The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

2NR Smurf

Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 5th, 2011, 5:04 pm

Any Galaxy S users here ever had problems with unresponsive capacitive buttons?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 5th, 2011, 11:23 pm

Motorola Xoom becomes official, headed to Verizon in Q1, upgradeable to 4G in Q2

Motorola has just outed its delicious Honeycomb tablet alongside another device, the LTE-equipped Bionic, on its official site.

A 1GHz dual-core Tegra 2 will power this 10.1-incher, while 4G connectivity will be made available as an update in Q2 following a Q1 launch. Other specs include a 1280 x 800 resolution, 5 megapixel camera, 720p video recording and 1080p video playback, 802.11n WiFi, Bluetooth 2.1 + EDR, and finally, a healthy 32GB of onboard storage. The battery is rated to be capable of supporting 10 hours of video. Be still, our beating hearts!

http://goo.gl/CHM1s

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 5th, 2011, 11:29 pm

Google shows off Android 3.0, the 'Entirely for Tablet' Honeycomb (video)

Well, look who just oozed into being, Google's latest flavor of Android, the tablet-friendly 3.0, Honeycomb. We heard talk that 3.0 would be exclusively for tablets, as in not for phones, and that looks to be played out with the text "Entirely for Tablet" seen early in the video. Perhaps the best thing to say is that this looks more or less nothing like Android. Sure, the browser is the same, and the Gmail app will be familiar to iPad users, but trust us when we say there's a lot of lovely UI in the video above to admire...and a lot of glowly blue lights, too. Apparently we weren't the only ones who saw Tron:Legacy on opening night.

http://goo.gl/k1tO6

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 5th, 2011, 11:41 pm

Samsung's Infuse 4G: A Spectacular Google Android Phone

"Holy sheit." It's not what usually comes to mind when I touch a new phone. But Samsung's Infuse 4G is spectacular. Ridiculously good 4.5-inch screen. 1.2GHz processor. 4G on AT&T. Why, exactly, wasn't this the new Nexus phone?

I pick it up. Whoa. This is quality. The first Samsung phone in ages that doesn't feel cheap—it's a radically better tactile experience than any Galaxy phone, even the Nexus S. The plastic is dense and matte, the back textured. The phone itself a nearly perfectly sculpted, sufficiently thin slab (AT&T's thinnest), the expanse of the 4.5-inch screen making it seem somehow thinner. It's what a high-end phone should feel like.

Let's consider the specs: 1.2GHz processor. The fastest Android phone yet. The screen is comically, hyperbolically named, like the umpteenth version of Street Figher II—Super AMOLED Plus—except that it lives up to the name, in that it's noticeably better than Samsung's current Super AMOLED displays (which are already great), since it packs more subpixels into each pixel. The screen definitely pops more. It's also one of AT&T's first 4G phones. (This may sound confusing, but it's 4G in the same sense as T-Mobile's 4G, since it runs on AT&T's HSPA+ network, not its LTE network.)

Any downsides? Well, I'm mildly concerned about the battery life on this beast. And it's running Samsung's TouchWiz UI on top of an as-of-yet unknown Android variant. A clean build of Android 2.3 would be killer, effectively making it the real Nexus. That said, it might wind up being one in a sense anyway: This is the new blueprint for building an Android phone.

http://goo.gl/3HayW

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 5th, 2011, 11:50 pm

Sony Ericsson XPERIA Arc breaks free, has a BRAVIA Mobile engine

Sony Ericsson XPERIA Arc may not be announced just yet, but thanks to a massive leak we already know everything about it. The Arc runs on Gingerbread, packs a big 4.2" screen, implements various high-end technologies and comes into very stylish, slim and light body.

Lots of praise for a start, right? It's time to get into the details.
The first thing worth mentioning is the 4.2-inch capacitive display attractively called the Reality display. Previously rumored as being X.LED (whatever that is), now we learn it uses Sony's BRAVIA Mobile Engine, which does real-time noise reduction, sharpness, color management and contrast enhancement on the picture. It has 854x480 pixels resolution and is covered with a scratch-resistant glass. There is still no info on the screen type.

Here's the first XPERIA Arc video ad:

The next important thing is the 8-megapixel auto-focus camera. It uses Sony's Exmor R back-illuminated sensor and is supposed to shoot impressive photos and HD videos. There is a LED flash too.

Finally we should definitely congratulate Sony Ericsson on the excellent design. The arc-like design results into only 9mm thickness on the both ends and 8.7mm in the slimmest part. The XPERIA Arc body is quite light too - 117 grams - which is definitely impressive for its measures - but means there will be no metal on the body panels.

Sony Ericsson XPERIA Arc runs on Android 2.3 Gingerbread and will be upgradeable to 3.0 Honeycomb when the time comes. The rest of the specs are pretty much standard - a 1GHz Qualcomm processor, all-round connectivity options and ports (incl. HDMI), microSD slot with 16GB card included and a 1500 mAh battery.

http://goo.gl/GCnPu

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 5th, 2011, 11:51 pm

this thread gets more awesome by the day! 8-)

zcarz

Postby zcarz » January 6th, 2011, 3:07 am

at first glance thought it was an iphone 4. specs look really good, phone looks really good too.. 4.5 inches is a bit much though <edit> for a phone.

