The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » December 20th, 2010, 10:08 am

If you all using Jailbreakme.com and you get an oops error... Try deleting your cache BEFORE anything like hard rebooting etc. And use modmyi.jailbreakme.com.

I'd personally stay AWAY from that method anymore.. even tho i used it twice! I'll stick to PT/greenpoison/sn0w'/ra1ns...

WHY? Padna of mine i4 we were gonna jb it... and guess what... stuck on apple logo...

We never saved SHSH's... guess what? he's on iOS 4.2.1 now... anything we tried from on 4.0.1 didnt work... >_>

that comes to another point... SAVE YOUR SHSH's NO MATTER WHAT!

sheit Happens. Always.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » December 20th, 2010, 4:03 pm

yup updated to the ipad baseband 6.15. now its up and running...thanks

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 21st, 2010, 12:51 pm

The Epic Unreal 3 engine spinning Infinity Blade for iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad has just had its first update hit the App Store, so if you’ve been itching for more action, here’s what you get:
    5 new Swords, 5 new Shields, 5 new Helmets, and 1 new set of Armor – Collect and Master them all!
    Maximum Character Level raised from 40 to 45!
    New Enemy – The MARROW FIEND! This creature is rumored to devour its victims, taking their bones for its blade and shield…
    Because it’s awesome, you can now listen to your own music while playing INFINITY BLADE!
    PURCHASE GOLD! Due to popular demand, we have added the ability to buy extra Gold via in-app purchase!
    Optimizations and minor Bug fixes

------

MuscleNerd of iPhone Dev-Team has confirmed today that the next version of Redsn0w will include an option which will allow you to untether your iPhone jailbreak on iOS 4.2.1 without having to restore your device.

The advantage of this will be that you wont have to reinstall any of your iTunes’ or Cydia apps. All you ever have to do will be rerun Redsn0w jailbreak and it will be done!

Expect this new version of Redsn0w for all iOS devices to be available somewhere around the Christmas eve, followed by iPhone 4 unlock on newer basebands in January.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 22nd, 2010, 12:09 pm

how can i update and unlock a 3GS?

use the ipad fw to jailbreak & unlock? has the gps functionality been fixed?

Postby M_2NR » December 22nd, 2010, 1:01 pm

DO NOT DO THAT unless you have to..

what BB you on right now mitch? if you want a custom f/w let us know... there are a few a few pages back. its to 4.1 with non updated BB.
Nope it hasnt been fixed..

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 22nd, 2010, 2:33 pm

ok here's the situation

3GS jailbroken and unlocked using blackra1n/ultrasn0w, never upgraded so i guess it's on 3.1.2 fw.

the phone came off and i tried using blackra1n to boot it but it gets stuck on the geohot screen.

what can i use to upgrade it to 4.1? restore to a custom ipsw then unlock with ultrasn0w as usual?

would it matter if it's the old boot rom or new boot rom?

Postby M_2NR » December 22nd, 2010, 3:42 pm

I am assuming that it has all SHSH's saved? if not... run TinyUmbrella and see what the logs say?

It's all up to you... if you want to keep that baseband u can use a 4.1 pwned ipsw straight away... Once you get thru with it you are on!

And yes that self. and nope! mines is new Bootrom and i did that. Its all about the SHSH's though... make sure you have them... So:

1) Run TinyUmbrella and save SHSH's see that you have all (you should have them automatically so leave it to run for about 5mins to grab all from Cydia) The TSS Server will be off.

In the mean time... get a custom firmware from here:
http://www.iphoneheat.com/2010/10/download-custom-ios-4-1-firmware-ipsw/
I made mine a while back so i had it on file... but those should work. I used them on a 3G.
(((
* iPhone2_1_4.1_8B117_Custom_Restore.ipsw.001
* iPhone2_1_4.1_8B117_Custom_Restore.ipsw.002
)))

2) **Once you have confirmed the SHSH's for 4.1...** firstly you want to get the 3GS to go into a pwned DFU state... you will use redsn0w 0.96bx (b2-> can work, i used b2 recently on my 3GS) and it will do its thing and enter a pwned DFU.

3) Go back to TinyUmbrella and hit Start TSS Server.

4) After that now, open iTunes and Shift+Restore to load the custom f/w for 4.1 and ensure that your device is still in DFU mode (you should leave it plugged in etc.)

Leave it to do its thing... and at the end, it should NOT error out (because you were in pwned DFU mode) and when it boots... it should be on 4.1 pwned...

5) Head over to Cydia... get ultrasn0w.

Don't forget to let us know how it goes... and a lil thanks :)
feel free to ask again...

wrt to the facetime issues... i not sure about it.. i have to talk to my bud who fixed his... and he is really busy these days.

