owners take them on 19th

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 4th, 2011, 4:16 pm

For those who requested specs thanks to my brother he gave me:

-2.0 DOHC 16V CVVT 6-speed tiptronic with paddle shifters (167hp, 198Nm)
-dual front, side and curtain airbags
-4-wheel discs with ABS, EBD, brake assist, traction control, stability control, hill start assist
-leather seats
-auto climate control with dual zone climate settings
-powered front seats
-panoramic sunroof/glass roof
-18" rims
-projector beam auto HID headlights
-auto wipers
-Infinity 7-speaker premium surround sound system with 6CD MP3 changer, amplifier and subwoofer
-steering wheel audio controls
-rear spoiler
-pretty much power everything else and so much more. Peter Schreyer from Audi who designed the VW Beetle, Eos, Audi A4, A6 and TT now works for Kia and this is one of the latest he has designed.
-Basically this car is a sibling to the Hyundai Sonata. They share same platform, drivetrain (engine/transmission) and suspension. The Kia's suspension has been tuned for more sporty handling vs. the Camry Accordish floaty feeling of the Sonata.

All Kia confirmed sending to T'dad has been booked and no one test drive the thing yet. Kia has arrived yo. Wished they could bring the 2.4 GDI and 2.0T versions.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » February 4th, 2011, 10:46 pm

agent007 wrote:For those who requested specs thanks to my brother he gave me:

-2.0 DOHC 16V CVVT 6-speed tiptronic with paddle shifters (167hp, 198Nm)
-dual front, side and curtain airbags
-4-wheel discs with ABS, EBD, brake assist, traction control, stability control, hill start assist
-leather seats
-auto climate control with dual zone climate settings
-powered front seats
-panoramic sunroof/glass roof
-18" rims
-projector beam auto HID headlights
-auto wipers
-Infinity 7-speaker premium surround sound system with 6CD MP3 changer, amplifier and subwoofer
-steering wheel audio controls
-rear spoiler
-pretty much power everything else and so much more. Peter Schreyer from Audi who designed the VW Beetle, Eos, Audi A4, A6 and TT now works for Kia and this is one of the latest he has designed.
-Basically this car is a sibling to the Hyundai Sonata. They share same platform, drivetrain (engine/transmission) and suspension. The Kia's suspension has been tuned for more sporty handling vs. the Camry Accordish floaty feeling of the Sonata.

All Kia confirmed sending to T'dad has been booked and no one test drive the thing yet. Kia has arrived yo. Wished they could bring the 2.4 GDI and 2.0T versions.

I second that.
That 2.4 in the sonata is a wonderful motor

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 5th, 2011, 3:09 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:the 3.0 litre twin turbo RRS is 1.15 mil (but yuh cud work out a discount)

they out of stock right now but have two coming in (already sold) on 19th of feb

they have ten coming in in march/april

hadda go see the two that coming in before the owners take them on 19th

thanks.....that would be the SE and HSE models with 3 litre diesel right.....more looking at the V8 motors....and not necessarily the sport line...

zando

Postby zando » February 6th, 2011, 10:56 am

Does the Lancer GT we get come with the rockford fosgate system with the Subwoofer in the trunk? or do we get a normal 6 speaker standard system? make or break feature!!