Postby tr1ad » January 6th, 2011, 7:38 am

skeet skeet skeet

Postby Greypatch » January 6th, 2011, 8:03 am

Ah want ah samsung infuse...

Postby r3iXmann » January 6th, 2011, 10:59 am

finally SE stepping up to the plate

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 6th, 2011, 11:25 am

^ent. d Xperia Arc looking sweet! if only they included Tegra 2 one time...

Postby M_2NR » January 6th, 2011, 8:53 pm

I seriously hope SE doesnt fck this one up as they do with everything nowadays.

In short, if there is an android phone ill buy... ill buy that Arc one SE promises to keep on updating it. I admit... It Bess.

I'm seeing the Eldar is saying SE is giving a hymc to previous devices wrt to froyo. (I hope thats wrong but he never is)

http://twitter.com/eldarmurtazin/status/23046384441630720

EDIT: http://androidcommunity.com/no-android-updates-for-sony-ericsson-xperia-x10-beyond-2-1-20110106/ yeh its official.. tough luck guys

Also, guys ulyuh getting a text messaging issue? I seeing that popping up everywhere...
http://engt.co/hPkviw

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » January 6th, 2011, 9:01 pm

On another note, Angry Birds is now out for PC :D

I'm having a BLAST!!!!

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » January 6th, 2011, 9:12 pm

if i had to buy an android now would it be best to go with the evo4g or galaxy S phone?
or wiat for those new ones above :)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 6th, 2011, 11:06 pm

^the EVO wont work down here. it's not a GSM phone

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 6th, 2011, 11:13 pm

Google's Android 3.0 Honeycomb for tablets: a guided tour of the UI

Overview

Gmail

GTalk

Browser

Maps

Books

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 6th, 2011, 11:33 pm

M_2NR wrote:I seriously hope SE doesnt fck this one up as they do with everything nowadays.

In short, if there is an android phone ill buy... ill buy that Arc one SE promises to keep on updating it. I admit... It Bess.

I'm seeing the Eldar is saying SE is giving a hymc to previous devices wrt to froyo. (I hope thats wrong but he never is)

http://twitter.com/eldarmurtazin/status/23046384441630720

EDIT: http://androidcommunity.com/no-android-updates-for-sony-ericsson-xperia-x10-beyond-2-1-20110106/ yeh its official.. tough luck guys

Also, guys ulyuh getting a text messaging issue? I seeing that popping up everywhere...
http://engt.co/hPkviw

exactly. i'd love to buy the Xperia Arc if only SE can guarantee future OS updates. hopefully this is a sign they intend to do so...

Android 2.4 leaks on an XPERIA Arc prototype, is still Gingerbread

Sony Ericsson just announced that the XPERIA Arc will be running Android 2.3 Gingerbread, but a prototype was caught in the wild that claims to have Android 2.4 on board. It appears that Google have another update in store for us before the tablet-ready Honeycomb comes.
Much like Android 2.0 and 2.1, which both carried the Eclair moniker, 2.3 and 2.4 will share the Gingerbread name. As you could imagine the differences between the two versions aren't too dramatic really, but the source claims that there's a notable performance improvement.

There are also some new animations, some new player application and noise reduction option in the call options. Some mysterious videochat option also appeared, but it wasn't enabled on that prototype. Have in mind that the guy that got to play with the new Android version only had about 15 minutes to spend with it so there might be more to Android 2.4 than we can tell you right now.
We'll see when the official Google announcement comes. With Honeycomb expected to be finalized in just a few months the Gingerbread preceding it should already be nearing completion.

GSM Arena

Postby Greypatch » January 7th, 2011, 11:43 am

Galaxy S selling like hotbread in Bmobile

Postby tr1ad » January 7th, 2011, 11:44 am

how much for it

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 7th, 2011, 12:06 pm

ComScore: Android jumps ahead of iOS in total US smartphone subscribers

We've seen plenty of data to show that Android is the hottest-selling smartphone OS among US buyers today, but now we have a stat point to show that it's doing pretty well in cumulative terms as well. According to ComScore's latest estimates, Android had 26 percent of all US smartphone subscribers in the quarter ending November 2010, bettering Apple's iPhone for the first time. The major victim of Android's ascendancy has actually been RIM's BlackBerry, whose lead at the top contracted by 4.1 percentage points (nearly 11 percent less than the share it had in the previous quarter). Guess those Verizon iPhones and dual-core BBs had better start arriving pretty soon.

Engadget

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » January 7th, 2011, 12:17 pm

How much that xoom going for?
It look like more than a grand since the asus tablet is starting at 1.1k

blud7

How to: bmobile mms and i/net on your postpaid Android

Postby blud7 » January 10th, 2011, 10:52 am

Lots of people I know have not been able to get mms working on their postpaid Android phones. Previous methods did not work for postpaid. Through much trial and error, I figured it out.

