Vinyl wrapping an entire CAR rather than painting it?

Re: Vinyl wrapping an entire CAR rather than painting it?

Postby M_2NR » May 29th, 2010, 11:05 pm

worksux101 wrote:ok can u give an idea of the price for different types...

:roll: ent! is bess you give a model, series, version, make of car and done yes. :|

sj, to make things easier, how much it would cost zscrugby for an ek3...

Postby nervewrecker » May 30th, 2010, 11:28 am

I dont know the prices off hand nor do I know the price to do an entire vehicle with plain vinyl. Prices vary from vehicle to vehicle based on the size & artwork.
what I can give an average of is the price to do a vehicle bonnet, its around $400.00 with printed vinyl so it should cost less to do an entire bonnet with plain vinyl. the type used is usually clear coated to resist scratches & damage to the print, without clear coat I am not sure how durable it is.
The guy with the red k10 whom used to work by lesterbee did his bonnet in 3M carbon fiber vinyl & it was quite stiff & resistant to scratches.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » May 30th, 2010, 11:41 am

thanks...anyone has a list of places locally taht offers this?

Postby SUPAstarr » May 30th, 2010, 11:46 am

ditto

Postby AllTrac » May 30th, 2010, 11:56 am

this is interesting

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » May 30th, 2010, 12:23 pm

SignStop Maraval. I cyah remeber they number supplies vinyl. Printable and non printable vinyl. I think motorcity as well.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » May 30th, 2010, 11:19 pm

slacker_jack wrote:
masterofmindz wrote:it have a white fugly subaru TS with gayple vinyl n grafiz that dus be in car shows n i believe it from princes town. this man will eventually wrap his car i feel becus 1/2 d car is vinyl...

those were one of the cars I was talking about. if you watch where the spaces between the doors & the fenders & the spaces between both doors you will see white paint. they cut the Vinyl on the doors surface on the outside.

compare that to this:

most vehicles have no continuity in their designs, its just bits & pieces of vinyl slapped together unto a surface. notice how the design flows from bonnet to fender to door to fender in that car?

what mr gear says is true, you can get the job done without using soap water, it can be applied dry (the oracle vinyl can be applied dry) & you need the heat gun to wrap the vinyl in places like around the door edges & between seams. it harder than t sounds wehn you wprking with a design, if you start from one end of the door & the vinyl stretches it wont line up with the next piece & images may distort.
most fellows dot wrap bumpers out here cuz its hard to do but notice the bumper is wrapped on the b14 :mrgreen:

both car shame the affected areas of p/town, i hang my head in shame to live in the vicinity of such garbage, even though my car not up to par my finished product shall render some blown up panties as i pass..lol. but i see the ts guy take of some as he realized his already pissed up gas milage goin up with the imperfect aero.

Postby nervewrecker » May 31st, 2010, 11:29 am

turbohead wrote:
both car shame the affected areas of p/town, i hang my head in shame to live in the vicinity of such garbage, even though my car not up to par my finished product shall render some blown up panties as i pass..lol. but i see the ts guy take of some as he realized his already pissed up gas milage goin up with the imperfect aero.

ummm....only 1 car from p / town pardna & thats the subaru.

also, something you might want to bear in mind: the b14 is not the guys daily driven car, he does not believe that driving around in a collage is a way to pull panty.

Postby Damien » May 31st, 2010, 11:41 am

wont last long if you using the car everyday

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 31st, 2010, 10:04 pm

hmmm....could wrap my roof!!!

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » December 11th, 2010, 2:46 pm

Done locally, 3M Di-Noc carbon fiber vinyl, PM WiseOne for details.

Postby nervewrecker » December 11th, 2010, 3:19 pm

pics of the corners & edges of the phone plz....

Postby M_2NR » December 11th, 2010, 3:23 pm

im seeing these for the iphone as well
http://www.icarbons.com/

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » December 11th, 2010, 5:43 pm

evolution7tt wrote:Image

Done locally, 3M Di-Noc carbon fiber vinyl, PM WiseOne for details.

saw the i touch he did aswell...man have skills
I still gotta check him to do sum stuff for me...

the corners reall neat too

Postby shogun » December 11th, 2010, 6:37 pm

Not sure if this is vinyl wrapped or matte painted. Someone who knows the ride personally might know....either way, me likes.

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » December 11th, 2010, 7:10 pm

slacker_jack wrote:pics of the corners & edges of the phone plz....

flawless... trust me, even around the cutout for the camera. You'll be surprised as to how pliable this is when it gets a lil heat.

Siddiqah

Postby Siddiqah » December 11th, 2010, 7:28 pm

My phone was also done locally by Wise One. I must say I am really impressed with the quality of his work. Corners and edges are flawless as evolution7tt said, especially around the camera lens and flash that my phone comes with. Not to mention it looks damn awesome. I would recommend this to anyone :wink: ... It really is amazing to see just how versatile 3M Di-Noc carbon fiber vinyl is... Makes you wonder what other surface you can use it on...
Carbon fiber.jpg

Postby nervewrecker » December 11th, 2010, 7:32 pm

when heated around the edges the pattern doesn't distort?

Kish

Postby Kish » December 11th, 2010, 7:44 pm

the pattern shouldn't distort much. once it is pulled in the right direction, ie along the pattern it shouldn't be noticeable. when i did my sidemirror caps i realized this. but if you pull the vinyl evenly it won't be noticeable especially on large areas.

also when heated you'll be amazed on how soft it gets and just conforms to the shape. and once cool it's like it was never stretched.

Postby bushwakka » December 11th, 2010, 7:44 pm

this is darn interesting

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » December 11th, 2010, 8:07 pm

anyone can recommend someone to wrap a pair of clear tail lights in red vinyl ?

RNR66

Postby RNR66 » December 11th, 2010, 8:07 pm

anyone can recommend someone to wrap a pair of clear tail lights in red vinyl ?

turbo_boy411

Postby turbo_boy411 » December 11th, 2010, 8:12 pm

Contact Mr. Mindz on the forum, he's wrapped a couple cars locally, he's capable and can vouch for his work which is Excellent!!!

Postby nervewrecker » December 11th, 2010, 8:27 pm

whats the price of that CF vinyl?

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » December 12th, 2010, 1:08 pm

Give the Wise One a call... it's obviously more expensive than regular vinyl, but that is not a printed pattern, it's woven. Got texture to it.

362- 2814

Postby tr1ad » December 12th, 2010, 1:17 pm

he cud do meh car in da fibon carbre vinyl

Postby nervewrecker » December 12th, 2010, 1:35 pm

I have my chrome tail lights here, I open them & was gonna paint the chrome black but carbon fiber is my weakness!

I gonna want to carbon fiber everything now!

Postby M_2NR » December 12th, 2010, 3:12 pm

BTW Wise One is not his tuner name... if u do a search it doesnt come up.

Postby nervewrecker » December 12th, 2010, 3:28 pm

M_2NR wrote:BTW Wise One is not his tuner name... if u do a search it doesnt come up.

memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=16059

Postby nervewrecker » December 12th, 2010, 5:16 pm

shogun wrote:Not sure if this is vinyl wrapped or matte painted. Someone who knows the ride personally might know....either way, me likes.

anyone knows who did this job?