Postby M_2NR » December 22nd, 2010, 3:52 pm

KOTF wrote:I dunno if you guys can help!

My iPhone 4 32gig on OS 4.2 (jailbroken with limera1n not unlocked) is very slow when im using it to check my mail and trying to load web sites I'm practically getting NO response.......

Never had this problem with my 2g, 3g or 3gs

Thanks in advance for help and suggestions.

Also heard their is a fix via cydia for facetime?

So i talked to my padna... To fix facetime... yes... this is what he did... enter in your APN setting in Cellular Data Network and you should be good to go.

Not sure about the other issue... i hate limera1n and i use that as my last resort... try restoring to original 4.2.1 and use redsn0w? but why u would want a tethered JB is beyond me.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 22nd, 2010, 6:22 pm

M_2NR wrote:I am assuming that it has all SHSH's saved? if not... run TinyUmbrella and see what the logs say?

It's all up to you... if you want to keep that baseband u can use a 4.1 pwned ipsw straight away... Once you get thru with it you are on!

And yes that self. and nope! mines is new Bootrom and i did that. Its all about the SHSH's though... make sure you have them... So:

1) Run TinyUmbrella and save SHSH's see that you have all (you should have them automatically so leave it to run for about 5mins to grab all from Cydia) The TSS Server will be off.

In the mean time... get a custom firmware from here:
http://www.iphoneheat.com/2010/10/download-custom-ios-4-1-firmware-ipsw/
I made mine a while back so i had it on file... but those should work. I used them on a 3G.
(((
* iPhone2_1_4.1_8B117_Custom_Restore.ipsw.001
* iPhone2_1_4.1_8B117_Custom_Restore.ipsw.002
)))

2) **Once you have confirmed the SHSH's for 4.1...** firstly you want to get the 3GS to go into a pwned DFU state... you will use redsn0w 0.96bx (b2-> can work, i used b2 recently on my 3GS) and it will do its thing and enter a pwned DFU.

3) Go back to TinyUmbrella and hit Start TSS Server.

4) After that now, open iTunes and Shift+Restore to load the custom f/w for 4.1 and ensure that your device is still in DFU mode (you should leave it plugged in etc.)

Leave it to do its thing... and at the end, it should NOT error out (because you were in pwned DFU mode) and when it boots... it should be on 4.1 pwned...

5) Head over to Cydia... get ultrasn0w.

Don't forget to let us know how it goes... and a lil thanks :)
feel free to ask again...

wrt to the facetime issues... i not sure about it.. i have to talk to my bud who fixed his... and he is really busy these days.

the phone is stuck in recovery mode apparently. tinyumbrella detects it as a recovery device and when i click save SHSH, nothing happens...

Postby M_2NR » December 22nd, 2010, 11:38 pm

ummm... how that stuck in recovery mode :?

Did it have blobs at all? like in cydia?

kick it out of recovery? If not... Turn TSS Server on OR use Cydia's server by editing host file and flash a virgin 3.1.2... and start over...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 23rd, 2010, 12:17 am

steups this is the same reason i gave up on this whole iphone sheit yuh know!

feel i goin to have to start telling ppl i no longer in d iphone business so they go stop coming to me for help! :S

Postby M_2NR » December 23rd, 2010, 12:40 am

You didnt? i stopped doing anyone's phone unless its family and since my last encounter with an i4... i gonna cut them off soon too... its just tooo much sheit to think of..

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 23rd, 2010, 12:44 am

the iPhone 4 i did was for a coworker. the 3GS is my cousin's own.

i really blanking ppl after this. if ppl want an iphone so bad, then buy factory unlocked and done or at least have the technical ability to follow the cat and mouse game and upgrade ur iphone on ur own :roll:

Postby M_2NR » December 23rd, 2010, 1:49 am

I am kind of fed up now where i have to wait for a JB to unlock an iPhone and even update it. One thing for sure is that I am getting a factory unlocked one... but i certainly agree to the fact that.. if you want an iPhone at least learn about it as our country is not fully supported in terms of network...

One thing i love about iOS though.. there is something new EVERY day.

Im surprised this wasnt posted? or was it?

Your Apps Are Watching You

Few devices know more personal details about people than the smartphones in their pockets: phone numbers, current location, often the owner's real name—even a unique ID number that can never be changed or turned off.

continue...

very scary stuff

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 23rd, 2010, 2:27 am

ok so i got frustrated reading and trying to catch up with the whole jailbreak situation.

tried editing the hosts file and all that to no avail, but dont think the blobs were ever saved so i guess restoring to anything but iOS4 would have been futile.

so i decided to go the iPad fw route and got thru. the 'locate me' feature works so i guess i have no gps issue?

