Should Vending be allowed - Yay or Nay -

Should Vending be allowed on the streets?

YES
21%
NO
79%

Total votes: 61

Re: Should Vending be allowed - Yay or Nay -

Postby SUPAstarr » December 15th, 2010, 3:35 pm

how much of allyuh here actually drive down at the bottom of charlotte st, esp on an afternoon it is impassable, motorists actually have to fold in their mirrors cuz the pavement is blocked an pedestrians have to use the road, it is unacceptable. IT IS ILLEGAL, TALK DONE.

Postby RASC » December 15th, 2010, 3:39 pm

nismoid wrote:Vending is ILLEGAL
"Pulling Bull" or working "PH" is ILLEGAL
The government is LEGALISING vending temporarily and want to legalise PH cars!
Whatever the outcome, the natives are still gonna do it anyway.
Third world mentality FTL
See why Trinidad will NEVER become a developed country?

Now you see what I've been saying.
I'm just glad you're seeing my side of things...this "poor man's Utopian" scenario they are pushing is at the expense of the middle class and decent, hard working citizens.

The PH
The Squatters
The Vendors

Which middle class family falls into any of the categories above? They're giving ample assistance to these people, just for the sake of political mileage and not because they REALLY and truly want to help them, or the greater society. The VAST majority of people in Trinbago are the middle class, not those below the poverty line.

Look they just gave hundreds of squatters certificates of comfort ...real foolishness taking place :roll:

Postby Damien » December 15th, 2010, 3:52 pm

No vending and no jehovah witnesses

Postby Chimera » December 15th, 2010, 3:57 pm

the jehovah witnesses and the venders should fight it out, winner take all

nigie

Postby nigie » December 15th, 2010, 4:15 pm

a big NAY

you dont have the right to block up the road/pavement with a stall or a cart or yourself and impede me while i commute...
also a business has a right to access its premises along with its patrons... and to display goods etc...so by vending u r depraving people of a number of rights ...
and i dont get the legitimizing of illegal acts ...especially by the state..

zcarz

Postby zcarz » December 16th, 2010, 1:29 am

No, fack them, it is illegal.

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » December 16th, 2010, 11:38 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I dont have a problem with it.
Everybody has to make a living - why fight them down?
Regulate it and put control mechanisms.

x2 couldn't have said it better.......the way I see it is I'd rather have them do that than put a gun to my head and take the $$$...........fair trade.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » December 17th, 2010, 12:35 am

RASC wrote:Now you see what I've been saying.
I'm just glad you're seeing my side of things...this "poor man's Utopian" scenario they are pushing is at the expense of the middle class and decent, hard working citizens.
Yes, the PP doin some level jack@rseness! But don't play as if the PNM are innocent in all of this!

No illegal street vending in T&T!! This also includes many of your friendly neighbourhood doubles (and other food) vendors!!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 17th, 2010, 1:04 am

2 d Max Auto wrote:

x2 couldn't have said it better.......the way I see it is I'd rather have them do that than put a gun to my head and take the $$$...........fair trade.

wonder if you would say that if they set up shop in front your store selling emblems...... :) :) :) :lol:

Postby RASC » December 17th, 2010, 6:32 am

Nigson wrote:
2 d Max Auto wrote:

wonder if you would say that if they set up shop in front your store selling emblems...... :) :) :) :lol:

Exactly....men does only talk in favour of illegal activities when its not affecting them directly.

Postby RASC » December 17th, 2010, 6:35 am

Ah PNM man trying his best to work in the system...and certain elements just trying to break him down. WTF is the point of the law then? Mayor had to succumb to higher powers in favour of these illegal vendors.

PH issue is for next year...

Bareback

Postby Bareback » December 17th, 2010, 7:35 am

PH is a done deal. Hail Marlene, finally ah could walk on de pavement of high street and not de asphalt after numerous decades!!!!!!!!!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 19th, 2010, 8:11 am

anyone hit the streets as yet?

is it any better?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 19th, 2010, 11:40 am

redmanjp wrote:
Nigson wrote:
The tents at the flea market in chaguanas I am sure is at least $8000 rent

:shock: they does even make dat in a month?

