Bora maintenance tips

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

Melkor

Bora maintenance tips

Postby Melkor » November 24th, 2008, 9:00 am

I just bought a local used VW Bora. So far the car is problem free and I want to keep it that way. Anybody have any maintenance tips.

I'm taking it for a tune-up at my local mechanic - who isn't a VW specialist. Any recommendations on oil, plugs, etc?

Gool

Postby Gool » November 24th, 2008, 4:49 pm

my best advice is to make friends with a vw specialist :D
i sell mechanical, electrical and maintenance parts for the bora and passat.
these are real nice cars but are quite tricky when it comes to maintenance and repairs. simple thing as putting in an engine treatment or transmission treatment can actually mess it up reeeel bad. so please dont take any chances.

also.. many of the sensors go bad quite frequently and many parts are plastic which tend to get brittle and break after a while.

call me if you need a linkup with a vw mechanic as i know quite a few

703-8157
:D

Postby MG Man » November 26th, 2008, 10:02 pm

do not take it by a local mechanic who is unfamiliar
worse yet a mechanic who does not work on euros
YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

oh yeah, and invest in one of these

bcozier

Postby bcozier » December 11th, 2008, 2:55 pm

yeah...that is what i want??

anyone can tell he where to find it???

Postby MG Man » December 11th, 2008, 4:20 pm

want me to source it for u?

Gool

Postby Gool » December 11th, 2008, 7:22 pm

try ebay or sumtin.. or torrents.. u mite get it to download electeronically

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 11th, 2008, 7:36 pm

hoss..don't take it by someone who doesn't know anything a fack about VW vehicles...

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » December 12th, 2008, 4:28 am

i have it ...u want a photocopy ? :lol:

EuroMaan

Postby EuroMaan » December 21st, 2008, 2:44 pm

Any known issues to look out for with the '03 bora? Thinking of getting one for the misses. I going to look at one with 55 k on it for 60 g. I hear the bora not the most reliable but i fig wid dat mileage the price eh bad. Wha allyuh think ?

Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby Dada » January 2nd, 2009, 11:17 pm

Lets Ride Instead in couva...ask for Tony Lions..is the best VW specialist i've known...he just migrated back to tnt..his shop is open about 2-3 months now.......
Boss dont let anyone who dont know about VW touch your car...i have had horror stories until i found the right man....those cars are very good cars way ahead of its time...great cars...

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » January 3rd, 2009, 3:56 pm

^^^What part of couva an do u have a #?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » January 3rd, 2009, 3:58 pm

jus called directory assistance his # is 6362277

Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby Dada » January 3rd, 2009, 4:10 pm

trinivdub...did I meet you @ luis shop in Miami once

Melkor

Postby Melkor » March 12th, 2009, 3:28 pm

TriniVdub, Dada:

You have a contact for Tony Lions? You know a good VW man closer to town? :(

Melkor

Postby Melkor » March 12th, 2009, 3:29 pm

TriniVdub, Dada:

You have a contact for Tony Lions? You know a good VW man closer to town? :(

Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby Dada » March 12th, 2009, 3:33 pm

i have to check

Melkor

Postby Melkor » March 12th, 2009, 3:34 pm

Thanks. And you right, so far this car has been the best. I had a couple problems here and there but you have to expect that from a used vehicle. I heard some horror stories about VW but if you treat them right you safe.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » March 13th, 2009, 1:15 am

Taking an essentially computer controlled car by any old mechanic is madness. Had a lady who took her Audi A4 to some dude because he cheap and he blow the ECU. $20k in her MC.

Like BUGWANAAAaaaaa said, The best thing you can get for your car is a service manual. Worth it's weight in gold. You buy a bess ride, get a bess mechanic. No compromises.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » March 13th, 2009, 6:41 am

^^^^ $20k for an ECU :?: lol she obviously never heard of ebay :roll:

naughtyghul

Postby naughtyghul » July 24th, 2009, 3:04 am

OK send me an email naughtyghul@yahoo.com

godgift1025

Re: Bora maintenance tips

Postby godgift1025 » October 18th, 2010, 2:12 am

By the way, we sincerely invite all game players whether you are newbie or veteran to buy cheap

WOW Gold.
It's worth saying a few words on Dark SimulacrumBuy WOW Gold, the new level

85 spell steal ability. Right now, it's actually pretty amazing. You cast it on your target, and the

debuff stays for around 8 seconds and steals pretty much whatever spell the target casts

RuneScape Gold, giving you a buff that lasts for 20 seconds that lets

you cast a copy of the same spell on whatever target you wantAion Kinah.

japs

Postby japs » October 18th, 2010, 10:56 am

doh make the mistake of carryin it by no ordinary mechanic who doh know nothin about vw, made the same mistake, Rennie from Pointe a Pierre does fix my Bora never had any probs 3550695

japs

Postby japs » October 18th, 2010, 10:57 am

doh make the mistake of carryin it by no ordinary mechanic who doh know nothin about vw, made the same mistake, Rennie from Pointe a Pierre does fix my Bora never had any probs 3550695

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » October 18th, 2010, 12:32 pm

x2 Lions or rennie - ebay has those books available or amazon.
Lions very thorough and most of all explains the cause.
Stay away from regular mechs - you will eventually learn that the engineering of these cars are unique.

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » October 21st, 2010, 7:23 pm

Bora is the European version of the North American Jetta 1J chassis.
Copy the manual given below.
USJetta/Golf4 Manual Note this is a US publication and not everything in here would apply to a "general export" vehicle.

Join ClubGTi for more up to date discussions on European/UK market VWs. Your vehicle is a very similar spec as a vehicle built for the UK/RHD markets.

An example of a "How to" that was written for the benefit of the CGTi forum on MK4
Golf/Jetta/Bora glovebox lid repair.

I own a Bora V5 170PS and the only thing that has gone wrong, besides the glovebox lid, were blown side light bulbs. We do service it as per intervals, using VW 505 approved oil and OE filter and G12+ coolant (pink stuff) and it returns very faithful use. I suspect in Trinidad that suspension components will take a beating such as rear bushings, rear springs, ball joints and front ARB drop links. ATE brakes last a long time with Pagid or Ferrod pads. Besides the glovebox lid issue, also broken window regulator and coolant gauge temp sensor are common issues to expect. Not a biggie if you know what to do and correct OE quality parts are available.
Typical parts factors in the UK for these vehicles are,
Euro Car Parts or GSF. Both do international shipping.
A VDS tool from Ross tech is a very good investment if you own a VW/Skoda/Seat/Audi vehicle.
It will save you a lot of time, if you learn how to use it, and possibly money in garage scan check bills.

Hope this helps.

Tetramiel

Postby Tetramiel » December 13th, 2010, 9:06 am

this post is very educational. I am interested in a bora as well and I am going to test drive it later. I am from arima and i don't know any VW specialists in my area. It would be great if someone could list a contact for a VW person within the east side

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » December 16th, 2010, 9:24 am

^^^My garage on the eastern main road in St Joseph would be officially opening in January, all my guys are certified and have tons of experience with the euros.

Give me a call @ 726-2510

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » December 16th, 2010, 6:05 pm

BUMP!!!!

Return to “EURO”