Wiper Blade review thread.

EVA Unit-01

Re: Wiper Blade review thread.

Postby EVA Unit-01 » June 1st, 2010, 3:19 pm

yes dose r d entire wiper assembly, will double check d cost... thanks man!

i use 24" and 18", btw. & dey don't hav d ricer wipers 4 mine

Postby Dave » June 2nd, 2010, 9:41 am

ok installed refills last night

no instruction about pre-treatment

minor issue with the lancer/evo(cs/ct chassis) dimensions of 24 and 18 where the 24 was a 8mm wide blade and the 18 was a 6mm wide blade, just needed to modify the arm to accomodate the 8mm

Tried this morning and no an audible sound came from using them

The last silicones were mounted on a plastic frame with the locking clip to keep it on whereas the PIAA refill is like OE which could be a minor area of noise with plastic on metal

Seeker

Postby Seeker » June 2nd, 2010, 10:53 am

Hmmm... all these threads are interesting. I am using pylons and I treat them regularly with armoral and treat the windscreen with "rain away" or something like that. So far it wipes very clean with no skipping and such. I will still monitor them though.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 2nd, 2010, 5:05 pm

To be honest, the "service" people at mom's company used to treat the wipers with armorall and I found it always caused the glass to fog up easier at night for some reason...
I guess they were doing it wrong or using far too much?

oxidation

Postby oxidation » August 4th, 2010, 12:37 pm

my michelin blades are skippin like crazy..

only 3 mths old

every time car washed they are cleaned

what can i do...............

is it that my glass are dirty

Postby Dave » August 4th, 2010, 2:16 pm

rubber needs treating ever so often, e.g. use off a rubber protectant like amourall or the array of other similiar type products out there

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 4th, 2010, 2:56 pm

^^^true but I have also had a similAr experience that CD4Accord described wrt glass fogging at night and worse if rain is falling at night.....maybe my glass needs polishing.....

anyone tried the ac delco frameless blades yet?

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » August 4th, 2010, 3:50 pm

^nope, but i'm using d RainX Latitude frameless wipers

worked bess wen windshield was coated in RainX (which subsequently wiped away), need to recoat glass 2 see how it holds up

oxidation

Postby oxidation » August 4th, 2010, 5:39 pm

Dave wrote:rubber needs treating ever so often, e.g. use off a rubber protectant like amourall or the array of other similiar type products out there

yes man tnx for the info

i do armorall then maybe i put to little

Postby cinco » August 5th, 2010, 6:48 am

oxidation wrote:
Dave wrote:rubber needs treating ever so often, e.g. use off a rubber protectant like amourall or the array of other similiar type products out there

yes man tnx for the info

i do armorall then maybe i put to little

i scrub them down with a toothbrush
then let them dry and soak them with amourall and leave it to dry in the direct sun reapply a couple times then after the third application i just wipe the excess off and re install

oxidation

Postby oxidation » August 5th, 2010, 7:08 am

coool man i did take them out yesterday................

armorall them

but what i noticed is the bigger blade (22") the rubber is like reall soft and flimsly compared to the shorter one which is more sturdy

i wounder if the bigger 1 is gng bad

venum

Postby venum » August 7th, 2010, 10:32 am

so my original set of Michelin frameless need changing now

these are the ones that I posted early on in this thread

got just about 22 months with them

they still have life in them though, but need changing

in heavy rain, they workin well still

but they streaking terribly now with slight water on the windscreen

got my TT$200.00 worth though

will go back Michelin, but the ones with the frame, as the frameless left side wasn't wiping a small area of the windscreen due to the curvature of the glass

after 22 months, they are now discoloured - more charcoal now than the jet black they were when new

I usually clean the glass with polishing compound and use water repellant

overall great product

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 12th, 2010, 8:48 pm

Fellas i now clean the rainx wipers and notice that the blade is graphite coated, so cleaning it with rubbing alco would have to be done spareingly.