If you think you've tried this before and it didn't work, there are important differences to what has been posted and reposted here and elsewhere.

Part 1: internet settings

1. Go into Settings-> Wireless & networks-> Mobile networks ->Access Point names
2. Delete any previously configured APNs named 'bMobile' or 'mms'
3. Hit Menu and select New APN
4. Change:

Code: Select all

Name: bmobile
APN: internet
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Scroll down to
MMS protocol: WAP2.0
MCC: 374
MNC: 129
Authentication type: None
APN type: default,supl

5. Menu->Save

Part 2 MMS Settings

1. Go into Settings-> Wireless & networks-> Mobile networks ->Access Point names
2. Hit Menu and select New APN
3. Change:

Code: Select all

Name: mms
APN: mms
MMSC: http://192.168.210.104/mmrelay.app
MMS proxy: 192.168.210.104
MMS port: 8080
MMS protocol: WAP2.0
MCC: 374
MNC: 129
Authentication type: None
APN type: mms

4. Menu->Save

*Leave all the other settings as is. Never mind they say <not set>
*MMS protocol, MCC/MNC may already be configured, so you may not have to change them.

You're all done!

edited to match moved topic

Note: to those of you that use Cyanogen's awesome mods/list, I submitted this to be added so test and let me know!
Last edited by blud7 on January 10th, 2011, 1:51 pm, edited 6 times in total.

Re: How to: bmobile mms and i/net on your postpaid Android

Postby tr1ad » January 10th, 2011, 10:57 am

i could be corrected but this was covered in the android thread

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 10th, 2011, 2:28 pm

anybody ever used your android phone to jailbreak a ps3? share...

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » January 11th, 2011, 12:22 pm

In other news.

HTC Android battery saves valet drivers life after stopping bullet fired at him

When they say "Droid Does" they really mean it, and we have yet to see a limit be put on that. We have seen devices launch into space, devices take pictures of the lunar eclipse, and now we have seen a device save someones life. From reports, it appears as though a valet driver had his HTC Incredible in his inside pocket of his jacket when shots were fired at him, but they hit his device instead. The shot hit the battery of the device, which actually prevented the shot from penetrating any further, thus saving his life. Do you think that pretty glass iPhone4 could have saved anyone's life? Just another reason why, Droid Does. Video is after the break for you all. [wsbtv via AP]

http://www.androidcentral.com/htc-android-battery-saves-valet-drivers-life-after-stopping-bullet-fired-him

Could only be Droid 8-)

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » January 12th, 2011, 4:01 pm

You have to see this one in action. Motorola Atrix 4G Phone - the Desktop/Laptop Replacement?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=trD-bNnWkeo

Some specs...

http://www.gsmarena.com/motorola_atrix_4g-3708.php

Postby M_2NR » January 12th, 2011, 6:15 pm

^ good post oui. was about to talk about it.

For CES android solutions that i must say was epic!

If they can optimize it more... and make it smooth. that will be super.

The only thing that will suck again... is if they dont/wont update it.

Guys, question, besides Nexus' the next best bet is an HTC right? in terms of updates...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 12th, 2011, 8:29 pm

^yep. Motorola seems to have their updates in order as well...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 12th, 2011, 8:33 pm

Samsung Galaxy S2 leaks a photo and some specs... again

More rumors about the successor of the Galaxy S appear on the radar. This time a Korean newspaper focuses our attention to the Galaxy S2 by “leaking” a photo of it, accompanied by some specifications.

It’s logical to assume that Samsung is going to announce the successor to the Galaxy S at the Mobile World Congress in Barcelona. However, we are not exactly sure whether it’s going to look like this.

A couple of months ago we reported yet another rumor of the Galaxy S2 from what looked like Sammy’s leaked slides. Though the credibility of the slides is yet to be confirmed, we'd bet our money on the design offered there to be the real European-spec Galaxy S2. But who knows, that one here may be a regional version for either S. Korea or the US.

Back to the leak at hand, according to the Korean newspaper, the Galaxy S2 is going to run the latest version of Android 2.3 Gingerbread, powered by a dual-core processor with unknown clock speed, a 4.3” sAMOLED plus screen (that's the next generation) and an NFC chip.

Whatever the truth about the Galaxy S2 may be, we’ll provide full coverage from the MWC 2011 so you’ll be the first to know everything about the device as soon as Samsung announces it.

GSM Arena

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » January 13th, 2011, 10:45 am

Any Galaxy S users having any issues with their phone?, i have been using the phone about 2 weeks now and yesterday, while imputting text using swype, it started acting buggy, the keys froze, then the screen started scrolling up and down by itself, jumping to old messages randomly, keypad was unresponsive but random letters were being pressed , tried exiting the messaging and then the home screen started sticking, not able scroll, went into contact list and it was scrolling up and down with no imput from me, i turned off the phone several times, i even pulled the battery but the problem started again when i tried to send another text. i disabled swype and so far the system has been stable, but wtf is going on, should i return it to TSTT, they will keep it to check out the problem but i have no faith in them plus who know how long they might keep the phone, any suggestions?