Postby M_2NR » December 23rd, 2010, 3:06 am

it will show you the location of the service tower

and that sucks... why is it so hard for ppl not to click... make life easy?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » December 23rd, 2010, 9:37 am

Well Ive been using 4.2 on my 3G for over a week now and its simply amazing.

The phone hasnt frozen up since, its much faster, getting about 55mb free mem at idle with a wb theme installed, and most of all im living without backgrounding which was killing mem and battery.

I liked the fact of backgrounding but the benefits of it didnt outweigh the need to kill apps everytime i needed to do something important. I didnt see the light until i fack away with it.

Best improvement of all...all my apps work, even updates to the apps working, even the ones that didnt work on 4.0.2.

I recommend anyone with a 3G to update to 4.2

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 23rd, 2010, 9:39 am

The SHAtter jailbreak which was being saved for the next iPhone update has been leaked, according to tweets by MuscleNerd and p0sixninja.

P0sixninja is publicly accusing MuscleNerd of leaking the exploit; however, MuscleNerd states this is not the case and would be illogical for him to leak the exploit since he needs the jailbreak to perform an unlock for the next device. He also notes that there were 15 others in the room when the code was posted by pod2g.

Unfortunately, this likely means Apple will block the exploit by the time any new iDevices are released.

The exploit (and payload) was developed by @pod2g a few months after @p0sixninja discovered the crash.

Also of interest, p0sixninja says that an untethered bootrom exploit is still on the way.

------

iTunes Connect is closing for the holidays today — from Thursday, December 23 to Tuesday, December 28 to be exact — and that means there won’t be any new iPhone, iPod touch, or iPad apps, games, or updates next week.

iTunes Connect is the portal developers use to submit and manage their apps. So the shutdown might be just to give Apple’s review team a holiday of their own or it could give Apple time to do some system maintenance and improvements behind the scenes. Either way from today all the apps and games in the store will be locked down until just before New Year.

(Yes, that’s also why so many apps and games are on sale now — they can’t change prices until after iTunes Connects opens again, and they’re hoping a sale bumps them up in the rankings for all those new iPhone and iPads under the tree!)

------

Comex has tweeted saying that he may not be able to complete his untethering of the current jailbreak by Christmas.

I think I'm going to miss my Christmas deadline...

On Tuesday the iPhone Dev-Team announced that their 'backup plan' untethered jailbreak is nearly ready and will not require a restore of your device.

Comex's untether is more extensible and should not require access to the developer only 4.2b3 IPSW; thus, it's suggested that users wait for his.

Postby M_2NR » December 23rd, 2010, 12:22 pm

idlemind wrote:Well Ive been using 4.2 on my 3G for over a week now and its simply amazing.

The phone hasnt frozen up since, its much faster, getting about 55mb free mem at idle with a wb theme installed, and most of all im living without backgrounding which was killing mem and battery.

I liked the fact of backgrounding but the benefits of it didnt outweigh the need to kill apps everytime i needed to do something important. I didnt see the light until i fack away with it.

Best improvement of all...all my apps work, even updates to the apps working, even the ones that didnt work on 4.0.2.

I recommend anyone with a 3G to update to 4.2

mines is still lagging :(

The 2G on 3.1.3 Actually a lil faster...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 25th, 2010, 12:18 am

Postby M_2NR » December 26th, 2010, 7:15 pm

new redsn0w out eh guys... only for i4 ipt4 and iPad and its for mac only.. for now...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 26th, 2010, 7:34 pm

^^^ NB that is an early beta & it is pretty buggy according to zcrugby which was why I didn't bother to post it.

Postby M_2NR » December 26th, 2010, 8:27 pm

yeh... i wont even bother trying it.. we hadda source 4.2b3 etc. i am waiting for iOS 4.3 if even there is one... and i doubt there will be...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 27th, 2010, 4:32 pm

Facebook welcomed an additional million iPhone owners on Christmas (Facebook for iPhone includes all iOS devices?). In fact Apple had a pretty impressive December all together.

hot blue

Postby hot blue » December 27th, 2010, 11:40 pm

Does anyone know how the ispazio caller-ID fix works? does it install the same file that was linked here a couple pages back?

I am trying to figure out if I JB and install the caller-ID fix(via cydia) and then update the FW, if I will lose the caller-ID fix as well(since that will un-do the JB). Phone is factory unlocked so that is not an issue.

Postby M_2NR » December 28th, 2010, 1:25 am

yes u will

Karim Khan

Official I Phone Apps thread

Postby Karim Khan » December 28th, 2010, 10:08 pm

What is your favorite Iphone apps

let me start

Whats App