I'll put some mothers protectant on them tomorrow.

Postby MG Man » August 13th, 2010, 3:54 pm

good grief
why do you guys use armorall on wiper blades?
All you need is to give them a good wipe with a clean, damp cloth to get off all the grime
Quality blades such as the Michelins already come coated
I've never applied any coatings to Michelin blades and never had any issues with them drying out etc.
The only thing I notice is they tend to hop when I treat the windscreen with rain Vision

lancemitsu

Postby lancemitsu » August 15th, 2010, 9:33 pm

yer dem michelin frameless wipers work gr8..got a pair abt a 4 months now still going strong havent regretted buying em 1 bit : )

dmitc

Postby dmitc » December 6th, 2010, 6:25 pm

oxidation wrote:my michelin blades are skippin like crazy..

only 3 mths old

every time car washed they are cleaned

what can i do...............

is it that my glass are dirty

yip they are terrible, paid $80 a side and from the second day they were streaking and less than 3 months i have them and if i go 1km over 80 they start to skip. i thought i'll treat my wife's cyar to some good rubber but like ah shoulda stick with a $30 pair.
As soon as ah come into money i'll go to TTTL and pay the $200 a side at least i know they worked for 2.5 years with no problems and no nonsense about treating.
Last edited by dmitc on December 6th, 2010, 9:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 6th, 2010, 9:36 pm

^^$170 a pair (holiday discount available), going on a year, minor streaks. teflon/rubber material. thats what i sell

TECH N FIZ

Postby TECH N FIZ » December 6th, 2010, 10:30 pm

paid $160 for some frameless acdelco for meh sis car this week, so far so good i guess.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 7th, 2010, 1:33 am

Just bought a pair of Bosch Icon blades 26" and 17" for sale here in the US for $23

Going to put them on soon and see if it lives up to the hype and usually high price..

How much the Bosch Icon going for in Trinidad now?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 8th, 2010, 8:31 am

Changed again - Michellin wipers used...best

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 8th, 2010, 9:29 am

PIAA wipers still going strong......

This is now <counts> 4.66 years and still no need for replacement :D

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 8th, 2010, 11:10 am

Sweet, throw up some more info nah - cost, location etc

TECH N FIZ

Postby TECH N FIZ » December 8th, 2010, 11:37 am

darn should ah go with the piaa, :lol:

Postby rollingstock » December 8th, 2010, 12:30 pm

TECH N FIZ wrote:paid $160 for some frameless acdelco for meh sis car this week, so far so good i guess.

Have these on my car about 7 months, still wiping clean but i'm starting to get some chatter, have to service them now i think.

TECH N FIZ

Postby TECH N FIZ » December 11th, 2010, 6:15 am

ok well these frameless acdelco wiping clean, but a lil squeaky noise, any remedies?

oxidation

Postby oxidation » February 13th, 2011, 12:24 am

i have the michelin wiper blades (frame less) and the right side makes and annoying hard rubbing noise i,ve endlessly cleaned it, it does wipe clean but sometimes leaves streaks of water

what should i do change it

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 13th, 2011, 6:49 am

PIAA's on my "former" car, (going on 4.75 years) ...and according to the owner, still working great.

PIAA's on my gf's car....going on two years with no issues. There was some mild streaking on the psgr side.....but a quick wipe down of the wiper with a clean cloth....and back to normal :D

oxidation

Postby oxidation » February 13th, 2011, 8:49 am

hey man could you give a link to the wipers that you are referring to

tnx

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » February 13th, 2011, 10:47 am

oxidation wrote:i have the michelin wiper blades (frame less) and the right side makes and annoying hard rubbing noise i,ve endlessly cleaned it, it does wipe clean but sometimes leaves streaks of water

what should i do change it

some problem i have with my Latitude's... any advice?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » February 13th, 2011, 11:04 am

^^time to change them.......i have for sale :mrgreen: