the disc pad thread

Re: the disc pad thread

Postby *KRONIK* » January 18th, 2011, 5:52 pm

Chemical wrote:Image

Use this on my cars & works excellent, a bit expensive though.

good stuff...

they also Make the OEM pads for the Mitsubishi CS lancers

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 18th, 2011, 7:49 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
Chemical wrote:Image

Use this on my cars & works excellent, a bit expensive though.

good stuff...

they also Make the OEM pads for the Mitsubishi CS lancers

@ MG, i paid $43 US + about 200TT shipping etc for my 323

Overall, i am not impressed. Better than any i could get locally but somehow i expected more.

They need a bit of heat before they hold well as well as i think it takes too much pedal force to get the stopping power but that's just me. Takes repeated hard stops with slight fade.

I'll try either Centric Posiquiets or if i could afford, EBC Green next.

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » January 18th, 2011, 8:10 pm

Application: b14
Pads: Raybestos Ceramic
Cost: $700 (i feel i got robbed)
Pros: works great,no brake dust noticed and what brake fade :D
Cons: none as yet

Postby X_Factor » January 18th, 2011, 8:17 pm

^
u have upgraded brakes?

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » January 18th, 2011, 8:19 pm

X_Factor wrote:^
u have upgraded brakes?

nope

Postby X_Factor » January 18th, 2011, 8:21 pm

^ huh
hoss u coulda spend that cash and upgrade ur rotors/calipers

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » January 18th, 2011, 8:25 pm

^^^ to what?????

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 18th, 2011, 9:12 pm

MG Man wrote:how expensive is expensive?

I pd almost $1600 for them as a friend of mine goes regular to Japan to buy cars. This one is MADE in Japan. The US made ones are alot cheaper.Next time i'll go back to OEM

(Mortgage to pay nah)
Oh and BTW parts (OEM) are going up from next mth due to the strenghting of the YEN.

Toyota parts manager told me today.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 18th, 2011, 11:03 pm

Im lookin for pads for a J31 Cefiro 200JK.. I would have liked to go original nissan but they want about 1100 for the front, 800 for the rear.. Thas madness yes!

I found wagner thermoquiet for the rear (pd905) but am unable to find any locally for the front. Motorist told me the QuickStop ZD691 is the thing to use but I'm not overly convinced..
Honestly, I'd avoid the quickstop if I can..
Option 2 would be to bring in some akebono from the US but the pads down to almost nothing so I really dont want to have the car driving around so..

Anyway, what you nissan people running as a OEM replacement? I dont want increased performance, just silence and no dust...

Postby X_Factor » January 19th, 2011, 6:34 am

shiva.ramroopsingh wrote:^^^ to what?????

to AD18 which is approx 9.5" rotor disc and a much larger caliper approx 600.00 for the set

or AD22's 10" rotor disc equivilant to U13 brakes
approx 900-1500 for the set

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 19th, 2011, 6:54 am

CD4Accord,

Check M&N in the Bamboo 645-9800. Was there on Monday & they have alot of Wagner disc pads on their shelves. Just received a shipment.

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » January 19th, 2011, 7:14 pm

X_Factor wrote:

to AD18 which is approx 9.5" rotor disc and a much larger caliper approx 600.00 for the set

didn't know this :( what about the back, i have drum
and the car is 4 wheel abs want disc in the back abs to work . what can i use

Postby X_Factor » January 19th, 2011, 10:36 pm

shiva.ramroopsingh wrote:
X_Factor wrote:

didn't know this :( what about the back, i have drum
and the car is 4 wheel abs want disc in the back abs to work . what can i use

with a proper front set up
bigger calipers/rotors
good disc pads
braided brake lines
the back can remain drums unless u pushing madd HP

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 20th, 2011, 12:11 am

As a followup, anyone know the model number of the wagner pads for the 200JK cefiro? If I get that I can source some Akebono ProAct Ceramic up here (supposedly the OEM) and bring it down..

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 20th, 2011, 4:25 am

I'm reading alot of great reviews bout this...

They employ the +ve molding process identical to OEM , semi-metallic and less dust than OEM so for $48 bucks you just can't go wrong.

Massey wanted $1500 approx for the front oem :?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 20th, 2011, 4:12 pm

Massey on some serious crack with pad pricing though... They also dont sell any comparable alternative as i dont consider Wagner QuickStop to be the same as the OEM..

From what I read in the states, Akebono makes the OEM nissan pads (ceramic) so I dont know if that is the same for the pads we use in Trinidad but I have to assume so..

^ I myself have heard good things about Posi Quiet but at the same price as the supposedly OEM akebono, I think i will have to go for that...

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 20th, 2011, 5:12 pm

You said:

From what I read in the states, Akebono makes the OEM nissan pads (ceramic) so I dont know if that is the same for the pads we use in Trinidad but I have to assume so..

BS...eh?

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 20th, 2011, 7:09 pm

Chemical wrote:I'm reading alot of great reviews bout this...

They employ the +ve molding process identical to OEM , semi-metallic and less dust than OEM so for $48 bucks you just can't go wrong.

Eager to hear how your experiences go man!

I had good things to say about my set....although I feel all in all, maybe th OE's might have been a hint better in the dust dep't....as in slightly.

But that said, I much preferred the posiquiets to those HPS's....jeez. And the pricing was about the best around :oops:

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » January 23rd, 2011, 7:35 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:But that said, I much preferred the posiquiets to those HPS's....jeez

what was so bad about them? i'm currently using them, with little complaints other than the red dust :evil: and some noise when they're cold...

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 23rd, 2011, 8:40 pm

Read a few pages back. My gripes were:

1) RIDICULOUS amounts of dust. Black dust too. You'd swear every time I tipped the brakes there there was a cloud of black brake dust around each wheel

2) Stupidly short life (only got like 15,000 km if so much), and I'm not an aggressive driver. plus, the car they were on was manual, so the brakes had some help with downshifting/engine braking.

3) Did I mention they were REALLY dusty?

And yes, the proper bed in procedure was followed as per the instructions provided.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » January 23rd, 2011, 8:50 pm

As this here and i dunno if I missed it, what are the OEM pads for the ck lancers? 2000 model to be specific.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 25th, 2011, 12:29 am

CD4Accord wrote:Im lookin for pads for a J31 Cefiro 200JK.. I would have liked to go original nissan but they want about 1100 for the front, 800 for the rear.. Thas madness yes!
Anyway, what you nissan people running as a OEM replacement? I dont want increased performance, just silence and no dust...

man I use OEM and have been nothing but pleased....very little dust and excellent stopping....I pay the money for that yes...but when you checked M&N did they not have the OEM pads? I don't mind getting them for a few hundred less than motorist....

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » January 25th, 2011, 4:33 am

I out the country at the moment so wont be able to call them just yet...
I going to make the call as soon as I get chance, and if they doesnt work out I will definitely look into bringing down the akebono with me when im coming.. Assuming I can get reliable information about the model number for the front pads on the j31 200jk cefiro..
I know the rear pad model number already..

However, I agree with you on the quality of the OEM pad.. Low dust and dead silent

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 28th, 2011, 11:05 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:

Eager to hear how your experiences go man!

I had good things to say about my set....although I feel all in all, maybe th OE's might have been a hint better in the dust dep't....as in slightly.

But that said, I much preferred the posiquiets to those HPS's....jeez. And the pricing was about the best around :oops:

I just tru that pic in....its off a the corvette zo6 website .

Sorry for the mislead.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 28th, 2011, 11:15 am

^^Steups.

Poser :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 6th, 2011, 5:53 pm

Posiquiet users

Semi-Metallic vs Ceramic, aside from fade resistance, any other advantage of the ceramic? I don't dex etc but enjoy the occasional spirited driving.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 6th, 2011, 11:54 pm

Actually, semi-metallic compounds tend to fade less than ceramic in hard driving situations but thats a fairly general statement..

eg. I'll much quicker trust a Hawk Ceramic over say a Daishin semi-metallic etc..

air wick

Postby air wick » February 7th, 2011, 8:07 am

Brand - Titanium
Application - 300zx and Subaru WRX (Front 4 Pot fixed caliper)
Price - $175

It comes with the sensors etc. reason for buying was the price, So far no problems like dust etc. and it stops well
I got it by the parts place next to Federal on Cipero Street

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 7th, 2011, 8:36 am

CD4Accord wrote:Actually, semi-metallic compounds tend to fade less than ceramic in hard driving situations but thats a fairly general statement..

eg. I'll much quicker trust a Hawk Ceramic over say a Daishin semi-metallic etc..

I see what you're saying wrt thermal conductivity and all that.

Couple of the Mazda guys swear by the Posiquiet Ceramics but say they need to heat up a bit for maximum effectiveness. Just trying to determine if there is any significant discernible difference between the two.

Cost isn't a factor as they are both similarly priced and quarter as much as EBCs (no Hawks for my application)

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 7th, 2011, 10:03 am

i using these a while now,the ceramic though, like strugglerz said, they need a lil warming up, but once warm the bite is great. Jeff at tripoint engineering in the states compares these to hawks, compares them favourably in fact, says they are as good as or better than hawks.
ceramic compound, no dust, no squeal, great price.ceramics also better on rotors than semi metallics...