If you sell 20 items for the whole day at $50 each = $1000 per day.
= >$20,000 month

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 19th, 2010, 11:43 am

Computerman wrote:No illegal street vending in T&T!! This also includes many of your friendly neighbourhood doubles (and other food) vendors!!

Many of whom got permission from business owners to set up shop.

But you touch on something here. What about NEW PAPERS VENDORS? Isn't it illegal to walk between traffic and sell? They wanted to remove everyone but the yet the newspaper vendors are still a nuisance.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » December 19th, 2010, 8:35 pm

Strauss wrote:
Computerman wrote:No illegal street vending in T&T!! This also includes many of your friendly neighbourhood doubles (and other food) vendors!!

Many of whom got permission from business owners to set up shop.

Which is why I didn't say 'all'. My employers have, over the years, allowed vending (authorised persons) in and around their businesses at specified times. This has benefitted employees, customers and the company... to say nothing of the vendors themselves.

Strauss wrote:But you touch on something here. What about NEW PAPERS VENDORS? Isn't it illegal to walk between traffic and sell? They wanted to remove everyone but the yet the newspaper vendors are still a nuisance.
All illegal vending must be dealt with by the authorities! No exceptions!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 19th, 2010, 11:37 pm

Strauss wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Nigson wrote:
The tents at the flea market in chaguanas I am sure is at least $8000 rent

:shock: they does even make dat in a month?

If you sell 20 items for the whole day at $50 each = $1000 per day.
= >$20,000 month

Yeah but they are not there for the month...Just there for 14 days......
and they have workers to pay....

Postby Chimera » December 20th, 2010, 12:04 am

10x20 tent in d fleamarket is $18,000

but they does make it back easy

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 20th, 2010, 12:28 am

....sometimes I think that those who claim to "live below the poverty line" or whatever actually get more and have more "rights" than those who are above it......food card, house building grants, furniture grants, public assistance etc etc....

and now coming soon subsidized utility bills re:- electricity and water....it pays to be "poor" :roll:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 20th, 2010, 12:39 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:....sometimes I think that those who claim to "live below the poverty line" or whatever actually get more and have more "rights" than those who are above it......food card, house building grants, furniture grants, public assistance etc etc....

and now coming soon subsidized utility bills re:- electricity and water....it pays to be "poor" :roll:

Vega you are right!!!
It pays to be poor these days....

Imagine free house!!!!!! welfare checks every month......subsidized bills.....man you ent even have to go look for no big job...just relax and you getting everything easy....

On top of that if ppl think you poor they not going to rob you and push ah gun in your face and you don't have to worry about kidnapping either --you safe -

Now you said ppl "claim" to be poor....You are right here also...

I know of instances where ppl are well off ---yet fool the govt to get welfare checks every month and one instance I saw a guy fool these idiots into giving him a free house!!!

Man watching the govt and laughing now qui......

Its amazing man ...really amazing.........guess it pays to be poor........

Postby RASC » December 20th, 2010, 12:29 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:....sometimes I think that those who claim to "live below the poverty line" or whatever actually get more and have more "rights" than those who are above it......food card, house building grants, furniture grants, public assistance etc etc....

This is what the PP is banking on.
The under-class support.
That is why they are doing all of these measures. Who else would this please?

PH :?
Vending :?
Squatter Grants :?

Postby TRAE » December 20th, 2010, 12:43 pm

^^^^ correct is right

Postby RASC » December 20th, 2010, 12:52 pm

The gov't is pandering to a certain demographic because it equals votes. This cannot be sustainable in the long run and those very ppl would not remember what you did for them in Christmas of 2010, come elections 2015...SO WHY DO IT?

Very short sighted.

Postby Greypatch » December 20th, 2010, 1:19 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:the jehovah witnesses and the venders should fight it out, winner take all

sounds good to me

Postby SR » December 20th, 2010, 1:27 pm

RASC wrote:Ah PNM man trying his best to work in the system...and certain elements just trying to break him down. WTF is the point of the law then? Mayor had to succumb to higher powers in favour of these illegal vendors.

PH issue is for next year...

dont you mean he was told to back down by rowley after he met with the vendors

its the pnm who has them there in the first place and now one pnm official is trying to do his job for the betterement of the city and has to back down

kudos for marlene in san fernando for standing her grounds

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 20th, 2010, 8:38 pm

man it fkn infuriating